221721 User submitted reviews online!!
Elizabethtown / Hershey KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 67 user reviews. Phone: (717) 367-7718
CGID4001

Elizabethtown / Hershey KOA

Camp Information
Sites
118
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$51



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   1   8   8   10   7   8   1   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$51
This is a better than average KOA with fairly wide sites and a reasonable amount of privacy. We had a back-in site that was huge in length and easy to get into. There is a lot of tree-cover in most of the park so satellite access is hit and miss. However, the pull-throughs near the entrance are pretty much in the open and satellite should be easier to get. We had to use the cable and it is pretty "basic". We didn't bother with the WiFi since the Verizon 4G signal was pretty good. The reviewer who said that the entrance road is steep probably was reviewing the wrong park; the entrance road is not at all steep IMO. The office staff and workampers were all very pleasant. The only thing we take issue with are the directions given for getting there. From the east the park's website chooses to route you under an old railroad bridge with a 13' 3" stated clearance. That's a bit tight for us and some people may have rigs taller than that. That route is totally unnecessary; use Deodate Rd connecting to Bossler to Turnpike and you can avoid the bridge. Coming from the west the park suggests PA441 to Turnpike which is doable but the grade up Turnpike from 441 is steep and Turnpike is narrow and winding. A much nice route is 441 to PA 241 to Bossler to Turnpike, but the turn from Bossler to 241 heading out is a bit difficult although we did negotiate it without issue with our 40' MH towing our CR-V (swing wide on Bossler and button-hook the turn.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$51
Beautiful campground with many new additions which is always nice to see. The new pull thru sites are beautiful gravel pads with some grass near by which is always a plus and they are continuing to expand. Plenty if room to navigate our 40' 5er and truck with no problems at all for either a pull thru or backin site. Sites are gravel which posed no problem at all. All services worked great. Cable is good, wifi is good and water pressure is nice. Very nice dog park which was nice for our pups to burn off some energy. Easy in and out and good directions on the website. Great area to be in for antiques, Amish country and of course Hershey Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$72
Most unfriendly campground we have visited in last 7 years of camping. There is a steep hill leading up to office with stop sign while still on hill which could cause issues. Site was a little uneven but also had issues backing into the site due to the gravel and tires spinning. The pool area was nice. We will have second thoughts staying here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
This was our first time using a "chain" campground. I'm glad we chose this KOA for the first time. We had a back in site that required a going uphill backwards to get in but it was clean, roomy enough, and set up well. It was quite level and I did not need to use the "Legos". It was a little up slope but I was still able to use the sewer connection without too much adjusting. The staff were all very friendly and the store was really well stocked (thank goodness since I forgot to pack my wife's coffee!). The pool was fantastic although it could use more shaded areas for family members who are not able to go in the sun. The bath houses were in great shape. One of the bath houses had a roof vent fan that was out so it got a little damp, but it was very clean. The fishing pond looked like fun but I did not try it out. The playgrounds are really nice and safe. Considering it was Memorial Day, I was concerned the crowds would be rowdy but it was very peaceful and everyone observed quiet time rules very well. The pooch play areas (two attached together) are great and make good sense in their layout. One is big with few obstacles for runners, and the other is smaller with beginner agility equipment and perfect for sniffing. The tent areas looked great. They had small fences and well configured amenities, and were clean. The only golf carts I saw were operated by staff at a respectable speed. Kids were able to walk or bike without any safety risks. My only concerns: The fire rings are set in the ground so it was hard to get a good fire going without really dry wood. I may need to apologize to a few neighbors for smoking them out when we got started. I also thought they were a little unsafe since I did not notice where it was and almost backed the truck into the hole after hooking up. The only other issue is that I could not find a location map online. They provide a good color map once you are there but I am a digital fanatic and I was surprised it was not readily available. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$48
Clean park and pleasant, helpful staff nearly overcome the high price paid for a back-in 30-amp site. Bathrooms were very clean. Park is adding up to a dozen sites, but it does not look like it would impact existing sites. The sites with gravel have no shade to speak of, but that's what an awning's for, right? Check-out time is 11:30 a.m., which is unfortunately early, but the park staff no longer sits, waits, and demands your exit at check-out time. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
Excellent park, excellent back in sites with plenty of room and more privacy than expected in a KOA park. We are KOA club members so we are not knocking the usual lack of space. We use KOA's because you usually know what you get and are not blindsided when you arrive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$55
Nice campground, we had a back in space that was large. The campground is not close or convenient to any of the attractions of the area, that is the major disadvantage of this park, not good for overnight stay either because of it's distance from freeway. It seems well run, just not well located. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$63
