218153 User submitted reviews online!!
John Wayne's Waterfront Resort (formerly Sequim Bay Resort) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (360) 681-3853
CGID3942

John Wayne's Waterfront Resort (formerly Sequim Bay Resort)

Camp Information
Sites
49
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   5   10   9   4   8   5   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$42
The park is dated and unkempt right across the road from a beautiful bay. Gravel sites are weedy and very unleveled. The view from our site was of two older full time residents trailers with weeds knee high to their rigs. Little is done to enforce basic rules. One neighbor attached their rig to the sewer with a garden hose for a drain. Needless to say, we were very offended by the odor. We reported it to the office and got a blank stare. After saying that if you can't do anything, then possibly the county would, they did speak to the camper to correct it. 30 amp service, cable, water and sewer all worked fine. If you are looking for basic services for an overnight stay, this campground is OK, but it is not a destination resort in any way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$36
Great location but this park is OLD and it shows. Sites are not prepared for arrival of campers. Had to remove vegetation around the water faucet before use. Bathrooms are clean but are obviously in need of maintenance; paint peeling from walls. Shower curtains could be wider to avoid splashing on clothing. Lack of signage for shower electrical switch causes confusion. There are only two showers, two wash basins and two toilets for 43 sites. WiFi was sporadic; manger stated that servers had recently been replaced resulting in unreliable service. Big rig maneuverability is severely limited. No playground for children; only horseshoe pits and badminton courts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$44
Full hook-up site; gravel spots, and not very level. The power amperage fluctuated wildly throughout the visit, and the water pressure was very iffy. Very tight getting the trailer in and out. The cable only delivered about 9 channels, no broadcast networks (ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox). Many long term residents of the park, and some of them were rather sketchy to our eyes - appeared to be many months since some of the trailers had been moved and not kept in good repair. Some characters searching through the trash dumpsters looking for salvage completed the picture. The only interaction we had with the staff was the initial check-in - everything was all arranged and done in 10 minutes. We saw nothing of the staff for the remainder of the visit. This was our first trip in a new trailer, so we were in "troubleshooting" mode. While we didn't have any issues, this would have been a good location to have trouble - there are several retail stores just minutes away in Sequim that are fully stocked with RV supplies, plumbing and electrical parts, etc. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Get a spot on the front row and you face one of the most picturesque bays ever seen. The staff is courteous, the grounds are decent (gravel and concrete) and the town of Sequim is within 5 miles. Loved it here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Lovely campground with excellent views of Sequim Bay across the road and 5 minute walk to grassy walk way by bay with picnic tables and benches. Marina and Dockside Grill (good local seafood with high prices) 5 minutes away as well. Sites are wide and clean. A bonus is a gravel driveway adjacent to concrete pad to park car/truck alongside. Some wildflowers, lavender but no trees. The views make this location so enjoyable, especially with all the birds on this Olympic birding trail. Plenty of places to walk dog. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
This definitely does not meet my expectation or definition of a resort RV park. It has zero resort amenities. It is owned by the heirs of John Wayne who are absentee landlords and rests on the 1950 laurels of The Duke. The campground offers little more than gravel sites to park an RV and even then, many sites are terraced on a side hill. Even the campfire area provided only a place to build a fire. We had to bring our own chairs. The other people sitting around the fire dominated the evening with their private conversation. Unfortunately, it is the only RV park in the immediate area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$31
This park is under new management (as far is I was told). Very friendly when making the reservation and very friendly when meeting in person the next day (we arrived late). Site was easy to get in and out, no problems leveling the rig. All hookups well located and in good shape. I don't quite understand the comments about the 30 amp service. It's 30 amp only, yes, but stable and in good shape. Wi-Fi was good. The location right across the bay is nice. Very quiet at night and just 2 miles away from a large QFC store. This park offers little more than a place to park your RV. There is no shade and the sites offer no privacy. Not an issue for us because the park was pretty empty and in November you don't struggle with heatwaves, but this might be a different story in summertime. And for what you get we feel the price is a little ambitious. We didn't use any facilities since we just stayed for one night. We would stay again, when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
I made a reservation for two nights here at $33 plus tax a night. The manager was rude on the phone when I called to make a reservation. My mistake was going ahead and making the reservation. When I got to the park, her rudeness continued. Then after completing the charge to my credit card, she informed me I could not run an A/C because their system is outdated and will overload and shut down the entire park. And it was in the 80’s. She said just use fans or use your generator to run your A/C. This is ridiculous when you are staying in a supposedly professional park and paying $33 + tax per night. I cannot imagine having a manager that is so disrespectful to the customers when I did not say anything to provoke her. Other than the outdated electric and manager’s attitude, this is a decent park, but I would not stay here again due to the manager’s attitude. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
