218683 User submitted reviews online!!
Golden Rule RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (707) 459-2958
CGID3931

Golden Rule RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   7   8   7   8   9   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
We stopped for one night on our trip north. This park is about a mile off Hwy 101 down a fairly steep incline. The lady who checked us in was very friendly. The RV section is located on a lower level than the mobile home village. There are nice trees in the pull thru sites. Electric is only 30A but the daytime high was only 80, so that was no problem as we didn't use the a/c. There is a pool and restrooms by the RV section, and a laundry located by the front office. There is no cable or WiFi, but my AT&T hotspot worked fine here. Our rate includes a Good Sam discount. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
We had a large pull-through, the park is quiet and well maintained for an older park. The laundry room was very clean. The park is part of Ridgewood Ranch the home of Seabiscuit; we had a great tour there. The park is about 1 mile down a wide road that is fairly steep, but it is not a problem. It has only 30 amp service and the sewer is not well located, other than that it is a nice small park. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$32
A gem of an overnight location: far enough off highway 101 to be almost free of traffic noise; clean restroom and showers, warmed against the cold outdoors (it was raining); shower stalls w/ lots of space, good shower head, & plenty of clothes hooks! There was a little creek along property line, gurgling peaceful sound for back-in sites. Small; only about 6 pull-throughs. A few nice mature trees. Easy to find , traveling northbound. Adjacent to well maintained mobile home park. Office unmanned when we arrived at 5:15 Sunday. Our rate was with a Good Sam discount. They also discount for AAA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
One of the complaints I read was about lack of signage and how it was easy to miss the turn. Possibly because of those comments, I was diligent about looking for the turnoff. Here are my hints if you are traveling southbound on Hwy 101. The park is about 7 miles south of Willits. At about 6 miles, you will pass a weigh station. At about 6.5 miles, there is a sharp turn where the speed limit drops to 45 mph. Look for mile marker HUM 101 39.5 (stands for Humboldt County Hwy 101 if you are wondering). You will see one of the yellow intersection signs showing a right-hand turn. There is also an short right-hand turn lane. The Ridgewood Ranch sign is visible along with the Good Sam signage. I could see how it would be easy to miss if the foliage was grown up and around it, but when we came by it was pretty clear to me. It’s a nice little park. First you will come up on the mobile home section where the office and the laundromat is. Office hours are minimal. The check in gal called me to verify about what time we would be there because I guess they are only in the office from 11am - 2pm on Tuesday and Wednesday (9-5 the other days of the week). We wouldn’t get there in time. She gave me our space number and told me there was a reserved sign on the post. The management does not take credit or debit cards here; it is cash or check. The envelopes and registration information is on the front of the office door. Be sure to look on the driveway office entrance, not the back entrance from the laundromat. It was a bit confusing for me, but I finally found it. The cost for a full hook up for the night is $35; $32 for Good Sam Members. This park has Wi-Fi in the laundromat area only. Our Mi-Fi did pick up a signal but it was slower than slow….think dial up at its worst. We did hook up the booster, but did not take the antenna outside. I was more interested in getting the DirecTV dish set up as they have no cable here. I would have given the park a higher score if there was better Wi-Fi as we need the internet access. Our DirecTV dish picked up all the channels without a problem, so the lack of cable TV was not a big deal for me. Cell service with Verizon was adequate, but I would not call it good. There was a nice little pool, but it was wasn't warm enough for swimming while we were there. I ducked in the restrooms which were clean but dated. I would stay here again, either overnight or for a couple of days. We couldn't stay long term because of the lack of Wi-Fi. Very peaceful. We had pull-through site 35. Next time I would opt for a back-in site next to the creek for better viewing of the wild life. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Great laundry facilities. Yes, you can hear the highway a little if you sit outside, but not from inside your rig. Wifi works great in the laundry room. Be sure to call ahead and get instructions -- easy to miss the turnoff from 101. We will return when we are in the area. To me, this is not a destination resort, but it is a good overnight stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
This is a very quiet location with some wildlife roaming about. However, the pull thru sites are very close together; some have room for an awning, others do not. Most back-in sites are larger. Be sure to get precise instructions on how to find the place - the signage is very poor. I would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
The park provides sites for permanent mobile homes, as well as for RVs. The areas are separated. Stayed there for one night and enjoyed the stay. The park is a bit down the hill from Highway 101, so I couldn't make out any traffic noise and it was pleasantly quiet in the park. There's a pool in the area where the RV sites are. RV sites are a bit too close for my liking but you should still be able to use your slide outs. Staff was friendly. Wi-Fi is only available at the office/laundry, but is working fine. It's a nice place to relax for a few days if you got nothing else to do but to sit outside your rig and read a book. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
This is a gem of a campground. It is peaceful and quiet. The restrooms and showers were very clean. The showers were quite large however one shower was not working in the women's restroom. There were deer, turkeys and many birds around. The pool was still open although not heated. There is Wi-Fi available in the laundry room and it worked great. We will return when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
This park is a hidden gem. It sits between Willits and Ukiah. Because of the remoteness, you can't get TV or Wi-Fi: and that's a bonus. There were white deer roaming around in the evening, as well as regular deer and turkeys. The pool is extremely clean. They don't take credit cards, so bring cash or a check book to this quiet, yet quaint RV park. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Rate reflects senior discount. What I like most about this park is it's well off the highway and very peaceful/quiet. Deer came quite close to our site in the evening. There are only a handful of sites where we were, and only two others were in use. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Very quiet park. Spots are narrow. The power boxes are only 10-12" tall and you have to get down on your knees to plug in. Water, power and sewer are all in a 24 inch square. Lots of birds and wildlife. No cell service, but you can get it up the road approximately a mile. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
