223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Doheny State Beach was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (949) 496-6172
CGID3988

Doheny State Beach

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   9   8   8   7   8   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
Space was nice and level with no hookups or Wi-Fi. The campground sits on the water, with many sites on the beach. The campground also sits next to the train tracks and they run all day and a couple after midnight to early morning. Each camp site has a picnic bench and fire pit. Pet friendly, we were traveling with our 3 cats. The camp host was not the most friendly or helpful person....maybe was having a bad day. Had asked for some help or info re: our dead battery and basically ignored us. Other Camper helped. We will go back here to stay again. The beach is beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$35
The current budget crisis in CA has really driven up the prices, but this is still a very nice beach campground. No hookups of any kind, but the beach views are great. Note though that if you pull into one of the beach side sites in a motorhome that your door will be on the wrong side and you will step out into your neighbors site. Backing into a second row site will give you a view out of the front of the rig, and put your living space on the correct side of the rig. One other note, the dump station can be very tight so pull in carefully. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35
I stayed here for one night only, spot #35. The park is very clean and well maintained. It is very popular, thus requiring advanced reservations. During my stay the park kept some spots available on a first come/first serve basis. Wi-Fi is available at a concession stand but I wasn't able to connect from within the park. Trains pass on a regular basis, weren't bothersome. Some fast food restaurants within walking distance and the marina. Some great bike riding areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$60
We have had a wonderful time beachfront camping at Doheny. We loved having a sandy beach of our own in front of our paved pad for the table and fire ring. The sandy berm would have been perfect for grandkids and cars and trucks. This park is very well maintained, including a very nice dump station. There are lots of little places to walk for something to eat it you don't feel like cooking, or the marina is a very short drive. You are also within 15 minutes of Laguna Beach to the north and San Clemente to the south. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$60
Doheny is a very nice state beach. A beach front (premium) site is a must for the full effect. Many of the beach front sites can flood on rainy days. Maintenance personnel (state employees) are visible all day cleaning and repairing as needed. Campground "hosts" are invisible. I never saw one come out of their rigs over an entire week to do anything such as to enforce the park rules. There is absolutely no enforcement of the no dogs on the beach, or on a 6' leash rule. There is absolutely no enforcement of the no generator use between 8PM and 10AM. Of course there must always be campers who just feel they are exempt from the rules and hosts who feel it's not their job to enforce them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Great beach campground with easy access. Stayed in site 58, which is a pull through. Had plenty of room. Campground was well kept with maintenance people in clear view. Only minor bummer was the new "surf berm" that was apparently put in place due to a high swell that swamped some campsites. It blocked the view of the ocean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$60
Stayed here for 4 nights in beachfront site #60. Next to public path to beach access resulted in many people cutting through the back or our site through our campfire/chairs and picnic table area. Minor bummer but not too bad. Major negative for a couple of sites is that they have beach showers, for spraying off after a swim, installed right in the back of the sites where you put your tents and picnic table/chairs. These are not marked on the campground map online or in printed version. I would have been very disappointed to show up and have that in my site. Campground has 2 shower buildings at either end of the camp with 6 showers at each building. $.25 for 2.5 minutes and it was always warm water, which was nice. Not bad, but did get lines at prime shower time in evenings. One shower building had 3 showers out of service so could have been overflow too. They do not police the amount of people allowed at each site so it gets really crowded from Friday - Sunday. Beach is a shore break which makes it rough for young kids to play in and very rocky with little pebbles in the break. Good sand castle building though. Would only stay here if have a beach front site, which is a $$ premium. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$40
We camped here on a beautiful January weekend and were very pleased with the location of our site (#116) and the condition of the park. Trains go by very frequently (several times per hour), but this wasn't as bothersome as I had feared. Beach is lovely; next time we will for sure try to get a beachfront site. We used our generator in the morning and evening- there seemed to be a lot of people doing the same. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
