219034 User submitted reviews online!!
Gunnison KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (970) 641-1358
CGID3995

Gunnison KOA

Camp Information
Sites
73
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   6   10   10   9   9   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
This is one of the few KOAs that we like as they are very friendly and helpful, with nice facilities. Park is grassy, off hiway, spacious, and clean. Owners are extremely pet friendly. We had a large back-in with no one on either side so it made for a quiet stay. We will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
Really nice park. Only problem was that the sites were set up facing each other and were close together. Other than that it was well maintained, with clean bathrooms and laundry facilities. Would probably stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
This campground is basically a large field/lawn which gives it a bit of a park like atmosphere. The sites are minimally defined, basically pull in next to your hook ups. Some sites are fairly level, others take bit of work. All hook ups worked well, WiFi was decent and had good satellite reception. A nice enclosed dog area very poorly located at the far end of the park with no "walk through" paths to get there. The ponds were in poor condition at best - shallow with overgrowth, white oily scum on top. Ponds require significant maintenance which these apparently do not get. Had reserved 2 nights (needed down time after a long trip) but they had no record of the 2nd night. They refunded the 2nd night after I found my confirmation email/number when we got set up. Would stay again if we needed a quick overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
Forget what you may think about some KOAs, this is a great park. The owners work hard at keeping it beautiful and it is. Lots of trees and GREEN grass. Just an all around VERY NICE PLACE. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$43
A very nice park with well kept green grass; friendly staff and owner; and plenty to do in the park. We recommend this park and will be staying here many times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
This is great park for families and kids. Grass, ponds for fishing and paddleboats, 2 mini horses and a mini donkey for kids to play with. The Wi-Fi is not so great, but we got several TV stations with the antenna. The showers are large and clean. There is a lot of noise from the nearby road. The large trees are great. Would stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$21
This is our second time at this KOA. We decided to stay a month this time (reflected in the rate). This is a lovely park. Trees and lots of beautiful, green, lush grass that makes you want to go barefoot. The sites are a mix of gravel and grass. If the park was paved and had a few more amenities, it would be a 10. I am impressed that they have a water truck that sprinkles water on the gravel road to reduce dust, of which there is very little. Staff is great. Good road and mountain biking nearby. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
This place is one of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed at in Colorado. There are tables, swings, easy chairs at at most sites. A big plus is the grounds look like a golf course. Grass and lakes (with trout) great fun for kids. Its off the highway about 1/2 mile and is very QUIET. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$17
My family and I have camped here several times. We like it very much. It has big spacious spots. Friendly staff. We stayed here before they rebuilt the building for the restrooms/showers, and we didn't mind the bathrooms before. They were old but they were clean. Now with the new bathrooms: the park charges you not only to stay at the park AND the park pass, but now they charge you to take a shower as well. They should not charge a person staying in a tent so much, if they are going to charge for taking a shower. Some people may not think that's a big deal, but after coming here for so long with the setup they had before, to now paying the same for a tent site and with the addition of having to put in more money for something we got for free before, is a little frustrating. I don't think that's going to stop us from staying here again, because we do like the area. I would have given it 10 stars if it wasn't for that. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Staff was very friendly. Nice grass-covered spots. Excellent shower facilities. And by the way, there is no charge to take a shower, as one reviewer had stated was the case in 2010. Excellent laundry facility. This campground is close to town, yet quiet. There seemed to be quite a few vacationers staying here for a week or longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This park has nice, big lawn covered spaces. The facilities were clean and neat; well maintained. The staff was very courteous and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Very nice KOA - not as fancy as some but a very good place to spend some time. The staff was helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