This park is not fancy, probably best suited for those that like a quiet place "away from it all." It is an older, rustic park adjacent to, but separated from a community of park models and manufactured homes. It is reached by a winding paved road through the tress off of Highway 101. There are seven pull-through sites and 26 back-ins. There is a pool but we did check to see if it was open. Because of the remote location there is no cell phone service and no cable TV. Satellite TV reception is spotty because of trees but we got it to work using a portable dish. We enjoyed it and will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
This is a beautiful area and it is quiet except for a few cows making noises. There is a small swimming pool that we did not use, though other people were. There are several sites that the electrical hook-ups did not work, and there is no 50 amp. We saw several different kinds of birds including acorn woodpeckers and stellar jays if you're into birdwatching. There apparently used to be cable TV service which is no longer here, but the long hanging cables are hanging overhead in each site. Not too attractive. It is about 6 miles to the Safeway and the road over to Mendocino is beautiful, but VERY hilly and windy for most of the way which is about 32 miles. The road down to the park is somewhat steep, but really not a problem. Our Verizon air card did not work, but our AT&T cell phones did work. We would stay here again, but probably just a night or two to get off of the road. This place basically needs some TLC. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
This was a small campground in a woodsy setting. The drive into the campground was steep and a big rig would not make it. It's also an older campground with older rest rooms and showers, but they were clean. The electric in our space did not work and we had to use the plug in the next spot. Other electric wiring in the park was scary. They took cash only when we checked in. Not too friendly. The plus was the wildlife. We saw deer, quail and wild turkeys while there. We would probably not go back here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
Not fancy. Flat gravel sites. Some sites back up to a little stream. Really quiet. Good hook ups. Easy access. Lots of wildlife. Nice lady at the front desk. I like it. Good Sam too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
The 1 mile plus access road into this park is narrow and hilly. This is an old campground with narrow, dirty sites. Because of the trees you can barely get the slides out. Could not use our window awnings because of the trees. If a motorhome with slides was next to you, you would not be able to put out the big awning. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
This was a very nice little campground. It had all hook-ups and they were level. The staff was very friendly. There were deer and wild turkeys all around. We would stay there again. This campground only accepts cash or check. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Wonderful park with lots of wildlife. Beautiful setting and a great area for walking the dogs. The sites are old and run down but would go back in a second. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Sites were narrow. Ours accommodated a 40 footer with 3 slides, but there was no room left over to put out chairs. We were in a pull through and were able to get our satellite TV from the rooftop antenna. Since no one was camped in the back in sites across from us, we had a nice view of the field where both the European white fallow deer and the other deer were almost every day. The area is quiet and a good place to walk and enjoy wildlife. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
This is a hard park to rate. On the minus side, the sites are quite narrow, and the pull-throughs are generally used, making it kind of close. The back-ins were hardly used while we were there (a week), so it would not be that close. I suspect if the park gets full, it is really chaotic. There are only two sites that have any kind of space, one of which we had (#129). There is no WiFi, Verizon service and most sites can't get satellite. I would guess that those reviewers giving it an 8 or 9 didn't care about communications. On the other hand, it is very quiet, peaceful, and the wildlife is fun to watch; deer (white ones, too) turkeys, quail, and jackrabbits. We would camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
Lovely quiet little park for getting off of the 101. Little known fact: Park adjoins ranch where Seabiscuit the race horse was born and raised. Nice people in office, clean restrooms and big laundry. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$25
We found this park a good overnight stay. It is far enough off the road to give a quite night sleep. It was a long drive down a hill to get there but worth it. We had a hydraulic line brake so we couldn't level our motorhome and were glad to find their sites were level. The Turkeys and deer were fun to watch wander through the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$26
A winding one mile blacktop road off of highway 101 through oak trees and pasture leads one to this out of the way campground. It is small but has a pastoral setting. A new bath and shower facility is very clean and nicely appointed. Some shade is available. Management is friendly and one gets a gracious greeting. The roads through the campground are gravel. It very quiet at night. All in all, a very pleasant place to overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
We found this to be a delightful spot. Not the typical "concrete slab" with everyone packed in together! Quiet, a nice pool, wild turkeys roaming about, plenty of shade and friendly people. No Wi-Fi, but still a lovely spot! We would have liked to stay longer, but time constraints allowed us only an overnight stay. Record heat of 114 was recorded on our stay, but we got along well by using just one air conditioner. We stayed in a 36 foot Class A. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
A lovely place to stay. Very quiet and serene, beautiful surroundings, deer, wild turkeys, clean and well-kept. Unfortunately, no wifi but that could be because of its valley location. Lower section of an attractive mobile home park, off 101 and down a winding, well-paved road. Very nice person in office as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2005
$22
Small, quiet park with level pull-through sites situated just down ravine/valley from a very nice mobile home park just off Hwy 101. Some slightly scruffy long-termers in the RV area, but not too bad. There were very few overnighters when we stayed. We liked the flock of wild turkeys that roamed the campground and white deer nearby. Local TV provided was very limited and we did not see the pool but laundry was nice, although rather a bit of distance up the hill closer to the mobile home park than the RV park. We had plenty of room for our 30 ft class A. This was a very reasonable place to stop for a night or two. We'd do it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com