220021 User submitted reviews online!!
Stillwater Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (970) 887-4100
CGID4019

Stillwater Campground

Camp Information
Sites
129
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$11



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   9   8   7   10   8   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$11
The rate reflects a 50% senior discount for a non-hookup site. This is National Forest Service Campground manged by a concessionaire. Based on what we had read and imagined, we thought that Lake Granby would be this quite, remote Forest Service lake. It is not; the lake and the area are heavily developed, so don't expect a wilderness experience. That being said, the area is still very nice with beautiful views. This campground is pretty much devoid of trees, but that does make for some good views. The sites have some separation but, because of the lack of vegetation, there is no privacy. There is also some road noise from the adjacent highway. This is the one campground on the lake with a dump station. There is also fresh water at the dump station, but, for some unknown reason you have to attach your hose to a tap that is about 7 feet up. Perhaps this is a temporary issue. Our Verizon phone and data were very strong. We had no problem with satellite since there are almost no trees. We did not stay at this campground our allotted time of 8 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
The rate is $25 for an electrical site, plus the $7 NFS day use fee. This is our second time here, the first being a few years ago before it was clear cut due to the pine bark beetle infestation. While I do wish the trees were still there, the 360 degree view of the mountain ranges with the lake in the foreground is in a word - spectacular. It is a few miles from Grand Lake and the west park entrance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
Gorgeous views of Lake Granby and the Rockies from almost every site in this National Forest campground. Verizon signal was usable. It's about ten minutes drive to the town of Grand Lake, otherwise there's not much in the immediate area. There was no potable water at the dump station when we visited, but some sites in the middle (toward the peak of the hill) have water and electric. Widely spaced sites and most are level. Overall, very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$13
This is a nice park with a very nice view of Lake Granby. This park is run by American Land and Leisure and the reservation process was a little disorganized. The camp host was very nice, but they do need to get their reservation signs out earlier so people don't come in and try to occupy a site which is already reserved. There are electric and water hookups and a dump station as you leave. The electric hookup sites are on top of a hill (a little windy) and you have a 360 degree view of the lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
The bark beetle has eliminated all shade from this campground. The lakefront sites do not have hook-ups. Most of the sites are small and a tad uneven. There is some road noise. West entrance to RMNP is about 10 miles. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$10
Very nice park. The camp host was nice and very helpful. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
This campground is situated on a rounded hilltop with beautiful views of the lake. It is open, no trees, no shade. All sites are angled back-in. There were limited sites long enough for our 30-foot travel trailer, and our site required 1 block to level. Restrooms with flush toilets and showers are a little old, but worked fine. There is a dump station. Good cell signal and our air card worked good. Friendly and helpful campground hosts, employed by Thousand Trails. Rate was $20 per night, plus $5.00 extra for the one row of electricity/water sites. Water was turned off for the season Sept. 28th, at which time the camping fee is half price, with no dump and only restroom left a vault toilet. A forest service day fee is also required, $5.00 per day or $10.00 for 3 days, we did not pay because our annual interagency pass worked, as does the senior and access pass. Convenient access to Rocky Mountain National Park, 8 miles away, and there is a boat launch. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$10
We stayed here for 14 days, and it was a very nice place to explore the area. We traveled a radius of over 150 miles. The hosts were extremely helpful, gave good advise about the area and we enjoyed our stay. The rate reflects Golden Age Pass. The only complaint was on occasions, the hosts ignored loose dogs. Since The bark beetles have devastated most of Colorado, do not expect shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
This campground is very nice if you don't need shade: all the trees are indeed gone. Vegetation looks like high desert scrub, not the forest you would have found here before the beetles. It is quite attractive though. The vegetation is low but healthy and pretty, and the views of the lake are terrific. The campground is situated on a rounded hilltop, which gives the uphill sites something of a terraced view over the tops of the lakeside sites. The breeze was stout but pleasant when we were here. I would expect this area to be pretty exposed in severe weather. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
This was a beautiful campground, but while we stayed most all the trees were down or being cut down due to Pine Beetle. We were told that trees would soon be replanted. Our only real complaint with this campground was the showers. The water was very hard to predict. One time it would be super cold and the next time it would be so hot it would burn you. The bathrooms and showers could have been kept a little cleaner, but over all they were ok. The water in the showers was very hard to deal with though. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
One of the prettiest places I have ever camped. The restrooms and showers were just nasty. And the host was bugging us the whole time about little things about how and where to park. But it is a national forest so it was expected. If you have some sort of watercraft you will enjoy this place very much. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com