214599 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Guntersville State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (256) 571-5455
CGID40

Lake Guntersville State Park

Camp Information
Sites
139
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   6   8   8   3   1   6   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$19
The park suffered some time ago from tornado damage. The recovery effort has gone well. New trees have been planted, more full hookups, and a better stocked store. I would have given all stars had our site been level and it had not been gravel. The beauty of the area really out ways any minor problems. I continue to recommend this park to my friends as a great place to unwind. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$28
Our site was not very level. That is surprising as there has been a lot of trees removed due to the storm damage from about a year or so ago. Miss the shade trees on the lower portion of the campground. Our kids enjoy fishing off the dock and the playground is fun for them, too. If you like to geocache, we also found some great ones that are not far from the campground. It has a keypad and guest code with a secure gate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$19
Rate reflects weekly rate bridging summer and winter seasons. We stayed one week and at check in the rate was automatically adjusted for the part of the our week that was in the winter season. This is a beautiful lake side park. The entrance is gated. You are provided the entrance code at check in. The facilities are very well maintained, clean, and roomy. There are 3 laundry facilities throughout the park. The park covers a large area and the sites are spacious. You can choose a site close to the lake front, or back by the wooded hillside. Deer wander through the sites by the hillside. Wi-Fi is available throughout the park. The utility connections can be challenging, depending on the site. The sewer connections are sometimes pretty far away from where you would expect them. You may need an extension on your hose. Other sites have the utilities conveniently located. Cable is not provided, but you can pick up some local channels with an antenna. Overall a very nice and comfortable park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$18
This campground was hit hard by a tornado several years ago. Many of the trees were lost, therefore most of this large campground is "rebuilding". Many trees have been planted, new fire rings and bathhouses. The interior roads are only fair and the sites are gravel and uneven. Most or the electrical looks new and the Wi-Fi very good. I would rate it higher if the sites were in better shape. The golf course is great and if you like to fish . . . this is the place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
This park suffered massive tornado damage in 2011 and, while recovering, is still showing the effects of the storm. Most of the back-in sites have new power pedestals. Pull-thru sites have not been upgraded as of this writing. Most sites are gravel and need leveling. Turning in the pull-thru area is tight and may limit large rigs. Lake facilities are nice and there is a lovely lodge on the top of the hill overlooking the park. The Wi-Fi service is the best we experienced on our month-long trip. Work on the needed campground improvements continues. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$21
Nice state park with great views of Lake Guntersville. FHUs and a friendly staff. Not all sites are level, so bring some blocks. Although we had a pull-through site, the turns were very tight and barely manageable in our 40' motorhome. Plenty of deer in the area in the evenings. We were surprised that we were able to obtain a site over July 4th on a moment's notice. We would return again if in this area, although we were rained out the views were beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
The park was hit by a tornado and most of the lake front spaces were not available. The spaces are very tight. In our opinion the spaces are too tight for the area. It was loud with people playing music. I would not come back. We only stayed one night. The camp host and park staff was very helpful on a matter we had with the sewer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2013
$15
The sites were close, Lots of loud rude people, There were people racing golf carts. Drinking, just wild! I would have liked this park in the 90's but I have children now. Not a family park. There were many people living there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
We are camping here a year or so after the tornado hit. This was our first time to the park, so we weren't sure what to expect. When we first arrived at the park, we were met at the office/store by very friendly staff that assigned us a spot. They told us we could drive around and choose a different spot if we desired, and just call and let them know if we wanted to change. As we entered the park, we immediately saw the devastation that was caused by the tornado. Almost all of the trees in the park are gone, and all but one of the RV sections along side the lake are still being rebuilt. We seriously reconsidered staying there, but I'm really glad we did. We picked a site towards the back end of the park that only had a couple of campers in it. Within an hour or so of getting set up, we had deer walking right up to our camper, which the kids loved. We drove up to the lodge on one day and ate brunch which was very nice (the views from the lodge are incredible), and we tried walking one of the hiking trails, but ran in to a dead end due to all of the fallen trees. We had a great time fishing from the dock and the kids enjoyed the swimming area. All in all, it was a great time, and I am so glad we stayed. At one point, the staff came by and informed us that a storm was coming that evening and we were under a tornado watch, which we really appreciated. Just keep in mind that this is a state funded park, and they are doing their best to recover from such a devastating storm. We look forward to camping there again in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