We visited the Elizabethtown/Hershey KOA last weekend because it was close to the PA Renaissance Faire. Some of the previous reviews said the staff was rude and unfriendly. This could not have been further from the truth. Everyone on the staff was very friendly, and very helpful. Even staff members mentioned by name in prior reviews were there and friendly toward us. The campsite was clean and well appointed. The gravel sites were a decent size, and the hookup worked well. They were not completely level, but level enough that I didnt need any leveling blocks. The wifi was very spotty, but I was there for a relaxing weekend, so it was not an issue. If I were to stay there for a longer period of time, then spotty wifi would be a bigger problem for me. The bath houses were clean, but could use updating. It was a really nice wooded campground, and we had some very nice walks through the area. The camp is very pet friendly, with a nice dog park area, and lots of dogs walking around all day. The Catch-and-Release fishing pond was a big hit with the kids of all ages. There were lots of bass in there. It was a nice place. I would go there again next year when we hit the Ren Faire. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$68
The pull through spots and deluxe spots are almost treeless, the back ins are better spots.The electrical breakers will pop of you run your ac and water heater at the same time.The rates charged are high considering the park is not that close to Hershey or shopping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
Very clean campground. Great pool. At least two children's playgrounds. Newer and clean bath house, laundry building. Plenty of activities. Internet is very slow and during evenings, probably when most are using it, it gets pretty much impossible to use. It appeared to me that the nice wooded sites are held for seasonal use. We were in an open area with direct sunlight during the evening hours, even with the awning down. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$54
I received a gravel, back in site. It took a one inch board to level side to side. Access roads are gravel and wide. Cable is good. Wi-Fi is a free two hour block each day. Wi-Fi works well though. Expensive for what you get. $51.00 Wed-Thurs and $54.00 Fri & Sat. For that cost, there should be no need to level the RV and you should have a pull through sites. Spot was advertised as 45 feet long and 35 feet wide. The pad was probably 35 feet long and 16 feet wide. My truck was within 2 feet of the trailer to fit in the spot. The back of my truck was opposite my trailer door to clear the road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$50
Nice campground, showers, restrooms and grounds were kept very clean. The staff was very helpful and nice. When I did not think the site they put me on first, was big enough for 5 people for 5 days, they showed us other sites till we had one we were happy with. I would stay again if I am back down in the Hershey area again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$58
We had a pull through in the front. Long site, mostly level. Good utilities, no Wi-Fi signal but our Aircard worked. SAT was in the clear. Sites and roads are gravel and drained well. Quiet campground, but... the pull throughs alternate so your door faces your neighbor's door, my least favorite site arrangement, especially when the neighbor's have barking dogs and whining kids. Back-ins are more private. We're full time and stayed here for three weeks on business; total bill nearly $1500 with the KOA discount... that's more than the best RV RESORT in Naples, FL at peak winter rates. My irritation with the cost was no doubt influenced with the fact they were going to charge me for early check-in... 10 minutes. The grounds are kept up and the owners involved. Pool is nice and there are three laundry's. Check the routes in... one has a 12' clearance, one has a couple of tight turns. We came in off US30 up the River Road all the way to Turnpike RD. There's a lot of industry along the river with 18 wheelers so the river road is good. At Turnpike the road narrows and is hilly. Don't blindly follow your GPS. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$54
NOTE: THE BEST WAY INTO THE PARK IS 441 to Turnpike Road (locals refer to it as the "Falmouth intersection"). GPS will take you down a couple of back narrower roads. Stay on 441, GPS will "recalculate" two times, then route you directly to Turnpike Road This is an outstanding park. Very well maintained, continually updated, and offering all the amenities you expect from a KOA. There are 3 sections to the campground. Front section is newest and less shaded but is designed for pull throughs and big rigs. (ask if the new sites with a patio and swing are available). The center section is well shaded and sits across the road from the new Kamp cabins. The lower section is being expanded and also is tent friendly (mulch spaces with electric). Pools are very nice with a water mushroom in the main pool and spray jets in the kiddie pool. 3' chess pieces and wooden checkers are available next to the General Store. Wi-fi worked great the whole time. The 2 hour limit is unique but minimally problematic. We chose this park after flatly rejecting a park in York. The park is about 30 minutes from Hershey, 30 minutes from Lancaster, and 40 minutes from Elizabethtown. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$56
This is a beautiful campground, and very nice sites, though expensive. The $56/night was with our KOA discount. We stayed here for 3 nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$54