Great location for fishing and hunting trips. While we were there saw tons and tons of people with trailers of 4 wheelers, etc. Park has lots of amenities. Probably the most I have ever seen. From paddle boats, bike and trike rentals, decent fenced in dog area and fishing pond which they charge by the inch, not a catch and release. However on that note, go to the Wal-Mart in town and get a fishing license for the day or 2 day and go literally across the street of the park and fish the city stocked pond. We do not fish regularly at all and was just doing it for fun with the kids. We took the advice of the kid at Wal-Mart with bait and we must have caught like 15-20 trout in like 3-4 hours. It was so much fun. Park is also very close to Blue Mesa Reservoir. The park does have a lot of trees just not many around the sites. We did not have a fire pit at our site, others did not sure if they belong to the park or not, we didn't ask. Oh sites are 95% grass, only exception is where long term residents have killed some of the grass with extended stays. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
We would not stay here again. The sites are way too close together and with the shared hookups you wind up with your patio facing your neighbor's patio. At this price? I don't think so. Watch out for the soft ground back around the sites numbered in the 30's. Also, the ponds could be nice but are not maintained and are full of algae, trash and scum. The location was good for Gunnison and the surrounding areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Park was clean. Sites were grass/mud. Units shared water & sewer connections, Our unit was so close to my neighbor's unit I could not open my awning. I also thought the rates were too much for services received. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Basically, we liked the park, and thought that the staff was very friendly and helpful. The park was very clean, and the campsites were very nice. It was a pleasure to actually have grass under our feet outside the Motorhome, instead of dirt, gravel, mud, etc. The only thing that they need to improve on is the "Pet Run" fenced area. It is not maintained, and you wonder if you are going to run into poison ivy, etc. within the fenced area. If they would address this problem, and mow it like they do the rest of the park, this would be an absolutely great place to spend your RV time in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Our family enjoyed our visit to the Gunnison KOA. The park has lots of grass and trees--though the sites themselves are not particularly shady. It's located on the edge of town, so it's convenient to pick up groceries or eat a meal out. The bathrooms were cleaned daily during our stay, but they were kind of dark. I would highly recommend this campground for families. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$39
Grassy sites. We had a view of the small lakes on site. Clean showers, good Wi-Fi, close to town. A good choice for large or small RVs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
The previous rater said it all nicely. 9 months later his write up is quite accurate. I would only add 14 channels of free air digital TV. The fishing pond is well stocked with large (15") trout. Made for a bargain supper. The rate shown reflects a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Price approximate. I have been RVing for a long time and I will be hard-pressed to find a more friendly and helpful park owner. In fact, everyone that worked there was very congenial, and they are great animal lovers. The park may be more expensive than others but the area is beautiful. The park is very well maintained. There is a large off-leash dog area, a fishing pond, paddle boats, bike rentals, laundry and showers and kabins. There's a large tent area as well. The grass is thick and plush and comfy on the naked toes. The mild summer weather is fantastic and there are a lot of area restaurants to eat at. Wi-Fi strong and stable. Our Verizon and Sprint cells had strong signals with no problems. I was a little concerned because we lost signals to both en-route there, but the park is strong and the surrounding area is strong/ok. I would highly recommend Gunnison KOA. I think we found our "summer retreat". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
I agree with the previous reviewer that this is one of the better KOA campgrounds. The fishing and boating ponds and other decorative structures provided a wonderful ambiance to the park. And the fall colors around the ponds were just amazing. All hookups worked as advertised. Restrooms/showers were clean. We will return here again even though we noticed quite a few other RV campgrounds as were driving in and out of Gunnison. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
The owner and his staff are very friendly, efficient, and constantly work to take care of the guests and park. It shows. Park is mainly grass and they really baby it. Many amenities to keep people busy and happy. Nice store also. We had a back-in that had to be 100' plus. Our site was wide and level. The ponds were nice to walk around and had swings and benches to use scattered around. I am not big on KOA's usually but have enjoyed 3-4 and this was one of the best! My only negative for our 3 nights was not the park's fault but our site was near the shower rooms and we had a steady flow of guests walking by our table going to/from showers. Again, not the fault of park; just rude and inconsiderate people! We loved the park and will go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
