223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Badlands Motel & Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (800) 388-4643
CGID4002

Badlands Motel & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   8   7   8   7   7   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$27
We were here a few years ago and wanted to see if the new owners have made any improvements. We had a level, gravel, full hookup pull-through site. There were maybe 20 other RVs in the park and some of them appeared to be extended stay customers. There is no cable TV but most sites appear to be satellite friendly. The Wi-Fi network was fine for us but that may be because the motel was almost empty and the park only 1/3 full. The new owners know that the electrical system needs to be updated, but I'm not sure they realize how many other problems this park has. Only 23 sites are full hookup and only one of those is 50 amp. There are about 20 W&E with some of them 50 and some 30 amp. The rest of the sites are no hookups or tent sites. Even the full hookup sites are a problem. While most of the sites in our row of 12 FHU, 30 amp sites had their own sewer on the driver's side, the W&E was shared every other site. So half the sites had the W&E on the passenger side of the site. The bathrooms are OK but the showers are very small. The laundry is small and cheap. I thought that the restaurant was just closed for the season but another customer told me that it is not open at all as of right now. The new owners have a lot of work to do to get this place up to par. The view of the Badlands to the north is fantastic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$27
Good Sam rate. New owners are great. The CG is in the Badlands but outside the National Park. Not far through the park to reach I-90. One reason the rating is a little low is the issue with stanchion power when we tried to set up. My EMS wouldn't connect because of fluctuating voltage on the first stanchion. The second I tried did work but we had to be wise with appliances and accessories or trip the EMS with a low voltage error. The CG is clean, there are wind shelters on some of the sites (yes, the wind does blow here). The first night we had gusts to 35 MPH for about an hour before sunset. Easy access to Badlands National Park and worth the effort. We experienced traffic of a different nature this week since Sturgis Rally began 8-1 and runs through 8-9. SD-34 is the historic Highway to Sturgis and tens of thousands of bikers use the route...kind of fun to watch. In case you do get a site without sewer there is a dump station. The swimming pool is an above ground set up but the owners keep is clean. There is a restaurant and a motel on the grounds and plenty of room for camping and RVing. Sites are rough, dirt and gravel and there are some shade trees and plenty of room between sites. Laundry facility is clean and inexpensive. Most sites also have fire rings. We enjoyed our stay here and will return if through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$24
Nice park; lots just long enough. Level. Some lots have sewer, some don't. Lot 1 is the "Wi-Fi" lot. Only 3 channels on antenna. No cable. Facilities worked well. Friendly owners. Badlands right out window, but a short drive will take you even deeper into them. Some road noise from the highway, but in a solid sided camper it's not all that noticeable. The town of Interior has 67 residents and appears to be a town that "was". Campground is for sale. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Sites are close together and two spaces share electricity and water hook ups. Staff friendly. Great views of the Badlands. Ok for a night or two. The town is very, very small and there is only a gas station, bar/grill, post office, and a small food/convenience store. The closest drug store is 30 miles through the park to Wall Drugs. The campground is for sale. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
Not a bad campground, but needs updating. Nice clean, warm showers but again needs updating. Very friendly. We stayed for a week and had a lot of fun there. Unfortunately, it's for sale. No telling what it will be like when new owners take over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
Very basic RV park, but suited our needs. Level gravel sites, full hookups. Owners very friendly and helpful. Dog friendly and the park has the Badlands in its sights, so it provided some beautiful sunrise and sunset photos. If you are not looking for lots of amenities, then this park will suit you well. The Internet access was spotty, but we have a "hotspot" so it did not matter to us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
The park is alright for being very close to the Badlands, bathroom and showers were clean. Down side, no TV or Wi-Fi reception. But the upside, the manager was fantastic. We had a mechanical problem with our truck. I asked the manager if he knew where the closest Ford dealer was, he knew the the number off the top of his head. Said they are good people and will take care of you. I called them and they said to get the truck to them and they would get me in asap, so I told the manager what they said, I had booked for three nights, and had only been there one night, he said no problem, get your receipt and he would refund my other nights for me, WOW! No hassle, I couldn't hardly believe my ears. If I do go back to the Badlands, I would stay there again. Was treated very honest, something that doesn't happen often enough. And the Ford dealer, McKey, they were great also. Got me fixed and am on my way to Alaska. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
Nothing fancy but it works for the area. Gravel sites are level and gravel roads are in good condition. Office and wait staff at the restaurant are very helpful and friendly. Office staff offered lots of information about activities at the National Park. We had no cell service for Verizon, which is extremely unusual, but did manage slow internet service with our air card on our router with an antenna. Full hookups were nice, as well as the pull through, since we only stayed one night. Easy to walk the dog on the perimeter of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
This park is very convenient to the Badlands National Park, just off Hwy 44, and maps and info are available in the office. Friendly staff. Some picnic tables needed upgrading. Sites are fairly closely spaced but pull-through, so convenient. Breakfast is available at the park. The camping rate is better than the one in the park, and it was electric only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$24
