220365 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (906) 289-4451
CGID3996

Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
64
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   5   8   8   10   7   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$42
Site 56 not level. Wi-Fi not so good. Cable TV good. Toilets and showers plentiful and clean. Nice lake . Nice setting. Sites close together and some shared areas depending if you back in or go forward. With no cell service, it would have been good to have totally consistent and reliable Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$47
Terrific campground. Best of our entire 8 day trip to the Western Upper Peninsula. Great accommodations, very clean and well maintained complex. Really close to town. Won't consider staying anywhere else in the area on our next visit. The kids enjoyed the game room and the playground and we all liked the convenience to Copper Harbor. Much more space than the State Parks we stayed in. Worth the extra money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
This was an odd little campground in that the connections were placed way at the front of the sites. We had to park nose-in instead of backing in and then bring out electrical cords under the coach in order to reach the unit. That put us side-by-side the other coach, making us quite close to them - leaving lots of space on the other side. That, plus the site itself was really lumpy so we had to be very careful how we walked or we would trip as the grass covered the dips. The plus side was that it forced us to meet our neighbors which were very friendly and we had great evening fires with them! The lake is lovely to look at and Copper Harbor is enjoyable itself. There was a bike race in town, so the state park was full, and we were lucky to get this place! All in all, it was a fine stay. We were told to expect no cell service, so no surprises there. We didn't expect to get our WiFi, so that was a nice surprise when we got that! It helped to have low expectations ;-) Very nice people tho and a beautiful drive there! Well worth the trip in! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$42
Located in Michigan's Upper Peninsula and northernmost town of Copper Harbor. Full hook-up. No cellular voice or data within 5 miles. Free Wi-Fi in park works well in non-peak. We were able to Skype to make a few important calls. The campground is very nice and the sites roomy. There are only 10 or so full hook-up. Others are without utilities. The area is very scenic with many biking and hiking opportunities. We also kayaked the lake which was right behind our site (but no view). There is also a historic Fort (Wilkins) up the road. We took in the Delaware Copper Mine tour which was very good. The restrooms were VERY clean and there is a nice community lounge. I would use Lake Fanny Hooe again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Great little campground in the UP. On a lake but the sites were off the lake. Think maybe 1 or 2 sites had a little lake view across the street. I believe all sites backed up to woods or meadow. Smaller sites very wooded. Larger sites more open but nice size. Utilities on front of site so make sure you have adequate hose and cord to reach. Cell service non-existent. They claimed to have wi-fi but weak. Some people went to club house to connect. Great staff. Very we'll kept property. We would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$42
This campground also has cabins and a motel. The campsites are level. The shared utilities posts are set between sites, so depending on which one you have, it may be on the "wrong" side. The town has no cell phone reception at all. The campground has wifi, which was nice to have. Our site was at the edge and was surrounded on 3 sides by trees so the service was degraded. In the clubhouse in the center it was more than adequate. Copper Harbor is beautiful, natural and rugged. There is great mountain biking and kayaking. Some Friday evenings they have an Art Crawl where the local artist community open their galleries and homes to sell their wares. There were re-enactors at the Fort. We camped here because the state park was full. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$42
Beautiful location. 10 full hook up sites which worked fine. Grass site was easy to level. Shared utilities; ours were on the correct side with back-in site so satellite from roof was good. If you had to drive in there would be no satellite due to trees. 40' no problem. Picnic table and fire rings. Only cell phone reception is by driving up a hill outside of town. Can walk to boat to Isle Royale. Staff very helpful. Only a general store in town so be prepared. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Very nice little campground situated right on Lake Fanny Hooe - cabins and lodge on the water; campgrounds just across the little road. Big rigs and RVs in front of the campground; tents set back in second loop. RV sites were accessed easily, but were close to each other, with no trees in between most of them (trees in the back of each spot), but the very friendly staff, the ultra-clean bathrooms, showers and laundry facilities made this a winner! Great location for visiting Isle Royale National Park - ferry leaving from Copper Harbor is just minutes from this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
