214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Canyon Country Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (570) 724-3818
CGID3962

Canyon Country Campground

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   9   8   10   7   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Very nice campground. Shaded settings give a sense of privacy. Bath and shower house was clean and worked well. Owners were very friendly and helpful in every way. Was pleased to see that quiet hours were enforced. One group nearby was a little loud in the evenings but the nightly patrol at the start of quiet hours ensured that quiet time was respected and there was no problem later in the night. I was glad to see that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
We stayed here during a time when the campground was pretty empty. We were in site 2. Much of the trees had their leaves fallen, so the campsite was fairly open in that you could see other sites/campers pretty easily. Facilities (restrooms, showers, laundry) were perfect in cleanliness, availability and functioning. The campsite has access to great camping into a state park and down into the Canyon. The hosts were very helpful in hiking options and options for restaurants in town. The town of Wellsboro is very quaint and worth a visit for at least a dinner. We would gladly return and stay at this campsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
Very quiet, family-run campground. More of a quiet place to sleep than a destination, which suited us. Buildings are old construction and dated decor, but spotlessly clean. Sites are large & natural, but could use refurbishing. Quite tight for larger RVs as some trees need to be trimmed, but it was manageable (just). Wi-Fi worked well near the office. Nice hike to the gorge, but no view from the campground itself. Owners were friendly and helpful. Hookups worked well. The biggest problem was dust when weather was dry, and mud when it rained. The last 1/2 mile to the camp is on a dirt road (very dusty) and all roads in the park are dusty gravel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
We stayed here in a 37ft 5th wheel. The campground is very well kept,and the owners live on site. The sites are big and wooded for shade. It is a short hike to the Canyon overlook. The owners were very helpful and friendly. We will be back here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
We visited when the campground was nearly empty, but were very impressed with this friendly, small campground. Unlike many reviewers who are looking for family activities, we gauge our experience based more on the "camping feel". We love wooded sites and this park has them. There are a few pull-through sites for our rig of 38' and even they are pretty, wooded sites. If you are looking for a busy, activity-filled place with many amenities, then this might not be the place for you. If you are looking for a beautiful, quiet place in the woods, walking distance to the rim of the Pennsylvania Grand Canyon, and friendly staff, then this would be a great place to stay. We did not have occasion to use the bathroom/shower facilities so cannot comment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Nice quiet, family run campground. Large sites and a huge playground. Friendly staff that greeted me by name before we even registered! Easy hiking trail that leads directly canyon. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
This is a small wooded campground next to PA's Grand Canyon . You can walk to the canyon's east rim on a trail from here . Sites are a little close, but with all the trees it's not so bad . It is dark and quiet at night, so you will find it peaceful . Bathrooms and showers are very clean. Just a note...the owners are nice people who run this place as a family campground not as a place to party . All in all this is a good place to camp . We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
My husband & I stayed at Canyon Country for 7 nights and really enjoyed our time there. We had a pull-thru site that was partially wooded but still had plenty of room for our 26' trailer & awning. It is very quiet in spite of a lot of children on the week-end. The owners extremely friendly & knowledgeable about area. It was a great experience! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Enjoyable week. Beautiful area. Very friendly/helpful owners. Nice site that was sloping just enough so that after leveling the front wheels were airborne and the boarding steps pretty high. Owner quickly solved problem by building cinder block steps. Facilities were very clean. 30 Amp service worked well for our “big rig” if we were careful and watched the load. Price is average daily and includes Campground USA discount. Would certainly stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Canyon Country Campground is located in the middle of the most beautiful part of Pennsylvania. The owners have created a delightful campground with nicely wooded sites and well maintained facilities. The bathrooms and showers are kept scrupulously clean. My wife particularly appreciated the potpourri placed in the women's bathroom. We would be happy to visit Canyon Country again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