Very nice campground. Clean and laid out very nicely. Most sites appear to be easily accessible. We stayed near the pond and it was beautiful especially early morning and evening times. Sites and roads are gravel. Sites are pretty level. The facilities (bathrooms, rec room and office) are very clean. Pool is fantastic and very clean and neat. Mini golf is a wreck and there is a charge. Staff can be seen working in various parts of the park throughout the day. All in all a great experience. Close to Hershey/Harrisburg/Gettysburg which is nice. Staff in the office seemed a little disenchanted and unable to make decisions and the owner can be quite defensive if questioned. Not my personal experience, just watched it unfold for another camper. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$53
We camped in a very nicely maintained section of the campground, there is an older area that is downhill that looks like it could use some renovation and there is another area where there is expansion going on. Immaculate bathroom/shower/laundry facilities. Nice fishing pond on the property. The price seemed a bit high, though the proximity to HersheyPark (about 15 miles) is probably what allows them to charge so much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$62
We rated this campground low because it is not only overpriced but still wants to be controlling. For $62 per night I will not tolerate the Wi-Fi police mentality. I was online submitting something for work during the period that their childish one hour timeout expired. Upon clicking submit on over an hours worth of work I was taken to their hourly login page. In doing so all of my work was lost. For the money they extort out of customers just for a site this is inexcusable and unacceptable. Otherwise the place doesn't look terrible but it's just an average nothing to write home about CG. We will NEVER stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$50
This campground is very well kept. We had a pull through site that provided a lot of room. Very pleased with this campground and we will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2011
$83
Wanted to make a reservation for the $83 / night site (2 sites and one cabin) as I was making the reservations for family. Received call that reservations cannot be made on one credit card for multiple sites and the woman on the phone was very frustrated with me and said that she "was working from home" and was very frustrated. We ended the call with the understanding that they would let the policy slide this time but that they needed a full accurate count of adults / kids for each site. I emailed this and received a short return e-mail stating that they needed "much more" information for each of the site reservations including names / phone #s for each person. The reservation policies are draconian and I canceled my reservation for all 3 sites. I hope they go out of business. Their customer service is horrible and they don't care because they know some poor sap will pay $83 / night during peak season regardless. Bottom line is they know they have demand for the sites and they simply don't care about the little things. I also had a bad experience with a KOA up in Bar Harbor Maine as well. Bottom line is that KOA is just a cookie-cutter franchise and in the prime locations they know that they can overcharge and they don't care. I'm never staying at a KOA again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$56
If you're looking for a quiet, out-of-the-way KOA, this is it. The campground sits on a large hill, and the owners have done a decent job of keeping the campground groomed; especially for the off season. The big rig sites are close to each other. I felt like I was intruding in my neighbor's space when I was on the left side of the rig. I'd like to come back in the summer. I think their pool and other summer amenities would be great fun with our kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$51
Been here three times. Very clean park which has improved over the years. Camped here the last weekend of October and, while there was a craft activity on Saturday, the was little else. No biggie, as we went to HERSHEY PARK for the day. A late-season, reduced rate would be appropriate. The $51/day rate (including 10% KOA discount) was a bit salty and the reason for the "7" rating. Did not get paper notice on truck windshield reminding of checkout time, which is 11:30 a.m., nor did camp staff escort us out at checkout like in years past. Either they changed that policy (good) or it was too cold on Sunday to be out that early in the a.m. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$60
Check in was easy, staff was friendly. We stayed in the big rig sites ours was level , it rained for an entire day while we were there and site remained dry. Cable TV and WiFi both worked fine. We did not take Turnpike Road in because of the bridge in town we went in on Brossler Road which has a few curves in it and you need to cross the railroad tracks twice, be sure to go slow over them. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$57
Everyone we dealt with at this campground was very friendly and professional. It was a very easy checking, and the staging area upon entrance was well laid out. Sites were clean, level, well kept. We used the pool several days, again very clean. The rules seemed the same as most private campgrounds we have visited. Sites were a little closer than we prefer but much to our surprise did not have campers on either side of us Sunday through Thursday, campground was full on the both weekends we were here. Everything from fuel to groceries were close by, Hershey is about 10 miles away. We would camp there again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$54
We had a pull through site and it was not level. We kept having power surges and the circuit kept tripping at the post. Rest rooms were updated. Park was clean. Pool was nice. They have a basket ball court, the concrete slab needs work, but it was OK to shoot some baskets. Gravel roads; so skip bringing the bikes. They have a volley ball area, and a nice playground. A small stocked pond to fish from. People were friendly. My only gripe was the electrical issue and we were told at the office that other people were having issues, so it wasn't just our site. This is the only reason why I would not go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$54
