214562 User submitted reviews online!!
Mountain Creek Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (717) 486-7681
CGID4061

Mountain Creek Campground

Camp Information
Sites
175
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   5   9   6   1   10   5   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
Had an awesome time. Staff was dressed as pirates for pirate weekend, had a water balloon pirate ship, DJ at the pool there was a group next to us getting a little loud but security came by talked to them they were quiet the rest of the night. Reserved for pirate weekend for next year! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$38
We camped here for a Halloween Themed weekend. The campground had activities scheduled, which is great. They were site decorating contest, pumpkin carving contest, trick or treating, hay ride, and a haunted house, all which were free with your payment to the campground. There seem to be a lot of seasonal sites, so we were placed in the overflow area (a group of 4 campers), which was OK. The overflow area is mainly grass, it had rained heavily the night before, so our area was quite flooded. There is also no sewer in the overflow area; which isn't really a problem, as they do have a dump station. But the water and electric hookups were not on the correct side, so you might need an extra hose or longer electric hook up. The campground is decent, staff is friendly, we had a nice time. They offer free Wi-Fi, but the connection is not great, and I could not get good cell service either. My only real complaint is the dump station itself. While they have 3 lanes, which I found very nice, the water connection that is there, is not a regular hose, so you can not hook it up to your water connector to rinse and fill up your tanks for through cleaning. We were only able to use this water hookup to fill up the fresh tank, and use that water to re-rinse our tanks. It is not an ideal setup. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
We camped over a holiday weekend, and trailers were crammed in everywhere. They must have squeezed in extra sites, and the numbered sites were poorly delineated so that people parked all over the place, giving a very messy appearance. WiFi didn't work. Sites were muddy and flooded when it rained. Gravel on the roads was loose and large, making bike-riding impossible. Bath houses were inadequate for the number of campers, and the fixtures were so old they appeared dirty even when possibly clean. No showers by the pool. Security was great - gated access. Snack bar, store and activities were excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
Had a great time, Kids didn't want to leave. Staff was friendly and helpful. Noticed lots of upgrades and more activities for the kids since last year made more reservations before i left. Would have been a 10 if not for the roots on the site though the shade was nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
This was our first time to this campground. Would give this campground an okay rating. A lot of seasonal campers. Some sites were great, some were just okay. Ground was uneven. Staff was friendly. Pool was not opened, but was very large and clean. Great for kids and adults who like to tube. The stream can be used as a "lazy river." There is an older child's playground. Near some of the sites, there were older pit toilets which were not very nice. The full bathroom/showers were clean but old and in need of sprucing up. Would not count this park out, but it depends on your style of camping. Kids would love it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
This place apparently caters to the seasonal campers and most of the creekside sites are occupied by them. There is a policy that the seasonals do not use mowers, weed wackers, chain saws, etc. from check in Friday through check out Sunday which is apparently only enforced if someone mentions it. The bath house was not very clean and had a light in poor repair that makes a horrible sound and the outhouses near the tent area were filthy! At least one of the new owners is not very friendly and don't even bother asking for a refund of the unused portion if you decide to leave, even if you mentioned specific needs upon arrival! If you do go there, take your own firewood. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
We camp here 3-4 times a year and this is our favorite family-friendly campground. We have been camping here for over 6 years. The owners are very helpful, friendly and we love that they even attend church on Sundays with us. it feels like family!! There are many kid activities and we love the sites on the creek especially. Our daughter had a seizure there a few years ago and they still a few years later keep asking about her and remember us by name. