223350 User submitted reviews online!!
Albert Lea / Austin KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 44 user reviews. Phone: (507) 373-5170
CGID4033

Albert Lea / Austin KOA

Camp Information
Sites
77
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   7   9   6   4   6   4   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$37
We stayed here two years ago and stopped again this summer for an overnight on our way to South Dakota. It is an easy on/off from I-90. We had a long, very level, grassy, pull-through site and did not have to unhook our truck from our fifth wheel, making it an easy start the next morning. The staff here was welcoming, warm and friendly and made sure to invite us to the ice cream social. They have a well-stocked store with a nice gift area as well as essentials. The Wi-Fi and cell service were excellent. We did not use the pool but it is large and looked inviting. We highly recommend a stay here. The rate quoted reflects the KOA discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$38
This is an old park and it has not been updated. The laundry was dirty, but adequate. The staff was helpful. When we asked for a new site because the trees were brushing our RV roof, they came immediately with the tools to trim the tree. Our site was fine, with 50 amp and full hookups. But the park has only five 50 amp full hookup sites and no more than 15 full hookup sites total. It is really set up for tents and small trailers coming in overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$38
The entrance is a long gravel drive, which provides access to an older KOA park. We spent 4 nights in a pull- through, FHU site with 50 Amps. The campground backs onto the I-90 and is otherwise surrounded by cornfields. The office staff are pleasant and check-in was completed quickly. Interior roads are gravel and are generally in good condition. The pull-through site is also gravel and must be 80'long, with the rear 60' reasonably level. The sites are well spaced apart, with grass between sites Services are good, although water pressure did drop off when the park was full. Good view of the Shaw satellites from our site and good 4G Verizon signal. Didn't use the Wi-Fi. They have excellent facilities - large swimming pool, smaller fenced pet area, shop, kid's playground and lounge. They also have a propane filling station. Might not have manicured lawns, but a great spot to stop for a few days. We would return, if passing through this area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
We usually do not stay at KOAs since we have had issues with them in the past, however, this one is nice. Spaces are large and wooded. We couldn't sit outside because of the mosquitoes but that is to be expected as the campground is surrounded by farm fields. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
Our last visit here was 5 years in October. We were here one weekday night the first week of July. We had a FHU, 30 Amp, pull through site. There are a variety of different site types: FHU with 20/30, 30, or 30/50 Amp, pull through and back-in, W&E, and no services. If you want a FHU with 30 or 50 amp, you should probably call ahead since there are only about a dozen of these. The recreational facilities (huge pool, playground, etc.) are very good. Because of that, this park is a popular weekend get-a-way for local families. The laundry is OK but the bathrooms are not adequate for a park the has a dozen tent sites and about 30 no sewer RV sites. There is no cable TV but 6 antenna stations per their handout. We had one of the few sites that are roof satellite friendly. The Wi-Fi network worked fine in our RV. Since there is nothing else at this interstate exit, there is nothing to walk to from the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
This was an older average KOA which would suffice for a couple of days layover. The exterior of the office needs some repair and paint which would help somewhat. The dump station is on the wrong side, if your rigs hose is on the drivers side. Water pressure is so-so. Might stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
Borders the I-90 freeway and a corn field. The drive in was a dirt road. Arrival into park was a dirt road. They were clearly making an effort to smooth and raise the driveway into park. At check-in, we were greeted by friendly staff, encouraging us to use our points. They are the first individuals to actually ask if we wanted to use our points. Not paying attention to the reward amount, I was excited to find that we had in excess of $50! They provided us with the value kard reward booklet. We checked out the store and laundry. Adequate supplies you may need. In addition, lots of beading items. They actually made the necklaces and other jewelry themselves. Our site was #61 and it overlooked what was once a corn field. It was a pull-through, full hook up 50 amp. The roads were dirt in the entire park. Grass and a few trees separated each site. The pet run was directly across from 30 amp full hookup and 30/50 amp full hookup sites which consisted of 14 sites. Further investigation showed a play area for the kids with a mixture of new and outdated equipment. The pool area was fenced in and overlooked private property and the freeway. The restrooms/showers and laundry were well kept and clean. It appeared that they were cleaned more frequently than the posted time. The roads and grass were wet and accumulated water made areas either squishy or muddy. This is not the campground's fault. It had rained for 6 days. We flushed out our hose before hooking to the motorhome and could not get clean water to come out. It rained that much apparently. Sites were level and adequate in size. We overnighted here and would stay again if necessary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$39