This park was on the edge of Badlands National Park. The owners were very helpful giving park information as well as surrounding areas. Don't expect much from the town of Interior as it is very small but it does have a restaurant as well as the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
This is a great campground to use as a base for spending some time in the Badlands. It was wonderful to watch the sun come up over the rock formations! Our site (#1) was level and long enough to make utility hookup go just fine. Water pressure was adequate. Verizon and Sprint for the most part worked OK; occasionally service was slow. The staff was friendly and helpful. Highway noise is minimal during the night. The state parks offer recycling. At our power box, there was no plug for a 110 connection. The 50amp sites seem to not have a sewer connection. If you want sewer, you will get a 30 amp connection. Several of the sites had tree branches hanging over the pad; they would need to be trimmed before you could use the site. The roads could be tight if the park is busy. We stayed until they closed for the season. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$23
Stayed here one weekday night in mid Spetember. We had a FHU, pull through site near the office. After a few tries we were able to connect to the WI-FI. It worked OK. There is no cable TV, but most sites are satellite friendly. The roads and sites are gravel. Most of the pull throughs are very long and there is ample space between the sites. There were only about a dozen RVs (some long term) here the night were stayed and it was very quite. The adjacent road is not heavily used. There is an above ground pool surrounded by a wooden deck and some very old playground equipment. Other facilities (the restrooms and laundry in the same building as the office and restaurant) are also old but clean and adequate. Unfortunately, pancake breakfasts were over for the season. The low nightly rate makes the lack of updated facilities acceptable. The view of the Badlands to the north is great. The location view, and price are great. The park's facilities are old but OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
A very enjoyable place to stay that is very close to the entrance of the Badlands park and the "town" of Interior. Nothing fancy but priced right and run by a very nice family that started it up many years ago. Wi-Fi was available, but you need to be in one of the sites close to the office. Rates were $16 dry camping, $22.50 full hookups with 10% off for Good Sams, AAA, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Basic, no frills; just what we like when we're traveling through -- no paying for amenities we aren't going to use. Sites were level, hookups worked well. NOTE: 50 amp sites have no sewer hookup. But there is a dump station. Clean, quiet, very convenient to the Badlands. We would stay there again if we return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
This is a campground near the Badlands. This is the desert. The campground fit right in. It was easy in and out, with good hookups. Wi-Fi at our site was excellent. The owner and office workers were friendly and helpful. There is a small cafe attached to the office which appeared very popular for their all-you-can eat pancake breakfast for $6. The campground is tent friendly and also has a small motel which was almost filled each night. As we lost a tire on our fifth wheel, we were here for five nights awaiting repairs. The location for the National Park is excellent. The views all around are majestic. I would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
The location and rate were the biggest benefit of this park. It is very convenient to the Badlands. The showers and restrooms weren't fancy but they were clean, and worked. Wi-Fi was a hotspot near office only. Restaurant attached with all you can eat pancake breakfast for $6. They charged extra for sewer hookup, so we went with water and electric only. Here only 2 days. They have a dump station. We would stay here again for its convenience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Beautiful setting close to the entrance to badlands park. You can see the rock formations from the campground. But the Wi-Fi didn't work and the showers were dirty. We did note a cleaning person entering the shower area as we were leaving so maybe it depends on timing. Showers were small and basic. I'd stay here again just for location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
Kind of a tired, sketchy campground, but owners are friendly and accommodating for the most part. Previous review about dogs is accurate. Kind of annoying when the CG owners dog is running all over and leaving little presents outside your door, in addition to annoying other dog owners whose pets are tied up. Pretty wild "temporary" sewer hookups above ground (no plumbing code in SD, I guess...), but we chose no sewer and used a dump station instead. Base charge for campsite then electric & sewer are extra. Very convenient to Badlands NP. Small town is walking distance with general store and gas station. Tired bathrooms, but reasonably clean. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
We stayed here two nights. It is in the middle of the Badlands and about a mile from one of the park entrances. The pool was small but clean. My daughter enjoyed swimming in it. Interior is a little village with a few businesses but no real grocery or gas station. The bathrooms were a clean but not exceptional. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
Stray dogs were roaming the park along with the owners' dogs running free. These dogs are intimidating. We couldn't walk our dogs without both of us being on watch for dogs with their hackles up running up to ours. Also, the fire pit next to our site was full of trash. There is no sewer connection for the 50 amp sites. We would definitely not return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
Most aspects of this park have been covered. The staff is friendly and the little convenience store has some essentials for purchase. The only negative about this park is that the Wi-Fi is set up to block the sending of emails through Microsoft Outlook, and would not allow me to upload photographs to Face book. This seems to be an unnecessary restriction and should be removed. It's probably not a problem for someone staying overnight, but we were there for a week. Close access to the Park and views of the Badlands are nice. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