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Campground staff is pleasant. When we first arrived we were given site PAV2S a pull through. We went to our site to find out it was directly across the street from a bunch of dumpsters. Called camp office to request a new site. We did not want to stay across from the dumpster since we would be there for a week and it was supposed to be hot. We did not want the smell of trash in our campsite every day. I'm not sure how often the dumpsters get emptied but there were a few days when walking by or putting trash in they did have an awful odor when you were not even close to them. The office first said they had no other open sites available that were full hook up. There seemed to be plenty of open sites around the Pavilion area. I told the employee that we would be happy with a back in site as long as it had full hookups. We were going to be at the campground a week. They finally sent us to another site on the opposite side. A full hook up back in site. Sites are very small compared to other campgrounds. Not much room in between trailers. There seemed to be a lot of people staying the season and living there. The seasonal campers seemed to have all the sites by the stream. I spoke with a camper that was living there for the summer. They had to move their trailer every 30 days due to the holidays. They would be on a stream site during one month then have to move because of July 4th, then were able to move back at end of July. Campground is about 15 minutes from I-81 and Wal-Mart. Was convent to Gettysburg and Hershey. Probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
The campground was nice but the bathrooms were not. The weekend we stayed the camp ground was about half full. The sites are close together and if someone had been in the neighboring sites it would have been a bit tight. They have two bath houses, one at the front of the campground and one at the back. The front was old but well maintained but only had two showers. The back one had a converted mobile home that used a lot of wood for framing around the showers. Wood and water do not mix well. The pool was really nice. We will not go back until we have a camper with a shower. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
Nice campground which has nice activities for the kids. It's very reasonably priced for the activities and amenities they offer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
If you plan to visit this campground, I would not recommend staying in the sites they call the "tree sites." Those sites are on grass and quite narrow. On Father's Day weekend, it rained on Friday night and our site was literally under water when we got up on Saturday. It remained muddy and wet all weekend. Aside from the horrible site we were on, the campground was actually pretty fun. Very family oriented with lots to do for kids. They have a very nice pool, miniature golf and a decent game room. Probably won't stay here again; but that could have been different had we been on a different site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
This is a really nice state park. It's right on the Appalachian Trail, has a bicycle trail, and a lake. Sites a nice and big. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$31
Of all the campgrounds I have been to, this is one of my favorites. The price is still affordable. They have a very nice pool and hottub, and lots of activities. The restrooms were in need of some repairs and updating, and some general cleaning. But the campground is well kept. Sites are large. the place is kind of buggy, but we will be prepared with more bug spray this time. All in all, great campground, nice office people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$34
Very nice park, the restrooms were in need of some updating. We will return in the future. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$33
Very nice park with spacious sites that has good shade in a beautiful setting. There was no privacy between the electric sites except the one site we were camping on had 2 fir trees between us (101) and #102. 90% of the stream sites were taken by seasonals. There were two areas for tenters/non electric-an open field in the very back or very shaded area that turned to a muddy mess when raining. I was very happy with my site and even with a 3 day downpour was elevated enough not to be sitting in water. In general the campground is very flat and I can imagine that standing water could be a problem. The playground was well stocked with equipment for all ages and the pool that had a separate kiddie pool and adult-only whirlpool was very nice. The only thing I didn't like were the bath houses. There were too few, not convenient, and downright scary. Overall I would recommend this park and plan on returning myself (with my own shower). We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
We had a very pleasant stay at this park. Heavy rain the night we arrived, some standing water, gone by morning. We were at "tree 01 spot D" which is the third right over bridge. This is a very children friendly park. Sewer system would be good but a pump unit comes around to drain tanks on regular schedule. Bath house could use some updating. Well stocked store. No problem setting up satellite dish for TV. Three dump stations makes departure faster. Close to state park and battelfields. We will return soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
The best part about this campground is its setting. There is a stream with rapids that you can raft down, which was quite a bit of fun. Pool was nice and they are just building a minigolf course. Restrooms were clean, but rather outdated, showers were somewhat clean but smelled moldy. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. There is no sewer or cable connections and we had to pay extra to use our a/c. Our site (OF9B) was extremely large and on a corner, all grass with one or two trees - virtually no privacy. Unfortunately, it had rained a lot before we arrived, and one night while we were there and we had pretty much an ankle deep pool of water all around the trailer, this was the biggest drawback. Although in a hilly area, we had no problems with our 27ft TT. We would probably return if in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com