224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Moss Landing KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 75 user reviews. Phone: (831) 633-6800
CGID398

Moss Landing KOA

Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   4   9   2   10   9   10   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$65
Clean basic park, with level sites and friendly staff. Nice easy walk to the beach, and a great restaurant within walking distance. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$65
Location, Location, Location! We normally don't stay too often at KOAs due to the high cost but this one was worth it. Within walking distance of the beach, harbor, and great restaurants. The interior roads are paved as are the sites. The utility hookups are convenient and we had a good line of sight for our satellite dish. The only minuses were that the sites were close together both on the sides and the rear. When it filled up for the weekend we felt real crowded. We probably would stay here again due to location! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$76
When we drove up, we were miserable at the site of the huge power station behind. However, once we parked, and looked the other way, we realized that this was actually a nice little park. Quiet, level, clean sites with nice landscaping and plants between sites. The office and showers were in a porta-cabin but very clean and easily accessible. Better still was 'Phill's Fish Market and Eatery' was just a short walk away - just stunning. Expect to wait in line on the weekend, but once through, service is so quick and the quality, wonderful. The beach is a short walk away if you have limited stuff to carry, but we drove to the car park over the bridge as we were feeling very lazy and had 2 kids in tow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2013
$75
Very expensive as they raise the price on weekends. No value there. Only 2 bathrooms and had to wait in line to get in. Staff were friendly. Concrete everywhere. Found no competitors so they can charge higher prices. Not much on campground amenities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$60
Moss Landing KOA RV Park, we have stayed here last year, returned and will return again. Check in is easy the staff is friendly and helpful. The sites are clean and level all good size some wider than others some longer than others, no pull throughs, all back ins but big rig friendly. Walk to dog friendly beaches that go to harbor with many birds and the otters, although to see them best to dive short distance to Moss Landing State Beach. Great restaurants and town across the street is the Whole Enchilada Restaurant and Market Place, at the harbor is Phil’s fish Market Restaurant, and breakfast you cannot beat the Moss Landing Cafe. What more could we want? We stayed in October. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$68
This was definitely an express campsite with a premium price. Located beside a power plant and backing on to a very busy road. It felt like we were set up in a parking lot. Initially booked side by side with friends we were traveling with but were separated to accommodate another group. Front desk staff was confused at best. Would not recommend We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$68
All of the staff (the rvparkreviews website does not allow me to name names, or I would) made us feel like we were home away from home. Small, but very well maintained park and great location to shoot to Santa Cruz to the north, or Carmel/Monterey to the south. So close to the harbor you can hear the sea lions. All spaces are back ins, but it was no problem getting our big rig and toad in a space. Will definitely return on our next trip up the coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$65
Rated a nine as there are no kids facilities here, but it is a really nice place. ALL back in sites, but easy access. Good places to eat in walking distance as well as a great produce stand and deli there. It is close to a large marina complete with saws and sea lions, as well as a couple of fishing and whale watching charters. It is an easy run down to Monterey and Caramel to the south or to Santa Cruz to the north. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$68
I strongly disagree with the previous review. I love this campground. The managers are wonderful and they bend over backwards to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable! While the site widths are not huge, they're very typical and they are neither spacious or cramped. The sites all have nice concrete pads (no dirt or gravel sites) with river rock/plant dividers and the center sites have grass. I camped in a 43 ft rig with a toad and had plenty of room. The location is great. It is within walking distance to the beach, three great restaurants, and the marina. It's also just 20 minutes from Monterrey or 30 minutes to Santa Cruz. I would highly recommend this RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$68
This campground is overpriced and noisy! It is close to the bridge and right next to the parking lot for the harbor and shipping and fishermen and it was unbelievably noisy. We would not stay here again. The sites are very close together. I felt like a sardine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$55
