220367 User submitted reviews online!!
Deer Haven Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (860) 376-1081
CGID3970

Deer Haven Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   9   10   8   7   10   5   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
This is a beautiful picturesque campground. Camp units were on 90% of the full hookup section but none were occupied. We stayed in the short term W/E/Gray water only section. Our 2 day stay was very pleasant. The Wi-Fi was excellent. Air TV was limited. Direct TV was available in the office lounge. The staff were very accommodating. Relatively close to Mystic, Providence, and Norwich. It looked like it might a busy/fun family park in the summer time. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Park is off the main highway a few miles on a narrow road. Heavily wooded area, no satellite signal. Only a couple over the air TV channels. Roads and sites are gravel/dirt. Power and water were good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
Nice little older park, very quiet at night. Wooded. Lots of seasonals. Very friendly owners who go out of their way to make you feel welcome. No cable and only a few minor channels come in on antenna, no network stations. Wi-Fi good. Good cellphone coverage. Nice clubhouse with bookswap, movies to lend, and TV. Small laundry. Playground. Pond for fishing. Walmart, Target, Kohls only three miles away. Good location to tour Mystic, New London, casinos, etc. Good water pressure and electricity. Only a couple of pull-throughs but back-ins look easy to get into. Would definitely recommend this place for a quiet get-away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
This campground is a quiet and friendly place to stay. We stayed here over the Memorial day weekend with our two dogs. The staff loved them and they had thing for the kids to do like Easter egg hunt, fishing contest, and pots and pan parade. We will be going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
This is a very quiet park. Sites were spacious, but not much privacy. Staff/owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Park consists of mostly older people, not many kids at all. I only saw 4 kids all weekend and 2 of them were mine. While there were not many kids, the owners and staff seemed to really enjoy having kids in the park and put a lot of effort into making sure the kids had a good time. They had Christmas in July while we were here, all the kids got some gifts from 'Bucky' the reindeer and did crafts and played bingo. They have a small playground, a mini-golf course (free), paddle boats (rental), a small swimming area in the pond, fishing in the pond, some hiking trails in the woods and plenty of room for the kids to ride their bikes. Camp store had basics plus ice cream bars and slushees. Seasonals seemed friendly. Great place to relax for a quiet weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$41
Don't understand why there have been so few reviews of this charming park. We spent three nights here, enjoying every minute. Yeah, it's an older park, no Wi-Fi, no cable TV, and forget about satellite in this woodsy setting. We think this contributed to our feeling of peacefulness here. The place is well off the highway, with little encroaching noise, a lovely brook runs along the edge of the park, a pond with a gushing fountain is provided, along with a beach and other recreational features. Didn't see any deer, but chipmunks and squirrels were abundant. It's nothing fancy, and kind of dated, but very peaceful and pleasant. And the management is friendly and accommodating,to boot. We enjoyed our stay here, and would certainly come back if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$50
This is a small relaxing safe campground, friendly seasonal folks, nice and quiet. 2 of our grand kids rode their bikes all day long. A seasonal camper gave our grand kids a "magic fire", which they enjoyed. Lots of little critters for the kids to enjoy in the pond. Also, had "paddle-boats" to use on the pond. Grand kids were catching frogs in the nearby stream. Not a place for older "teen" children. This campsite is suitable for the younger children under 13 years of age. We shall return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$35
My husband and I have a seasonal site at Deerhaven Campgrounds. We love it. The owners really take pride in their business. They are always very nice, helpful and make you feel at home. Last summer 2006, I spent alot of time in the pond. It was very clean. The owner takes time to empty the pond out to clean it! We have been to many campsites and this by far is the best. We don't care that it does not have cable hook up or a pool. We are there to camp. The area is beautiful, there are small trails to take a walk in the woods, mini-golf and a playground for the children. We are looking forward to going back this year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Friendly little park, nice people. Nice river for swimming. Mini golf, pedal boats. Very nice sites. I think it is an older park that was closed for a while, the new owners have been working on revitalizing it and are doing a great job. I would definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
Friendliness rating of owners/staff is 10! We found ourselves stranded at 9:00 p.m. when our rig would not fit in our campsite at another campground. The campground was unwilling to accommodate us, having overbooked themselves for the weekend. My husband had to call around to try to find us a spot for the night. Deer Haven happily agreed to take us. They gave us directions to their campground on the phone. Unfortunately, our cell phone lost the connection and I missed the last part of the directions. Needless to say, we got lost! It was now 9:30 p.m., the winds were picking up and thunder and lightening began. Luckily, I was able to get a phone connection and called Deer Haven again. She left the campground and came and found us by the side of the road. We pulled into her campground at 10:00 p.m. and by this time, the rain began. She directed us to a site which was open and told us to take as much room as we wanted. She even offered to help us! When I went to go register, she refused and told me to go back, get a good night's sleep and to come see her sometime the next day! We had a pleasurable weekend, our ten year old swam in the swimming pond, went fishing, etc. After such a horrendous start, we had a very relaxing weekend. Deer Haven does not have a lot of amenities, but the owners and staff make up for it with their hospitality. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com