219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Crazy Horse Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (608) 897-2207
CGID4042

Crazy Horse Campground

Camp Information
Sites
179
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$51



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   8   8   9   10   2   5   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$51
This was our first time here, and although the pricing structure is odd, it was worth the extra $$. In addition to the site fee, there is a per person fee, the $51 is the base price and goes up from there. We took advantage of the free mini-golf (course needs work), tubing and kayaking all equipment included in your per person fee. Camp was well kept, large sites, staff was personable and helpful. Going back next month! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
My husband and I spend our summers at Crazy Horse and we loved it. We have a permanent spot there from April to Oct and then we head to our home in Texas for the winter. Last winter while our home was being built, we stayed in our motor home in Van Horn at the KOA, which was great, but we are looking forward to Crazy Horse for the summer. After 10 years of camping there, we have a lot of friends there and its a very family orientated park, lots of things for the kids and grandkids to do, as well as tubing and canoeing on the river. Monroe and Janesville are close and fun places to go to shop or eat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
Downside: Only ten 50 amp full hookup sites, the rest are electric only. The dump station, right across from us, had a water hose to flush your sewer pipe, and another with potable water, to fill your tank. However, everyone, including the staff honey wagon, used the potable water hose to flush their sewer hose. Most put the hose into the end of their sewer hose. Otherwise, it's a great park for kids. More stuff to do than you can imagine. Just arrive with a full fresh water tank! Lots of grass, shade trees, float trips on the Sugar river. Lots of staff and LOTS of kids! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
I come here quite a bit we have a close friend with a permanent site. The campground is very clean and kid oriented. Golf carts have to stop at 10pm, that is also when quiet time begins. They do have a wrist band policy that is quite ridiculous. Along with having to pay to camp, you have to purchase a wrist band for everyone on the family. Even if you don't plan on using any of the amenities. You can also not bring in any outside fire wood (so they say) instead they want you to buy a little bundle from them for $5. That's also a rip off. It's definitely a high priced campground. The pool is nothing special, but the jumping pillow is a lot of fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
Park is very family oriented. Tons of kids running around, so your kids not finding someone to play with is almost impossible. They have a store and serve food. Has lots of activities for the kids, a driving range, mini golf, jumping pillow, peddle cars, etc. My kids loved it. Internet is fast and available. My only complaints are: The sewer hook up port on my full hook up lot was raised, so I had to hold my sewer line up to dump. I did not have water for a day because the guy next to me took out his tap, not really the campgrounds fault but they should have brought a plumber in faster. I didn't like how kids continuously walk through the campsites. My site was also off level to the point my jacks raised the front wheels of my MH off the ground. I think a little attention in this area could help my rating. In any case my kids loved this campground. If they are happy, I'm happy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
This is an excellent RV park for family's. I like the all included price for the many extras offered, including the tubing on the Sugar River. Showers are OK, but could be updated, and two are not enough for this size. We were very impressed, and will return again in the fall. However, the young staff are very friendly and helpful, but the older ones are not. They definitely need some customer service tune ups. Especially the old lady on days in the front office. She is downright rude. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
We read the reviews about this campground and either they hired an entirely new staff, or they took the previous negative reviews seriously. The staff was very friendly and really went out of their way to show us a good time. We stayed here Saturday through Monday. It is truly a kid's paradise, actually we would have had just as much fun even if we didn't bring any kids along. The river alone makes for an enjoyable time. A note about the river, however, this river has some rapids so just make sure you are prepared to do some dodging and weaving to avoid overhanging branches, etc. I loved everything about this campground: from the reasonable prices in the little store, to the DJ, to the free pedal bikes, mini golf. You name it, this place has it. We will be back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$48
