214562 User submitted reviews online!!
Outpost Campground & RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (606) 683-2311
CGID4005

Outpost Campground & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   6   7   5   8   6   6   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
I gave this a higher rating due to how friendly everyone was and how quiet it was overall. There are a lot of permanent sites, and a lot of campers there for long-term but not permanent. The negatives of the campground are: the sites are grass and dirt, and minimal gravel. It rained all week when we were there, and it was muddy right outside our RV door which went through our outdoor carpet. The Wi-Fi was spotty at best. The pool had no chairs and was small. Have to pay for everything in cash or check. The positives of the campground are that it was quiet, people were friendly, and it had a laundry room. The antenna and satellite connected with no problems. It says that there are shade sites, but they are only really for tent camping. I wouldn't stay here again unless it was my last resort. There are many other campgrounds closer to the national parks, hiking, zip lining, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
DO NOT use your GPS to get here. It will take you the wrong way. Yes, there are a lot of permanent residents, kids and dogs but we weren't bothered by them. Long pull through sites. TV worked on the antenna. Wi-Fi was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Wi-Fi worked well for us and the price was right. However we got to hear people yelling for Kevin after 10 pm. No Kevin wasn't lost, they just felt yelling for him was easier than going to see him. The showers and bathroom is adequate, but not kept up well. Watch for GPS directions. We ended up stuck without a good turnaround. Luckily the people were nice to help us and gave us better directions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
This park is quiet, away from the freeway and just fine a for a night or two. As stated in other reviews; there are many permanent residents here, including a few pets, but we had no issues. Utilities were adequate and we had a pull-through long enough for our 40-ft MH and 15-ft trailer. Inside roads are all dirt and gravel and there is a tight turn with large pot holes at the entrance. We elected to turn-around at the church a few blocks down the road and enter from the other direction. They have a small General Store located in the park that is quite nice, rustic, and has a good inventory of items. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
Lot's of full time people live here..Some dogs running around with no owners. No Wi-Fi at site, but up by office worked good up there. No cable TV. But for 23 dollars it was OK. If you need a place for the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Very nice and friendly park, a lot of permanent set ups but we don't see that as an issue. People were very active and enjoying themselves, after a small fireworks display at dusk it was very peaceful. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
Fair campground with lots of seasonal campers. No shade in the pull-through sites. Nightly rate is very good and makes up for the lack of amenities. Good for an overnight stop or a couple of days touring the area, but don't expect anything special. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
Campground office/store doesn't carry any information on things to do in the area - those places aren't part of the campground therefore they don't keep any information. RV storage area mixed in with campground, kind of hard to tell where one starts and the other ends. Families use this as a base for boating and fishing in near by lake, kids are left do drive around on ATVs on dusty roads. If you just had to have an overnight spot this probably wouldn't be too bad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
This is a nice park not far off of I-64, especially for $20/night, 50amp, FHU. This is a good RV park to stay at to visit the many attractions in the Daniel Boone NF. We were in a pull thru and connected to the Wi-Fi with our external Wi-Fi adapter on our laptop. An internal adapter probably won't connect (not unusual for RV parks). We had planned on staying in the Twin Knobs CG in Daniel Boone National Forest, near by this RV park, until we stopped by the NF visitor center and found out they only had back in sites. The outpost is less expensive than the NF CG. The NF wants $23 for elect only sites, and they may be 30amp or 20 amp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
This rating is partly based on the nightly rate, which was excellent for 50 amp, full hookup service. Wi-fi available as hotspot at office only. It is turned off overnight. Small pool. Sites are located in a very large field with trees only at edge of field - pretty hot in August. Friendly helpful owner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Clean showers and bathrooms despite park being nearly full. Very helpful manager gave great advice when thunderstorms started rolling in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
The owners have been very accommodating for my needs when ever I come home. Unfortunately I've only gotten to stay in the winter months, and a couple of days during the summer. They go out of their way to help out. From what I've seen the laundry and rest rooms are clean and the grounds are very well kept. On weekends there are lots of activities. I would recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
Convenient to the Interstate but not close enough to hear the traffic. Large level sites and well maintained grounds. WiFi worked at our site even though the office staff did not think it would. There appeared to be a large number of seasonal renters and a number of advertised family oriented activities especially on weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$18
Downright homey! Large level sites with easy access. Entrance bridge crossing is a little tight. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$18
Large level sites, small store. Easy access from I64, but far enough away to not get any traffic noise. Very pretty "country" setting. Clean sites, grass was cut, people very friendly. Close to Cave Run Lake. Only complaint (and I don't really fault the campground for that) was the big mosquito problem - take lots of bug spray. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com