This campground is very clean and nicely shaded. The staff is not personable and very strict. You feel as if the staff is watching your every move. Although it is a very clean campground, I would not be returning due to the unfriendliness and extra charges for guests, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
In reading other reviews it seems the biggest complaint is the rules. I just sat here and read the rules. They are no different from any other campground and I suspect those that have issues with them, are whom they are probably written for. All of them are common sense. The wording on a couple seems a little condescending but it seems many campers these days don't feel the rules apply to them. In talking to the locals this used to be a fairly run-down, private campground. It is obvious that the KOA ownership has invested a LOT of money. Almost everything looks new. The sites in our area have had thousands of tons of stone added and were very level. The pool looks great, though we did not use it. Generally everything looks clean and nice. Check-in was easy and we have not seen a staff member glaring at us then or since. As someone mentioned, the campground directions bring you in via W. Hight Street in Elizabethtown. There is a railroad bridge that has a clearance of 13' 3" so if you are taller then that you may want to come in via 441 that comes along the river. Just take 441 to Turnpike Road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$49
Campground was easy to find and maneuver. Level sites and well stocked store, with very clean facilities. Great pool and play area, with large grass areas for pets to walk. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$49
Park is well located for visiting Amish country and Hershey. Use GPS to locate from Interstate. Road into downtown Elizabethtown runs through a low railroad overpass, too low for motorhomes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$54
This KOA was mostly empty when we were here on a weekend. Upon check-in I was asked if I needed Wi-Fi. I was given a code. When I asked if the code could be used for more than one computer, they got very defensive and immediately told me that they only give out one Wi-Fi code. I could purchase more codes if I needed them. They said that they do not have adequate Wi-Fi if too many computers try to use it. Two of the office staff were explaining this at once, while another stood there and nodded. I felt very uncomfortable by the way they responded. Please note the strict check-in time policy. You absolutely cannot arrive before 1pm, unless you pay a full charge for the night before. If you check in before 3pm you will be charged extra. Their check-out time is 11:30am, and you will be charged extra if you are not gone by that time. There is a nice playground for the kids, but the pool was not open. There is also minigolf, but you have to pay for that. I am a person who abides by the rules, but the rules here are a bit much. Also, you feel like they are watching you. I asked the front desk staff where we could find diesel for our motorhome on the way out, and none of them knew. They told me there was no place to fill up. Our site was not with the other motorhomes, we were in the 200's. The site was very long and wide with gravel and grass. It was also shaded, but we were able to use our satellite. The road to get to our site was narrow at the turn and very tight. Also, the roads through town can be tight, especially when turning at the light. I used the bath house near our site. It was very old and could have been cleaner. The curtain between the shower and dressing area was eight inches too short and six inches too narrow, so the dressing area got very wet. The grounds of the campground and the sites are very pretty and clean. Unfortunately, the way the campground is run is probably the reason it is mostly empty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$54
Easy registration with reservations. Nice layout for a campground, staff most helpful, and our site was easy to maneuver into, hookups easily accessible, great walking areas, quiet without golf carts going up and down all day. Central area for Lancaster County, Harrisburg, and Hershey Chocolate tours. Quaint little town of Elizabeth was visited and enjoyed. We would definitely return to this campground if in the East Coast area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$51
Nice campground with a decent amount of buffer space between sites. All RV sites are covered with gravel which drained real well and made leveling and connecting clean and easy. We had one night of very heavy rain and the site was dry the next morning. Roads in the campground are also gravel covered. The grounds are well kept including the long term camp sites and rental cabins. Nice pool, but the kids said it was cold. Bathrooms near our site were family style individual bathrooms with a toilet, sink and shower in each. They were kept reasonably clean. There was a wash sink on the outside of the bathhouse to wash dishes. Staff was very friendly. Hershey Park and Bird-In-Hand were both about a 20-30 minute drive. Nearest Wal-Mart is about 25 minutes away. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$55
Pros: A nice family campground, clean, landscaped, quiet. Escorted to our site. New bathroom facility: with private rooms that include toilet, sink, mirror, good lighting, shower stall, A/C. One of the nicest and cleanest I've seen. Cons: It's located a bit farther from Hershey than we thought, directions on-line were poor. At check-in a KOA membership was strongly pushed. Lots of rules posted everywhere: including children have to be age 17 to use the pool without a parent. My 15 year old did not appreciate that! Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$55
This is a very nice campground with spacious sites, lots of activities, a great new pool area and clean bathrooms. However, they are very strict with rules and will nickel and dime you for everything. Extra car? There's a fee. Extra people? There's a fee. Even a root beer float at one of the listed events will cost you $1.75 with tax for a treat. They did escort us to our site which was nice and overall the staff was pleasant. We probably wouldn't stay here again due to how expensive it was for the weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