This is a primitive park with dirt/grass sites and mostly 30-amp service with no sewer. And for all this luxury, they charge about $40 per night. We were assigned a spot that did not have a 30-amp circuit breaker. There was a hole where the breaker had been. It was covered with black electrical tape. Management explained that instead of replacing the breaker, their electrician used a fuse. We moved to another spot. Then the next day, while my wife was washing the breakfast dishes, air started coming out of the hot water faucet: more air than water! We found that the water faucet for our site (and several others) was the culprit. Management was very responsive, and called their plumber. Without asking, management gave us a full refund. While the refund was a nice gesture, we would rather have flawless (and full) utilities for $40 per night. We will never stay here again. If you do, make reservations: the park fills up quickly due to its proximity to I-90. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
This is an older KOA, surrounded by cornfields, with shaded grass sites. We had a large, level site with good hook-ups. The camp store was fairly well stocked and the laundry room, although small, was clean and convenient. There is a very large clean pool, which we were able to use despite the fact that they were redoing the surrounding concrete decking. We would not hesitate to return if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
We liked this stay-over outside Albert Lea. Level spot, good access, nice shady spots with room between them. We enjoyed the pool, play area, ice cream social, very friendly staff. We would stay here again if we travel through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
Well maintained and very helpful staff. We had a big shade tree on our west side which was good. We faced a corn field which was fine. Interstate noise might bother some. Sites were level and Wi-Fi was good. No cable. They said there were 6 local channels but we could only get 3. Good for an overnight stay. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
Staff made me feel welcome and were well organized. Pull through site was large and fairly level. They have 50 amp but no cable TV. Received a few over the air TV channels. Very neat and well kept park with a large foot print. Plenty of room to relax. Some sites are a far distance from the pool. Garbage is collected at your site. Highway noise is not a problem. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
End of the season stay. As always, pricey KOA prices but a well maintained park with nice large spaces. No cable TV and a 30 amp site. Good for a quiet overnight close to I90 and just east of Albert Lea town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
Nice little campground off the highway (off enough to not be annoying). Would stay again. Clean bathroom/showers, didn't go by the pool. Level sites, each site had a tree even though its basically on a farm. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$39
This park is an older KOA park and it is slightly dated. The facilities are very clean though. Interior roads are rock and so are the sites which tends to make the park a little dusty. The sites are fairly generous for an older camp and we had no problem positioning our trailer. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There are nice sites for tent camping and the pool was very clean. This park seemed very friendly for family activities. I found the Wi-Fi slow most of the time. There is no cable TV, but several local channels available with just the antenna. The park is 8 miles from Albert Lea, MN. A very clean town with any facility a traveler might need during a journey. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
This park is easy to get to from I-90. It has large spaces and is quiet. The staff is polite and helpful. It's an older park but well maintained and has a nice pool. We stayed for 5 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
The park is easily accessible off of I-90. Access road is a well maintained gravel road off the County highway. Interior roads are gravel. Sites are gravel and reasonably level, needing only one or two leveling blocks. The sites are very spacious for even the biggest rigs. The site side yards are grass and very large in size. There are mature trees scattered throughout the park but in general the park is open. At certain times of day, in certain sites, there could be some shade but it isn't prevalent. Satellite reception should be good most sites depending on scattered tree locations. Over the air, we received 20 channels from nearby Austin, MN with perfect reception. Utilities were in good working order. Wi-Fi got little bogged down at night, but signal strength was strong. Bathrooms were clean and showers were spacious. The showers have a separate dressing area within the single shower stall. There is a small store with the necessities as well as some crafts. Recreational activities include a pool, basketball hoop and modern well maintained playground. There is clean laundry with modern machines. Staff was very friendly. There was some road noise from I-90 with the coach completely closed up but the air conditioning off. Overall a nice, well maintained campground that we would return to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$39
