214562 User submitted reviews online!!
Colter Bay Village Campground -- No Hookups (NPS Campground) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 60 user reviews. Phone: (307) 739-3300
CGID4015

Colter Bay Village Campground -- No Hookups (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
350
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$11



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   6   1   6   8   7   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$11
We liked this campground. Yes, it is 1950's and the parking pads are in desperate need of resurfacing. The bath rooms have blue tile walls and ancient plumbing, but they have flush toilets and they worked. There are no hookups - you know that before you register. There is a dump and water. Store, gas, laundry and showers were within easy walking distance. I thought it was well worth the $21 ($10.50 with Golden Age card). I liked it better than the full hookup RV park next door. If you want full hook ups and fancy surrounding go next door to the RV park and pay $60 or stay in Jackson and pay $75. I would gladly stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
Basic campsite only for RVs. Drive-through site along the loop path in the woods; each site has a large place with table and BBQ. Shower facility far away from most of the sites, and only two showers per camper, per day included. Limited restroom capacity, but clean. No mobile, nor WiFi. Good price/quality. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
Infrastructure in this area is from the 1950's per staff, and in dire need of help. Too bad the GTLC has raised the rates again. Thank goodness for our discount passes. We were assigned a really bad site but allowed to find a better one. Still, too many big rigs along the road and running noisy generators most of the day. The campground had some kind of maintenance crisis one night and had to evacuate 4 of the loops. The the boiler went out in the Village laundry/shower house: so, no hot water there. Jackson Lake reservoir was drawn down, so the Colter marina was closed and boats gone in late August. Sad to see such disrepair. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
Just hated this place. You aren't given any choice in site selection. The site we got (O loop) was the farthest away from any services, and we were located directly across from the bathroom and dumpster. Note: sites aren't "sites"--they are simply pullouts on the roadside. This means any slideout you may have protrudes onto the road, and walkers (or unruly wild children) are mere inches from where you might be sitting in your dinette. And you're sitting inside because the aforementioned unruly children are riding their bikes THROUGH your campsite, despite your stern warnings not to. That's early evening. Wait till after dark when the teens come out and holler until 1AM or so. And then the babies start screaming in the bathhouse at 6AMas you're try to get some sleep. We asked the ranger the next morning if they ever patrol the campground. She stared at me blankly. Screw that; we forfeited our second night payment and skedaddled. We would never, ever stay here again. Ever. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$21
Our site was a gravel pull-through right next to the loop road. It was so unlevel that I didn’t have enough boards to get it level. On our loop many of the sites seemed crowded, but our site (L246) had plenty of privacy on the curb side. There was a table and a rock fireplace included. No utilities, but two dump stations on the way out and another on the way in that was more convenient for freshwater fill up. I noticed some sites on J Loop now have electric. These may be the ADA accessible sites mentioned on the website. It was walking distance to the village shops and visitor center. If I could get a more level site I would consider staying again, otherwise I wouldn’t bother. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$21
The view on the way to the park is great, but we couldn't see the mountains from our site. The attendants were nice and let us drive around and pick our site before paying. The road is narrow, especially when the sites are full, but we were able to get through without much of a problem. The sites were level and easy to pull into. They were very private and had nice deep firepits, along with picnic tables at each site. You are able to run your generator from 8am-8pm, which is nice, but also allows for your evenings to be very quiet. Being in the park, access to the scenic routes was easy and we were able to travel during the peak wildlife hours, which was nice. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
The good thing about this park is location. It is near Jackson Lake, and close to the many attractions in Grand Teton Park. The campsites are essentially a wide spot on the side of the road, and not particularly attractive. They are easy to get into, even with our 40 foot rig. For some reason many of the sites had a big mud puddle; in our case right where the leveler would go, requiring a leveling board. While adequate, the sites are hardly private, and since everyone seems to run their generator at the same tome, they are a bit noisy. However, as pointed out, in previous reviews, the National Park is the only game in town and for sure, the National Park is wonderful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
