220021 User submitted reviews online!!
Lost River Valley Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (603) 745-8321
CGID3975

Lost River Valley Campground

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   10   7   7   10   7   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$17
Nice friendly staff. Helpful owner. Sites are in the woods, but very close together. Wi-Fi is only at the office. Good location. Dump station only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
Lost River is a nice Campground. Some of the sites are close together, some are not. Roads are on the small side, and our site (177) was on the small side for our trailer. Bathrooms were exceptionally clean (quoted from my wife, the official judge of bathrooms). They close the bathrooms for an hour every day for thorough cleaning (times are clearly posted). Nearby amenities and plentiful and fun! Onsite amenities, not so much. To access the kids playground you have to cross a pretty fast road (Rt 118). Also across the road is the swimming pond. During our stay it was stagnant and disgusting. I would not let the kids swim in it. The campground was nice and quiet, it also was not very busy during our stay. However, if you camp in one of the sites along the road (Rt 118) be prepared to hear cars as they drive by. We stayed during the last weekend of Bike Week, what a mistake. We constantly heard loud bikes roaring by all day (and most of the night). All in all, we liked the campground. It was clean, and close to a lot of fun things to do. We will be staying again (just not in a site that is along the road). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
This park is excellent. The owner/operators are on site & professional. It is family friendly. I have been coming to this campground for over 7 years & have never had a problem with anything. It seems as if I am coming home to family. They are knowledgeable of the area & resources, & always willing to help both the newest of campers (or the most experienced) enjoy their stay. I fully recommend this campground to anyone coming to the White Mountains. Its location is central to the "kanc", Franconia State Park, children's activities & most everything else in the area. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
We camped on our vacation to the White Mountains and were close to the bathrooms (by request). Unfortunately if you have young children, ask not to be near the restrooms, which are very close to the highway. The brook site was beautiful, and the kids had fun playing in it. The bathrooms that are connected to the store, however, are very dark and cramped, with just shower curtains covering the toilet areas, and no dressing areas outside of the shower. I don't know if those are the only bathrooms. The kids did love the game room. They also liked the playground, but you have to cross route 112 to get to it. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Very nice campground although not much available for the kids as far as the game room or the little lake at the campground. Some sites were small and a bit cramped but the grounds were kept very clean and maintained. Campground was quiet and there were some very nice looking sites along the river but unfortunately not full hookup sites. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Excellent camping experience. Good size wooded sites. Friendly and helpful staff and owners. We would recommend this campground to everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
End of the season PA rates, this owner was willing to put rubber on the site. We stayed here five days with virtually no one in the park and enjoyed the peak fall colors in this area. Here is the deal mostly a local campground meaning mostly northeast area unless you feel comfortable driving around trees and backing up don't come in this campground with a big rig. The power was weak on the weekend but fine when everyone left so beware in the summertime when you need AC forget it also the water pressure is non-existent when the campground is busy. I would give this park a 5 when busy and a 9 when empty so the average is a 7. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
Great location. Lots to do in the area. Close to town but not too close. Like most parks everything depends on the site you get. Some sites are near the river which is right by the road and others are by a stream. Site 166 looked awesome - right by the stream. We had site 34 near the bath house since we booked very late. However, it was a decent site. Owner was nice, the other campers were family oriented - no loud partying. Bath houses could have been more updated but were fine except that they charge for showers which seems odd given that you have to pay for the site. Franstead family campground is better maintained in general and nicer but Lost River was good. We would camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
This was our third trip to this campground. It is a very nice place, surrounded by some of the high peaks of the White Mountains. Set in the woods next to a stream, it has a real wilderness feel to it, yet it is only about 15 minutes from the great little town of North Woodstock. This is another great place for hikers with miles and miles of trails nearby. A very good place for tents and pop up trailers as it is quiet at night. Watch out for Moose along the roads at night. We like this place and will stay here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
This campground has some great stream front and wooded sites. Some of the campsites on the stream in the back are very cool, while the ones in the front get quite a bit of road noise. The campground was packed on the weekend of our stay and we figured that about two thirds of the campers were in tents. There were not any larger trailers or motorhomes because the roads and sites are heavily wooded and would be very hard to maneuver around. This is a very family friendly campground, even though we didn't have a van full of kids with us and everybody else did. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$24
Very clean and well maintained. Our site was beautiful, right on the river over a waterfall. All the sites were close but separated by tree's. Bathroom's and showers were very clean. Store was well stocked and the owners were very friendly. No pool, which was a downside, and not much for the kids to do other then ride bikes, but with so much in the area to do there were no complaints. We will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Management was OK. Sites are wooded but small and you don't get a great sense of privacy. Appeared to be a lot of sites for tents versus RVs. Water pressure was terrible; appeared each site had a water reducer at each water hookup which was not removable. Personnel monitor the GC like police. Only one car allowed at campsite and additional vehicle must be parked in over follow area which is across Rt 112. Also, there is an additional charge for a second vehicle but only one gate card per camp site. The playground is not located within the gated CG; you must cross Rt 112 to get to the playground. Store was satisfactory. Three night minimum -- packed up and left after the second night. We have no intention of ever camping here again. I my opinion there are better ones within 15 minutes/miles of Lost River. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
This truly was one of the finest campgrounds we have ever attended. Normally I refuse to attend campgrounds that charge extra for children, but I am glad we made an exception. Reservations by phone were excellent. The owner and staff were all very pleasant and professional. Arriving at our campsite, we found it raked and spotlessly clean. The care was like a good hotel where they turn down your bedding and place mints on your pillow. The campground is beautiful. All the sites are nestled in the woods, with many on the Lost River or the Walker brook. We had a brook-side campsite and were lulled to sleep every night by its peaceful, babbling sounds. The bathrooms were spotless but the showers do cost 25 for 6 minutes. The camp store was well maintained with very fair prices on all their goods. This is not a campground for those who like beaches. There is a small pond across the road from the campground that has a beach area. But when I showed my son and daughter the cute little newts in the water, they gave up all ideas of swimming there. This is a campground that we would definitely recommend and visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com