This is a nice, clean, well run park. A very nice quiet area across from Sequim Bay. Areas of grass and a very short walk to the marina. Most tenets are regulars from the south escaping the heat. Units are clean with flowers and friendly folks. Lots of green and quiet. Location is decent, eight minutes to shopping. Wi-Fi is good. Downside is outdated 30 amp service. Only two washers and one dryer in laundry. We would happily return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Clean & quiet RV park. Sites are close together but have enough room for slideouts & awning. We were only going to stay for a week, but ended up staying for two weeks. Drawback is 30 amp. View of the bay is beautiful. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$13
We stayed at Sequim Bay Resort from October to February, 2011. We love it! It is one of our favorite campgrounds. The view of Sequim Bay from our windows was incredible. We had full hook-ups (30 amp) including electric for the awesome price of $400 per month. I can't imagine a better deal anywhere. We saw lots of birds in the bay plus seals. We even had hummingbirds at our feeders. Shopping is nearby with Costco, Wal-Mart and Safeway & QFC Grocery and much more. The campground hosts are awesome, they even love geocaching like us. We highly recommend this campground and give it a 10 our of 10. We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
We stayed a week in this very nice park. The sites are long enough for a 37 foot 5'er. The park requires that you parallel park next to your rig, that was not a problem. The location is very quiet and next to the marina. WiFi and cable TV worked as expected. We would return to this park in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$29
The view of the water and surrounding mountains from most all 43 spaces is worth many other amenities you might want at this RV Park. It is by no means a RV resort; however you will go a long way to find a better environment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
We spent 4 nights here and loved it. Yes the grass isn't green in all places and the power is above ground on poles but everything worked fine, especially the satellite TV and Wi-Fi. I did not need tokens for the showers and there was plenty of hot water. Don't know where previous camper got their info on this. The laundry was adequate and everything I saw was nice and clean. The view is spectacular of Sequim Bay and the park next to the Marina. You can walk over to the marina and sit at one of many benches and tables to watch people, animals or birds. We felt it was very quiet at night which is when it matters to us. The people there as well as the management were all friendly and knowledgeable. Interior roads are gravel as are most of the sites. There is no pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
I was wondering why this was the only RV campground available in May for reservations over 4th of July. This has to be the least nicest RV campground we have seen over the last month of our summer trip. First, all sites look like yellow hay and/or are gravel. If you are looking for an overnighter I would consider it, but my water supply was under a brick and had spider webs and filthy water. Needed gloves to have a water supply. Zero amenities, but nice campers and management although very narrow spaces and you have to park your truck next to your rig. When I checked in and asked to use the bathroom, the manager informed me the office was her home and use my own rig. The only things positive about this yucky campground, was my gravel site was level and across the street there is the John Wayne Marina, with a green park, nice view of the Lake, and a decent restaurant. If you are looking for a clean place, without bugs, this isn't your place. The laundry room had nice washers and very dirty dryer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
We love this RV park. Even though the structural facilities are not new, everything is clean and well maintained. The managers do an outstanding job of running this RV park. The location on Sequim Bay cannot be beat, as the John Wayne Marina is beautiful. It's a great place to watch the boats, birds, and seals. We have been staying here every summer since 2000, and plan to continue to do so. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$21
Rate reflects Good Sam rate.. We don't do reservations so this was our only choice which turned out to be just fine. Not a fancy park by any means, but the view was great. The area was quiet and the park at the marina was a great place to walk with beautiful grass. The restrooms are old, but were clean. The lady that checked us in was very pleasant. Looks like quite a few spend the summer here and the rv's were well kept up. It was a good choice and would come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$13
Gravel roads, dead grass, many residents, not a friendly park. However, it is across the road from from John Wayne Marina and Sequim Bay. Above rate based on month's stay, includes electricity. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$27
OK, it may not be a resort, but I think using the word "dump" is a little drastic. Nice large sites, a little dusty and dry because Sequim is one of the driest places in all of Washington. Very quiet, good location across the street from a lovely park and beautiful marina. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2005
$27
I found this RV park on the internet and the pictures and description are FAR from what the place really looks like. First the word RESORT should not be included in their internet site. The place is so far from being a RESORT, more like a dump. The place is so old, the electrical towers are rusted, some look like they have been run over. There's no grass or trees like in the internet ad, the only true is that the so called RESORT is across from the bay. The ad states a claming beach, what they do not say is the beach has a pollution sign on it. It is very dusty. No recreation facilities of any kind, no barbecue grills as stated in their internet site. I will never stay there again, nor recommend it to anyone. They do not take credit cards, I suppose it's from fear that people would stop payment after staying there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com