We love to stay in the national park campgrounds. This one was no exception. Large pull through sites, parallel to the road, and very private. Verizon service was marginal. We were able to get satellite on the north side of the loop. They were doing work on one of the loops and construction started early. Otherwise, great campground. Rate was based on the Golden Age Pass, otherwise $20 per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
Yes, the campground is old and unimproved but the Village setting makes it worth a stay. Easy to walk or bike over to VC, laundry, showers, and marina. Much to do and beautiful view of Tetons, though it was smoky/hazy in August. Also, the Colter Bay area had a water main break so they had to bring in port-potties and water tanker trucks. Really roughing it! Not as crazy busy as Yellowstone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
All side-of-the-road sites that are pull-through. Bathrooms were clean. It was easy to bike to the village to shop and see the visitor center. The ranger program was awesome that we saw, one of the best ever. Site was level and easy to get into and out of. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$10
Like with all NPS campgrounds, great location, but they have the exclusive. This could be a great campground, but in the 40 years I have been coming here, not one improvement has been made. The bathrooms are old, rusted, and should be demolished. The site pullouts were once paved, but that has rotted away to dirt. When it rains, most pullouts flood and it takes days for the water and mud to dry out. The campground is managed by Grand Teton Lodges, and they have some good employees, but the campground just needs a complete overhaul. Too bad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$10
Planning a 2 night stay, we extended, staying a week. Convenient both to Colter Bay amenities re laundry w/Internet, Convenience Store, and Visitors Center as well as short distance to Jackson Lodge. Full service gas station nearby w/prices lower than West Yellowstone MT. Campsite just off entry had limited view of Teton peaks as did one other entry loop. Despite fully staffed entrance, never saw any employees come through cleaning campsites, however. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$10
Incompetent National Park Service workers at the gate. The line was 20 vehicles long. Blocked the lane for registered campers. When we entered through an exit lane with a "park made sign" they called the Park Rangers and issued us an $85.00 Violations ticket. The park has no hook ups, no cell phone service and the free Wi-Fi is in the stinky laundry room. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$10
Views? None! This campground is like none other run by a government entity that we have visited. The sites aren't nestled in the trees, but line the roads in each loop, and on both sides. The sites are shallow pull throughs, so one is parked end to end along each side of the road. Each site has a fire pit and table, but if you follow the direction signs on the loops, those on the left hand side of each loop have doors opening onto the road. I tried to provide some input as to the type of pad I was looking for, but was chastised for leaving our rig. This campground isn't what we had expected at all, but there isn't much choice in a national Park in the middle of the summer season. We were lucky to get a spot at all! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
We actually moved to the no hook-up area after spending one night in the full hook-up for $61.00 and not a great experience. The no frills area had beautiful views and we loved that it was pull outs on the side of the road, so we had a lovely 60' area with no one on either side of us. We were able to have a fire in the ring, which we could not do in full hook-up, too. For the price you could not beat this and we would definitely camp here again. The staff was not knowlegable and that was the only complaint we had, otherwise a great stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$70
What an absolutely beautiful setting. Really nice people and we had plenty of space in our campsite. It was a little bit of a walk to any stores which we were lead to believe were on site. The bathrooms were also really dirty both times we used them. I know that is something that is hard to control sometimes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$10
Great campground. It is set in the woods. Our site still allowed satellite usage. Our rate was with Golden Pass. Will return here again if I am in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Nice wooded sites a respectable distance from one another, but quite muddy in spots. Bathrooms were extremely dirty. I can't comment on the cleanliness of the showers. I didn't use them because they were a good distance from the campground and coin operated. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$11