Wi-Fi is spotty, at best, but mostly not available at all. Sites are narrow back-ins. Not much space to park your tow. Sites are not level, way off. We had to use wood to help. Because of the location and CA restrictions, etc., we were asked to limit our use of their bathrooms. Weird! Small community with good seafood restaurants and farmer's market and a great 2-hour pontoon boat tour of the bay for a reasonable price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$68
Very friendly staff. If you wish to enjoy fauna, than this is the place to be. We saw many seals and sea-otters. The campsite is small and located at the harbor. It is overpriced for what it has to offer. The free Wi-Fi didn't work when we were here. The restrooms are spotless and well-maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$75
The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The camp sites were clean and deep. Our 36' and truck fit end to end, and had room to spare. It could be a little wider, but had plenty of room for our 3 slides and a table. Wi-Fi is advertised but only worked 1 of 4 days. They blame this on over usage by guests, but it is advertised and should work. This is probably the only reason I did not give a 9. It also is pricy but location, location. We will stay again here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$67
This is a nice, little, quiet park. I felt very safe here. Concrete pads, which is always nice. Near a marina where you can take whale tours. You can walk to a natural beach (or drive to a public beach where you can presumably swim). There are antique/collectible shops and a couple of restaurants. Moss Landing is trying hard to create a cute little tourist spot. It is about 20-30 minutes to Carmel, Pebble Beach, Monterey, so a good base for visiting. However, if you have children, there is not much to do on-site. No pool. They ask you to limit your trips to showers to 10 minutes as there are only 2 (which was not a real problem). What irritated me was that the wi-fi was limited to 1 device. My husband logged on to the PC, but when he disconnected, I was not able to log onto my iPad to email a photo to my kids - it associated the user name to the PC only. Overall, I thought it was expensive compared to a resort I had stayed in in Pismo Beach the night before for the same price. My rate reflected KOA discount We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$67
The park is clean and neat. The restrooms clean. The laundry has 2 washers and 2 dryers and is clean. Friendly personnel. While we were here for 4 nights, there were only about 3 other people that checked in. The rest, about 4 permanents, were quiet except for a Whale Watcher tour company behind us that played loud music, and another trailer near us with a barking bassett hound. When we checked in we were told they had cookies every day. They only had them twice. Close to Monterey and a quiet area. Excellent restaurants nearby and an excellent veg and fruit market with unbelievable reasonable prices, and a wide variety of items about 2 blocks away. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$52
I've stayed at this park several times over the last few years and rate it as one of my favorites. The location is great, a short walk to the beach and several restaurants. A 25 minute drive north and you're in Santa Cruz or go south for 25 minutes and you're in Monterey. The hosts were very friendly. The park itself has always been very clean. It is a little tight and not a lot of room between sites. Nice concrete pads. Wi-Fi is free and worked fine, other then seemed a little slow at times. Only reason I don't give this park a 10 is, it's a little pricey and the size of the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$62
This is a park we always visit to go to Phil's for a great seafood dinner and then to the Lighthouse for breakfast. All walkable from your site which is adequate but small. The park is a "KOA Express " so it doesn't have all the full park features. It is expensive and popular so I would recommend a reservation as your options in this area are limited. I only gave them a 7 because of the internet problem. Last year they limited you to two free hours but as the complaints increased you now get unlimited access for ONE computer. The second is $10 however we couldn't get it to work at all. They really need to get their internet problems sorted out. The Park has new managers who were helpful and pleasant. Over the years this park has maintained a high standard and we will always come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$64
Yikes! I hope all the negative reviewers stay away and will stop spoiling our fun! If it's too expensive, go elsewhere! If you're blessed enough to afford an RV, you're blessed enough! The idea of not affording camping sites is ridiculous if you can afford all the other expenses in owning an RV! We love Moss Landing KOA. It's easy to travel to from the Central Valley. The sites are clean; have every hook-up needed; restrooms very clean; and the store is helpful (especially if you need toilet paper). We are pleased with the new managers and hope they stay. They bring a new "spirit" and enthusiasm with them that will assure future successes for "we" returning campers. Life is short. If you don't like Moss Landing: great for us. It will leave more openings for us! It's not logical to complain about "free Wi-Fi." It may be better to go back to the old system of having to pay for it. Then the park managers wouldn't have to deal with trivial things like fixing Wi-Fi when there's so much more they could do! We love the new "commercial" web design that's featured on the local cable channel. There are wonderful people here in Moss Landing. We appreciate their hospitality and hope we, in turn, are good guests. Thanks! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$64