We stayed for three days. There was a lot of construction going on but away from the campgrounds that were opened. The sites were fairly leveled and had little shade.There was only one bath house functional. We took the time to visit the lodge as well the golf course.The lodge was beautiful with a very nice view of the lake. The golf course suffered tree losses but was open. This no doubt will be a little jewel in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
Last years tornado damage aside the park sites need attention. It appears that it has been many many years since sites have been graded. The gravel pads barely resemble pads from the years of heavy use. Nature will take care of the tornado damage, which is quite extreme. The human touch of gravel & grading will take care of the rest. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$15
Absolutely beautiful. Plenty of space. Quiet. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$22
Beautiful location. Crowded sites. Many of the sewer sites were up on a hillside where we would have a difficult time leveling. Too many sites looked like they were occupied by permanent residents with junk and old plastic tarps making them look very unsightly. Store/office closed at 4 PM rather than stagger the employee work hours to keep it open later. There was no trash collection site in the campground. After walking around for 20 minutes with trash I found out we had to use dumpsters at a boat launch, about a half mile away from the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$21
This was our fourth visit to this park and we were disappointed this time to find it over-crowded and severely congested. It was Columbus Day weekend and was fall break for many children. Many sites had several vehicles, children's bicycles were strewn around campsites and it was difficult to get out of your campsite without driving over someone else's bike, grill or toy. We were in B ring with sewer hookup and those sites are very close to each other. We'd never pick that location again. The campground office is open from 8-4, which is ridiculously early closing. I was told it was because of state cut-backs. Interestingly there were two RVs parked outside the gate all night waiting for the office to open. It made me wonder that the paycheck to keep the office open extra hours could have easily been met by the two RVs who could not get in. There is a very limited store which of course is also not open at the time campers want to stock up on provisions. The playground needs an update but the children still enjoyed it. Campsites are not level. We have had three other sites in this park and have yet to find a site where we did not have to use jacks and still have wheels off the ground. Interior roads are narrow and are bi-directional but I never saw confrontation because of it. Overall a disappointing experience at a park in a beautiful location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$21
We had reservations for this September trip since July. We arrived on our planned date and there were only 8 sites left. We HAD reservations, yet people who just wandered in, got the better sites. Was VERY dissappointed! We were stuck behind the store. There is no sense in this kind of resveration system. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$21
The State park is well laid out. My only complaint(a small one) is the campground has the camp sites too close together (kind of reminds me of a KOA). We were lucky to have friendly neighbors or it would have been a bad experience. The camp site we had was really close to a bath house. The bath houses were placed well through the campground. They were spotless. The volunteers work really hard to keep them clean so I overlooked the smell of dead fish the first day due to someone (probably a child) leaving fish remains in the trash. The campground had all of the things expected of a state park. You can also get Wi-Fi at the lodge. This campground has beautiful views of Lake Guntersville with breath taking sunsets. We will definitely be back. I was told the campground was due for an upgrade. When / if this happens the campground well be top notch. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
Arrived after a major summer storm and the power was off. The staff was very friendly and said the power company was working on the problem. Power was restored after a couple of hours. It is a nice lakeside campground with nice views and plenty of shoreline. A lot of the campers had boats and bicycles and it was a friendly atmosphere. I plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
We last visited this park about 10 years ago. Then, it was a pristine beauty. Today it has become a Gypsy camp. There was no effort on managements part to exercise any control over campsite occupancy. 2, 3, and even 4 trucks, boats, trailers, etc. seemed to be the norm on the majority of sites, making navigation through the congestion a true nightmare. There also seemed to be a large number of long term occupants with junk piles filling their sites. Dumpsters were overflowing. The staff at this park seems to have given up. Too bad, it was such a nice place in the past. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$16
It is always a fun place to stay. There are large, spacious camp sites, with a limited sites with sewer. The bath houses are not air conditioned, so they can get a little sweaty during the hot months. It is always a favorite. Bank fishing is always productive. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$18
Although the campsites were rather closely spaced and lacking in privacy, this was but a small consideration in light of the abundance of positive features at this resort-style state park. Those features include a golf course; scenic mountain-top lodge; well marked and picturesque hiking trails of varying levels of difficulty; a magnificent lake for boating, swimming, and idling on the beach; a nature center; planned weekend hikes and activities; well maintained rest room facilities; and excellent security. In a state that prides itself on its excellent state park campgrounds, this one ranks at or near the top. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
