224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Grand Haven Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (616) 842-9395
CGID4066

Grand Haven Campground

Camp Information
Sites
275
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   9   10   10   2   5   3   5   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
A little too kid friendly for us. It was hard to drive within the park without kids being on the road. Big loud party on Saturday night for the kids. It seems great for families but we would have preferred a quieter, calmer environment. We had a pull-through right near the office, so we could get satellite. Otherwise there are a lot of trees. Although it was technically a pull-through, a 40 foot RV could not make the turn to get out. But backing out was easy as we were right near a huge parking area. Extremely sandy sites and our RV was full of sand, no matter what we did. It was a good location, though, and that's why we chose it. It was a bit further out of town than we expected. Okay data and voice (Verizon) but not great. There was a great trail at the back of the park for nice long walks with the dog. They had a small cafe on site and lots of playground area and things for kids. We've visited this area once and don't see a need to go back, especially with this being so hectic a place to stay and a higher priced RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
This was not a great place for a long stay. It was adequate, only. We paid a premium for a "patio" site.... it was asphalt paved, which is an improvement over the less expensive dirt/gravel sites. It was a long pull-through with a concrete patio and a fire pit. The area was heavily treed, and the satellite did not work. There was no cable TV available. There was WiFI, but there was a daily charge of $5.00. There were low-hanging tree branches that hit the roof of the coach when we arrived. I asked twice at the office for someone to come by to cut them and no one ever did, so of course they scraped the whole roof of the coach when we departed. The only exit lane is also the dump station lane, so there was a traffic jam in the morning, with campers lined up to leave, but stuck behind campers at the dump station. We loved Grand Haven, and were disappointed that this park was so far from the many bike trails around the town. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$55
We found this campground while surfing the net because we wanted to leave the campground we were currently staying in and we're sure glad we did. This campground was clean, pretty, treed, large and with spacious sites. There is a store, snack bar, putt putt (fee), playground, 2 large pools and laundromat. There are a lot of activities for the kids. There is a nightly outside movie on the big screen under the pavilion. The bathhouse is a little dated with push button showers. Clean and hot. There are many site options, from tent to cabins to pods with patios. There are seasonal sites, well kept up and most with beach themes. It is quiet after 10pm. Grand Haven and the beautiful Lake Michigan beach is 6 miles away. Lots to do there and enjoy. We thought $55 a little pricey for a site with a patio but without Internet ($15 a week) or cable. But, in the end we didn't mind as we enjoyed the campground, atmosphere and area very much. Beware, the street address is hard to see, and the campground sign says Grand Haven Campground. We will return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$60
This campground has always had great potential, a under new ownership this year, it has achieved it. This is a destination campground. There is so much to do, aside from the many planned events. There are 2 pools, go carts, basketball courts, arcades, mini golf and more. It is very kid and family friendly. The WiFi is strong, as is the water pressure. It is in a beautiful setting, under tall pines, but there are open spaces as well. It has a northern Michigan campground feel, without being so far north. It's great to see this campground living up to it's potential. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
It's longer NASCAR RV Resorts but is much better than it used to be. The improvements from 2012 to this year were very evident. The place is cleaner, store is stocked, grounds look better. No longer do they seem to have a bare bones staff. We had a terrific time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$41
Should have believed the other reviews. The rate reflects the average of two nights, one with a Passport America discount and the other a pricey nightly rate. The site was not level and the wifi was an additional fee. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
We used to camp here when it was a Yogi park, and always had fun. Not any more. Since the change over to NASCAR, there are absolutely no family geared activities here. Everything is about the almighty buck. The staff was somewhat helpful, but I think their hands are tied by the corporation owners as to what all they can do. I will not be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$55
Arrived in 95 degree heat. Given a site where electric on one side, water on the other. We could not reach both. Staff unable to change our site. Everything goes through corporate & their computers not responding. Sat in the heat for 45 minutes & finally got moved to a different site, but it was made clear to us the next time we visited this site would be more expensive. There will not be a next time. We were told some $$ would be refunded since we are Passport America members. Did not happen. Even spoke to someone in corporate who seemed sympathetic, but no refund ever sent. Park is old and needs work. Way too high price. Parent company Morgan RV Resorts kept leaving telemarketing messages for 2 months after our visit. Finally got that stopped. Recommend you look elsewhere for a park in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$53