This is the most expensive KOA we have stayed at in all the years we have been camping. Everything on the Monterrey Bay is expensive so I guess this is par. Since we are KOA members we got the 10% discount and still paid over $60. The park is very compact and spaces are as close together as they could get them. There is a little grass here and there and all the site are paved. Surprising though even with the paved sites they are no where near level. Most sites need lots of leveling. There are only two uni-sex bath shower combos so be prepared to wait to use the bathroom or shower. The best thing about this park is the nearby marina and a few good local restaurant. Phil's Fish Market which was featured on the Food Network's, Bobby Flay Throw-down is a local favorite and well worth the time to stop here for lunch or dinner. The Cippino is their featured dish. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$63
This is a wildly expensive cramped RV Park in a shabby town. Wi-Fi did not work for the whole time we were there. Camp host said there were problems, but no fix while we were there. No pull through spaces. Space so jammed in I had a hard time using my slide outs in basement. This RV park is by far the nicest thing in Moss Landing. Other shops and eating places are shabby with the exception of a produce market. We were also nearly totally fogged in the whole time we were here. Overall this was a completely unpleasant stop. Not completely the park's fault. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$68
We live close by and have been here twice, great place for a weekend. The atmosphere is is fun with walking distance to dining and the beach. Place is well maintained and quiet at night. We were there for a benefit raffle for terminal kids last time through, staff was fantastic, kudos. Will be back again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$68
I hate to even review this park because I want it kept a secret. Wonderful little park which is convenient to everywhere on the Monterey Bay. Great staff. Small to maneuver in, and has concrete slabs with minimal landscaping. Perfect for what we were doing in the area, though. I will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$32
This is a great little park in a great location. Nice landscaping and well kept. The spaces are concrete and large. It is walking distance to everything in town. The beach is just steps away. It is about 15 min from Monterey CA. The management was very nice and accommodating. We loved it here and will be back for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$70
This is called a KOA Express which has limited facilities but is in a great location. We come here every year to walk the beach and go to Phil's Restaurant which has live Bluegrass Music through the week. This is a busy park so would suggest a reservation. There are some great deals in the winter months such as getting the 3rd night free if you stay two nights. Give them a call rather than booking it on the KOA Web Site. Internet is irritating as they only allow one hour free access before having to pay. I discussed this with the manager who has had a difficult time getting a company to provide high speed. This will be a on going problem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2010
$67
This is a very basic park with few amenities. Spaces are close together and the predominate landscaping theme is concrete. It is ridiculously overpriced at $67.50 per night. No discounts for AAA or Good Sam. The check-in clerk was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$70
Just returned from a week at the Moss Landing KOA Express in Moss Landing, California. We were in town to volunteer at the US Open at Pebble Beach. This is a clean, well-maintained park. Paved roads, concrete pads for sites. A little bit of grass around, mostly to the rear of the sites. The sites are not big, but we fit OK with our 4 slides and there were a lot of big rigs here at the same time. If you want a big, luxurious site to hang around in all day, this isn’t the place to go. However, if you want a neat and clean park that is convenient to the Monterey peninsula and all of it’s attractions, this place is great. Staff is VERY friendly and helpful. WiFi was reliable (you only get 1 hour free each day). Cable TV has 14 channels. Utility connections are modern and in good repair. Sites are level. Restrooms, showers, and laundry all clean and in good shape. You are within walking distance of the beach, including a dog-friendly beach. You are also within walking distance of several great restaurants. If we’re ever in the area, we will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$67