Overall, this was a pretty nice campsite. As mentioned by others, the staff is a little annoying about rules and such. When checking in, they asked what the kids' ages were, and jumped out with "They're too young to swim alone, you have to be with them." Ummm, we didn't ask, and we wouldn't let them swim alone. Also, we pulled over near the office (not in a parking space) one time to switch drivers and a pargo police came right over and told us we couldn't park there. Sigh. The site we had was great. Hillside. Tons of foliage room between sites. Steps away from a new shower house with four shower/bathroom setups. The handicapped stall shower wasn't working, so there were only three. Great new playground by the entrance, although we didn't actually make it there. Charging $3 to play 13 holes of mini-golf is a bit chintzy. Why not just let it be free? Pool is nice, although cold, in Mid-July. I think they just redid the area and the pool bottom. There's a shallow baby pool to the side. Overall, I thought the facilities there were very nice and well-kept (what we experienced). It was a bit farther from Hershey then I expected, and the directions through town on the website need an update, because one of the roads has switched to one way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$48
This was our first camp trip in our new pop up and it was a wonderful experience. We were greeted by the staff and escorted to our site. Our escort did a great job guiding my husband into the site (I'm terrible at that). The site was level with gravel and shade trees. The bathroom were family bathrooms and were very clean in the morning but showed a little wear and tear by late evening. The swimming pool was clean although quite chilly. They have several pet run areas for you dog. There were activites for the children including a hayride and movie night on the hill. The camp store was small but stocked with the basics. There is a 24-hour Giant supermarket nearby along with fast food places, a K-Mart, CVS etc. Wal-Mart is in the opposite direction. Everyone seem to respect and obey the quiet hours time. All in all this is a very nice campground fairly close to Hersheypark. By the way, they also run a shuttle bus to Hershey which will save you the $10 parking fee. Hershey park also has a dog kennel where you can keep your pet during park hours for $10. A nice feature if you don't want to leave your dog unattending all day. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
I wanted to take my wife and two girls to Hershey and also wanted to take them camping for their first time. I chose a KOA campgroung because they have been around so long. We had a great time. The staff greeted us at the entrance and after registering escorted us to our site. We camped in a tent and our site was plenty spacious. The only complaint I have is the sites were on an incline. The restrooms were cleaner than any I have seen at a campground. Hot water, good water pressure. The kids loved the pool and the catch and release fishing pond. The store was very well stocked and prices were very reasonable. Just a very good experience, will definitely go back. (Of course now we are looking for a camper.) We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
Friendly greeting from the staff and guided to our site. Well maintained campsite with landscaped gardens and planted area between campsites. Gravel sites but drained well after heavy rain. Small catch and release pond seems to have plenty of fish in. We stayed here while visiting Hershey and I am pleased we stayed here as it was a pretty, tranquil place to stay. There We drove past the Hershey campsite and the KOA seems far more spacious. Would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$54
This is a fantastic campground. Our site was huge with lots of trees between our neighbors. When we arrived we were escorted to our site and were able to buy a pizza at the snack bar. The showers on the lower level looked brand new. They were spotless and the nicest I've ever seen. We spent the weekend at Hershey Park, so we didn't use the pool or any of the amenities, but they looked nice. Hershey Park is about a 15 minute drive, but not too bad. We will definitely stay here again, even though it was a little pricey. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$48
I have mixed feelings about this campground. We had a great time and it is very close to Hershey Park, so that is a big plus. However, this is side by side camping. I think you could reach out and touch your neighbor. I like more rustic camping. I think it is a little expensive, but we did have cable, which was a treat, since we usually do not take a TV with us and it so happened that it rained when we were there. Staff was very nice and overall we had a good time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$45
I wrote the review on May 2008 about the attitude of the staff being poor. We just got home from camping here again, (We have good friends nearby), and I must say that the attitude of the staff is greatly improved. Also they had a great all-you-can-eat breakfast on Saturday morning with really nice people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$54
Thumbs up for Elizabethtown KOA! Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly host who explained everything to us and escorted us to our site to be sure all was fine. The camp sites are roomy and our fellow campers were friendly and courteous. The pool was being worked on but it was a bit too chilly to swim anyway. They have an “All you can eat breakfast” on Friday and Saturday for a reasonable price. Even though we were a distance from the office the Wi-Fi worked well at our site. We look forward to staying here again when we are in the area! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$58
