223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Ponderosa Pines Family Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (506) 734-3121
CGID4021

Ponderosa Pines Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   7   9   8   8   6   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
Stayed for 2 nights in 26' rig. If you want to see the Hopewell Rocks, you cant much closer than from here. Usual for the area tight spots, full hookups with no problems. Kids accessed Wi-Fi from within trailer. Tree coverage and grass (sap got on truck). Front desk had coordinating shirts with campground name and personal names on them, accommodating and friendly. $5 per person for visitors which seemed quite steep. Provided maps for area. Used laundry facilities. All amenities close by. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$43
I would have rated this facility higher except that whoever did the layout for sites along the dammed up lake did not know what they were doing. Sites are big but pads are 10 feet from the connections. The result is that every picnic table one the lee side is three feet from the neighbour's septic. If you plan to stay more than one night, plan to eat out. The owners need to fix this or they will continue to get slammed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$42
Campground is very close to the Hopewell Rocks and very convenient to see the rocks during both high and low tides. This campground was very clean and had a variety of sites (pull-throughs, back-ins, shaded, field, along the lake, along the ocean etc...). Be sure to have bug spray at this campground as the mosquitos can be abundant. The sites were level the pedestal had good electricity and water. Wifi was available on site and we were able to get 2 channels on our antenna. The staff in the office were very personable. We would stay here again if we were to visit the Hopewell Rocks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
We stayed 2 nights because of the proximity to Hopewell Rocks and other areas of Fundy National Park. Most of the campsites are in tall pines and are OK, though some are very crowded. We were in a "trailer site" meaning when we backed in the utility connections were on the left side. The site next to us was for a motorhome which would pull in forward. However, both sewer connection were far forward of our trailer, so we did not use it. From in back of our trailer we looked out over water. Restrooms were older and very small. The 3 separate shower rooms were unisex and were OK. Wi-Fi was iffy. There is a small store in the office. Although we had no trouble backing into our campsite, the road to our site was very narrow and there are trees very close on both sides. The campground filled up for the weekend, and there was very little space to park either tow vehicles or towed vehicles. Also, there are posts near the front of the campsites that prevent making a tight turn. When we were leaving on Saturday morning, we had to ask another camper to move his truck because we couldn't get our truck and 22' trailer past it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$46
Ditto what others have said: great location (for visiting Hopewell Rocks) and large sites (in the rear) have pleasant water-view and many have USA satellite reception. Our $46 rate was based on 30 amp service; 50 amp service was quoted at $55. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
WiFi is so slow as to be almost useless. The washrooms were clean but very, very tiny. The kids liked the playground. Pool small and not heated, we didn't use it. We would stay there again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
We enjoyed our 2 week stay. We had the best site with clear view across the lake to the Bay of Fundy. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Very quiet and serene. The Wi-Fi worked very well. 30 and 50 amp services available. The sites and roads could have used more gravel. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
We stayed here for a week. Rate includes taxes and is for 6 nights/get one free deal. We were given site #44 in the older section of the park, which we thought was good in that we had no neighbors on one side and had a view of the woods and lake (through the trees). Although we had a good site, we thought most of the other sites were too close together. The sewer hookups were not capped and gave off odors when neighbors were dumping. Internet was iffy, requiring us to go outside for a good signal. Lots of flies around due to a lack of cleanliness by the trash cans. The park in general did not seem to be well maintained. The hiking trail around the lake was overgrown and fell off to one side, not a fun walk at all. It was convenient to see Hopewell Rocks and Fundy National Park. We would recommend this place for only a couple of days stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$41
We chose this park because our large MDT and 5er would fit and it was the closest to Hope Well Rocks National Park. We had a back in site that was level and back up to a small lake, and a short walk to Fundy Bay. The Wi-Fi worked at our site. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
We camped here after touring the Hopewell Rocks. It's just two kilometers away. It has a great location, next to the river with a large pond as well - we love waterside camps. Wi-Fi was strong, but as always shared with your neighbors, so speed was slower, but adequate. Adequate spacing with wooded and open sites. Dish reception in the open sites. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$41
Nice Park. Close to Hopewell Cape Rocks. Gravel roads, and a little dusty, but overall a good place to stay. We are 38 feet. You can see the tide from some lots. They also have walking trails to down close to the water. Bathrooms were pretty clean. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Just a mile +/- from Hopewell Rocks park. 20 miles from Moncton. They have both shaded/woody and open (field) sites. Most sites were nice and level with good width. Steady breeze makes it very comfortable. Sites for all types of camping too. Just be sure you have all groceries, etc on board as it is a bit of a drive in any direction to dine out or restock. A well stocked camp store for emergency incidentals. Truly enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