I think Moss Landing RV Park is a nice RV park. The sites are clean and well maintained. The KOA staff are very friendly and helpful. The RV park is close to the beach, nice bike tails, plenty of tasty places to eat. The only downfalls I think is that the Wi-Fi is not free, you only get an hour free a day and unlimited is $8.95. The cable is very limited and finally it is next to a power plant. But it is a nice place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$65
If you need a place to park and visit Monterey-area attractions; this works very well. The park itself is not at all scenic and near a power plant. However, you can walk to a nice beach in about 5 minutes. The spaces are like-new condition concrete and close to level. There is a minimal amount of landscaping in between sites and not much privacy. Everything is very neatly kept and the hookups are top quality. The "free" Wi-Fi is not actually free. You get one hour (starting from the time you connect). Then it's $3.95/hour. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$53
It is a great spot and close to the ocean, just over the dunes. It is also within walking/bike riding distance of the harbor, antique shops, fresh produce stands, and wonderful restaurants. We stayed here in our class B van, so it was easy to get into our site. The sites are all back-in and quite close together. We had one on the end of a row, so we had more privacy. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$64
Great place to relax. Short walk to marinas and the beach as well as great restaurants. No problems backing in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$73
The park seems overpriced at $73 a night plus tax. The Wi-Fi continues to be a problem. It is in a good location between Santa Cruz and Monterey. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$60
Nice park. Very cool stuff close by. Good food, trails etc close by. Tight sights. But close to cool stuff. Fun party they put on. We won a free shirt. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$64
We wanted to come to the Monterrey area and chose this park based on the great reviews on this site about KOA Moss Landing. The staff were very friendly and gave us a package with all the local restaurants that specialize in fresh seafood. We walked to Phil's Seafood Restaurant and had the whole Dungeness Crab ( 1.5 lb) for $21 and a bottle of wine for $11. We got to listen to Bluegrass music and enjoy one of best evenings. The park is about a 5 minutes walk from the beach and right in a small little town that has amazing food at a reasonable price. This is a KOA Express which I have never seen before. There are only back in sites but it is big rig friendly and there is lots of room to turn. If you do a KOA on-line reservation I would also phone the park and talk to them about the size of your rig. They are very helpful and will help get the right size pad for your rig. This is a great park in an area that has some of the most expensive real estate in the US so expect to pay a bit more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$65
We really liked this campground. It doesn't have all the things that the other KOA's have but it is a "KOA Express." That means: not all the other goodies. There are a few wonderful restaurants near here and also a great fruit market. All the spaces are back-ins, but there is plenty of room to get in unless you are a big diesel pusher maybe. Bring your bicycle or tow car and it is a short distance to the beautiful ocean. Very clean and nice but a bit tight on the relaxing areas around each space. Great place to stay if you are going to visit Santa Cruz, Monterey or Carmel areas. We will stay here again. The cookies were yummy! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$65
A good location, but very expensive and very tight for big rigs. There are no amenities. The manager's site is very junkie, and needs to be cleaned up. They have nice staff. The Wi-Fi is still down after two years. The owners need to pay attention to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$60
It was nice and I would stay again, but I really wish there was something better. The campground was very clean, fully paved and landscaped, with all back-in sites, easy to maneuver. There are no activities, no pool, no spa, no playground, no activity room. It is a long walk to the ocean, best to drive in the tow car. It is central to the bay, equal distance to Monterey and Santa Cruz, about 30 miles each way. It would make a good base camp, and many rigs stayed for just one night. Wi-Fi works best close to the office, and Verizon air card only gets 2 bars, making service slow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$60
This is one the nicer (and more expensive) KOAs we have stayed in – and we chose it for its proximity to Monterey, about 30 minutes south, as we could not find any better rated parks in the area. There are two beaches in walking distance, one of which is dog friendly. Relative to other beaches in the area (especially in Monterey), they are less than average. There is a very nice, and dog friendly, beach in Monterey across from the Naval Postgraduate School, and the Monterey Aquarium is not to be missed. The campground is small, but sites are concrete and level. However, they are quite close together – so hope for nice neighbors and quiet dogs as we experienced. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$58