This is a well run park with great views. A great park to take children. The staff is friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$21
I stayed here as a kid. It is the same as I remember. Same playground and same Nature Center. Things have not changed in years. The park does need some updating, but over all it is a nice place and we will be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
The campground has a great view of the Tennessee river. If you own a boat, bring it and you'll discover the meaning of, "Sweet Home Alabama". The campground is packed all of the time. The restrooms are cleaned everyday and the staff are nice and helpful. Deer watching is a fun activity at dusk. Be sure to check out the views of the lake while on your way up the mountain to the lodge that overlooks the campground and lake. The restaurant is great! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2008
$20
Our site was very out of level and very close to the sites on either side. The sewer was stopped up on our site and the maintenance man worked on it as soon as we let the office know of the problem but it gave us problems the whole time we were there. Both times we tried to drain our black tank we made a mess. The areas that need improvement are the full hookup sites. We will stay there again but it will be by the lake without sewer and we will just take our portable blue sewer tank with us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
My wife and I stayed here for 2 days and had a blast. We enjoy hiking so the park was perfect for us. The hiking trails were well marked and well kept. The park was clean and the staff was very helpful. The sites were level and had gravel where we parked. I had no trouble navigating the roads. We will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Beware. The office staff is very unorganized. Don't bother asking where you will be staying in the park. The park does not give you a site until you arrive. You could end up in the parking lot or the primitive section. (Bring your generator.) The park host and some other employees do not follow the rules (feeding deer, leash laws, reserving sites with autos). So why should anyone else? My family and I will not be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
I enjoyed the Campground itself, young people in the office were very disorganized. The Camp Hosts where above the rules. They parked their car on a site for 3 days to reserve and moved it to another site for a day. Sites are supposed to be paid for and have a Tent or Camper on them. They feed the deer, signs everywhere saying not to do it. Their dog never on a leash and he decorated my site 2 times. Why should anybody in the Park obey the rules if they don't? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$19
This is a huge state park. I had no problem finding the park but got lost twice inside it on the way to the campground. Lots of trees. Facilities were mostly clean and reasonably well maintained. The laundry I used was in very good shape. Staff was friendly and helpful. There were several sites with what appeared to be long term residents. Some of the RVs looked like they had been there for long enough that they probably weren't roadworthy anymore. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$18
Park is in a beautiful setting, but had a really strange layout. Pull through sites were small and the utility hook-ups were on the wrong side, e.g. facing uphill rather than the lake. The view toward the lake looked through the Storage Area in the section we were in. With only a 29 foot trailer, you had to park the truck crossways in front of the trailer and we were so close to the road that we were afraid that someone would speed through and hit the trailer. Good hiking trails in the park and lots of deer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$19
Just spent 4 days at this SP with grandchildren. Kids enjoyed the playground and bicycle riding as well as fishing (even though none were caught). Out of 5 bathouses I know the two I went into were clean. They are rather old but are kept pretty clean. No AC but did have exhaust fans and wall heaters for winter. We love the sections by the lake. This trip we stayed in B section with sewer because of our kids. No sewer sites near the lake available but next time we will get next to the lake regardless of sewer availability. Deer came into the campground and I even saw a gentleman feeding one by hand. Not something the campground encourages. Tennis courts, basketball courts and volleyball courts on site. Large sandy beach area for swimming and several docks for fishing. We got good satellite reception. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
This campground really grew on us. The more we stayed, the more we liked it. The beach area was very nice, the kids loved it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2005
$21
Wonderful park. There were so many deer. Staff was not very friendly. Will camp there again despite staff. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$16
We went here in the late winter. There is a very scenic lake and lots to do in the area, including Bald Eagle watching. The sites were covered with pine straw and the paved area of many of the sites was pretty small. The sites are fairly well spaced. Deer regularly come into the campground. Overall, a very decent campground We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2000
$14
We really enjoyed this park. The reason for such a low rating was the condition of the facilities. While we were there (6 nights), I think the toilets and showers were only cleaned once and that was on Friday. I know for a fact that the trash can was dumped only one time. It was a good thing we have large holding tanks! Otherwise, it is a beautiful park situated on Lake Guntersville. It is noted for eagle sightings in the winter months. The view from the lodge overlooking the lake is spectacular. If the restrooms were cleaner this place would rate a 10++. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com