This could be a very nice campground with lots for the kids to do and big sites, but the rude staff ruin your whole stay. Usually at campgrounds the staff goes out of their way to be friendly and it is just the opposite here. I could not believe the rudeness of the office staff, and usually for no reason at all. They have strict, ridiculous rules for everything and seem to make them up as they go along. They nickel and dime you for everything, surprised they didn't charge to use the bathroom. The river was closed on the Saturday we were here because of the water level, which I understand. Yet Sunday the water level was right where it always is and they still refused to allow us on the river. Yet, they were unwilling to refund our "resort fee" money, even though we only went for the tubing and never even put on our bracelets to use any of their other activities. We basically paid an extra $70 for absolutely nothing. The only answer we got from the crabby old lady in the office was, "Me arguing with you is not going to change our rules." Very unprofessional, very rude, went out of their way to "pick." If you are looking to have a fun, relaxing camping trip: look elsewhere!!!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$47
I have mixed reviews about this campground. This was our first camping experience as a family (of four) and we had borrowed someone's pop-up camper. The good- we stayed right on the river. The view first thing in the morning was very peaceful and beautiful. We enjoyed the all-inclusive tubing on the river, the concert on Saturday night, the pool and miniature golf. The bathhouse (women's at least) was fair. There were only 3 toilet stalls and 2 or 3 showers for the entire campground. We waited in line for over 20 minutes to take a shower at 4pm on Saturday. It was about as clean as I would expect for it to be so busy. For someone with two smaller kids (twin 5 yr olds), they were NOT fond of the random spiders or flies in the bath house, but it was their first experience. I was happy to have a porta-potty closer to our site, and it was nice (as nice can be for a porta) because it was clean and smelled ok the first two days. By the end of the weekend, it desperately needed emptying, so I kept opting for the long climb to the bathroom at the main entrance. It would have been a little better in my opinion if the porta was a handicap size just from having two children that refused to go in alone. You can barely fit one adult in there, let alone an adult and child together. Plus, there is no lighting at night, so you'd better come prepared with a friend to hold the door and flashlight, or learn to go in the dark. The tubing was fun, but I generally wasn't excited about the pool. It was very cloudy, which I am assuming is the water in general in the area, as the friends we camped with had a trailer and said the water coming out of the pipes was cloudy (not dirty) as well. But for a pool to be so cloudy, was a big turn off for swimming. The mini golf was under-maintained (carpet was bumpy, outdated, and poorly constructed, but it was "free" so beggars can't be choosey I suppose. The golf range was packed at all hours of the day/evening and if you jump on the pillow, be sure not to go in the heat of the day- one of the kids came down screaming from being burnt on the pillow. The staff was friendly at the desk, but the one gentleman at the gate wasn't so pleasant. Overall, I have mixed feelings, and not sure if I would return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Well what can I say. We stayed here for 5 days, 806 and 807. I`ll have to agree with most others, it`s an OK campground with grouchy people running it. It is in need of lots of updating, the store has seen better days: I hope! They have a small heated pool which was nice for the week (Sun-Thurs). I can`t imagine how crowded it would be on a busy weekend. Their mini golf was OK, but hardly worth paying for. We watched the staff several times stop and tell people what they can`t do. They even went so far as to tell a group of kids playing ball in a field that it was time to stop playing (8:00pm)? One of the kids said, "It`s not quiet time yet!" I just smiled and watch the guy drive away. It would be much easier if they just told you what you could do. If they put as much effort in being nice to the guests as they do being grouchy they could have a decent place! Oh yeah, they do have quite a few permanent sites! Not seasonals, but permanent spots. It kind of takes away from the campground atmosphere. They did say they are trying to get rid of them, though. They did pull out a run down 80 foot single wide when we were here. All in all, this could be a nice campground with lots of updating and some good people skills, or new owners. We would go back for a short weekend, maybe! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
The park is very clean and kid friendly. There are a lot of activities to keep everyone occupied. We had 2 large sites (806 & 805). They were very deep and wide and were great for our 38' Motorhomes. Wi-fi worked well. The store was well stocked. Bathhouses were clean. The office staff was not very friendly. Everything at this campground is EXTRA. If you did research on their website, you can see that there is a charge for everything. They best way to go is to buy the wristband ($25.00) for the kids. It was the best value. Somethings are still extra, but the $25 is worth it. The reason for the 8 out of 10 is the numbrt of rules. This place is loaded with them. The couple we were with brought their Gator (6 wheeler). We used it once and were told that we couldn't use it by a staff member. We asked why and were told that "he didn't make the rules, just enforced them." I am not sure how our gator is different then a 4 wheeler, a scooter, a dirt bike or a golf cart that were on the road way. If they have rules, they need to be for everyone. We were not out joy riding. We took a trip down the street to the store on site for some firewood (supporting them instead of buying it outside the campground). Overall, this is a very nice place. I don't think we would return, just because everything is an extra and it starts to really add up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