The quality of this campground was a huge surprise. Sites were level cement and easily backed into with plenty of room for our tow vehicle. Flowers separating each site were gorgeous. The office staff was friendly, efficient and welcoming. Our point of view is slanted toward owners of 40 to 45 foot motor homes and this park was great. Everything was neat and clean and the location in Moss Landing was very convenient to touring Monterey and Carmel. We loved the ambiance of the barking seals in the marina right beside us and the closeness to the beach. We would normally not pay this much for a campground, but we were there during a holiday weekend so expected the price to be higher than usual. We would recommend this campground to anyone and would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$60
My second visit to this park in past two years. Now under improved KOA management. The location on Monterey Bay is hard to beat when wanting to visit Santa Cruz(North) or Monterey(South). The staff was friendly and efficient. This is a small park well cared for but tightly spaced with first rate utilities. No views to speak of but has the sounds of the nearby harbor and is literally walking distance to the beach and fun restaurants. Pet friendly. Now has it own bathroom and showers that previously were shared with the next door marina. The rating is reflective of the tight spacing and lack of amenities, pool and play area, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$40
Nice clean RV park, near ocean, beach, dining. very clean and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$40
We enjoyed camping here a lot, but it was due to the location (gorgeous) not the campground. This just wasn't our kind of campground--the sites are small and close together with no screening between. We just didn't feel we were camping--it was too paved over and not private. That being said, the area is magnificent. We enjoyed kayaking and watching the otters playing in the marina. It's a short walk to the beach. The staff was friendly and helpful and the facilities were clean and well maintained. We'd go again just because it's so convenient to the Monterey area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$65
We have stayed here a few times before it became a KOA. It is and always has been a very clean and quit RV park, The new management is friendly and helpful, They are much more lenient with the park rules then the old management was. We love taking our dogs down to the beach ( only a 5 min walk ). We bought some fresh live crab from a fishing boat called the "Tina Louise" down at the harbor just behind the RV park, Had a crab feed that night for dinner, This was the best!!! We will be back. We made our reservations for May before we left. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$65
I stayed in this park for only one night and was so impressed with the location and cleanliness that I decided to go again the following weekend. The park is very quiet and clean. You can walk to restaurants and beaches. The managers are very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend you plan to visit. Camped here in February and the weather couldn't have been better. Go and enjoy. Yes it is a KOA, but they only have a very small flag flying for KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$55
Clean, safe park. Special pricing three nights $151.00. So much to do in this area, Monterey, Carmel, Moss Landing harbor is full of otters, seals, birds. Great restaurants. Try Phils, great food, great entertainment. We will be back We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$55
Great location, walk to restaurants & shops. However the rates are outrageous for a nicely landscaped parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$85
Moss Landing was one of our favorite places to camp. A real value at $44.00 a night. Last January the park was sold and there was a slight price increase. This past summer the new owners decided to make it a KOA campground and raised the prices to $86.00 if you pay $26.00 for an annual KOA pass, your rate is $77.00 for the first two adults in your party. You pay extra for extra people and any pets. The occupancy tax is 15%, so a weekend stay at this park will run you over $200.00. This is a 100% price increase from last year's pricing. We will not support campgrounds that gouge the public and will not be returning to this RV park, no matter how nice it is. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$77
My fellow Rv`ers Please stand by me and boycott these greedy park owners. Weekend rate is $77.00, no Good Sam discount, if you want a discount you must buy a KOA card. No pool, no playground, no activities. Did I mention that kids cost extra. Don't even think about having a visitor, My guest had to park their vehicle outside the gate and walk in. The next time I'm in the area, I will stay at the Monterey Fair Grounds, Lagoona Seca in Salinas, or the state campgrounds in Capatola, all of them have fee`s of about $30 per night. Lets not reward gouging. Thank you for your time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$85