Nice campground in Teton National Park. Some sites have no trees while others have nice cottonwoods. All back in sites. Staff was nice but couldn't answer questions about individual sites. Told us to just drive through and look. Be careful, some turns are pretty tight and trees are close to road. Hit one tree in loop C, ouch! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Nice location for visiting the Tetons & Jackson Hole as it's only a few miles to town. There are 2 dump station holes at the one station site, but one fresh water hook up. The campground is set amongst large cottonwood trees (they were shedding while we were there). The river is very close to the campground, but was running fast and not a likely fishing location. Getting into the GNP was very close by which made for great forays into the park for hiking. We didn't see any moose or elk, but did see buffalo 3 of the 5 days there (they were not in the campground, but not far away). When you go to town you have to visit the Million Dollar Cowboy Bar, which is right on the main square, even if you don't drink--great woodwork and saddles at the bar. Some sites are better for views of the Tetons (ours wasn't, but wouldn't discount our rating for the park). Sites were level, but not overly large for parking our tow vehicle. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Like the location of this CG. Had been staying in Gros Ventre CG, but couldn't get into Yellowstone. This was close enough for a couple of days driving back and forth to YNP. The staff was very friendly when checking in. This is close enough to Lake Jackson that you can walk there (about a mile). Saw some people that had been swimming. We got free Wi-Fi at the laundry/shower building just a short drive (or walk) from our campsite. During peak camping season you need to get to this campground early in the morning to get a first-come, first-serve site. Got here about 10 a.m. and had no problem. Liked our site (Loop H, #156). Plenty of room between sites too. Enough dump stations that you don't have to wait, but some days could be busier. Would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Favorite CG in this park. Wonderful staff, peaceful sites, very clean restrooms. Some flooding in some camping areas due to heavy winter snow and run-off. Moose often in loops, and many noisy teenage kiddie groups. Be sure to avoid them in the Group sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Great location. Enjoyed the trees and wildlife. Easy access to campsite. Easy to park in the pull through site. Dump station was clean and easy to use. Garbage disposal was easy to use. Lots of mosquitos though. Campfire smoke was quite heavy in the campground. We would return to this campsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
In summary, an old campground in a beautiful setting. We got the impression that the absolute minimum maintenance is done here, perhaps due to budget constraints. The restroom in our loop was disgusting - not so much due to human waste but rust, cobwebs full of dead bugs, and peeling paint. It looked like it had been locked up for 20 years. The price is a little high for no services, but it wouldn't hurt to raise it a few dollars and fix the place up, perhaps adding some electrical hookups for a start. On a more positive note it was quite peaceful, the park staff were pleasant and the views of the mountains can't be beat. We would probably try a different campground if passing this way again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
This is a review of the Colter Bay Campground, not RV village/Park. We arrived without a reservation and were placed in a nice, generator friendly space. Campground generally filled by late afternoon every day we were there. Note that not all loops allow generator usage. Generator hours are 8am-8pm. Almost all sites in this large campground are 'pull through' along the sides of each loop road, so you may have to enter the 'exit' in order to have your door not face the street. Park personnel friendly, check in efficient, campfires allowed. Park personnel are also VERY bear aware...they will remove ANY items left outside your tent/rig other than a chair or bicycle unless you are present and using them, so the campground looks like everyone is either gone or inside. I guess that's OK. Marginal AT&T cell reception..better at visitor center. Limited Verizon air card and tough to get any satellite shots in the campground due to the large trees..but I guess we really don't go to the Tetons to watch much television anyway. I do question how they measure the length of their sites, as we were told we got one of the 'few' large RV sites, yet when we biked around, there were, in my opinion, dozens of sites capable of handling our 38' fifth wheel and truck. Overall, great location at a fair price for touring the Teton area. A bit of a drive to also tour Yellowstone from there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$21
Basic NPS campground with fire pit and table. Great location in northern part of Grand Tetons and most of the sites I saw were spread out pretty good. We had to go back after getting our assigned spot to ask for a flat one. Many spots in the O loop which are pull through are not flat and the table is up or down a hill. One advantage though is that you can follow a trail right out to Jackson Lake. It was not marked, but it is a clear trail for 75 yards to the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
