214502 User submitted reviews online!!
Theodore Roosevelt Nat'l Park / Juniper Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (701) 842-2333
CGID3965

Theodore Roosevelt Nat'l Park / Juniper Campground

Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   9   7   10   10   8   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$5
$5 per night was the senior rate—$10 otherwise—for a primitive site on a level asphalt pad with a pedestal BBQ unit and picnic table. There were water spigots throughout the park as well as at the dump station. Wildlife, including bison, show up in the campground. If you like walking/hiking/biking there are trails and roadways inside and outside the park. Cell phone service on AT&T is only available in few places as you drive the undeniably beautiful scenic loop. Ditto for Verizon data coverage. There was no over-the-air TV but we did receive NPR radio. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$5
Great park and great campground. Unbelievably scenic. Great trails and views. Quiet. Hosts were welcoming and informative. Rangers suggested activities. No hookups. Flush toilets. No showers. Paved pull through sites. Big rig friendly. No fire rings. Provided grills may be used for campfires or you can use a raised fireplace for campfires. You may gather downed wood for campfires. We didn't see any buffalo. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
This is one of the best campgrounds ever! We saw herds of buffalo and longhorn sheep. All facilities were exceptionally clean and there's tons of trails and nice folks here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$5
This is a primitive campground five miles into the north unit of Theodore Roosevelt NP. The closest city, Watford, is fifteen miles. There are normally 50 pull-through sites but due to the flood, 25 sites were closed for repairs. At the entrance to the campground is a dump and water fill station. The bathroom with flush toilets is open during summer season. Most of the sites are large with surrounding trees and bushes. There is a picnic table and pedestal grille at each site. We were unable to get telephone reception with Verizon. There is an emergency phone line at the camp office. There are several nature trails nearby. We would have stayed more than 2 nights but the bugs and no a/c made it less. desirable. We would love to return at a milder time of year. The cost reflects senior pass discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
A jewel in the NPS campgrounds if you are self contained. Buffalo & deer are right in the campground, neat. It is a beautiful park, enjoyed our visit and wish we had stayed a week. One night is not enough for this park. We enjoyed it very much and will return one day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$5
GPS N47.59393 W103.33521 Very nice dry camping. Golden age rate. Watch out for Buffalo in the campground. I liked the North unit of TR park better than the South unit, but others may disagree. TR park is more scenic than SD Badlands NP. More color. See all three if you can. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$5
This is a wonderful place to camp. Many of the sites were fine for our 40 foot coach. It's a small campground and quiet most of the time. This campground probably gets less use than the one in the South Unit. The campground host was very proactive and made it a point to keep the rules enforced. This makes for a very enjoyable stay! The cell phone and air card didn't work here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$5
A super Nat. PK. campground. Generators are permitted at certain hours. Many deer and buffalo in the campground and park. There is a water fill and dump station. Verizon cell was weak. This is a come back park. Rate was with golden Age Pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$10
We got satellite TV but had no Verizon cell or broadband for our computer. The comfort station was old but clean. As one of the other reviews stated, there was construction on the road inside the park and it was very dusty and they closed off some of it for 2 days, so check with the Visitor's Center first. The sites are very spacious and nicely paved and level. We also were greeted by 2 huge bison as we checked in! And the next morning we woke up to 8 more including 2 babies that were grazing all around our motor home which was quite cool. This is a great DRY camping spot. The only reason we gave it an 8 was there were very few water spigots to get water. We enjoyed this campground and would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$5
Camp fee reflects Golden Age discount. We were greeted at the entrance station by about 20 Bison who took their time crossing the road. The Park Service is repairing the road inside the park and it was VERY dusty. Our intent was to stay here one night to tour the north T.R. National Park, which we did. We selected a nice site in Juniper that was level and had some shade from a Cottonwood. Had satellite reception buy no cell phone/air card. (We did have cell phone reception outside the campground). Great scenery inside the campground, and very quiet during day and night. We did not have to have A/C during our stay. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$10
Dry camping, but nice level sites with bison wandering through the CG. Well maintained with friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$10
All sites appeared level and large enough for our 30 ft class A and the road was easy to navigate and in good condition. No hook-ups, no showers and simple bathrooms. We liked the quiet, peaceful, wooded nature of most of the sites. We would recommend staying here for a night or two while visiting the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com