We came here to stay during a trip across Michigan. The land was beautiful and some of the staff was very nice. We had some issues with our site and the staff member couldn't reach the outdoor help for quite awhile. I was surprised there was not free Wi-Fi as this is just a given with this type of park. All-in-all we had a nice stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
Run away from this place. 90 percent of the staff needs to go. Who is the manager anyway? I tried to get money back but got the run around instead. I selected it because of mixed reviews, now I understand, WOW BAD MANAGEMENT!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
First of all, it's not Yogi Bear anymore - it is now Nascar RV Resort of Grand Haven. We've camped there every year for a long time, and suddenly one weekend all the Yogi's were gone and Nascar signs were up instead. Apparently the staff didn't know it until they showed up for work either. Not expecting great things from them with poor communication. The campground itself is OK, we like the big playground and the pool is decent. We love that there is a kiddie pool, but in 4 trips there this summer the kiddie pool was broken for 2 of them. Staff are not as helpful as they used to be. But the kids still have fun and the facility itself is decent. Lately it is just really up and down - we never know going into a trip there if it is going to be a good weekend or not. It can go either way right now. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
We have stayed here before and probably would again though it seems that the camp is not as well run as it has been. There were lots of kids here and they were well behaved. The pool was clean and the kids were well monitored. Showers and restrooms were clean but lacking in anything special. No bench or seat in the shower means there is nowhere to put your stuff. The staff was friendly but not knowledgable about the area nor particularly efficient. We booked through the corporate site and ordered wood that should have been delivered but never was. They did take it off our bill. One major annoyance for me was the 'free' WiFi access was no longer free, so I never found out if it was good or not. $10 per 24 hour period is not bad, but not when you expect free. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
You are required to pay in full at the time of making your reservation, which is fine, except for the fact that they double charged us and then gave us a hassle about it when we called to get it corrected. When we made the reservation, we requested a pull-through, 50 amp, water, electric and sewer site with a cement pad. When we arrived we were told we had a back in, no sewer and no cement pad. They had no other sites available to move us to, although the manager did make an attempt to find something. We were staying for 6 nights, so he did tell us about the honey-wagon service being available. We used it, at our own expense, of course. It took them over 2 hours to show up to dump our tanks, even though we had gone back into the office to remind them we were waiting. All that being said and done, it ended up being a nice stay. The staff was friendly, there were a lot of planned activities for the kids, the bathrooms were clean (we only used the one closest to the pool), the pool was cold. Nice playground, and there is a very nice mini golf and go cart area. Lots of bikes available for rent. Campground was a little further from downtown Grand Haven than we thought, but it was an easy drive. Close to grocery stores and local fresh produce. I suggest a visit to Kirk County Park if you stay here, a very nice beach/park. Also, it was an easy drive from here to Holland and to Michigan's Adventure. Despite the initial problems, we would love to come back and stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
We stayed here the weekend before Memorial Weekend. It was hot and the pools were open, but not to us. They were just cleaning them. Other then that, the park was just OK. It looks like it had not yet been mowed this year. Half of the showers are the push button type (annoying), so you have to push the button every 6 seconds to keep water going. Staff was pleasant and there were fun things for the kids to do. We will probably not come back, only because we have many other parks to see. I would recommend it though for families. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
We stayed here for three nights with a Fall Special only 19.95 per night. A very clean campground. Had no problems with hookups as stated in other reviews. Had large pull through sites. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
We camped here from a Monday to a Wednesday. Everyone was very nice and it was a nice facility. The bathrooms could be updated a little but were taken care of. The only issue I had was the registration process. When you call to register you are actually calling the New York Resort line. As of August 17th: they are charging off-season rates and giving a 15% discount to teachers/firefighters/cops. Since my boyfriend is a firefighter and I'm a teacher, we qualified! The problem was the reservations person (and everyone else in the office) had a hard time getting the reservation to give us the off-season rate and the 15% off in the computer. I also asked for late check-out which was an additional $20 (allows check-out at 8 p.m.) so we could drive up to the sand dunes without the camper. Then, while we were out of town I called to check on my account and they had apparently charged my card 3 times, so my bank had to adjust my account. Note: if you don't tell the people at the campground office about your late checkout (even though you paid for it when you made your reservation, and it's in their system) they will check you out at the regular check-out time. We would definitely camp here again, but will make sure that they don't overcharge and check us out according to the way we paid. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
