206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Little Bear Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (319) 627-2676
CGID4037

Little Bear Campground

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   9   1   4   2   7   5   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
What a nice, little campground! Right of I-80, and you do hear some traffic in the background, but it's not loud or annoying. We settled in here for the Labor Day weekend, and it did get crowded but the sites are, while not tight or spacious, adequate. There are some shaded lots (#13 is great!) and others in the sun. There are some full-timers and those who use this park when working in the area. Very friendly owners who both work at other jobs so after school starts, you will only find them there after 5:00. There is a "host," though, that can help with any problems. Water, sewer, electric hookups worked as they should. Didn't go swimming, but the pool is clean. Very clean restrooms. Small laundry. $1.25 wash/$1.00 dry. There is a meeting room for get-togethers and a gas station at the entrance. In fact, you enter at the gas station drive and keep to the left. All-in-all, a nice campground that we'd not hesitate to stay at again and would recommend to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Park is easy access to I-80. Clean and staff very friendly. Stayed two nights and will stay again. It is an older park, but from what others have said, it is under new management and I think they are doing a great job. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
We stayed at this campground before with the previous owners. As we arrived after hours we've not met the new owners/managers. The sites are almost level, needing only one small block. The pool is clean and well maintained. The grass is nicely mowed. Convenient for our travel, and rut off the interstate, a simple fan inside cancelled out traffic noise. Quiet neighbor campers. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
New owners have made this a very clean, quiet, friendly and convenient campground. The bathrooms and showers are freshly painted and even smell good. Many personal touches like stenciling and nice air fresheners make them above average. The grounds and pool were in great condition. The owners and young family all join in the maintenance which creates a friendly "family values" experience. Very helpful, friendly hosts made for a terrific overnight stay after a hard day of travel. We had planned to go further that day, but after loosing a tire and dealing with the repairs and stress of that, we saw their sign on Hwy 80 and decided to take a chance on Little Bear. We would definitely go back again and would recommend them to family and friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
We had called ahead to make reservations because when you are driving a 45' motorhouse with a SUV in tow you need to need you have a place to park. After telling the people we need 50 AMPS, etc., we get here and they say, "Pick you site." Well we pick one which had 50 AMPS and was a good size pull through. So we got set up and the airs was running and then: breaker popped in about 20 minutes. Reset the breaker: 5 minutes later it popped again, this time it would not reset. We went to office to see if someone could replace the bad breaker. They didn't have one on hand and was not authorized by the owner to call someone to replace the breaker and couldn't call the owner at work but we could use the pole next to us (30 amps). We decided to move on down the highway. They are not really big rig friendly and we will not ever stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Just OK in a pinch. Not much to choose from in this corridor, but where do I start. Wide turns and a few pull-throughs at 90' . Chose your site with great thought. If you need 50 amp call ahead. The problem is they never returned my or 2 other patrons' phone calls. For 50 amp you share a pedestal with neighbor. Pedestal does have 50 and 30 on BOTH sides. but only one 50 and one 30 will work or you will trip a breaker. So my neighbor and I flipped for it and I won. They claim to assign you a 50 and then restrict next RV to a 30. But don't expect anyone to be in the office. We arrived at 3:45 sign on door said return at 3:30 so we just used night check in and found a spot. Sign of "return at 3:30" stayed on the door until 6:00 and then they just took it down (door still locked). It is a dust bowl and some of the trees in the pull-throughs will hit your roof if you are big. Just OK for overnight but try calling (did us no good) and make sure of your spot and amperage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
This is NOT a KOA any more! When we checked in in the cramped and somewhat filthy office a sign reading: "Sorry, Mom's kitchen is closed." I couldn't help a sigh of relief. Nobody would like to eat anything cooked here. The campground is right beside the interstate and very, very noisy. Bring your earplugs! Some shade on the site, which was fairly spacious but unlevel. The impression from the office prevented us from checking any other facilities. Don't stay here except you desperately need to get off the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
This is no longer a KOA park. The sites were well-maintained. There is noise from the interstate and the truck stop. We paid the weekly rate of $150. There is a box on the office door for late arrivals to pay for your site. This is a good overnight stop since it's close to Interstate 80. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
This is not a KOA facility any longer. We stayed here while traveling through Iowa. It was raining and windy. This did not help our attitude. The sites were fairly level but most had standing water. The rest room needed some attention to clean it up. The sites were close to each other. We would not recommend this site unless necessary and you are tired. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
By far this is the saddest and worst kept KOA property we have ever stayed at. From the filth in the office to check in, I hustled out to the RV to tell my wife I did NOT want to stay at this facility. She's convinced me we were only staying overnight and would be on our way in the morning. I relented and regretted every aspect of this stay. Ancient amenities that haven't been replaced, repaired or so much as repainted in decades. This campground is a true shambles. Even accessing it (through a closed gas station parking lot) is funky. It needs to lose its KOA membership (yes, I've shared this data with KOA too). Don't stay here. There is a fabulous campground just a few miles East in Tipton, IA - Hunts Cedar River Campground. See positive reviews on this site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
Basic roadside KOA ... nothing bad to report, nothing great, just a nice clean safe place to park for the night. Truck noise was not bad, all we heard was a tornado coming by ... and felt ... but overall a pleasant stay, I would recommend as a stop over location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$26
There was nothing wrong with this park. It was just the basics. We needed a stop over one night place and this park suited us. Nice long level pull thru spot. No cable, no WIFI. Staff was friendly. Small cafe and pool. The park was very quiet because it was empty. We would stay here again. Not your usual KOA park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
This is one of the poorer KOAs (and KOA has asked for feedback, so we aren't the first to comment). In its favor, it is an easy on and easy off campground, however we had to move twice to find a reasonably level site (and there are no mountains in Southern Iowa). Access is through a gas station parking lot and the main building, which houses the office, store and eating space, was unkempt. I would not go back on purpose and would not recommend as a vacation spot, that's for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
An older park but was very clean. Owners friendly and helpful. Sites were not level. This is a good overnight stop at a reasonable rate for a full hookup. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
Nasty, dirty registration area, closed up rec hall filled with junk, padlocked swimming pool, piled up trash at dumpster. Campground entrance is through a gas station that is also filthy. Is adjacent to a creepy hotel for truckers that has mildewed drapes hanging in windows. KOA should not allow their name to be on this place. Stay away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2005
$22
Staff was very friendly but this is an older park. Sites were close together. The pull thrus are long but are sloped so leveling is a challenge. The restaurant was closed until July 4th and not sure if it opened then or not. Campground shares an entrance with a gas station and a run down motel right off the interstate. Would only use this as a quick overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com