Used Ponderosa Pine as a stopping point in our travels from US to Cape Breton Island: stayed 1 night. They're listed as closest campground to Hopewell Rocks (tourist attraction). Stopped on our way in (low tide) and on our way out (high tide). Staff member at office assigned us a site she thought would be perfect. Unfortunately she didn't know if it was a pull in or back in. Also she didn't take into consideration what direction of roadway we should go to make the turn in to site. Needless to say, site would have been a pull in for us and as a 5'er that wasn't going to cut it. Also, it was in a grass field and the area was full of other campers with lots of kids and dogs running about: all over various sites. Heading back to the office, we took a pull through under trees and hoped that would work. No one was assigned that area, so we stayed: much better for us. No one else was camping in that section. Roadway in campground is packed gravel or dirt. Pull through sites are interesting as they are listed as 2 sites in one drive. Guess the first unit gets to pull through, but the 2nd would pull in behind and back out if they left first? We stayed before peak season so it didn't matter to us. There is a playground for kids and they rent kayaks if you want to go on their "lake" (small pond). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
The park was very clean and I loved the Wi-Fi. The water, electric and sewer service sites are all in the oldest section of the park and they are packed in like sardines. There are some nice back in sites near the lake but they do not have sewer. The washrooms were clean but there was a lot of pealing paint. The showers had sand and mud all over the floor and the water pressure was really low. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We did not stay in the park but used it as a base to get out and see the area. As such it met our needs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
This is a large older park with different class of sites depending on the area you are in. We had a nice back-in site. The area had a weird utilities arrangement where 2 share one post so every other site has a problem with utilities. The park could use a few upgrades. WiFi was good and several locations are available throughout the park. It is a great location to visit the Hopewell Rocks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Best sites are at the pond 125-136. This campground has best proximity to Hopewell Rocks on the Bay of Fundy, and it is central to Bay activities in New Brunswick. There's plenty to keep you occupied for several days and this campground is a good base camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
Not a bad campground for the Bay of Fundy, more precisely the Hopewell Rocks. We were in the back area, where it is much more spacious than closer to the office and road. We didn't have the problem of shared utilities, although the utility posts were numbered and very confusing. We actually set up in the wrong space, but didn't have to move. We even helped 2 other campers who were as confused as we were as to where their site actually was. As a previous poster said, the water did drop to a drizzle on at least one occasion. And, if a thunderstorm happens, the Wi-Fi goes dead until the next day. That having been said, we would return if in this area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Another friendly campground that knows how to do it right. Beautiful setting; nice trails that most campers didn't use. The staff just made you feel welcome. And only a mile or less to Hopewell Rocks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
Very scenic park with fairly level sites. As advertised they have side by side hookups. The problem is for 50 amp 250 service there are possibly four RV's hooked to a 100 amp master panel. (The owner said that his electrician said that was good enough. He did not understand that 50/250 service was actually 100 amps.) They charge extra for 50 amp hookup but potentially only give you 25 amps. Several times the water pressure came only in a dribble. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
This turned out to be a great campground. We made reservations for a pull through from the road and when we arrived it was not what we needed so the management promptly put us in a great spot which suited us perfectly. Wonderful spot to watch the tidal drop of the Bay of Fundy, clean swimming pool, shady spots with fire pits placed well away from rig, clean restrooms, laundry. VERY helpful staff, beautiful views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Price is w/ Good Sam discount. This small park is just minutes from the famous Hopewell Cape Flowerpots. Much of the park has small tight spaces, although Big Rigs are squeezed into them. Though we parked our MH and toad per instructions, common courtesy required us to move the toad 3 times in one day to allow other rigs to enter their spaces. No escort to the site. If we travel this area again, we would stay at Ponderosa Pines but would ask to have a site in the back, near the Bay of Fundy, where sites are more spacious. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
I normally rate a park without a pool at most a 9. Two things brought this one down. Potholes in the driveways, and strong but slow WI-FI. I guess it is a good enough value for the area. We were in 134 with a good view. Some sewers are raised and some at ground level. Very friendly owner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
