215256 User submitted reviews online!!
Camp Carlson Army Recreational Area (Military Camping Only) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (502) 624-4836
CGID4007

Camp Carlson Army Recreational Area (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   7   9   10   10   6   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$17
Well maintained. Not all sites are 50 amp. Majority are 30 amp with water only. We had no problem getting full 50 amp with sewer connection. A good number of sites are taken by resident full-timers. No reservations taken...first come, first serve. Some sites close to the state highway bridge with noise, but most are quite and shaded. Great library share room for books and movies. Laundry and restrooms convenient and maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
Military only. Next to Ft Knox. Quiet/great laundry/lots of trees. Satellite good. Internet not so good. Easy access access dor big rigs. Loved the staff. Large sites We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$15
Rate fluctuated because we were on water/electric for a few days, then moved to a full hookup site. We signed up on the waiting list and then declined our first option so we could get a campsite where we also could get satellite TV. We would camp here again and were satisfied with the campground. Some improvements - lots of grass, - well maintained and mowed, - new pavement, - new bathhouse, - laundry has plenty of washers and dryers ($1 each load), - a few new concrete pads, - nice welcoming office area and personnel, - great hiking areas, - nice pond/lake (no boats), - campfires and free wood (which you can collect) Some drawbacks: - no AT&T phone service, - some trees will not allow satellite TV, - one commode in the washroom. We have to drive 3-4 miles to the highway to get phone service or send text messages. But it is manageable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$16
We found this military park to be very friendly and well maintained. We had good cell/Internet reception with Verizon and our MIFI card. The only downside is TV reception. Our antenna did not pick up any stations although I saw other rigs with antennas up. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$12
This is my second stay at Camp Carlson. Since last summer they have paved the roads in the campground, secured better Wi-Fi service, and put tent camping in another section of the park closer to the playgrounds. This place is an absolute gold mine when looking to get away from it all. Although the TV and phone reception is not very good because of it's location, the park itself, the employees, the laundry room and bathhouses are above and beyond most RV campgrounds. They fully enforce the 120 day rule and they keep the park spotless. You couldn't ask for friendlier people and great service from the employees here. I will come back often. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$15
Excellent camp with new facilities. A/C in laundry and showers! $1 per load for wash and for dry. Paved roads and some paved RV sites. Wi-Fi worked moderately well but there's a cap on band width. Poor to no Verizon cellular in most sites. Lake with fishing: no power boats. I counted 55 RV sites, 11+ cabins, 14+ tent sites and some group facilities. Very nice conference center overlooking lake. Convenient to Ft. Knox w/ commissary, PX, etc., approximately 25 mile from Churchill Downs, home of the KY Derby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$12
Bathhouse was the best part about this park. New and kept clean. They have too many unoccupied permanents that are allowed to stay up to 120 days. Therefore, no real full hook ups available for travelers. And they don't take any reservations so it's a crap shoot as to what you will get. Lots of standing water around park, grading would help here and there. Too many speed bumps. We had no satellite, TV, phone, or internet at our site. Very few have it. It was interesting to say the least. Site size was very generous. Overall it was an acceptable place to stay. We probably would not plan an extended stay here again, maybe if just overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$15
This military campground is conveniently located to the Patton Museum at Fort Knox. It is not on base, but is about 3 miles away on US Highway 60, at Camp Carlson. It has level shaded spots with WiFi service at site. There is an immaculate new laundry and community room, which is well stocked with books, videos and games. The office is manned by a friendly, very knowledgeable lady and she was a pleasure to deal with. My only real objection to this place is that it is used by DoD contractors and people moving into the area or here on TDY. It means that the campground is very quiet and doesn't have the feel of regular campgrounds (the vacation type of atmosphere). One tenant in a motorhome has a washer and dryer outside his rig (is this a military base?!). And of course being near a base then you have to put up with the middle of the night gunfire exercises. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$14
Fort Knox/Camp Carlson This military personnel RV park has recently been renovated with many upgrades. The staff was very helpful. The park was mostly full and we were not able to get a full hookup, making a trip to the dump station imperative. Ugh!!! It was the first dump station we have encountered where the sewer hose had to be stretched around a telephone pole to its destination. Not sure who designed this mess, but it surely was someone who did not have a clue about RV’s. The spaces were mostly gravel with numerous pull through’s and many trees. There was no cell phone coverage but the park does have free WI-FI which had great download speeds but the upload speed was only 40K. Satellite coverage was fine as there were enough gaps for good reception. However the pads are mostly gravel and many do not have full hookups. The club house was new with a room full of washers and dryers ($1 each). The Patton Museum is a must see with the high point for me being a “cut away” Tiger Tank. The best tank museum I have seen. But alas the much publicized gold vaults are very much off limits and very much underground. The BX and Commissary complex is one of the largest and best stocked that we have seen. The gas station also sells diesel which was very convenient. The rate we received was with a golden access pass. The park is located off base and not easy to find the first time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2005
$16
This was a decent campground for this time of year. There were several trailers and 5th wheels on site that had no occupants, so it was a bit lonely. Must have been seasonals. I was given a gravel site for my 35' trailer, so I have to complain about the mud. Guess I should have asked for a paved site!. Shower room was far away, but immaculent and check-in staff was friendly. The only thing I would recommend is that the campground insulate their water hookups, so I wouldn't have to shut them off at night. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$16
This is a the campground for Ft. Knox Army post. It is open to military, active and retired, government employees and to guests of the soldiers who are stationed there. It is a very nice park with a large play ground and a fishing lake near by. There are 30 new sites with paved pads and full hook-ups. This park does not take reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com