If your looking for fun and nice staff DON"T GO HERE We had a large group for 5 days and were really the only group there. They yelled at us for having fun. We were told we trampled the grass,(guess we were suppose to camp on the gravel road) got mud on the golf carts (it rained) they sure could take our money for 12 sites, ice etc from the store. Ran into people store owners from the town they said they would never stay there too crabby. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
Very nice park but very busy with family activities. Don't look for quiet here. Lot's for kids to do. Great ice cream bar in the store. Wifi and tv reception very good especially near the hotspot. About 14 miles from the cheese factories and stores in Monroe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
This is a nice campground if you're a social camper. All of the sites are VERY close together. There are no trees between any of the sites. The amenities were great. I highly recommend the tube ride down the river. The kids had a great time. They had movie night on Saturday. The bathrooms were somewhat updated compared to past reviews and staff was friendly. We won't come here again only because we're private campers, but it was nice the time we were there. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$31
This is a nice-looking campground a little ways out of town. It has lots of grass and trees. There are a lot of recreational opportunities, including tubing, volleyball, mini golf, a jumping pillow, hiking, and canoeing. Contrary to what a previous poster has reported, however, all these things cost extra. The pool is free. It has a store and snack bar. There is one ancient bath house, near the pool, with four showers and a few stalls. The bathrooms were filthy, and the shower curtains were covered with mold. The bathrooms closest to our site were porta potties. A bathroom upgrade would really improve things. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
I was very surprised to find what we did based on previous reviews. We pulled in mid-week and even though we could see many empty sights, we were told we could only put our rig (5th wheel) in-between 2 permanent mobile homes at a sight that had been "just converted" to RV use. There was no one at the office when we arrived, and had to search the entire park to find someone to help, and they definitely didn't seem to want us there. We were totally taken back by the lack of caring about our business. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
Wow, where do I start? I was looking for a family campground within a couple of hours from Chicago that would be fun for all and I think I struck gold! This place, for the most part, is great! There was plenty to do for the kids and there is a structured schedule. There were plenty of campsites and some were even right on the river. The price was right and they offer daily freebies such as free tubing, mini golf, etc. My biggest complaint...The staff wasn't very friendly. It's appears to be mostly teens working for the summer and it wasn't uncommon to pass like two ships in the night. I'm used to people being very friendly when camping and was a bit shocked to experience this. They weren't rude, just not friendly. Also, the bathrooms could have used some attention. The floors were dirty and the counter tops were covered with water. Of course, it had been raining heavily while we were there, so I guess the floor being dirty was understandable. Regardless, we (me, my wife and two five year olds) had a great time and will most definitely return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
This park was very peaceful and restful. We had our 2 dogs with and they loved it. Very clean I saw staff driving around cleaning up the grounds and they pick up your trash daily. Staff was wonderful, will to help with anything. Wifi works great, I am at the farthest site from the main building. Will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$31
This was a nice, spacious camprground for a family and we had a great time. Probably offers more amenities and activities then most campgrounds we have been BUT they will cost you!! We felt everything was good and clean enough but not exceptional by any means for the prices. We had a small lot issue right away which was no big deal and that was taken care of promptly and then some. We really liked it alot but we just felt it was to over priced on everything to fully enjoy it and make it a place to return to time and time again, though we would like to. If I had to complain about anything it would be the cramped busy registration office and the same for the store. I recommend it to everyone, just beware of your wallet if you have a large family. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$28
We have camped here several times over a span of 5 years. We have seen "family style" improvements over the years as they offer more for kids to do. Such things include: mini golf course, driving range, batting cages, heated pool, basketball court, ice cream social, arcade, paddle boat/canoe/kayak/tube rentals. Campground is located right along the Sugar River and guests can fish for free We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com