This campground is over rated for what you get. It’s pricey. All sites are on grass and odd/even sites face each other. The sites are very close and our awning was almost touching our neighbor’s awning. There is no cable TV and no shade trees. They cater to short term stays for premium sites. We stayed for a week and were told they could not give us a large premium site. However, we saw people stay here for one or two nights without reservations. Our Verizon cell phone and wireless internet card worked fine and so did our satellite dish. We visited the Black Canyon NP (1 hour drive), Crested Butte (1/2 hour drive) and Curecanti NRA during our stay. We would stay at another local campground if we were to visit Gunnison again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
Agreed that it is VERY tight for the larger rigs here. I'm in a 20' class B, so can pull into that quieter and somewhat more open area. All grass but I like that, very well maintained and completely level site (74). The Wi-Fi works fine. A little bit noisy from road noise and the nearby small airport, but not bad. Very acceptable fenced off-leash dog area with some grass and trees. Sites do have trees but shade doesn't happen till early evening. Nicely maintained park with friendly hosts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Park has very narrow, grass sites. The connections require one unit to pull in and the neighbor to back in, this combined with the narrow issue has you door-to-door, right on top of your neighbor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
Very clean, friendly park. Close to airport, but no traffic while we were there. Internet connections in the lounge/laundry room. Washers & dryers worked well and were very reasonable. Store was stocked well & staff very friendly. The only reason I did not give this park a 10 was because site was grass/dirt and rutted. The site we parked in "shared a yard" which we don't particularly enjoy, since you can't choose your neighbor or their pets. Would stay here again, but would probably upgrade to premium lot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Very friendly staff, who are anxious to please! In late May, there weren't too many others in the campground. We held a small Rally for Heartland owners, and we were all thrilled with the service we got! They took the time to set up a meeting tent, and cooked our group breakfast Saturday morning! There was lots of room for our large 5th wheels, all grass. Next to airport, that got one plane everyday from Denver, about 2:00PM. It was hardly noticeable. We will be back next year!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
We spent one night here the Wednesday before Labor Day and had a pull-through site in the middle of the park. The site configuration was a bit confusing since there are supposed to be 54 FHU and 60 pull-through sites. I can not say that there aren't 54 FHU, but I don't see how there are 60 true PT sites. The only way there are that many PT sites is if you drive off the park roads and go behind or between other sites to "pull-through". Our site would not have been a PT if the site in front of us had been occupied. I also had difficulty situating the RV in my grassy, ill-defined site because of the awkward location of the hook-ups. Other sites I saw, especially the back-ins, did not appear to have this problem. A lot of these appear to be extended stay sites. The WI-FI worked fine for us, but that may be because the park was only half full. There is no cable, but most sites appear to be satellite friendly. It's a nice enough park, but I would definitely want a different site next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
This is an extremely nice KOA. This is an example of an older KOA being continually modernized for new, larger RV units. It is located near the town of Gunnison, making it easy to four-wheel the area. I would recommend if you have a large motorhome or fifth wheel to reserve the double-wide spaces in the middle of the campground. These are long pull-throughs on grass with lots of room between sites. The owners/managers spend a lot of time on maintaining the grounds and sites. Flowers are everywhere. With the spectacular view of the surrounding mountains, this campground is hard to beat. We would definitely come back to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
It is a nice park. We stayed for 4 nights. The WiFi is iffy occasionally. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
This is our first visit to this park. It came highly recommended by a friend. We are here for the summer and we are so glad we took his recommendation. The setting is beautiful and the grounds are immaculate. Beautiful freshly planted flowers at the entrance. The staff is so helpful and friendly. The owner cut wood for us to lower our jacks onto and helped us park. The electricity is a flat rate based on 30 or 50 amp. We are very close to downtown Gunnison. The cell service here is great, and so is TV reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