Canyon Country Campground was a beautiful little campground. A real gem. Very family friendly. Every lot beautifully shaded. Owners were on hand if anything was needed but weren't pests. Very quiet and relaxing campground. Extremely clean bathhouses and game room. Entire park was kept clean. I read some other reviews where people say the owners were annoying. We didn't find that at all, they were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again. A real beautiful area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
At first glance the campground is great, very clean, nice sites, and if you go to bed before 10 pm you will have no problem here. At 10:00 the host gets on his "stealth" golf cart and slowly drives around without any lights on trying to catch people no obeying the rules so he can throw you out. At 10 pm it is quiet time and quiet means no talking or giggling. They have many rules that are posted everywhere in the campground. Would not go back or recommend. Also notified Good Sam since they are a Good Sam park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
Sites are way too small and too close. If we had someone in the site next to us, our awning would have been in their camper. Owners are overly excited about getting every penny possible. Wi-Fi has only one free hour, it's not really teen friendly, they wanted an additional $2 per hour to extend checkout time, and when visitors arrived, they wanted to know if they were staying so they could be charged. Definitely will not go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
Canyon Country Campground is our idea of an ideal campground. The staff was very helpful when making my reservation as well as upon arrival. We were directed to our site by the owner who also helped us position the trailer in our site. Water and electric hookups were top quality and looked almost new. Our site was wooded and fairly private, campground noise was minimal and both the staff as well as other campers were friendly. Wood, when bought at the store was delivered directly to our site. We enjoyed the hiking trail which leads from the campground over to Leonard Harrison State Park and the Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania. We spent 4 days here and would have loved to have a whole week. The area is a goldmine for outdoor activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
We pulled in and the owners checked us in and took us to our site and offered to help. We asked for firewood and they delivered it to us. They were helpful in knowing what to see and where to go. They drew us maps to everywhere we wanted to go. There's a lookout tower adjacent to the campground following a trail. Sites were spacious and nice. We had water, sewer, and electric. It was rustic but with all your amenities. Couldn't ask for much more. It was close to most of the better sites to see. Leonard Harrison was almost next door, the main Grand Canyon viewing area. Lake Hammond and Tioga were not far either. It is a beautiful area. Special thanks to the owners for making us feel so at home. I would recommend this campground to anyone. They made it a special experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$29
I was a bit leery from other reviews about this park, but we had a great time there! My parents were staying in a local motel and was meeting us at the campsite. I had asked at the office at check in about the visitor's policy to make sure my folks didn't do anything wrong. Parents were welcomed with open arms and the owners spent time chatting to them. Our hotwater heater decided to spring a leak on the 4th and the owners came over with what we needed to get it fixed. We were very happy! Downside..the site wasn't that level. Took a bit of maneuvering to get our caravan set. The trail to the Grand Canyon was a trail and dumped you out at the edge of the state park and you then had to find your way to the canyon. We did enjoy our time there and would happily stay there again when up that way. Oh, and their puppy is greatly unloved and needs lots of scritches *LOL* We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
Owners are borderline insane. The way they run this campground is not the way to run a business. We were asked to leave the following morning without refund because in the owners' opinion we were not quiet enough for them after quiet hours of 10 p.m. Our neighbors (all except one) told us that they didn't hear a thing from our campsite after quiet hours. This lifeless campground completely shuts down around 9 p.m. We had headlights shown into our tent in the middle of the night to make sure we were sleeping (a complete invasion of privacy and really creepy). After the owners asked us to leave the next AM, the weird owner sat and watched us pack up and he and his wife couldn't resist giving us a lecture about how this was a "family campground." I couldn't even imagine children running around here without their parents getting reprimanded! As we were leaving and tried to give our leftover firewood that we had purchased but couldn't fit in the car to our neighbors at the next site, the campground employee tried to steal it from us to resell at the store. Amenities are few and far between. Sites are rocky, small and too close to neighbors. I've been camping my whole life and have never seen a "family campground" like this. FYI - our group was a group of adult professionals an average age of about 30 minding our own business - not a bunch of rowdy 18-year-old kids trying to cause trouble. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
We live in Wellsboro, and we make this our first camping trip every year . Its a small campground quiet and friendly people. The trail to the Pa. Grand Canyon is a nice walk through the woods into the park then out to the overlook. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$26