On a 2-week trip, this area was our favorite and we will definitely camp here again. Abundant wildlife (moose, buffalo, pronghorn), gorgeous views, peace and quiet (in the fall), great location, helpful park employees, and a good value at $20/night. We used a generator during the 8am-8pm hours. The best 'dry camping' spot we have visited. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Colter Bay is stunningly beautiful and that alone is reason enough to stay here. RV campground fully booked so we used their Campground next door for our Eurvan Camper and stayed off the grid for a night. Site was wonderful, level, plenty of space to stretch out. Hiking was wonderful. Fellow campers collegial and wonderful camping etiquette. Bathrooms locally near sites were truly disgusting - Grand Teton Lodge Co should be ashamed, but only used for #2. Shower facilities, a hike away at the laundromat, were clean and excellent but charged for use. Supermarket super convenient on property. Avoid Ranch Lodge restaurant -- poor value, poor food prep, lots of complaints. Hopefully they will do better next year. Would and will stay there again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Pull-throughs are along the road, easy to get into, but close to the road. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring. We had to use 2 blocks to level the side. Restrooms are older, but have flush toilets. There is a place to dump dish water, but not to wash dishes. Verizon cell signal was poor, but good about a mile up the road at the gas station. Our Sprint mobile broadband card worked well. We stayed in the K-loop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
Senior rate. Agree with prior review about the setup. We came in after the rains, site was still a bit muddy. But we had a nice level site and plenty of curb side room. Road side is the tight side. Great location for seeing this NP. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
Not our favorite national park campground. Don't care for these type of pull through setups. The sites are all pull throughs along the road. The road looks very crowed when the loop is full. I could not imagine being here in July with all sites full. It's pluses are: close to visitor center, restaurants, groceries, and the lake. We would probably stay again as we have a 35' MH and need the longer spaces. In all fairness, the campground may have been more appealing if it hadn't been raining so much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
This is a nice campground that is a lot like a National Forest campground: spacious sites, lots of trees. The sites are pull-offs on the side of the road. Cool and very private. We had a picnic table and a fire ring. We also had a mother and two mule deer fawns come and visit several times. It's very pleasant here. We would stay again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
Very nice campground in a heavily treed area within walking distance of Jackson Lake. Staff was very friendly and efficient and the campground was clean and reasonably well maintained. Loop-style layout offers good privacy and almost all sites are pull-through. A little tight for a 20' truck pulling a 27' trailer though. Generators are allowed on certain loops so be sure to state your preference at check-in. There are no hook-ups anywhere in the campground but there's an RV park right next door that offers full hook-ups for ~$55/night. The campground is first-come, first-served only and was full by 1:00 on the Monday we were here. Nice campground in a beautiful setting. Well worth the $20. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$11
Price is based on special senior rate. Staff was very nice when we asked to switch from our initial assigned site due to low tree branches getting hung up in our camper. Restrooms were clean but dated and not as nice as the ones in Yellowstone. They do have a wash basin but you cannot clean dishes here. Did get cell phone service in this area. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Lets just start by saying this is a place we will return to. This is the kind of place that inspires. We have backpacked through most of the national parks and usually you need to get deep in the wilderness for these kind of views. It feels a lot like cheating, but hey, sometimes it is nice to have your cushy RV bed, coffee, and gorgeous scenery all at once. If you are looking for a good RV experience with peace, scenery, Wi-Fi, and a grocery store, I’d suggest the Colter Bay Campground. It is a great place to have a cup of coffee and ponder life. There are 2 campgrounds here. A private one that runs about $50/ night for all the bells and whistles and the National Park one which is $20/night, no hook ups. We chose the National Park one. We have a solar panel that kept the batteries running and made for a nice time. The sites are big and nicely wooded. It is a lot quieter in the farther down loops. The Colter Bay village is nuts; cars, RV’s, people everywhere. We would go down to the Cabin Office everyday to use the internet, then retreat to our site for peace and quiet. It is hard to believe the circus in the village is only 1/2 mile from the peace of our site. A little tip for you internet workers. There is a guest lounge for the Cabins farther down the cabin roads with more reliable internet, less people, more room, and nice couches. They were happy to share space with the RV campers. You don’t have to be a guest in the cabins. The best part of this campground was being able to walk down the trail to one of the most beautiful spots on earth. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$10
