218707 User submitted reviews online!!
Headquarters Campground (Parks Canada) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (506) 887-6000
CGID4055

Headquarters Campground (Parks Canada)

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   8   8   10   10   9   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$38
My family just loved our brief stay at this campground. Headquarters campground is a very beautiful campground. We were walking distance to the local town (Alma). Lot's do in the National Park. We went on two nature hikes that were exceptional. The sites were quite large. We had site 103, and would pick it again. Our site did not have a sewer. Not many sewer sites, they go quickly. No camp fires. But they had one communal one for everyone to join (BYOW) bring your own wood. No WIFI at our site, no cell reception. We would return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
The biggest advantage here is the location. You can see the bay from the campground entrance. Alma, the closest town is within walking distance, via the roadside sidewalk or steps from the campground. This location is nice to watch the tide if you're not going to Hopewell Rocks. The sites are very small and there is no privacy. I recommend that you NOT choose sites 25, 26, 27, 28, or 29. These are very close to the shower house and the path that connects the camper section from the yurts. We were in #27 and people were constantly walking thru our site. This was a noise and a privacy (what little there was) issue. Camp fires are not permitted in this campground, in case that's important to you. Would I stay here again? Only if the other campgrounds were closed or full. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Sites are fairly open but with plenty of space between neighbors. Fundy NP itself is amazing and this campground is ideally located. We had solid WiFi at our site near the check-in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
Fundy National Park is beautiful and if you have a larger motor home, the Headquarters campground may be the only one that will fit you. Point Wolfe is almost all tents and to get there you have to go through a covered bridge that has a tight turn into it. Chignecto is more accessible, but not for larger motor homes. We had a 30 amp site at Headquarters. I doubt they have many 50 amp sites. I'd plan on 30 amps. Our site was easy in and easy out and fairly large. There is a wonderful playground across the road for kids. Our grand kids loved the small zip line. Also nearby is the town of Alma. Some very good restaurants and great seafood. The salt water pool is about 1 kilometer away. We would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Outstanding park, beautiful setting. The sites are long, wide, easily accessible and the nearby town of Alma with its view of the 35' tides is only about a kilometer away. I had no problem with my 39' coach and vehicle. The experience was made so much more pleasurable by the young park employee who greeted us and signed us in. She answered all my questions and provided much-needed travel information for exiting the park. Her sunny disposition and smile made for a perfect welcome to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
The best campground yet! It was pricey when you consider the entry fee, but there is so much to do there. The sites are very private, the bathrooms are very clean. There was a nice indoor cooking area if it were to rain, complete with a sink, picnic tables and wood stoves. There was Wi-Fi, but only at the front entrance, which didn't help us at all. The showers could have been warmer (push button, no temp control), but were acceptable. Definitely a favorite and we'll be back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$37
We stayed in the Headquarters part of the park. It was a nice site with adequate room between sites. It seemed family friendly and had W-iFI (a big plus). We were surprised about the road in from 1. It was very hilly. We unhooked our toad at the lookout before the last down hill and were happy we did so. If you are coming from the Moncton area, would suggest the road that skirts the coast. It might be longer than using 1, but much easier. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Fundy National Park has several campgrounds. We stayed in the Headquarters Campground next to the visitor's center and the town of Alma, which is right on the bay of Fundy. This is one of the best National Park campgrounds we've stayed in, both in the US and Canada. We had full hook-ups with excellent Wi-Fi, a first in our national park experience. The only road into Fundy is Hwy 114, which is in very rough shape. Both our sofa and TV set were sideways when we got here, and opening the cabinets was a bit of a challenge. We were here in Spring, and as apparently typical for New Brunswick, the most plentiful wildlife in the park is the black fly, so be sure to have plenty of bug spray with you. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
This is a beautiful National Park. We were in one of the 10 full service sites. During the busy summer season these fill up fast so reservations are a must. So much to see and do in the area. Alma is just down the road. Could spend the day there talking to the locals and enjoying the good food and watching the tides change. If we are fortunate enough to come back to New Brunswick we would certainly stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
We camped in a 40 footer with full hookups and WiFi and the WiFi worked! We stayed 3 days and wished we had more time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The sites were large and private. Lots of trails here to bike, hike or take the dogs. One of our favorite sites and one of our highest rated sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Great National Park, quiet, lots of privacy, not too brushy. Rate we used was for electric and water with a pass. The pass is very good value (new this year) good not just for camping but all National attractions and good for a year. We used at Louisbourg and saved $35.00. The other reviewer is spot on: Tides Restaurant has the best shrimp I have ever had. Would come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
We didn't make reservations and so we on a "no service" site in our motorhome. It was more suitable for tenting. There were many vacant, nicer sites that never were taken during our 2 night stay. the price for 2 nights was $78.20, no hookups. It included admittance to the "park". It was the biggest rip-off that we've ever had for camping and I would never camp at another National Park in Canada. On the plus side: the showers were fine and free of cost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