I was excited to visit Hershey Park and stay at this campground, but after 10 minutes here my family and I were looking for a new campground for the night. The workers here are past the point of being unpleasant. I have never been treated or spoken to like these workers did to me in my life. The comments and attitude was not unpleasant but it was though they were trying to make my stay as uncomfortable as possible. We camped there during the week, and I can see why they never fill up. I would strongly recommend not staying at this campground - I will be lodging a complaint with corporate KOA - I have lost faith in KOA as a standard I could always count on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$50
Tight park for big rigs but doable. Feeder road is a roller coaster. I didn't have any problems or notice any excessive amount of signs or rules. Owner checked me in at closing and was very nice. They were very busy. Gravel roads, crushed rock sites. Our opposite direction pull thru was not very level. Un-hooking is very possible if you are long. We are 65' and barely fit because if we had pulled farther into the site we would of had no chance of leveling. Hard to take as the site was plenty long but not fully usable. Oh yeah if you look through the trees in the distance you can see 3-mile Island. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$46
While this campground has some positive aspects, it has some negatives as well. From a positive standpoint, the campground has nice facilities (i.e. good access roads, clean sites, clean restrooms, and a well stocked store) and the staff was always friendly and courteous to me. On the negative side, there are rules posted everywhere and the language is, quite frankly, rude, and to me offensive. I do not need to see in multiple locations that my campground stay will be terminated and legal action will be taken if I do not follow the rules. I found the language of the rules very much in contrast to the staff's attitude, as I had no issues in the way the staff treated me at check-in or anytime during my stay. This campground is also over the top with their check in and check out policies. I received an e-mail two days before my stay reminding me that check in was 3:00 and I would be charged extra for checking in early. Than, on check-out day I had a flyer placed on my windshield reminding me of the checkout time and making it clear that extra charges would accrue for checking out late. Lastly (and surprisingly for a KOA) there are no directional signs form this campground, regardless of which direction you approach the campground from ... this wouldn't be much of a concern except that the campground is not close to the freeway exits, and several turns are required to get there. All in all, while the campground facilities are nice, there are numerous campgrounds in this area and on a return trip I would probably elect to stay at a more "relaxed" less rull intensive campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$52
Recent reviewer is spot on when describing the facility. Well-graveled roads and wide, gravel sites. Great WiFi and cable. Well laid-out sites for motorhomes. We had a back-in site that was large enough for the 37 foot motorhome, the toad, and a 10x10 tent. Helpful staff. Many, many rules so be ready for a laundry list of do's and don'ts. My only issue was the very tight turns and narrow roads needed to access the large rig sites. Overall, a nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$48
Nicest park we've stayed at so far. Recently undergone renovations with fresh landscaping, larger sites (they took like 30 away to spread people out), updated bathrooms, clean laundry and fresh gravel on roads and sites. Staff was super friendly, amenities very nice: pool, fishing pond, rec hall, play area, outdoor movies, hay rides, ice cream socials...kids wanted to just hang out at camp :-) Only issue is they still need to repair concrete deck area around pool as it is rough in spots but pool itself is sparkling. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
This campground is a very nice facility with large sites, and nicely landscaped property. The bathrooms are REALLY nice, as they are individual rooms with a shower, sink and shower, kind of like a hotel. They are located in the lower portion of the campground only, but we were told that they would like to have them in the front as well. The only reason that this review is not a 10 is because the staff all had an attitude. We have camped for many years, and have never encountered people so rude. We stayed for one night before the real season had started. The place was pretty empty, but they put us right next to another camper. Unacceptable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$52
Very nice park, They are obviously doing alot of work to fix up the park. Site was very spacious, and angle allowed easy entry to back in site. Staff was the most friendly we have ever had in any campground. Would highly recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$43
I like this park for its location. A lot of the sites were not ready for campers and much of the park was still being worked on. We didn't feel real welcome when we checked in. Usually KOA front desk is very friendly, but we were just told that we had to pay extra for coming in an hour early. The location of this park is perfect for sightseeing and shopping. Hopefully the front desk will work on their people skills We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
Large, well-kept sites with significant amounts of grass on each site. Run by very pleasant,cooperative people. Best feature is its central location if you wish to visit both Lancaster and Hershey. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$43