I've stayed at this park several times in the last couple of years. I would have rated this park a 10 with my previous visits, but with the new prices and wifi not working, I rate it lower. It's now a KOA and new prices go into effect 7-07. The prices are different for weekends, holidays, weekdays, and with reservations, will be in the $80 range. The park is in a nice location, but with that price, I'm sorry to say, I'll be looking for somewhere else. The park has always been spotless, but I did notice this time, weeds growing and the lawn hadn't been mowed, still a nice place. I was also informed their off season 3 nights for the price of 2 will not longer be offered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2007
$79
Same old Moss Landing RV Park. Now it's 71.50 a night, plus 7.5 tax. I don't know how the last guy paid 55, maybe he's related. Just check the web site to see the truth. Since the new owner took over and went KOA, they've overestimated the number of gullible, desperate campers who are willing to be gouged out of their hard earned resources. Go five miles down the road to the Marina RV Park. It’s high too, but not this crazy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$63
This park is now a KOA. It still is very well kept. Sites are not large but I didn't feel cramped. Nice management. Great location for visiting area and a couple of excellent restaurants are within walking distance. There are also a number of antique shops along the street that leads to the park. Rates in the Montery Bay area are high everywhere that's near the water, except the state parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$63
Two years later and the wi-fi is still not working. Very small, very tight spaces and now $63 per night. Nice staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$41
We have stayed at the Moss Landing RV Park in Monterey County many times. It is in a convenient location just off of Highway 1 at the marina in Moss Landing on Monterey Bay. The park is kept meticulously clean by on-site staff. They escort you to your back-in site and assist in reversing your rig to ensure you are exactly where you should be and able to use slides and awnings without interfering with an adjoining site. These are concrete level pads with almost no landscaping. There are picnic tables at each site. WIFI was questionable at the back of the park. Traffic noise is not bad and the location on the marina makes for nice walks out to the harbor entrance. There are restaurants and antique stores within a couple of blocks and Monterey is only 10 minutes by car. We stay there whenever we are in town as it is the nicest RV park we have found in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2007
$63
Wow, new rate $63.00, thats with a good sam discount. You will have more privacy in your own driveway. Sites are so small the manager needs to help you back in. Good Luck We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$50
RV amenities are outstanding. Best hook-ups I have ever seen. Management comes out and helps you back into your spot, and the spots are level concrete. However, the spots are cramped and there are no recreation facilities in the RV park. If you fish, this park is next to the marina. A couple good restaurants and antique shops are walking distance -- Phil's has some of the best seafood anywhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$44
We really enjoyed the Moss Landing RV Resort. It is a small, but extremely nice park. The managers were very friendly and even went out of their way to remember the names of our four greyhounds. We had no issues, like another reviewer, who tried to cancel a reservation after checking in. The no-refund policy is clearly stated in the literature given to us upon check-in. The park is near great restaurants in Moss Landing, the marine life reserve on Elkhorn Slough and not that far from Monterey and Carmel. We saw sea otters and seals in the marina just next door. I gave the Park a 9 because I could not connect to the Wi-Fi from inside my coach. I had to move to a picnic table up by the office. I discussed this with the manager who said there would be a new Wi-Fi booster installed on the laundry room after the sale of the park closed with the new owner. We will stay here again next year on our return to the Central Coast of California. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$45
Great park. Manager came out of the office to greet us and guided us to our spot and parked us perfectly. Very friendly staff. Park is very clean and well maintained. Close to Monterey and Carmel and within walking distance to antique shops and restaurants. Only thing that kept this from being a 10 is their WIFI does not reach to the far corners of the park. We will return often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$53
Nothing special here. Good level pads with new posts and hook-ups. We had no contact with manager as they were away in Hawaii. A seasonal camper booked us in and helped us back in to our site. Very tight with barely room to get the awning out. Wi-Fi didn't reach down to our rig and cable TV is limited to 16 channels, some of questionable quality. Lots of truck noise from nearby Rte 1. Saving grace is the location which is to die for. Right off the beach within easy drive to Monterey and Carmel. Funky little town. It's clean and it's convenient but at this price, it's an expensive parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$59
