206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Fortuna De Oro RV Park (55+) was rated 6 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (928) 342-5051
CGID3933

Fortuna De Oro RV Park (55+)

Camp Information
Sites
1300
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   2   3   6   5   7   4   7   4   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$21
Rate reflects a month stay. This is an older park that has recently become a Cal-Am park..lots of renovations completed. In park roads are paved. Great new sports complex for tennis, shuffleboard, bocci, & horseshoes. Talented local entertainment performs every night for happy hour at the pool patio or sports-plex patio. Lovely pools and hot tubs. Would recommend staying in the newer side where the RV sites are larger, each having a cement patio but no picnic table. Lots of activities, a few have a charge, but lots to do without extra fee. WiFi was good at our site, but not everywhere I'm told. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2014
$40
No charm and difficult site placement. The campers are friendly, but the sites are just too ugly for a stay longer than a few days. Not a quick "on and off" for just an overnight. Stay some where else - there are a lot to choose from around here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2013
$3
The park itself is a work in progress, receiving a facelift from its run down condition.The wifi is unusable and not available in all sites. They roll up the streets at dusk. Not sure of the average age, but there were lots of people who were 85+ in this 55+ park. A good place to stay clear of if you are looking for a vacation atmosphere, it's more like an old folks home than a resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$3
This is a gigantic older RV park which was recently purchased by Calam. We stayed free as we had stayed at a Calam park in Mese earlier in the year. It is need of upgrading and Calam has started the process, but has a long way to go. They are adding a huge recreation area with shuffleboard courts, etc. But the real negative is they charge for WiFi through an outside vendor, and the service is terrible. They offer WiFi service in the office (Free) and that is the way to go, but very inconvenient. We stayed in the pull through area and parking is on asphalt. No ambiance whatsoever. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$22
We are here for a month up in site 752.There is so much litter along the wall up here that has been there as long as we have.The ground is full of weeds and have not seen a single worker doing anything in this area.I think they spend their time in the lower section. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
My wife and I stayed there for three nights. Staff was friendly as well as the residents we met. Pool, Restrooms and Showers were clean. Whole park is well maintained. For those who stay longer there are some convenient services like propane-tank pickups, refills and delivery back to the site. The park's focus seems to be more on longtime residents and mobile homes, so the sites for the RVs are not particularly attractive (but relatively quiet because they are rather far away from nearby I-10). They are simply like a parking lot with a tree next to it and of course the hookup panels. Slightly annoying: Wi-Fi is free only in the office building. Wi-Fi on your site is available for a fee only. Still, we felt comfortable and enjoyed our stay. We would come back there again if in the area and looking for a place to stay for a couple of nights. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2011
$32
We stayed here for 1 week. We found that the staff were not exceptionally friendly or helpful. After check in and some observations at the office, it gave me the impression that if you wanted to stay here, fine. If not, they could care less. The lower swimming pool was closed due to water contamination; the upper pool was open, but is in need of maintenance and general up keep. There was limited pool side chairs, some of which were in need of repair or replacement. The over all park needs a good clean and paint touch up in some areas. I would not stay here again or recommend the park to friends or club members until improvements are made. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$34
Nice park. Has it's own golf course. Also has lots of activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2010
$32
I can't recommend this Park, the majority of sites seem to be park models. I have to admit that we did not have a reservation in Yuma and the majority of the Parks were full, or our RV was too large for the sites they had available. The only positive thing I can say about this Park, is if you need an over night site, they will probably have space. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2010
$29
We camped here with our RV Club and there was enough room here this time of year to accommodate our group. If you've not been here before it's very difficult to know where to go to check in. You have to park across the road from the office: when there are rigs parked there, it isn't noticeable. We were in the upper area, which is probably an addition to the original park. It is very close to the highway so very noisy! The sites are ample enough, but if you don't stay on the road or on the patio it's quite rocky and you must watch where you walk so you don't fall. This park is much too large for our liking. We would not camp here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$32
The rates are $32 + tax/daily or $210 + tax/weekly. They do have monthly and yearly rates. Electric is included in daily and weekly rate. This is a beautiful RV park. Tons of activities to do. Heated pool and spa. Golf course on campground: $11/9 holes. Restaurant: we did not use but it has a super outdoor patio. Happy Hour on Friday with entertainment. Bible study and Sunday worship service on campground. Everyone was friendly. We enjoyed our stay and would absolutely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2010
$32
I have never been so glad to leave a park. It is huge, and it is evident that the owner is raking in the dough while doing the least possible. The office looks as if nothing has changed since it was built about 40 years ago. No computer system, just a bunch of tags on cup hooks. Won't take credit or debit cards. We were put into a space near a corner that backed up to the park entrance, the frontage road and I-8, and since it was an outside road, all the incoming and outgoing traffic drove past our site. It was noisy, noisy, noisy. With one exception, the dumpster closest to us (far enough away to need to drive the car) was always filled to overflowing with garbage bags. Everything I saw looked old and tired. Our site was of a reasonable width, gravel, with a narrow patio and every site has an ill-placed tree growing that makes it difficult to back in (only back in sites, no pull-throughs). I will never return to this park nor would I ever recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$34