Shore Services 30 amp, No sewer in many of the sites, Water at 70psi, Wi-Fi is good and that is good because there is no Cell Phone, Sprint, Verizon Aircard service here. No cable. Sites are level and wide enough. Our site is long for our 38ft fifth wheel, however, the power and water services are up at the front of the sites. I had to park my truck beside my trailer between a tree and the trailer. There was 20 ft behind my trailer I couldn't use. I have a 25 ft extension to my 50 amp power cord. This allowed me enough room to set my trailer back far enough to keep the front out of the campground road. Twenty eight is ok for electric & water, but $42 is way to much for full service. The road into and in the campground are good. Restrooms are very clean, Laundry has 4 washers & 4 Driers. They both cost $2.00 per load. The dryers only run 30 min, which did not get our clothes dry requiring another $2.00, then the blue jeans still did not get completely dry. No discounts. Credit card is good for payment. This is a nice park and there is some great scenery out along the lake. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
Campsites here are good sized, and it was nice to have full hook-up and free internet in such a rural area especially when there is no cell service. It’s close proximity to everything makes it convenient. Overall a very nice property. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Seemingly an adequate park with grass sites and some shade. Electric and water utilities good, dump area convenient and clean. Gentleman behind desk was friendly and helpful. I would rate this park higher except for the fact there was goose droppings all over. No apparent activity to control or clean up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$48
Very nice and clean park. Depending on which site you get may have to maneuver some to get into the site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
This is a nice clean park. The sites a wide, about 14 to 16 feet, plenty of room to put out your slides and awnings. But, there is very little landscaping to separate the sites. In other words, there is no privacy. The park does have Wi-Fi, but it is so slow it is virtually useless. Verizon and AT&T do not work here. There is a public road running through the park generating noise from motorcycles and ATVs. The park is within walking distance of everything in Copper Harbor. If you like to bike, hike or ATV, this is the place for you. This is also the best deal in the area as Ft Wilkins SP charges $25 and is too far to walk to town. We stayed in the elec/water sites for $28. There are also full hookup sites (with cable) for $40. We thought $12 a day was a little excessive for cable as the park also has a dump station so you don't really need sewer at your site. Most of the sites have clear line of sight for satellite antennas. The one thing we were real disappointed in was the dump station. The flush water and fresh water hoses had these stupid L-shaped metal pipes on the hoses which rendered them useless for back flushing your black water tank and for filling your fresh water tank. In our rig there is no way to perform these actions using their equipment at the dump station. We would stay here again and bring adapters for their hoses. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
The only full hookup campground in Copper Harbor and within easy walking distance to anything in town. There is a bike path to Fort Wilkins State Park and there isn't much traffic so it is easy to ride the bike in town too. We rode our bikes to the dock for the Isle Royale ferry and locked them up at the dock for the day with no problems. The campground is good - the full hookup spots don't have much shade and while the sewer was on the correct side for our Class A, the water and electric had to be crossed under the RV. These hookups are shared between two sites so every other one would be backwards for us. The folks from the hotel on site took over the shared campfire and playground one night but they observed quiet hours so no problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
This is a nice quiet scenic park. We would love to go back in the fall for the fall colors. People were helpful and it is a wonderful location to relax. This was our first trip to the western end of the Upper Peninsula and we loved the wildness of the area. Some people complain EVERYWHERE we went in the Upper Peninsula about lack of cell phone service or computer connectivity. Leave your cares behind! This is vacation time! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
This is the third time we have been here - the first in 5 years. We stayed here 5 nights over a 8 day period: 2 nights at a FHU site with cable TV (about 20 channels) and 1 night at a W&E site the first stay and 2 nights at a W&E site a few days later. We felt that the hassle of trying to hookup to the sewer wasn't worth paying for a FHU site. We like the park but the condition of the sites and utility placement cause me to downgrade this park. As others have noted, the FHU sites are share an electric/water hook-ups causing problems like from running hoses/cords under the RV and/or needing extensions for those items. Most of these 10 FHU sites have sewer drains that are also poorly placed requiring long or exteded sewer hoses. Additionally, it is as difficult to get level as it is to line up the RV with the utilities. Even the W&E sites have the shared pedestal problem with the added problem of the utilities being at the front of the site. Some of the FHU sites and about half the W&E sites are satellite friendly. If it is possible, you might want to check the site you get to be certain it meets your needs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