I would have given this CG a lower rating if it weren’t for the $10 price for Golden Age Pass holders. The volunteers who work at check-in were great. Sites are side-ways pull-thrus in loops off main entrance near trees with fire pit and table. Separate camping loops for tents, RV with generators and RV without generators. Some campers ran their generators for hours so they could watch TV. Each loop has it’s own restroom. We camped in loop “K” where the restroom was old, dirty, & full of bugs with a constantly wet floor from a leaking toilet that was marked “out of order”. Showers are available at the nearby RV park for $. Ask for a family group discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$10
This is a large, old Park Service campground with a picnic table and fire ring at each site as the only amenities. There are multiple one-way loops, some designated as non-generator, with pull-offs on both sides of the loop roads as sites. Generator hours are 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Sites at the lower end of the loops can be damp or flooded. Sites are generally large, but some of the pull-offs can be too short for longer rigs. The restrooms were old, cold, wet, poorly lit and badly in need of painting. (The same design restrooms up in Yellowstone NP were much better maintained). There are no showers, but there are public pay showers available in the main Colter Bay area. We stayed here for four nights while touring Grand Teton NP. Recognizing that this is a drycamping facility, our experience was good. Only the restrooms were below par. The price reflects the 50% senior discount. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
This is a big campground, but the sites are all set up in smaller loops, so you have some sense of privacy. We stayed in a "no generator" loop, which was a nice option to have. Most sites were pull throughs, though a few were back-in. For a campground this size, there were limited water faucets and dump stations, but otherwise it was well laid out. Lots of trees, and many daytime and evening programs. The campground is also close to a surprisingly well-stocked store. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$10
$10 is the Senior Pass daily rate, otherwise $20. Boondocked here for 3 nights. We were in site #C-132, just long enough for a 40' motorhome and car. There are several loops which allow generators from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Since it doesn't get dark until 8:30 p.m., on their evaluation card, I suggested increasing generator hours to 10 p.m. I was told, several customers requested the same. DirecTV Satellite, Verizon cell and air card worked. Quiet, secluded park with friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$9
Heavily treed dry camping, pull through in Grand Teton NP. Very private sitting area with table and fire ring. Location is great for exploring the park. Right next door is a full service campground that would be much more desirable. We could not get satellite reception. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$9
We were in K loop where there are no hookups. The spaces are small and close together but with the trees between them, it gave us adequate privacy when we sat at the picnic table. There were three stalls in the women's bathroom but one was out of order and one looked more like a urinal for men. They were clean though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$19
Nice campground for dry camping, dump stations could use a better lay out with potable water at a distant location, but i guess they don't want you to move and they don't. Campground is nice with all spots parellel to the road, people drive slow so there is no problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$19
This is dry camping at its best, nice sights and plenty of room, quite hours are 8P:M to 8A:M works for me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$9
This is a large campground located in a stand of cottonwood trees that provide shade for some sites. Although we expected to find no electric, water or sewer at the sites we were disappointed with the overall condition of the campground. It looks like little has been done in the way of maintaining this campground. Many of the sites are short and will not accommodate today’s larger RVs. Without changing the primitive nature of this campground, the sites could be made larger and more level. The dump site is in poor condition. There are potholes around the small cement aprons at the two dump stations. The holes are full of spilled sewage. The dump site should be rebuilt. On the good side, this was a quiet and peaceful place to camp. However, next time we will try another campground in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$19