The previous review is spot on. This place is tired and needs a face lift. It does have a decent exercise room and very good CATV. However, the Wi-Fi which you have to pay extra for is a complete flop, it basically doesn't work during the day, only late at night or very early in the morning. Office staff were pleasant. North pool is very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$38
This is an adequate park and met our needs for a short stay. Be sure to bring your cash or checkbook as no cards (debit or credit) are accepted. We enjoyed the entertainment on a few occasions and ate at the restaurant. Both were adequate. I found the North pool splendid for lap swimming in the mornings and evenings. All the facilities are maintained but there is an air of tiredness about the whole place. Faded paint, broken lounge chairs, weeds everywhere, etc. Nothing that really impacted our stay but if I were going to stay longer in Yuma I would find a place that felt more cared for. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2009
$30
This park is large & clean, but the customer relations should be rated very poorly. I had just started three loads of clothes in the washers. There was a power outage and we were told to remove the soaking wet soapy clothes from the wash room because they wanted to lock it until the power came back on. There was no electrical danger involved. We were told to get them out right away because the man wanted to leave. We were not allowed to get plastic bags to transport the soapy, wet clothes and had to put them wet in the car. It was quite a mess. We offered to leave them, even if it took several days and the offer was refused. We were refused a refund since "there are signs all over" that they are not responsible. The management seemed to go out of their way to be difficult. What a shame, it would have been quick and easy to handle this situation in a more acceptable manor. We won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2009
$15
We stayed here for 2 months-Mid Nov. to mid Jan. We paid extra for cable, wireless internet and electric. People in the office were not very friendly. At Christmas our daughter sent us a gift certificate via JC Penny addressed to us, which never arrived in our mail. JC Penny traced it , and it was cashed by the park owner's wife and topped up by her credit card.The park owner paid the money ($75.) back to JC Penny and it was refunded to our daughter after he had been contacted. He said it must have gotten in with all the gift cards they received by mistake. We do not understand how this could have happened as our address was on the envelope. The jam sessions, happy hour and dances at the park were very good and we enjoyed those, but would caution guests to be wary of the mail service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$18
The first thing you need to be aware of that is they do not take Credit Cards or Debit Cards, cash or check only. We were in the newer section on the east side and it was quite noisy with the road running directly behind us. Park activities and entertainment is excellent. East laundromat is very large and can easily handle the traffic through this facility. On site golf course is so so but the price is right. Office staff are not all that friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
Huge park, all backups, wide streets and turns. Sites are gravel with the streets paved. Many park models, but several hundred sites for short term visitors. Nice mountain view. No refunds and charge for site change. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$32
We stayed here for an overnight stop. We were given a paved, pull through site along the east edge of the park. The sites were wide and easy to pull into. The view of the mountains to the east was spectacular. We would stop here again when passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$20
Very large, impersonal. Attended New Year's Eve party, which was very nice. We were on a corner, which was very noisy. Pets are allowed in each row in the new part, for 4 spaces in on each row. Some activities offered. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$30
This is a very nice place to spend time in the Winter. Super Wal-Mart is close, and lots of restaurants. If you like to ride quads this is an excellent place to ride out from as I have a Toy Hauler with a quad and a Yamaha Rhino. The sand riverbed is like a pathway to more areas to visit. If you are coming from California you will want to buy your diesel in Arizona and NOT in California because it was $0.40 less. The Internet was only available in the office. We were here for 10 days and had a great time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$16
The spaces are wide and had no problem getting into them. Sites are gravel with the streets paved. People are over 55 with programs geared for us. Dances, dinners, etc. Noise from the freeway is not that noticeable. Nice place to walk around and get exercise. Has a pool for those so inclined. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2006
$25
This is a huge park (1,200 spaces)with several sections. We stayed in the newest section. The nightly rate of $25 was certainly extremely reasonable. The WiFi service was free and could be accessed from only some of the sites - however, you can go the club room at the office where the reception is excellent. The paved streets are good and the sites are wide and allow for parking of your towed vehicle or tow vehicle. We found there to be a limited number of restrooms. The restrooms are only cleaned once daily and sometimes toilets got stopped up and they seem to only be cleared during the once a day cleaning. We were at the park during high season and would have gladly paid an extra $1 or $2 per day to have the restrooms cleaned more than once a day. The restrooms were surface cleaned rather than deep cleaned. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2006
$25
Not a bad place. Some of the literature says it's 55+, however, at 37 & 38, we are nowhere close and had no problems getting a site. They say they have Wi-Fi, but there is currently only 1 antenna for the whole park. I was lucky enough to be given the WEP code by my neighbor so I could use his. The park's service claims a daily rate of an astounding $8.95/day! The freeway noise isn't too bad, but we have double pane windows. Anything else would be rather noisy. We came here from Quartzsite to get cleaned up (DUST!) and found a couple of mobile cleaning services that wash and wax for VERY reasonable prices. We got ours washed for $35 and hand-waxed for another $80 using quality wax. There's also a couple of mobile RV techs running around. Be warned about Yuma: it's a retirement town, so there is not a lot going on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2005
$25
This is a huge park of the parking lot type we avoid when possible, but we were quite grateful to find a spot when we arrived late on a busy Feb afternoon and found our first two choices full. The place is very clean and well-organized. We did not notice any road noise although I-8 is nearby. We stayed there again in May and the place was deserted, but we still liked it because they parked us next to the pool. Big, clean restrooms and laundry. The Yuma Territorial Prison is worth a stop while in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com