Very clean and welcoming campground. We have stayed here in the past and will remember this campground in the future. People were friendly and the campground was quiet. Highly recommend this one! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
This felt like the typical KOA Campgrounds we've used over the years for overnight stays on our way through the area. There was plenty of shade at our site, which was great as it was in the mid nineties this day. The pool water was cool, which was also nice on this day. Staff was very friendly and helpful, facilities were clean. Entire campground was well-kept. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
Many sites were on grass so I am glad it did not rain while we were here. The park was clean and the office staff was very nice. However, it was a hot night and there was not nearly enough power available. Many people, including us, did not run their A/C for a long time due to the low voltage. We were afraid we would damage our unit. After the office closed the voltage got up to "marginal" so we turned the A/C on then. We were very hot and sweaty for the evening. The heat was the sole reason we paid the amount for a KOA: so we could cool down. That did not happen for a few hours and even then we were worried about our A/C unit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
The staff was friendly. As for a KOA park this was my least favorite. There was no garbage pick up at the site. We had to walk a long distance to reach the dumpsters. There is no cable service and TV antenna signal was terrible resulting in no TV for the evening. The size of the site was good. It fit my 35 ft coach & tow dolly. The pet area was a joke. We had to walk our dogs on the edge of a corn field. The store was not well stocked with food items & had overpriced state magnets. I would only recommend this place as a overnight stay. Highway 90 runs along the rear and can be heard clearly at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$36
This is the third KOA we have stayed at. None supported a reason for the extra cost. Hosts were helpful. Roads and sites were soft with rain and badly lacking in gravel. Very little shade. Store well supplied. Overnight is a good stay, but not long term. Not really close to other towns, but OK. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
Get ready for some southern hospitality at Albert Lea KOA. The owners & staff were very friendly, helpful, and smiled all the time. This KOA offers a huge Olympic-sized swimming pool and kids activities on the weekends. My kids had a great time making tie-dye t-shirts, playing bingo with the adults, and watching a movie on a large blow up screen in the meeting hall. Another reviewer mentioned a young girl working, and there was a young girl who worked at the campground (around 25 years old). I talked with her and she has worked at the Albert Lea KOA for 9 years. They have hired some locals to help out, but the owners were always onsite and easy to be found. The KOA is close to the freeway, but the sites are large and the atmosphere is peaceful. The owners, with their heavy southern accents and large smiles, add to the ambiance of the campground. Also, these were the cleanest restrooms & showers I have found so far in our travels this summer. The Wi-Fi is very fast, too. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
I thought this was a very nice campground. For $35 it was no bargain, but most KOA's charge top dollar. We had no reservation, and all the 50 amp sites were taken, so we had 30 amp electric. You could hear road noise from the highway, but it wasn't so loud as to be annoying. The sites were wide and level, and we had good satellite reception. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
Great Park: was easy in out, had friendly staff. It was clean and well maintained. We stop here once a year. Not sure what the last reviewer is complaining about. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Will never stay here again. Owners could not be found, office was run by young girl. After check in you had to look for your own spot. Nothing is clearly marked. Grass was so high you couldn't find your spot number. For a KOA it was very poorly kept. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Great shade trees were the best feature. Very hot when we were here so everyone had their air going and the electric in park went out several times. The pool is not centrally located (also serves as a public pool) and is at the far end of the park. It rained alot and the sites were muddy as were the roads. There is no cable TV and limited full hook-ups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
Quiet, country setting. Short drive to Albert Lea, easy to find off the Interstate. Quite a bit of shade. Layout a little awkward, might be tight for a real big rig if the campground was full. Sites and interior roads are dirt/gravel. Had been raining a few days and it was very muddy. WiFi was ok. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
It is kind of hard to review a MN RV park this time of year. There were only a dozen other RVs in the park and things like the pool were closed for the year. Most sites are full hook up and some are pull-through. Although there is no cable, they do have some sites that are satellite friendly. There isn't anything within walking distance even though it is right off the I-90. It is OK for an overnight stop or a family weekend getaway in the summer (the pool is larger than most small KOAs). We only stayed her because we had an appointment at Winnebago (about and hour away in north central Iowa) the next morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