I thought this was a great little campground for the price...has the basics, a nice view, quiet, & close to the Badlands. One of the things I really liked about it was that I didn't have to look at the motel-it's behind the campground. Sites are level, trees are a nice size. Office staff was nice & accommodating. The most disappointing thing was that there was no 50 amp service for big rigs & the day we arrived it was hot & took forever for the RV to cool down. Also the picnic tables need to be replaced, but not a big issue as we hardly ever use them. Wi-Fi worked fine at our site-the one nearest the office, but they said it probably wouldn't work at others further away. Campground had some older playground equipment for kids & an above-ground pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
Easy access from Highway 377. Gravel interior roads and site with some grass between sites. There are some small trees by many of the sites. Satellite RV and Verizon phone and air card worked although Verizon was slow. Wi-Fi is offered, but signal is very weak from sites. Signal next to the office is fine. The park was a little run down and tired, but worth overnight or two visit. Park is very close to Badlands Cedar Visitor Center and loop road. Great view of the Badlands from all sites. The office staff was very friends. Park was approximately 30% full when we visited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
A nice place to stay while visiting the Badlands. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The campground is clean and neat. It sits just outside the National Park. Remembering where you are, you can't ask for much more from a campground. They don't call this area the Badlands for nothing. If you are expecting a 4 star resort, don't bother staying here. If you want a good, basic, well kept place to stay, this place is for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
This park is an older park and is showing its age, for example the tables are old and have been painted several times, some are in bad repair, grass is mostly weeds, etc. 30A was highest offered electric in spite of claims of 50A which was promised when our reservation was taken. Some pull-thru sites had standing water and were blocked from use. Worst problem was mosquitos!! The perimeter of the campground has standing water almost everywhere and is ideal breeding for these insects and they are voracious and numerous 24 hours a day. The local radio stations also warn of West Nile Virus being present in the mosquito population of the Badlands. The "petting zoo" consisted of a bison/buffalo, horse and steer behind a poorly maintained wire fence. Our reservation was not honored as when taken, the sites are marginal, the environment is hostile and we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
The staff was pleasant. We chose not to use the showers after using the restrooms. We just didn't want to face it and chose to use the RV shower instead. It would have been doable with shower shoes. The pool was small, but nice and warm. It was a welcome site in the middle of the very dry Badlands. Trees have been planted at most sites but simply struggle to grow in this environment. It was 100 degrees on this day and we were told it was mild weather because it is usually 110 to 115 this time of year. Campgroud is very close to Badlands National Park. A motel is next to the campground and the office serves meals in a small diner. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2006
$17
We like to support family businesses and this family may be terrific but their campground was fairly nasty when we were here, perhaps because it was nearing the end of their season. What we assume was the restaurant at the back of the office was closed and filled with junk. The store was fairly empty and dirty. The sites are mostly dirt and small, but level with the occasional small tree (no shade though), we had enough room for our 30 ft class A. Many of the picnic tables were so warped and broken down as to be useless and the playground equipment looked quite derelict. The firepit near our site was filled with smelly, disgusting garbage and there were many piles of dog waste in the weedy areas between sites. The laundry was reasonably clean (just one pile of junk spilling out from the arcade area) but if you wanted hot water you couldn't fill more than one washer at a time. The bathrooms/showers looked freshly painted and were clean but the showers didn't give you anyplace to keep your stuff dry and tended to turn cold periodically. The woman who manned the office was friendly but I wouldn't stay here again. I'd pay a little more and drive a few more miles to stay at the KOA down the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$15
This campground fit our needs very well in a place as isolated and hot as the Badlands. It is family-run and all of them are extremely congenial and helpful. The pool was great in the hot weather of July. The small restaurant with the "all you can eat" cowboy stew for supper or pancakes for breakfast (plus burgers) is very handy to have around because this is such an isolated place. The on-site small store also supplied basic needs. The campground is far from fancy, but if you want a place that provides reliable electric power for your air conditioners, good water, and good western hospitality this place should suit you fine. (One word of caution: 50-amp sites didn't have full hookups; full hookups are 30-amp. The owner let us park in a 50-amp site and extend our sewer hose over to the adjacent 30-amp site, so we had the best of both worlds). The $15 rate includes taxes and reflects the weekly/Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$16
Modest campground and motel with superior hosts. Really nice folks (long time residents). Catch the Cowboy stew for dinner(5.95) or sourdough pancakes for breakfast (3.95), all you can eat. Delicious and the company is wonderful, feels like grandma's place. Campground is clean with gravel pull thru sites. Utilities worked good. First motel & campground you come too when leaving the park property. We were looking for another one and got them mixed up. Names are too similar but we didn't make a mistake. Trees are short and full making some turns difficult without scrapeing the sides. We did all right with a 35'. Very quiet and peaceful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com