We enjoyed our one night at this KOA campground. Our grandson fished in the trout pond (you pay by the inch) he caught a couple and was really excited about it. Our granddaughter took a paddle boat ride in the other pond and she enjoyed that. It is a nice park and the people were helpful and pleasant. We were not crowded at all where we parked and the lawns were beautiful green. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
Uneven sites with some awkward spacing between sites. But good access to some biking roads and only a little bit out of town. Would use again as a stop over site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
This park is adequate, but nothing to brag about. The sites are very close together and they share hook-ups. Because of the shared hook-ups, you face your neighbor and are extremely close together, so not much privacy to be had. Luckily, the first night we stayed we had very nice neighbors and the second night the site next to us was empty. We did not use the restrooms and showers but I did check them out. They were smelly and rather dirty, making me glad that we had accommodations in the motorhome. There were a couple of teens that rode their loud off-road motorcycles into the campground on several occaisons and then they parked them inside of one of the rental cabins! If you plan to rent a cabin here check to see if it has been used for motorcycle storage! The free wi-fi was was sporadic. This is not a horrible campground, but it's definitely not a great campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$38
This is a great campsite. It is quiet and well kept. The owner was tending the shop and was very kind. He let my 2 children fish in the trout pond for free since it was the end of season. The park is across from the airport, but we only heard one plane during the time we were there. The landscaping is beautiful with lots of flowers. One of the nicest parks we have seen. Will stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$29
Friendly staff, warm reception and nice campground. Would go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$32
Of all the KOA's that we have stayed in for the past 10 years of camping this was by far the most disappointing. It was rated high in our Woodall's book so thought we were safe, the sites are grass and are narrow, narrow with the utilities placed so that you are forced to face your neighbor door to door, thank goodness we had friends with us. The staff was semi-friendly, didn't really seem to care, the facility seemed clean but we did not wait around to see, we left after one night and will never stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$28
Friendly staff. Open grass sites, some side to side. Well maintained roads and grass. Will stay again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
This is a beautiful grassy KOA in the heart of Gunnison. Friendly, helpful staff and immaculate restrooms and showers. Pet friendly with a new enclosed pet run. Quiet and safe and in a pastoral setting. It's close to the airport but plane noise is not a problem. There's an ethernet hookup in the office and also the WiFi works at the office. Hopefully the WiFi will be parkwide next year. Verizon cell phones work great. About the only thing (other than not having an internet connection in our coach) I'd like to see changed is to widen the space between the sites. Some of the sites position you too close to your neighbor. I'd highly recommend visiting Gunnison and staying at the KOA here. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
This KOA has some electrical problems. When we plugged into the shared electrical box our camping neighbors electric went out. The staff could not find the problem so we requested to be moved so the other RV could use the only working electrical plug. One of the plugs in the site we were moved to wasnt working either but we were the only ones hooked up to it so it didn't matter. This is a smaller KOA from ones we've stayed at in the past. The owner and staff were friendly and helpfull. The grounds are well kept. All sites have grass - there isnt a designated "parking" site for RV's just pull up on the grass and hook up. There is a pond with a lighted fountain. That's the reason for the "water front" mark above, there are campsites along one side of the pond. There's a shaded dog run for pet owners who want to allow their dogs to run off-leash. A small game room with a pool table. A fishing pond - .40 charge per inch for caught fish (**you HAVE to keep what you catch**). Cable tv is not offered but tv reception wasn't a problem. Campground is next to the Gunnison airport but it's quiet at night (after 10/11pm). A small store is located in the office but it's not well stocked with grocery items, it's more of an expensive souvineer shop. This KOA serves as a good basecamp for exploring the Gunnison and surrounding areas. We would consider staying here again because the staff was friendly and the grounds were well kept. The only draw back to us is that your RVs front door may be facing the neighboring RVs front door AND have an RV behind you with your shared hook ups between you. This type of set up gives you very little room or "privacy" since you and the RV your facing are sharing camp space. The staff seemed to be alternating sites to keep crowding to a minimum, but some RVers weren't so lucky. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com