Owners were very friendly from the reservation process through the entire stay. Sites were shady and naturally separated due to the trees. Bathrooms and showers were clean. Playground was not "modern" but was suitable for our 2 yr old. Interior roads are a dusty gravel, and if others driving in the campground do not obey the "speed limit" it can get quite dusty. This is why I don't give a 10. Entrance road is also dusty and a little rough. Do NOT depend on your GPS for directions to this campground as they will warn on their websites and also when you call for reservations. While we were in our tow vehicle only, we followed GPS out of curiosity and found some of the roads were 1 lane, rutted and dirt. Follow the directions found on their website or you could very easily do serious damage to your rig. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
Very lovely campground. Sites were fairly wide but somewhat unlevel. Owners were extremely friendly and accommodating when we needed to move our reservation back one day later due to my husband's work schedule. Loved that the owners will personally deliver wood to your site. There's a convenient 3/4 mile trail to the scenic overlook for the PA Grand Canyon. An excellent biking trail through the canyon is just a short driving distance away. Only down side is lack of TV stations, cable or internet access. Also follow the campground's directions and not what your GPS says or you might end up on some nasty dirt roads. We enjoyed our stay and would return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
I don't remember the exact rate per night, but it was reasonable. The campground itself was smaller than we thought, but it was wooded and well maintained. Bathrooms were very clean. Our problem was with the owners. They were nice when we checked in. But after that, they made us feel very uncomfortable and unwelcomed. They actually yelled at our non-camping relatives who were staying at a motel in Wellsboro when they stopped by the campsite to meet us before heading over to see the gorge. Won't go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$24
Campground is a about 1/4 mile from last blacktop road. Roads inside park are gravel, sites are gravel and out of level. Park is very small but you can park three or four large RV's in park. Lots of trees in park. Park is very old and has been in service a long time. Park is close to Grand Canyon of PA. Owner was very helpfully at check in over places to see and things to do. I think it may be best that big rigs not stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$31
Our family and our dog camped at this campground for the leaf season. We did not have reservations and thought we would stay at the State Park but they didn't have full hook up sites. So, the Park Ranger suggested that we stay at this campground as they knew it to be a nice place. We stayed for 4 nights and we had a great time. We could hike right to the PA Grand Canyon from our site. The kids had a good time even though there was no pool, there was a game room which they enjoyed. We found the owners to be friendly and nice and very helpful with how to get to local attractions. The site that we had was nice and shaded. We had plenty of room for our slide outs. We would recommend this campground as a great place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2005
$27
We have just returned from a weekend there. We found the owners rude and bossy, and the sites very tight for motorhomes. We were traveling with 2 other motorhomes at the time. We would not recommend this campground to anyone. We did not know they were Good Sams until later, it is not posted on their sign at the entrance to the park. The sticker on their door was hidden behind a halloween decoration, they still would not give a discount afterwards because we had not presented when we registered. The owners have a reputation with the locals as not very friendly. The campground owner just down the road told us "They are very good for his business". Even the Park Rangers at the State Park by the canyon know them very well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$99
The owners were very friendly, polite, and respectful. They went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. The campsite is very well maintained and clean. The store was adequately stocked with anything we may have forgotten at home. I don't understand the previous review. Either that person has his campground wrong or is one of those people that you just can't please no matter what. The campground is not very large (which we prefer) but it is close to everything we wanted to do and see and you just couldn't have asked for better people to deal with. The owners are great!! I highly recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
We stayed at the Canyon Country Campground, Wellsboro, Pa on 7/21 and 7/22. The owners were very rude and belligerent. There wasn't anything to write home about. The sites were very unlevel. No stone or gravel. Very small sites and hard to access. They are AAA approved but the only "discount" was the rate guarantee. They charged us $2.00 for being a half hour early. You pay for two adults and additional for a child. Nothing in the store. Sad. The store and office doesn't look anything like what it shows on the website. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com