Despite the reviews we decided to stay here anyway and we were very glad we did. Overall the staff was very nice and helpfully. I had no problems but a neighbor had a problem with his electric and it appeared to be corrected right away. I was very surprised at how many staffers they had around the park. The kids all had all had a great time and it was one of the best playgrounds I've seen. Everything was clean and I even saw them blowing sand from the playground off the nearby sidewalk. Hook-ups were configured a bit oddly, at our site the sewer and electric were within 10 feet of where we parked but I had to use the 50' hose for the water. It was an unusually cool and wet weekend and the pool was well heated as I was comfortable in it. I'm sure the temperature helped but I did not see a single mosquito the entire weekend. Really the only negative was that one of the activities people looked like she would rather be having her teeth pulled than be there with the kids and wasn't doing a good job of explaining the games to the kids. Even so, but even she was still pleasant so I'd guess she was just having a bad day. I would recommend this campground for anyone with kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$47
We spent 5 nights at this Jellystone Park and really enjoyed it. The park of clean and well taken care of. Some of the water and electrical hookups are a long ways away so have a long hose and extension cord ready. We walked through the entire park daily and all of the sites, seasonal and short term, were tidy and well cared for. The park does offer some discounts. We received a 15% discount because I am a teacher. We did not have children with us but did see children involved in the daily planned activities. Overall, we had a pleasant experience at this campground and would stay here again if returning to the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
We camped here with our three children (9, 6, 2) and had a great experience. The sites were huge and the campground was easy to navigate through. They had all kinds of activities and places to get treats for the kids. The staff was very, very friendly and the showers/bathrooms and pool were really clean. There are so many cool things to see in this area and of course the beach on Lake Michigan: awesome. This was our first Jellystone camping experience and we were very pleased. We would definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$60
This was a huge disappointment. Our electric cord, water hose, and sewage hose did not reach, which I was later told was a "problem with the back lots". The pool was frigid even though it was supposed to be heated. The wireless internet did not work, per the management. The worst part of the camping experience were the mosquitoes. My 3 year old had over 20 mosquito bites while we backed in the travel trailer. We spent the weekend with foggers and Off. I'm sure it had rained a good amount, but there was a great deal of standing water, which contributed to the problem and it was obvious. The employees were all very nice summer help who were useless. For example, I told one that I needed a longer hose. She suggested, at 9:50 at night, that I go into town to get one. I asked if the local store was open late and she said that it was. Upon my return, I found out that you had to have a gate key to reenter and and she was the one who issued them. I could not drive back to my campsite without going camp site to camp site asking if someone had a key. When I mentioned that to her the next day, she said,"Wow, you've had a rough time." We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
Pros: Decent size sites, fairly nice CG staff Cons: Worst mosquito infestation I've ever seen -so bad we actually had to RUN from our truck to RV (or vice versa) - even then, 5-8 followed us inside. We felt like a prisoner in our RV. Also, all children's attractions advertised (Yogi Bear walking around, train rides, hay rides) were not available during the Monday-Thursday before Memorial Day. I think they should clearly state that such features are not available except during weekends. Overall, my little boy was very disappointed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$60
This was supposed to be base camp for Michigan Adventure, but we spent the whole day at Michigan Adventure because no one wanted to come back. Can you say Ouch? I think they sell mosquito’s here, and they are worse during the day. We had to spray each other in the sun while setting up. 5 minutes after setup the largest attack of black ants hit us that went right up the power line to the fridge. That probably comes from all of time full time trailers there all year. I can just imaging what’s living in some of them, yuck! Most of the North end of the campground was underwater, as well as the parking lot to the put-put course. Could not get the WI-FI to work and no managers that understood anything about it, they claimed it just must be me. Funny, 28 years in the networking business. We drove in to Grand Haven and immediately got on the Starbucks and the City network. I had to borrow an extra 15 ft of 30 amp cable, my 25 ft wasn't even close, nor my 25ft water hose. We decided to go down the road for the night at our old favorite Holland State Park just for Mosquito evaluation, just like always hardly a bite, no trains that rattle your Travel Trailer, no Semi Trucks and police and ambulances. It may have been great in its day but not anywhere in the same league as the western Michigan State parks and almost twice as expensive. I think maybe Yogi has been stealing one to many picnic baskets, and saving nothing for Boo Boo. (800) 828-1453 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