This was our first experience at dry camping, and we survived. We were assigned a site in the generator area and thoroughly enjoyed the spaciousness of the site. You park along the side of the road, and we had to work at getting over far enough to allow our slides to come out without being in the street. However, the camping area was huge and heavily wooded. Campfires are allowed and we enjoyed sitting out in the evening staring at the flames. The only thing that would have made this better is if the sites had been on the lake. There is a full hookup area which goes for $50+ a night, but it wasn't worth it to us for just a few nights. The scenery of the Tetons is unbelievable and something we will never forget. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$19
We "roughed" here for 2 nights to explore the Tetons. The sites do not have hookups but we were able to make the battery last long enough. Stay as far as you can to the east for the best views of the mountains. Some of the sites are pretty rough and unlevel but I would not have traded my 2 nights here for anything. It is what I dreamed of when planning my Yellowstone trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$9
We spent 5 nights here and enjoyed our stay. It was our first attempt at dry camping on this trip and it went pretty well. The sites all are w/out on-site W & E, but they are large and pretty private. They have generator and non-generator loops, which is nice. There are trails down to beautiful Lake Jackson, as well as into the village. The staff was helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$19
We stayed here on three different occasions between the end of May and mid-June. Our longest stretch was four nights and five days. It was amazing to view the Grand Tetons at all times of the day. The wildlife varied from moose, bison, a Great Horned owl raising two chicks, blue grouse and ground squirrels, just to name a few. The generator hours were from 8am to 8pm which was actually quite nice in the evenings, even if it did get a bit chilly for this Texas girl. We plan to camp here again as soon as we can make it back. Both our Verizon and Sprint aircards worked moderately well and our AT&T cell phones had almost full bars. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$10
This is an excellent dry campground if your choose your site carefully. Campfires are allowed as well as generators between 8 and 8. Sites are roomy, tree covered, and fairly private. We have been camping here for over 30 years and love it. Fantastic fishing in Jackson Lake. Our average trout size was 17". Never failed to limit. Usually ended up feeding our neighbors! A great place for the family. Real camping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$17
Absolutely beautiful campground! Tons of room, beautiful forest with great fall colors. Lots of wildlife in the area, and off the beaten track. There were very few other people when we went there last fall as the colors were changing. Restrooms were kept clean, staff was friendly and good location, while slightly out of the way was more of a plus due to the quietness. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$20
Absolutely outstanding campground. There are lots of amenities nearby, inclining a marina, eatery and gift/grocery store. Getting around was very easy and the scenery was some of the best I have ever seen. A very nice atmosphere, and a highly recommended park. Would go back to Colter Bay in a second, and plant to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
Good park. Site was unlevel but not a major problem. Staff was good. Wifi at cabin rental office. Restaurant very overpriced. Everything else fine. Laundry and small grocery on site. Great view of Jackson Lake and Teton's a short hike from park. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$9
This is not our favorite CG in the park. The sites are too close together and at night you're choking on wood smoke from campfires. It makes it hard to deal with when you're motorhome has to be closed up and it's very warm out. Wish they had campfire free loops in the park. The Teton's are probably our favorite National Park. You can see as many animals here as you can see in Yellowstone without dealing with the crowds. The grocery store is well stocked and they have a very large gift store with camping needs, clothing and curios. Would we stay here again? Probably as this is the only campground that our coach can fit in besides Gros Ventre (which is our favorite CG) and it's closer to Jackson so there's a lot of driving involved when sightseeing near the Colter Bay area. I've noticed that the fuel prices aren't hiked up either which is nice. Propane is also available in Colter Bay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$9
