206887 User submitted reviews online!!
Mammoth Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (307) 344-7381
CGID4006

Mammoth Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   9   10   8   9   8   7   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
One of the better places in the park, due to location, price, and that you can get Verizon cell and Internet service- though it's dry camping, of course. No elk visitors, maybe too hot for them - little shade here. Office staff let us choose a site since it wasn't busy. Regular charge is $20; half price with Pass. Generators ok 8am-8pm. Please don't run them all day and pollute the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$7
Close and convenient to Mammoth/Hot Springs. Can't beat the price, elk in the campground on a regular basis. Our site was very large (40' unit) with easy access. Staff very helpful and friendly. Would stay here again. Just a short ride into Gardiner, MT and there are some services nearby in the park. Price reflects Golden Age pass discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$14
This a very good place to stay to see the North part of the park. It was quiet and the staff was very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$14
I loved this campground. In fact, during our two week stay in the area we came back to Mammoth and had no problems getting a site (the same one we had during our first stay). The sites a roomy and far enough apart so that you're not right on top of your neighbors. An elk herd came through the campground each morning and evening. One day we had two elk herds! I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$14
Nice campground, all sites are pull-thru along the road, good for big rigs. Sites are spacious with some privacy, are not level, and some have shade. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring. Our Verizon cell signal was strong. Generators OK between 8am-8pm. Short trail to the Mammoth Village, with lots of services. There is road noise. Restrooms have flush toilets, no dish washing area. We came the last Friday in September, and it was full, had filled by 10am. Both RV parks 5 miles away in Gardiner were full, so we drove back north 40 miles to Emigrant to another RV park for Fri/Sat nights. (Yellowstone's Edge Rv Park - very nice, but pricey.) Came back Sunday morning and got a site, it was full again by noon. Monday was full. First come first serve, so good luck getting a site. The weather was unusually good, rangers said it had been busier than usual. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$12
This is a campground in a dry area with sage brush vegetation and a highway looped about it on three sides. We had an easy access pull through site with plenty of room. Great views of surrounding hills.The highway was just about 30' away from our site. As we stayed here in September we could keep the windows closed so road noise not a big issue however headlights at night disturbed wife's sleep a lot. Would be a bigger issue in warmer months. Also, expected there to be plenty of spaces available by early September but they were down to 4 by the time we registered at 4 PM. Rate was with Golden Access discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$14
This is a nice campground in the part of the park we enjoy the most. The campground hosts were outstanding. To save water we go to canyon to take our showers and do the laundry, and very nice facility. There are showers available in Mammoth, we have not used them. We stayed here for two weeks and loved it. We will definitely return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$7
Senior rate. CG is sandwiched into a switchback, so the North entrance road runs both below and above it. As noted before, there is lots of road noise here. But the CG is a good bet for larger rigs and is in a great location to explore the north end of Yellowstone NP. We spent 6 nights here, but most sites are taken only for a night so there were plenty of sites early in the day. This area of the park is loaded with elk. We took a day trip up to Beartooth Pass, elevation 10,947. On the Northeast park road we saw two grizzlies, a wolf, two coyotes and tons of bison. The CG's out that way are too small for larger rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$14
Campground is OK for the early months and the fall months but could be very hot in the summer months and dusty. We had a pretty good spot but one thing i noticed is when they don't assign you a spot people tend to drive like heck through the park in fear of losing there spot before they get back to the ranger station, that's the only sense i can make of it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$14
Neat campground, but noisy. The area seems quite dry, but there is good wildlife to be seen, especially if you have a pair of binoculars and can scan the opposing hills. There are elk up the ridge above the campground that hang out in the "town" square. Nice campground, but I like others better in Yellowstone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$14
As someone else mentioned, Verizon cell reception and broadband access is excellent. The environment here is sage and juniper, so don't expect camping in a forest. What a stupid place to site a campground, don't know what National Park Service was thinking, on the inside of the switchback of the main road, a good amount of road noise as many of the sites are in proximity to the road. The road is on an incline so you get racing engines one way and Jake brakes from trucks the other. Now the good stuff: The campground is in a very good location to explore the north part of the park. We are here the end of September beginning of October and there are a ton of elk around with the bulls bugling like crazy. You can take a short hike from the campground amphitheater and be at the village in about 10 minutes (a good climb). A great hike nearby is Bunsen Peak, fantastic 360 degree views. No dump station, good spacing of water spigots with threaded connections. If you need to dump, there are two parks in nearby Gardiner (about 6 miles away). Grocery store, propane, gas and diesel are available in Gardiner. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$14
Very good cg for YNP- much smaller, quieter (if not next to the road) and more pleasant than the big zoo cgs. Sites are not very wide and are dirt, but there's usually a lot of choices and they rarely fill up . Helpful office staff knows which ones are more level or shaded, and lets you go try them out. Nice surprise to get Verizon cell service and aircard reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
Perfect dry camping... Non better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$14
No reservation campground in the Yellowstone NP. No hook-ups, no showers but clean suitable bathrooms. All sites are pull-thrus and this is one of the two park run campgrounds where generators are allowed. Vegetation in the area is sagebrush and lodgepole pines. Sites seemed big enough for our 30 ft class A but they wouldn't for a big rig. They were not overly level but some are much better than others, we liked site #61 with a nice view of surrounding hills and pine trees on three sides for some shade. This campground worked very well for us while we saw the sites in the north end of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com