As some have stated, the FHU (incl. 50 amp) camping fee is $35, but you will also need daily park permits (or annual passes) for each camping member. Friends gave us the gift of covering the park permit parts so that made the decision to stay here MUCH easier! At $50 per night I'm not sure I would've signed us up, that's a pretty big splurge! But having said all that, it's a gorgeous park! We stayed in Chignecto North in site A 3, which was a pull-through. Sites A 1-10 all looked to be pull-throughs and a lot of green space between sites. I don't think you can reserve a specific site ahead of time though, the cg workers do that when you get there. Awesome hikes. Great trails all over to walk pets too. Very quiet CG, esp. at night! The Tides restaurant down the hill in Alma has the BEST shrimp I have EVER had! A lot of folks rave about Hopewell Rocks, so we went. Pretty much felt ripped-off and disappointed. If you know the Oregon coastline, don't bother with this bit. If not, maybe it's worth the $8/person or whatever. So only complaints are too expensive and low water pressure. Otherwise, love it! One of my favorite spots! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
We stayed at Headquarters Campground. It's very convenient to Alma, NB. You easily walk there to view the bay or to eat. Many hiking trails are available from the campground or within easy driving distance. The sites were level, shady and the grounds were clean. It is very quiet and relaxing. We would return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$36
We spent two nights here. This was not nearly enough, there is so much to do. Lots of really nice walking trails, pool, beach walking, biking, canoeing. A real treat for the nature types. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
We stayed 1 night at Headquarters Campground. It's very convenient. You can walk to Alma Beach to view the bay or to head into Alma for food. You can walk to a saltwater pool, the visitors center, hiking trails. The hookups worked fine. The bathrooms were clean. It was quiet. Campfires are not allowed here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
Fundy National Park is gorgeous and the campground is excellent. The sites are not large, but they are comfortable. The park is expensive when you add the daily fee for National Park Admission. Since we were also planning on a visit to PEI National Park we purchased an annual family pass which saved a few dollars. There is a swimming pool in the park, but it is not in the campground. We would definitely stay here again when we return to this part of new Brunswick. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
A pleasant place with good power on its very limited number of full hook-up sites. It does get pricey when you add the cost of the daily park entry fee of $7. Sat dish worked fine and probably would in 50% of the full hook-up sites. Access was good for big rigs and spacing between sites appeared fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
At the Headquarters campground, full hookup sites are limited (27 or so). The rest are no hookups. Very nice shaded sites. The restroom and showers are very clean. Convenient to the town of Alma. We bought cooked lobster in town at one of the seafood sellers and spread out newspapers on our picnic table to dine al fresco. A highlight of our trip. Would definitely say here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
An very scenic property.The mis week golf special is one of the best in the business. You will truly enjoy the Park and the scenery available. A very peaceful park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
This is a great Canadian National Park. We stayed at Headquarters, which is down on the water and where it is easy to watch the phenomenal tide changes each day. There are some nice hikes out of Headquarters that take you along the cliffs above the Bay of Fundy. The park also has well maintained grounds, with beautiful annual beds scattered about (very Canadian!). There is a cute little town adjacent to the park with craft shops and places to eat. Alma is in the English speaking part of NB, which helps. The pool was $$$ and full of kids. Don't plan to swim laps. We had a nice stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
I am not sure of the number of sites in Fundy but the serviced area at Headquarters had almost 50 sites. Fundy is a great place to hike, swim, ocean touring, play golf, tennis, and watch the biggest tides come in and out of the Bay of Fundy. There are three family campgrounds and two have electricity. Headquarters is the only one with electricity, water and sewers and the best view of the tides and within walking distance to Alma the golf course, visitor center etc, but the others have their advantages check out their web site – Chignecto has large wooded sites with some electricity but nice bike trails; Point Wolfe has few sites but they are open, quiet with swimming and great views. There are also a number of back country sites and primitive areas available. They have ranger programs every night alternating nightly in English or French and walks led by the rangers during the day. We have camped and visited Fundy over the last 40 years more than 5 times and love it. It is very near Hopewell Rocks which is a must see! The only negative thing is that Canada (National Parks) now charge for not only the campground but to get into the park – a daily rate which I think is high $8 per adult per day. If you have children who are over 16 they are charged the adult rate per day. So, for the 4 of us the camping rate was over 30 with w/e/s and then a daily rate of 32 dollars on top of that plus the $11 reservation. If you are planning to stay for a few days which most campers do the fees add up. At least the US National Parks the rate charged is for everyone in the car and it is for 5 days or even more in some parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
We stayed in "Headquarters" campground. It's not as private as Chinetgo, but not bad. It's location is very handy to golf and views. It takes only 5 minutes to ride down the hill to the town of Alma. For those needing internet access, the Information Center in Alma offers DSL service at nominal rates. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$28
For tent camping, the sites are huge, lots of trees between sites, we were in a populated area and never really noticed anybody was around. Facilities was top notch. Showers were hot, clean and well lit. Will return. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$33
Beautiful area. Sites are well divided and somewhat secluded. Rest rooms were clean and well maintained. Showers were nice once I figured out how to work them. No choice in the temperature, just on or off. The trails and overlooks in the park are incredible. absolutely breathtaking. We wished we had more then two days to hike and tour the park and the area. GREAT bakery in Alma. Park personnel were really friendly. Great place to visit. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com