Good location for visiting the Hopewell Rocks and Fundy NP. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Strange setup: as it is not crowded, they allowed us to do a pull-through using 2 sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Site 136 provided us with an unobstructed view of the Bay of Fundy, buffering salt marshes and southern end of the Hopewell Rocks park (from which we could actually see our rig). The staff was friendly and very helpful Love having the ability to pick our site. Wi-Fi was excellent! Extremely convenient to sites both north and south of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
This campground is a nature lover's delight. The views of both a little lake and the Bay of Fundy from our campsite were gorgeous. There is a hiking trail which goes around the campground, passing 2 lakes and traversing the dikes along the marshes. Children would love feeding the ducks and playing in the playground. For adults, there was a ping pong table. The Wi-Fi didn't work but the manager let campers use his computer. The office is not manned till 2 pm, but campers can select a site and pay later. There was a little camp store. To my surprise, the manager also had Bay of Fundy scallops to sell which were delicious. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
Our rate was with the Good Sam Discount on Labor Day weekend. We did not have a lake site. We were told we could drive our 33' RV forward into the site which put the utilities on the correct side. If the RV parked in front of us was gone when we got ready to leave, we could put forward to get out (it was). Or, we could back out. The Wi-Fi in the area we were in is iffy, depending on the strength of your Wi-Fi card. The Wi-Fi system was hit by lightning early this summer and sustained some damage. Although I could connect to the #4 antenna, I couldn't get to the internet, and this is a known problem by management. My husband's computer has a strong Wi-Fi card and he was able to connect to another antenna in the park and get on the internet. This is the best place to stay to visit Hopewell Rocks, but we didn't feel the rate was pricey for the spot we had. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Best campground to view the high and low tide at the Hopewell Rocks whose entrance is only one mile away. Location of hookups are confusing, requiring some units to back in and others to pull forward into site. Sites were generally level but not well defined. On our last night, the electric service in the area, as well as the water service at the campground, went out for over 12 hours due to a storm. Also, we were unable to connect to the Wi-Fi at anytime during our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$48
Location, location, location = pricey, pricey, pricey! A nice campground only 5 minutes from the Hopewell Rocks Park. If you want to see the high and low tide at the Park on the same day, then this is the best place to stay. Hookups for the big rig back-in sites near the lake are all on the wrong side, forcing you to snake everything under your rig. The owners were very nice and helpful, but for $48/night with a Good Sam discount, they should be. The staff was watering the road down to minimize the dust while we were there, which was a nice touch. The W-Fi had a strong signal but you could not connect to it. Basically this is the "only game in town", so they can charge whatever they want. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
This campground was open late in October, a very welcome sight. Its biggest asset is the large scenic property that contains lakes, forest, trails, and even some Bay of Fundy frontage. Most of the RV sites are in the forest, with one row overlooking a pretty lake. Another row is more open and near the office, also with a view of a lake out the front. Although less scenic than the wooded sites, we stayed here because we could get our Dish satellite to work, as well as the free wifi that is broadcast from the office only. It appears that another section of serviced sites closer to the Bay is still not operational. Although most everything was shut down, it seems to have a lot going for it during peak season including a pool and boat rentals for the lakes. We took advantage of its proximity to Hopewell Rocks, a 5-minute drive from the camp (walking not advised along the road). Although that park was officially closed, we were still able to enjoy a ‘walk on the ocean floor’ and watch the tide rise extremely quickly around the scenic rocks. We would stay here again, even though the coastal road from Moncton to Fundy National Park is in terrible shape. (800) 822-8800 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
Park is 2-3 miles from gates of Hopewell Rocks, but highway too busy to walk or Bike. New sites w 30 & 50 amp service ready to go in back open loop (satellite friendly!) as soon as electric company turns on the juice. Sites back onto a lake, view of marsh on Bay of Fundy. 4 nice single shower rooms w good pressure (& free) Can access wifi at sites across from office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$23
WiFi only in office. Electrical old style. Very close to Hopewell Rocks. Web site says you can walk to Hopewell, that's a laugh. Near Bay of Fundy. Not a place you would stay more than a day or two We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2005
$20
Very friendly manager. Some sites are limited to 15 amps service. Located on the Bay of Funday with the very high tidal changes. Hopewell Rocks Park is located close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
A nice campground near Hopewell Cape Rocks. (Less than 1 mile) You can go there to watch the tides change by up to 40 feet in the Bay of Fundy. This campground didn't look like much from the road, but it had a state park feel to it. Nice shaded sites, plenty of room to run around. There are several lakes for fishing or canoeing. They had canoes for rent. You can walk on the marsh areas out to the Bay of Fundy when the tides are down. This was a great campground. Only negative was really low water pressure, and dated electrical. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com