We spent the 4th of July weekend here (we're still here) and really enjoyed ourselves. The wildflowers were outrageous and the weather was perfect. If you're looking for amenities then this might not be for you. But, if you're looking for beauty and wildlife with quiet nights this may just fit the bill. There are numerous camping loops, some are generator free which is great for the tenter's. A Loop can fit bigger rigs although each loop has a couple of sites that you should be able to fit into. Cellphone service was iffy, but my Aircard with the booster worked fine (Verizon). Drinking water is located across from the park office along with 2 dump stations. There is no water inside the campground so fill up before you come in. Our site was level with gravel/old pavement. The interior loops are all paved but could use some patching. One bit of advice. If you put your awning out and plan on leaving to sightsee, bring it back in. The weather can change within minutes. The old saying "bored with the weather? Wait 10 minutes." This is true and when a thunderstorm blows through it can rip your awing and bend the braces. This is our second stay in this campground and we love it. On some mornings you can spot Mom moose and her twins. They are now almost as big as their mother. E Loop is closed to campers right now and that's where we've been watching the twins graze with their mom. Truly a wonderful campground! We used our Golden Age passport for 1/2 off. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
This CG in Grand Teton NP is operated by a concessionaire. The staff is friendly and helpful about area sights and things to do. It is a large campground with one dump station and one potable water station, so plan ahead before setting up. Bicycles are an excellent way of moving about in the CG because of the level terrain. The sites are small, and to make matters worse, they are poorly kept. Gravel at the sites needs to be swept away. There is a wild rose that was allowed to grow right up to the edge of the pavement. A bit of mowing would be nice. Oddly placed wood pole barricades created great tripping points. Bathrooms were clean, but sometimes far away. Birdlife was abundant, and we observed a cow moose with twins grazing in the group area, a real treat on our bike ride. Views of the Tetons are somewhat obstructed by a butte. This place is VERY quiet and dark at night, and the star gazing is outstanding. We would definitely camp here again, and perhaps try to sell the concession company a lawnmower and string trimmer! Ha. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$17
Probably as good a "dry camp experience" as you can get. The sites are shady, generous and almost all are "pull thoughs". Actually, they are more of a "pull out" carved out of the woods. Generator hours are 8AM to 8PM. The scenery is awesome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$17
This is a National Park campground, designed 50 years ago for tenting. All sites have lots of trees, picnic tables, and grills. Comfort Stations (toilets) a usually a short walk away. Showers are back at the village laundry center and cost $3.50. Most of the sites I saw were pull throughs, but there were a few back in sites. The pull through sites are curved and can be quite tight for big rigs, particularly 5th wheel trailer. You will be parallel to the loop road. The sites are fairly level but expect to use a board or two under the tires. Generator hours are 8am to 8pm but expect someone nearby to not know or not care about the restricted generator hours. If you want to run a generator be sure to ask for a generator site, as the loop I was on was a generator loop but some sites were posted "no generators". The RV Park next door was full every night, but this campground never filled up, but came close. This campground is first come first serve. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$9
This is a National Park Service campground in the Colter Bay area of Grand Tetons National Park. It requires dry-camping, but is most lovely, peaceful and secluded. Never fills up, but it is on a first-come, first served basis. We stayed for 3 days and enjoyed it immensely...looking forward to going back!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$15
This listing needs a clarification. There are two completely different sections at Colter Bay, one with hookups and one without. The area without hookups is what I'll discuss. They allow generators between 8am and 8pm, and the sites are very large, easy to get into, and very clean. The sites are mostly pull throughs, and some are more level than others. well maintained, very clean throughout, nice little store nearby. The only complaint/issue is that they only have one dump station, not well placed, for 200 campsites. The morning I left,I was third in line to dump. The previous morning, there were 10 people in line. We did drive through the campground section that had hookups, and it's not bad, but not nearly as nice or as spread out as the section without hookups. If you can do without the connections for a few days, the no hookup section is far nicer. We ended up staying for 6 days, and dumped once in the middle, and once at the end. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$15
Very nice national Forest campground. A lot of trees and shade. No hook-ups, but can't beat it for $15 per night. Close to a lot of scenic places. Would definitely go back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com