For an overnight stay, this park is okay. Long term stays, probably not. Pool was not very well taken care of at the time (a little green), not to mention it's ice cold. The kiddie pool was okay, but only heated by the sun. Playground looked good for the kids, but we did not use. Sites were nice and long: we did not have to unhook. If you can pick a site, the one north of the building has a lot of lawn for the kids to play catch and run around. It was nice to have a fire ring at our site. Store was nicely stocked and the staff was friendly. Place was a little difficult to find due to the address being in the middle of a corn field. GPS and mapquest prove this to be a true statement. It is further east on the frontage road. Once found, it was an easy entrance and quick to get back on the freeway. So not a bad place to stay, but could be better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
OK for a night, but we wouldn't spend a long time here. Site was long enough but not very level and very much in need of fresh gravel; a little rain made the site very muddy. Pool was very cold but kiddie pool was OK. We pretty much had the place to ourselves and although the campground is close to the interstate, road noise was not a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
Sites were long but dirt, in fact the entire place was dirt except for a little grass. It was very dusty when we were there. I am sure that when it rains this place is a real mud hole. Wifi was poor, good signal but no bandwidth. Even the reservation computer was slow because it used the same Wifi as everyone else. The laundry was very small and crowded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
We arrived in the late afternoon for a one night's stay. The young lady in the office was very pleasant but informed us that the water was being flushed out and we probably shouldn't drink it. Also, there was a sign on the door saying that the pool was closed for maintenance. I asked if there was a lower rate for mid-week and reduced availability of amenities. She smiled and said "no" but she would pass on our concerns to the owner. $35 was very high for a place to park overnight, and campground owners complain when we stay at Walmart and Flying J! This is one of the reasons why! KOA properties have disappointed us 95% of the time for just these reasons. It's sad since they could have much going for them! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$34
Restrooms were cold, otherwise clean with friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$47
This is an adequate park for an overnight stay on the way to South Dakota. There are level sites; some Interstate 90 noise, however. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
The sites and roads are mostly dirt with very little gravel so you have either dust or mud depending on the weather. The sewer hookups were useless after it rained since many of them were under water. The ones that were not flooded would back up if you tried to empty your tanks. It was not a pleasant experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
Very neat and clean KOA and, although overpriced, a bit better than the typical KOA. In a very quiet rural setting, with good wi-fi, and very level sites. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
This is a beautiful rural campground with very large campsites. The staff members are pleasant, and the park is well-kept. The modem hookups are in the office. We paid the KOA Value Card rate for full hookups, which included tax. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
Typical KOA w/easy access to either I-35 or I-90. CG is adjacent to I-90. Travel America fuel services are located at I-35, 7 miles west of CG via brand new cement hywy. Only negative was dust kicked up by moving vehicles. The positive during our stay was heavy rain - all night - so no dust in a.m. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
We stayed here a week on our way across Minnesota and due to length of our stay were give sites 35/36 which were actually end to end tent sites with full hookups and all grass sites. We loved it. We had plenty of room with large shade trees and easy access to everything. The park is right next to a really nice little 9 hole par 3 course to work your irons, complete with a driving range. It was of course, near the Spam Museum and not far from the Winnebago factory in Foster City, IA which was an interesting tour. We would definitely stay here again. The rate listed was the weekly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
This campground was clean and staff was friendly. It is however next to I-90, and a train tracks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
This was ok for a one night stop. Easy access to the highway, but not a great deal of road noise. Wi-fi at the office with one local channel on TV. Sites were clean and fairly level. Dusty with the dry gravel though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$26
In typical KOA fashion, the sites were pretty close together, but it is a very clean little park. It has a very large clean swimming pool that was not crowded at all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
We have stayed at this park three or four different times over the past five years, and we have always found it to be very clean and comfortable. It is very easy to access from I-90 or I-35. The staff has always been very friendly and the bathrooms are always very clean. They just built a new meeting room that is very adequate. I wouldn't spend an entire vacation here, but it is great for a weekend or a one night stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com