We actually did not get to to stay at this park But several months ago we made reservations for the weekend of the Hershey RV Show. About three weeks before the arrival time we had to cancle our reservations because of a family emergency that is going to require us to be in Florida over the affor mentioined weekend. At that time we were told that we had to pay for the entire weekend anyhow as it was concidered to be a special event week end. The cost was $129.50 even knowing that they would be able to rent the site anyhow. We attempted to contact KOA and they were useless as they claim that they don't make park policy. So what they said is that it is ok to get ripped off. We have been staying in KOA's for over 20 years and all over America. This summer we stayed at two different KOA's one in NC. and one in FL. The one in NC was nice and the one in Fl was badly lacking in facilities. I do believe we have stayed at our last KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$31
Used campground as base for Hershey/Lancaster trip. We arrived very late and were greeted by staff who showed us to our site. Staff was very nice and knowledgeable. We needed some equipment repair and staff gave me specific directions. The only negative was on check out day. The staff does arrive early to put notices on your vehicle. They sit on carts watching for you to leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
Well, unlike the previous poster, I did not appreciate the fact that this campground had people coming in at ALL times throughout the night (think, pop up people pulling in at 3:00 a.m. and setting up not even trying to do it quietly). Our site was a joke. Sure, we had some shade but the site was on an open hillside and it took us an hour to get somewhat level. I put that the bathrooms were clean, meaning that they were cleaned on a daily basis. However, someone needs to get in there and do a detail job, (think baseboards with some mold etc...) They have so many employees, that the bathroom jobs should be a no brainer. Yes, you will find the employees running around on golf carts checking for I have no idea what...and you will have a departure notice left on your windshield. The one nice thing about this campground is their miniature golf which is really quite pretty and enchanting. We will try another campground the next time we are visiting Hershey. There are scores to choose from in the area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$42
A very nice campground with friendly, helpful staff. We arrived very late, around 1:00 A.M., and were escorted to our site and shown where the hookups were. Also while there, we called while we were out, and the staff delivered a bundle of firewood to our site since we would not be back before the store closed. Weekend breakfasts were available in the rec hall, and the food was very good and priced very nice. The campground was well landscaped, and very secure thanks to patrols of the staff. Sites were fairly level, and even with quite a bit of rain, everything drained well, and there was no mud. I would echo the concerns of others about check-out day. We awoke to the dreaded yellow card reminding us to leave, and were very aware of the staff watching from nearby golf carts as we prepared to leave. As soon as we left, the golf cart swept into our campsite to turn off the breakers, and make sure we didn't leave anything. Not a big problem, but not a real plus for the campground either. We will return as this campground is very centrally located to many attractions in the area including Hershey, Dutch/Amish country, and Gettysburg. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$43
We stayed in this park in fall 2006 and returned in the summer to take advantage of the activities - pool, ice cream floats and hay rides. The staff was pleasant and the facilities are clean. The pool was being landscaped. This is not an overly active family campground, but not a peaceful getaway, either. One complaint: They are overzealous when it comes to their check-out time. Notes were placed on vehicles at the crack of dawn letting campers know they had to be out by noon or face charges that basically accrue by the minute. C'mon folks: Is this really necessary or are you hurting that much for money? The staff hovers around the campground in golf carts and pickups on Sunday morning waiting for people to vacate the premises - which leaves campers with a bad experience to close out the weekend. Too bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$43
Friendly & helpful staff. Roads a so narrow that no 2 rigs can go side-by-side, which is a major problem when going either up or down hill. Seasonals are extremely clicky & unfriendly. Gravel roads makes it very dusty. Bathrooms are very outdated but clean. Activities are lame. Pool is small but OK. Sites 411-413 are so close that one can't almost open the slides. My neighbor's sewer was right below our table. Obviously, we had to move it to the front of the tt. This cg is a good 25-30 mins to Hershey Park. Sites #200's are much nicer & spacious; and you don't have to go down/up the steep hill. We very much appreciated the staff putting our owning down when we were @ Hershey & a sudden storm came thru. Would only go to Hershey again if we can stay @ Hershey's own cg - HighMeadow; because of the convenience of having the shuttle to transport back/forth to the park & not have to pay the $10 fee to park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$42
We stayed here Halloween weekend and used this as a base for Hershey Park. It is about a 30 minute drive to Hershey. It rained heavy when we were there and the campground has very good drainage. No mud puddles. We used the mini golf course which was nice for kids. Campground was quiet at night. Nice recreation hall with cartoons for the kids, fireplace, plenty of puzzles and board games. Overall a nice place to stay, we would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$40
Highs: Designated area for arrivals at camp office which made check-in a breeze. One of the better KOA's around. Buildings in great condition. Permanent sites mostly segregated from transient campers. Several play areas around the site - basketball and volleyballs court featured holders that made balls available for instant play. Very convenient if you don't normally pack a basketball. Park is clean and quiet at night. Sites in "big rig area" are pretty close together. Sites are level and feature stone. Events are held most weekends. Staff was nice and helpful. Camp store and game room was modest. Lows: Very hilly campground. Not good for biking. Few fish in pond. Area next to campground once a par-3 golf course, now a wooded area with high grass. Driveway entering campground ate up course land - should have left it available for golf. Not really that close to HERSHEY PARK, probably at least 30-45 minutes from park. Closer to the Three Mile Island nuclear power plant, if that freaks you out. Have to travel through the town of Elizabethtown, which has narrow streets and a RR bridge which makes you think twice about the true height of your trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