This campground was very disappointing. Many of the special attractions for kids did not work. The sites themselves were very plain, with few trees. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
We were very disappointed with our stay. Our group of nearly 60 had reservations for a week. The bathrooms were extremely dirty and did not improve during our stay despite numerous complaints by our group. They even ran out of toilet paper for the park! The arcade had three games working out of ten so the kids were extremely upset. The laundry facilities had four of seven washers working so the line for laundry was long. They advertised Wi-Fi, but didn't know who the provider was or what the access codes were. You couldn't pick up the signal in the park. The activities for the kids were quick and boring and they were quite disappointed. Yogi made very rare trips out of hibernation to visit the kids and when he did, he didn't stick around long. The pool was awesome and the only good thing about the park. They fired the manager while we were here so it will be interesting to see how things change, as management was very unaccommodating and rude. It was not worth the money. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$58
Very clean, lots of activities. We found this park to meet everything we expected a Yogi to be, although it was a little bit expensive. With the size of our family, and the tight times, it will be next year before we will be able to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
We moved here after staying @ Camper's Paradise. Nice campground...a lot better than Camper's Paradise. More for kids to do, lay back atmosphere. Nice staff, enjoyable stay!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2006
$43
We have camped at a Yogi Bear Jellystone park before and really loved it. So, we gave this campground a try. When we got here, we had just about the worst site in the whole campground. It was nothing but sand with only one small tree on it. The road was gravel and hard to ride your bike on. Kids were everywhere. The site next to us had trash scattered everywhere. That night it was very noisy. I had to tell the people behind us, to please keep their music down, as it was quiet time. The next day my daughter wanted to go to "practice your hula dancing." It was Hawaiian Weekend. That consisted of maybe half a dozen of small girls doing some hula dancing in front of some young staff for 1 minute to receive a sticker. That was it. So we went to check on the train ride that you can take. We found out, that only happens at noon. No posting of that anywhere. Later on we went to the fun park area to go on the bumper boats: that stops at 5 pm. Again, nothing posted on that either. The shower area is clean, but you had to push a button to receive some semi-warm water the thickness of a ladies thumb for maybe one minute. Not too impressed with that. Needless to say, I took a shower in the trailer the following day. Kids are everywhere, mostly unsupervised. Even after dark. My daughter and I had to go to the ranger station just before 10 PM and almost got hit by a kid on a bike. Unsupervised dogs were left tied up at the campsite across from ours. First time I went to tell the office, nothing was done about it. My young daughter had to keep giving those poor animals water several times. The second time I went to complain (just before 10 PM) something was done about it. They tried to call the campers: no result. But a letter from management was left at the site. Next day these campers gave us dirty looks after my daughter asked if they were the owners of the dogs. There was some nicer areas with grass. Seasonals were nicely landscaped. We will probably not come back here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$34
Nice having planned activities for kids. We have been going the weekend after Labor Day for a few years now. This weekend is planned as a Halloween weekend with trick-or-treating on Saturday night. The facility has both a wading pool and swimming pool. The playground is also good for the kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$45
Stayed there in 04 or 05. Park was very clean and well kept. Programs for the kids were very nice. Close to go-cart track and put-put golf. We tried to make reservations last summer but found staff to be less than friendly. Reservation policy (as explained on the phone) requires 2 week notice to cancel but since we were trying to reserve less than 10 days out, there was no chance to cancel. In addition they required 2 nights paid at time of reservation so our $180 for 2 sites/2 nights was gone no matter what the weather or other factors might impact our visit. Decided to just spend our money at another campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$51
This is one of our favorite parks to camp at. They have everything from primitive campsites to full hook up sites with patios. Small percentage of sites are seasonal, but very well kept. CG is just south of Grand Haven, so you are close to GH and Holland areas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com