214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Summersville Lake Retreat was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (304) 872-5975
CGID3937

Summersville Lake Retreat

Camp Information
Sites
68
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   5   8   6   10   8   10   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Well managed checkin. We had one of the deluxe pull thru sites. Great view of the lake from the hill where the sites are located. Site was easy in and out, level and had clear view for satellite. Very clean and manicured park with a manned security gate. The bathrooms and showers were great. There is an area for ping pong and corn hole tossing. The lighthouse is cool. They also have boat rentals available, but we did not have the time this trip to check that out. Not far from Summersville for supplies and a great little Mexican restaurant suggested by the park. Also convenient to the River Gorge area. This park would be our choice to stay in again when we are in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
Very nice campground with good space between sites. Gravel roads. Our site was electric (50 amp) and water only as the full hookup sites were taken. Price reflects a Good Sam discount. Very quiet and the staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. Led us to various sites and let us choose location. Satellite reception and cell phone (AT&T) were very good. Easy on and off Rt 19. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$43
Park is close to highway, but no road noise. Easy in/out. On top of a mountain with some sites in open, good for satellite reception. Roads and sites are gravel, sites are not level, but not too .far from it. Power, water, and cell (AT&T) were good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
Friendly and accommodating staff. Our site was VERY unlevel. Could not get our rig level even with blocks. Nicely maintained CG. Thought it a little pricey $38 for two people plus $12 for a third person. Probably wouldn't have been so unacceptable if there was cable TV and the sites were level. Probably won't be in the area again but likely would stay here for a day or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Summersville Lake is the main attraction here. Unfortunately, the nearest access is several miles away. The grounds are well kept and restrooms were clean. Roads were all gravel and majority of sites required several leveling blocks. There is no shade for 95% of the RV sites. 90+ degree heat in the boiling sun without water access is not our idea of good camping. Tent sites were well shaded. Lots of traffic noise on weekday mornings but quieter on weekends. No dump station available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$44
We were traveling through the area checking out campgrounds and attractions for our upcoming vacation and found this place. We called ahead for information and found the office staff very friendly and helpful. Since we will have several tent campers with us on our return visit we checked out the restrooms and shower facilities and were pleasantly surprised. They were very clean. We are currently planning our family's end of summer event here and may even return to enjoy their new cabins. This is a quiet country setting with lots of amenities and hospitality. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
Very nice campground. We chose it knowing there was no lake access. We would rather drive to lake than be jammed into an over-crowded campground. Many activities for families: Hawk's Nest State Park, New River Gorge, Babcock State Park, Mystery Hole, Carnifax State Park. Had ice and firewood for sale in the office. Very nice staff. There are hiking trails on property. Laundry facilities and a pool would have made it even better. Plan to return. Stayed at site 27 which had an excellent view of playground and games, with minimal leveling required. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
This park is by far the largest private one we have ever seen. It’s an old farm of over 70 acres, about half of which is heavily wooded. Lots of sites for tent camping and RV’s. You won’t be too close to your neighbor here. Three A-frame rustic cabins in the woods also. Only 6 sites are true pull-thru type, with 50 amp power, generously spaced, and level enough to use without blocking. Pull-through sites are unshaded, so no problems with satellite access. Interior roads are gravel with gravel parking areas at nearly all sites. The park is about 2 miles from Summersville Lake, away from the noise of the jet skis and boats. Whitewater rafting on the Gauley River is nearby. The park has a variety of types of boats to rent for lake use, but you must tow the boat to the lake yourself. Lots of open space for kids to ride bikes or tumble down the mowed hillsides. Some kids' climbing/playground equipment.There is no pool. Wifi is poor and could probably improved if the antennas were raised higher than surrounding structures and parked RV’s. There is no cable TV. The toilets and showers are very clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Quiet, there is little or no road noise here. Summersville has some shopping and restaurants, Lowe’s, WalMart and a real treat, Hardman”s Hardware; reminds you of Restoration Hardware but with real hardware. We enjoyed our quiet stay here and plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
We were also surprised that it was not on the lake. Once we read their flyer and checked online we realized it was our mistake. Enjoyed our stay and rented a boat for the day. Their rates for campers is good. The lake is three miles from them. The big item is that there is not a dump station in the campground. Lots are grass with gravel roads. Needed three blocks to level trailer. We have used both the W&E and full hookup sites and both were the same. Great area for site-seeing and the lake is great. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
It's important to know that even though the name is Summersville LAKE Retreat, there is no access to the lake from this campground. We found this an acceptable place to park, interior roads are gravel and the sites are spaced a good distance apart. Water and electric (30 amp) sites, only 5 sites have full hookups and look like they have permanent/seasonal trailers on them. There is no dump station on the property -- the helpful staff directed us to the Battle Run COE campground 4 miles away to do that. We had no problems with power supply. There is quite a bit of road noise from US Route 19, which is very close to the park. The clientele was mostly quiet and well-behaved. As mentioned elsewhere, there are NO supplies available on the property except firewood. A truck stop with a well-stocked store is only 2/10 mile away at the intersection with US 19. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
This is a very clean and open campground. My only complaint is the absolute lack of any supplies/items sold. This is the first campground I have ever been to that did not sell ice! No other basic amenities are sold either. No laundry, nothing. It was very inconvenient to have to leave camp for everything. This campground is not conducive to long term stays, anything more than two nights and you will be running errands instead of relaxing. We have all been there when you run out of half and half or milk and you can send the kids to the camp store for the same, not here. Having said that, the owners were friendly and the area is beautiful. We would go back to the area but not this campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
We found this campground to be very nice and people friendly. We also rented a pontoon from them and spent a couple of days on Summersville Lake which was very enjoyable. The sites were nice but we did have a small problem leveling our big rig. The level sites that were available did not have sewage which was something we did not want to do without. The dump station is not in the campground but at the Marina which could be somewhat inconvenient. All in all, the owners are very friendly and helpful. Nice place to use as a base if you are planning on taking advantage of the beautiful Summersville Lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
We really liked this place. Our site was not wooded but others are. Very spread out, lots of room. Only five full hookups and none were available for our five-night stay. Owners are friendly and very helpful. Just a short drive to Summersville Lake, a great and inexpensive place to spend the day in and on the water, or whitewater rafting. Only minor complaint - the electric is underpowered and shut off twice due to high demand. It was restored fairly quickly, and I understand the owners plan to upgrade this year. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$20
Camped here for a week in July and really enjoyed our stay. The campground is peaceful and the hosts were extremely friendly. This campground is an excellent overnight stop for north to south travellers. The only fault I found was that our dump valve was lower than the outlet in the ground so dumping was difficult. I would recommend this campground and will be back for another stay sometime. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com