If you are looking for great restaurants, a great beach, shopping, cuises, fresh fish off the boat and smack dab in the middle of monterey bay, this is the place. The park is immaclate and the restrooms are the same. The customer service is some of the best around. The management team enforce the park policies for everyone. A very safe and comfortable place to be. The best park we have been to so far. We will be back for sure. Thanks you guys for such a great RV Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2006
$53
I have never dealt with such an unprofessional manager in my life. I had made my reservation online about 5 weeks in advance. When we got to the park we were not ready to just sit in such a small cement slab just yet. We decided to explore and ended up a little further than we would have liked. Instead of coming back to Moss Landing we stayed where we were and decided to return the next day about 1PM. When we got there, someone was in our space. When we questioned the manager, she was very rude and besides herself. She said she gve the space to someone else because we did not call her to tell her that we would not be there that night - and we paid in full for 2 nights. This did not make sense and her husband said to her "I knew this was going to happen". I went into the office and ahe said the best she could do was to put us in the overflow area. I told her that was not accpetable. We bought slot #38 for 2 days and all she could say was that we never called her when we were out to tell her that we wouldn't be there that night and she felt that we may not make it bsck so she sold the space to someone else - she double booked and got caught. I was dumbfounded and she asked if I wanted a one night crdit and I said Yes. I also tried to ask her why my spot was given away and she turned red in the face and yelled if I didn't leave her office she would call the sheriff. I should have let her because I did nothing wrong. Instead I asked if she was AAA rated and she said yes. I said good, I will notify AAA on Tuesday about this happening with double booking. I cannot recommend a place such as this. Very unprofessional and I would like to address this to the owners of Moss Landing RV Park. Maybe AAA will address the owners themselves! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$53
Great location. The management were extremely helpful. The showers and restrooms are new and spotless. The escort service we find was very helpful. The park is very clean and is close to lots of restaurants, whale watching, beach and other activities. Big Rig friendly. We especially like the park because there was someone out keeping and eye on things. The security was a plus. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2006
$50
I prepaid in advance for our site and spent the first night, but had to leave for a family emergency so I could not stay for the second night. When I told this to the front desk the lady said she would not refund my money or credit me a one night stay. I would have to say stay away from this place. The management is very rude and only thrives on the all mighty dollar. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$65
Nice place. A little bit cramped but the staff was very polite and provided an escort to our site. Great place to stay if visiting Monterey or planning a fishing trip in the Monterey Bay. Several great restaurants nearby. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2006
$55
This is one of those where your tastes will really dictate your rating. I gave it a 5 because I just wouldn't stay there again. The area is well maintained but there's very little to maintain. Concrete pads are inches apart. There are no trees and only tiny shrubs. There is some well maintained common grass area but not much. And there's a doggy area. After paying the same price for a wonderful park (Marina Dunes) only 20 minutes closer to Monterey, I was really disappointed. Restrooms are actually owned and maintained by the marina and really not even in the park. I checked them out and found them to be messy. Time limits posted on the doors. I never used them. You'll want to eat at Phil's. Atmospheric and good, reasonably priced food. I'm not into 'antiquing' but there were a number of antique places within a couple of blocks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$35
A very nice park. Though small and rather cramped, it is well landscaped with a grass area adjacent to each rig's concrete pad. This was our second time there in 3 years. It is close to Monterey, Santa Cruz and Carmel. The park is along side of a harbor and fishing boats coming in in the evening often sell fresh fish to customers right of their boats. All prepared for the pan or fridge right in front of you. Also from that harbor one can take fishing and sight seeing excursions for a fee. Three very nice restaurants are close by. The park list cable hook-ups, but this is rather a sham. Each of our rigs received very few cannels with very poor quality. We did better with our batwing antennae. Wi-Fi would be a plus but there are no plans for that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$37
