218180 User submitted reviews online!!
American Campground & RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (830) 775-6484
CGID4011

American Campground & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   7   6   7   2   9   10   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
HUGE speed bumps. Impossible to go around them. Our boat trailer bottoms out going over them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2011
$26
Only stayed in this park three days. Trashy mobile homes are mixed in with RV sites. Dogs constantly barking, chasing walkers and cars. Stayed a month here several years ago. Much quieter then. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$26
We have stayed at just about every RV Park in Del Rio over the last 8 years. This park is not as fancy as others, but everyone is friendly, and neighbors get to know each other. Although we are only here for 7 or 8 nights, there have been 2 all you can eat breakfasts, a free fish fry, a pot luck dinner tonight, and games each evening. This will be our park of choice in the future. The two problems I have are that they are in the current Escapees Campground book at 15% off but only give a 10% discount, regardless of what card you have. Also, the daily price with a discount is lower than the weekly rate to which discounts don't apply. The second is that it is almost impossible to get reservations. Apparently, only one employee knows how to use the computer system. We had a group and wanted sites together because this area has several fishing tournaments and some parks sell out, so we wanted to be sure we had reservations. For what it is worth, the owner in not on site or local. BUT, we will do everything we can to use this park next year now that we know who to talk to about reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$21
We stayed at this park en-route to San Antonio from Big Bend National Park. The park is small with a number of Winter Texans. Sites are oddly configured. Sewer and water hookups are oddly placed on some sites and require long extensions. Roads and sites are gravel with small patches of grass around. Park roads are narrow. However, the manager does a good job of trying to match the rig to the site. Bathrooms are outdated and could use more lighting but are very clean. Don’t be surprised by the old-style wooden doors on showers and toilets that you see when you enter the room. There is a small kitchen with tables that is used for potlucks and other events. We used the room to surf the web. Small laundry with about 4 washers and dryers. Wi-Fi is free and good. If you don’t need a FHU or cable, be sure to ask for a W&E or no cable. You are charged for the extras like cable. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$9
A lot of improvements are taking place at this time. The individual sites are basic. The owners are putting everything they have into making this into a nice campground. I would stay here again. The sites are very large and easy to get into with our large rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2010
$28
We stayed here for a month. We would not have stayed that long but we already had paid for the month. If you like living in a concentration camp this park is for you! The manager is so rude and treats you like you're in the service. He speaks down to you, not at you. It's really bad when he wakes you up in the middle of the night while he's riding his golf cart around the park at night with a spot light shinning it in your windows. The manager's wife that worked in the office was ok, not the friendliest person but she's nicer than him. The park is nice, small sites and the electric services need work. The maintenance man was very friendly but he didn't seem like he was too bright. He knew how to rig things pretty good. Maybe that's why the park had electrical issues. We had friends that stayed in their motorhome on a 50 amp site, but learned it wasn't a true 50 amp service. This caused problems when their microwave went "poof" in their rig. The pool must have been filled in because it was only about 4 foot deep. The rec room was really nice. We would have stayed the whole winter but the management was over bearing and the lack of maintenance was pretty bad!!! I would not recommend this park to anyone! And I will never be back to this park. There are better ones down the road towards town. We understand the reason for the concentration camp atmosphere is due to the owner and management. Checked out another small park which had a great owner. Would give the shirt off his back to make you have a nice stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$13
I have to echo the first reviewer on the page that this is a great campground. We stayed for 2 nights to catch up on some chores and see Amistad Lake. Next time we'll be here in warmer weather. The folks that run this place make you feel welcome. I needed some propane and after I was shown to the site, they took my empty and returned it full. The price was very reasonable. I can't say enough about this park and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$27
Nice Park. Have camped here many times. Clean, many new updates. Great location. Will camp again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$27
Not very busy. Roomy sites. Campground roads asphalt/gravel. Sites are gravel, mostly level, no picnic tables. Wi-Fi is fast and free! Plan on wind, after all it's west Texas. Deer and Havalina's in campground. Host parked us. Nice management/workers. Easy in/easy out as we are in a 40' coach pulling a 17' trailer. Small laundry. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$22
This rate includes the Good Sam Club discount of 10 per cent for seven nights. While the park managers (Pat and Dan) do their utmost to make you feel welcome, this park really, really needs some TLC, or some focused attention from the owners. The site we were in (S-12) was very wide, which was excellent, but extremely uneven due to the shale that one must park on. It makes it a real challenge to ensure that your rig is level. There were lots of empty sites while we were there. Sites are poorly marked and laid out, which makes it difficult to try and figure out where one should drive, or walk. Good point - breakfast is served on Sunday and Wednesday mornings in the Rec Hall, and was a real highlight of staying at this park. For $4, it was all you could eat. Cable TV and free WiFi were good, for the most part. The men's restroom could have used an elbow-grease cleaning the whole time we were there, which it never received. Two of the fluorescent light fixtures in the men's room were not working properly the entire time we were there, and although the managers were made aware, the lights weren't repaired or replaced by the time we departed. It made taking a shower at night an interesting challenge. Del Rio itself is only minutes away from Acuna, Mexico, so we went across a couple of times to do some shopping. We, probably, would not stay at American Campground and RV Park again. There are better choices in Del Rio, most of which are closer to the city itself. Maybe consider one of them if you're going to be in this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$27
A nice park well staffed with helpful people. It has wide spots for big rigs; clean baths and laundry. It is safe and quiet at night. They have fun crafts. There is good food at club house (especially the chili). We will stay next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Minimally sufficient for short overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2008
$24
New managers are working had to bring this place up to minimum standards. WiFi worked fine. Cable television was "snowy". Site was reasonably level, but just grass and gravel. Facilities were very clean. When these managers get some time put in, this will be a great place. Right now it leaves some to be desired, but is better than most in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$24
New owners - no discounts Passport America or Enjoy America - WiFi not working half the time and very slow. Friendly owners, old but clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2005
$24
Older park that could use some more maintenance and upgrading. Nice level grass sites, decent hook up's and roads are fine. Staff seemed OK. Convenient location. Appears to cater to the "Winter Texan" crowd. I could see myself spending the winter at this park (if I didn't already live in Texas). Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2005
$28
This is an old park that needs renovation, but with friendly people and excellent service. The sites are grassy and fairly level. They do have free WiFi and are quite close to the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com