The beach is nice, the kids spent most of the time in the water. The sites are a decent size and double wide for parking a car or tow vehicle. The beach had several lifeguards in the towers and patrolling on an ATV and truck. However, there was no enforcement of the campground rules. There were quite a few campsites with more than the max number of people. The sites on both sides of us had at least 12 people. Generators ran from early in the morning to 10pm. Not once did I see one of the camp hosts making the rounds, even though there are 4 of them in the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
We had a family reunion at the park for 4 nights. Spaces 62 and 63. Clean Park. It was full. Beach is not the best for swimming as entry is through pebbles not sand. Surf was high with a lot of kelp from an off shore storm. Metrolink/Amtrak runs next to campground so you will have some train noise. Will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This is a really nice campground on the beach. The restrooms were cleaned daily, as were the showers. The showers were coin operated, which we wish we knew about ahead of time. Bring your quarters, as each one is good for a couple of minutes! The site was paved for the trailer, and dirt for the rest. It had a fire pit and table, and there are bushes between to help separate the neighbors. There are grassy areas to throw or kick a ball. We were in a site furthest away from the beach, which was still less than 100 yards away. On Friday and Saturday nights through the summer, there is music to be heard from about 6 to 10 PM from the hotel across the street. The big drawback is trying to reserve a campsite here. We only had a chance to camp because a friend wasn't going to use it. Overall, we had a great time! We would like to stay again, and would recommend it as a great family campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This is state camping at its best. We love this campground. The showers and restrooms were clean. It is great to be right on the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
Nice place to camp if you want to be by the ocean. It has a little tree line between the sites and is not like a parking lot. It was kept nice and clean. PCH is close and so are the train tracks but we are city people so we didn't even notice. We are going again in a couple of weeks and than in a month or so. Both times we will have ocean front sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$30
I use this, and the two State parks in San Clemente, as a homebase while exploring the area and visiting relatives. I stay here only when the oceanfront sites are available to get an awesome view of beach and surf, and access to great beach walks and bike rides. Location next to San Juan Creek makes for high bacterial count, but also lots of shorebirds. Since there are no hookups, feel free to orient your rig for best view; I'm shocked that 75% of the motorhomes back in at the beachfront. Many sites have vegetation between them, but otherwise it is a crowded camp and noisy because of kids, trains, and generators (since there are no hookups). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
A great beach location just steps from most camp sites. Also, the location between San Clemente and Laguna is full of many diffent activities with a superb drive through the Pacific Coast Highway. The camp sites looked clean, as well as the restrooms and showers. The only bummer was a toxic warning for the water along Doheny beach in front of the campground. I guess there was some rain a day or so before we arrived. Still, there are plenty of other cleaner areas a short driving distance away. We headed North about 8 miles to Crystal Cove (between Laguna Beach and Newport Beach) where the water was cleaner along a very well kept nature protected area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$20
This is a very nice CA State Beach park. Some ocean front sites. Other sites back up to a grassy field, great for frisbee, football, etc. Perfect if you have a few sites reserved for family reunions or parties. Sites are very well maintained and clean, as were the restrooms and showers. There is a small gift shop as you enter the park, with a tide pool on display and a very small (one room) museum area explaining the wildlife found in the area. Reserve well in advance for holiday weekends and summer visits. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2005
$25
Nice park but crowded park. Need to make reservations months in advance. The camp hosts(CH) were very nice and helpful. Only complaint was the park is rather noisy. Didn't really get completely quiet until about 3am (yes I was up that late). The beach is nice but water is closed often due to bacteria levels. Google for water conditions if you plan on swimming, fish but don't eat. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
Was very clean as most state parks are. Each campground is separated by thick bushes which was nice for privacy and shade. Our bushes were a bit overgrown so we could not use our awning, but most of the sites were properly cut. Our site backed up to the sand of Doheny State Beach. Our site was double wide so it was easy to get our TT backed in. We had our own fire ring. No kookups, but there was a dump station and potable water available. We slept to the sound of the small waves rolling in on the beach. Campground was mostly families in rv's, but there were also many tents. Our only complaint was a noisy group next to us, but they were in bed at a decent hour. Very nice with plenty of activities including bicycle and jet ski rentals. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com