This is a small compact recently remodeled park which can accommodate big rigs. Spotless and well cared for. The managers are extremely pleasant and helpful. Tight level spaces and no shade. No pool. Small but efficient general store on site. It is all about location on this expensive Monterey Bay. Very conveniently located between Santa Cruz and Monterey. Pet friendly. Walking distance to beach. We won't hesitate to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2005
$30
We stopped here for one night on our way home from a trip down Highway 1. Stayed here based on reviews from this website and was not disappointed! Owner personally guides you into your spot. Upon arrival we were advised we were being moved from our reserved site to another site, and they reduced our over night rate as a consideration to $30. Walking distance to several nice restaurants. Very clean and neat. Management very courteous and helpful. Would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$50
This is a very nice, but small, RV park in Moss Landing. It backs up to the marina which is very picturesque. Right across the one lane bridge is the state beach (a snowy plover nesting habitat so no dogs). Just down the road is access to the private beach where Fido can run and play. The hosts were incredibly friendly and helpful including assisting us into the site. The sites are close together, but then property on the California coast is at a premium. One of the nicer RV parks in the Monterey Bay area. Stop at the Lighthouse Restaurant for an awesome breakfast. Funky and fun, lots of families. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$40
Very Clean park. Friendly and professional managers. Easy Parking and nice wide spots. Poor restrooms (shared with marina next door) and no amenities in the park such as a pool or playground. It is close to the beach for walking and not far from a couple of very good places to eat (don't miss Phil's). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$47
Rate is $52.00 per night. (They do offer a Good Sam discount). No pool. No club house. No pull-through sites. NO activities. The rest rooms and showers are shared with the marina next door. For the price, I say no moss. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$52
Though the sites here are a bit tight, this place was really amazing. It's very neat and clean. They cater to the big rigs but there were a few pop-up trailers and of course our little 17ft hybrid trailer. The owners treat everyone wonderfully and I was amazed to see that he guides nearly everyone into their sites. As mentioned, they have an agreement with the marina to share showers and laundry facilities. The marina does a great job maintaining these. The laundry was one of the best ones we used on our 6k mile trip across the west. There's not much to Moss Landing but if you are here you must stop at Phil's Fish Market for dinner and Phil's Snack Shack for breakfast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2005
$40
Very clean park with nice, level (concrete) sites. Best part of the park is the location - only 20 minutes away from much to see in Monterey to the South or Santa Cruz to the North. Escort to site and assistance backing in was a big plus. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2004
$49
No privacy between sites yet because the park is so new that the bushes planted between the pads are still very small. The park has concrete pads, which is nice, but the spaces are narrow. You have to intrude on your neighbor's site to access your hookups. Kudos to the manager who escorted us to our site and guided us in backing in. He was VERY good and made it easy. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$43
Immacultely kept. Lovely common area for group fires, bbqs, etc. Walk to ocean, restaurants, antique/gift shops. The big plus here are the hosts. Wonderful, friendly people who truly made everyone feel at home. Sorry I do not remember their names. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$44
This park has sooooo much going for it. The physical sites are meticulously clean. There are so many great places to walk since the harbor and the beach are directly adjacent to the park. There are some wonderful restaurants within walking distance where you can get great right-off-the-boat-fresh seafood. Our only complaint were the bathrooms and showers which are actually public bathrooms and showers maintained by the Moss Landing harbor district - the RV park has some kind of cooperative arrangement with them. The women's bathroom wasn't too bad, but the men's bathroom was somewhat dirty and in disrepair. The unisex showers left a lot to be desired. The owners say that they have already submitted plans to the city for the construction of private bathrooms/showers for the park. Hopefully, this works out because this RV park is definitely a diamond in the rough and one that we look forward to revisiting. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$52
This is a brand new RV park on California's central coast. All sites are fully paved back-in spaces. The ocean and several good restaurants are within 10 minutes walk. The rear of the park backs up to the Moss Landing Harbor were fresh fish and ocean tours can be found. Makes a great stop over spot on Hwy 1 or a quick weekend getaway. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com