Clean park all-around, somewhat tight spaces with many on an incline making leveling a little cumbersome. Pool was fantastic, and kids loved the hayride. Only thing I really didn't care for is a 12pm checkout versus a normal checkout time of 2pm. They will let you pay a fee to come 3hrs early but won't let you pay to stay till 2pm. This would be fine for several night campers, but for us weekend getaway types, we like to have some Sunday time to enjoy also.I would come again for at least 3 nights but no less with such an early checkout. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
I just got back from a week-long trip to Hershey/Elizabethtown KOA. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised. The CG became a KOA in 2002, and they have put a lot of money into it since then. There is still some work to be done, but in general the facilities were very good. We stayed out in the front area with the big rigs. There was a nice bathhouse/laundry facility within a few hundred feet of our site. The camp store was new and had a lot of supplies. The pool was older but had had some work done on it, so it was nice enough. They have a sand volleyball court and a paved basketball court. The staff was very nice. Within minutes after someone vacated their site, a KOA staff member would be around in the golf cart to tidy up for the next person. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. The mini-golf is fairly new, but is only 13 holes. It only cost $2.75 and had half price day on Thursdays. They had a hayride for kids one night, and breakfast in the rec hall on weekends. Kid's playground is not all that great, but supposedly they are going to install a new one in the near future. Only complaint is that they have no cable TV connections, even in the big rig premium sites. We got about 5-6 channels with our antenna, which was enough to keep the kids entertained. Most people in our area had satellite dishes anyway. They have a variety of sites, from stoned areas for big rigs to grass areas for tents. Some of the areas in the back are for mobile homes and seasonal sites, which I found odd for a KOA. They are probably leftover from when the new owners bought out the old CG that was all run down. Turns out the original CG was built in the 60's as a combination CG/Par 3 golf course. You can still see some of the greens and tee boxes from the entrance road, but the golf course has long since been closed. It was about a 15-20 minute ride to Hershey Park, and same for Lancaster. York is about a half hour ride. I would definitely recommend this CG and plan on returning some day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$36
Staff was pleasant ...however ... Not really complaints ... just observations. 1. made reservations well in advance. The site could have been closer to the "facilities". 2. Check in was a bit chaotic. 3. No garbage pick up. 4. "Full hookup" usually means electric, water, sewer, and cable. Some list wifi. I should have paid closer attention; however, no cable should be clearly listed. 5. I understand the thinking, but the note on my pickup advising that "today" was the day I should be checking out just rubbed me the wrong way. 6. The pool was murky and was in the worst shape Ive seen in all of the KOAs that Ive stayed. I probably wont stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
Very nice staff. Park was well maintained and clean. The restrooms were clean but only one stall for each sex in each bathhouse which caused a backup at times. Campground is close to Hershey park and other attractions. We will be coming back to this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$40
Our family stayed here with our dog and we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I agree that the sites were a little tight but they were fine for us and we enjoy visiting with other campers. The pool was nice and clean. Our kids had a great time and we enjoyed it as a family campground. I know that KOA's get a bad rap some of the time but we really found this campground to be a nice one. It was close to all of the local attractions and we had a good time here and would recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$99
The staff was very friendly. The pool was clean. The campground isn't far from area attractions. The sites were a little tight. Would camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$37
Campground was adequate -- it served our basic needs and requirements. The staff was very friendly and helpful in providing information about local attractions. There was nothing that was either outstanding or deficient about this campground. I wish the site would have been a bit more level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2004
$40
Don't let the pictures fool you on their website. lets see where do I begin, when we arrived we were put on a lot with a steep hill we couuldn't level our camper even with a floor jack my husband took out of his truck, you would think they would offer us some blocks or something. How about the showers they are fanatics about conserving water you have to push a knob on the faucet and it lasts abount 30 secs, so keep pushing the button to get all the shampoo out of your hair. Also, there is a single mother with children in the back that lives in a mobile home on the property and we were told to put our valuables away when we left our unit since they are little thieves. Hopefully they updated the place since they switched to a KOA in 2004. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com