2011 update: no goose droppings and a delightful park! It's close to town which is a small, quaint place with cute shops and a nice atmosphere. Some sites are a tad close side to side. Plenty of room to back in our 45' rig. The owner worked with us to stay another day without having to move. Good Wi-Fi. Be prepared that there is no cell service in town. The only reception is at the top of Brockway lookout which is worth the drive even without cell phone access. Harbor Haus is a great restaurant albeit pricey. This is a wonderful area with boat trips, hiking, golf at Keweenaw Mountain resort (9 hole). Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
Friendly manager,staff and quiet park. The goose droppings were very bad. We selected a site in back away from the droppings. Restrooms and laundry room very clean. Wi-Fi had a poor signal strength, had to move to clubhouse to get a signal. Located within walking distance of town. NO cell phone signals in the area, the town needs to work on this issue for tourists. Would camp here again loved the area. Nice vacation spot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Beautiful setting and great location, close to everything. Nice lake just across the street. OK size sites and level, however very outdated. Full hookup sites are side by side and only 30 amp. For the water and electric sites, the hookups are at the road. You either pull in facing the bushes, or have long hoses and electric cable. There are goose droppings everywhere attracting 1000's of flies. It was so bad, we could not sit outside any of the four evenings we were here. Sitting inside was made easier as the cable TV and Wi-Fi did work well, as well as a clear shot for satellite, however we are not inside campers and want to be outside. Fly netting is a must if you want to grill outside. If not, the Harbor Haus is an excellent restaurant. If we were coming to the area again, I would stay at the state park West Campground 1/2 mile away with 50 amp and paved sites which are huge and more private. It looks from the other posts the owner has raised his rates to increase the P & L as the Campgrounds are listed "for sale." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Beautiful campground on a serene quiet lake approx 1/2 mile in from Lake Superior and Copper Harbor. 1/4 mile from main street in town, but yet quiet, open &/or wooded sites. Level sites, playground, nice club house with games and activities for the kids. Can rent canoes on site. Showers and bathrooms are very clean and well kept up. Free showers with nice roomy changing area. Very friendly staff. They sell ice, wood and basic provisions and are open until 10pm. Loved the convenience but yet still not camping on top of one another. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
The Campground facilities do not deserve this low a rating. This rating is given because of unflexable customer service demonstrated by owner/manager. We arrived at 11am. Check in time is posted as 12 noon. We had to wait for an hour in the parking lot to comply with the stated rules. There were only 4 sites out of the 64 sites in the Campground occupied. The ower was very busy vacuming the office floor upon our arrival. The only reason these people can stay in business is they have the only water and sewer sites in Copper Harbor. The State Park Facilities are far superior but do not have these hook ups. They will newer get another penny of my money and I would urge all to stay away. I understand why rules are necessary, but common sense needs to also be applied to all situations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$38
We stayed in the full hookup sites. They are quite large and have all the amenities including cable. However, be sure to ask for a site with hookups on the left or be prepared to bring an extra water and sewer hose and possibly an electric extension. I was able to park our trailer at an angle in such a way that we could run water and electric to the post located most inconveniently on the right side of the site. The owners really should consider modernizing their hookups to the current standard. That said, this was a very nice place to stay; the owner/manager was very nice and accommodating when we asked to stay in a our site two additional nights. The place was very quiet and peaceful. Copper Harbor is the best kept secret of the Midwest! Be sure to have dinner at Harbor Haus German restaurant in town, it was a wonderful, memorable meal. We would definitely come back to this place! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$34
Free wi-fi internet was just added 2 weeks ago. Considering the water/ele. sites were $10/night less than full-hookups (includes wi-fi but no cable/sewer), we probably would pick those sites if we were to return. We have no kids and had plenty to do to entertain ourselves with all the mountain biking, road biking and kayaking opportunities in the area. Rumor is that there's no fish in the lake, but we only fished from the docks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$38
This campground is the only campground with sewer hookups in the area, the have no activities planned anytime. This is not a "Resort" atmosphere at all, the clubhouse is small and has nothing except a pop and 1 vending machine. The showers were clean and the grounds were always in good shape. They do have a small swimming area on the Lake. I will return again and stay only because the have sewer and water. My only reason for a six rating is that a "Resort" campground you would think they would have some activities for kids and /or a pool. They camp store was stocked and had nice t-shirts and sweatshirts to buy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com