220097 User submitted reviews online!!
Buzzard Roost was rated 4 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (830) 774-5151
CGID4072

Buzzard Roost

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
April 2011
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   3   7   7   2   1   1   6   6   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2011
$21
This is a very unattractive park, and with permanent residents living in older, poorly maintained trailers. There is brush and material piled along the borders, and just a generally unkempt appearance of the whole facility. On the other hand, the park is is easy to get into, and the water, electric and sewer hook-ups work, so as a place for an overnight stay it works. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2011
$16
Essentially a very dirty dirt parking lot with hookups. Restrooms looked as though they had not been cleaned in weeks. Only one shower/stall per restroom. Did not look in the laundry area. Lots of long term campers and the stuff that goes with them. Appears very little is being done to repair anything that needs repairing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$16
Owner very helpful. Verizon worked great. Nice friendly little saloon adjoins CG. Shopping nearby, good for extended stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$16
I feel some reviews of this site are not quite fair. I have stayed here for 4 nights. All services work fine except my cable connection (not unusual for many sites). Most guests use their own toilet facilities, I used the camps. Yes it was old, but it was clean and had hot water. The washing machines and dryers worked. The lady who runs it is very helpful and friendly. Many camps I visit could do with updating, but visitors are few and far between in these times, so I am satisfied I got good value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2010
$13
We had stayed here two years ago and thought it was passable for a couple nights. We tend to not be too picky about a lot of things: we look for a place that we can get decent hook-ups and use as a base for the area. But we stayed for one night this year, passing through, and it has continued to go downhill to the point we won't use it again. The worst part of the entire experience was the BIG roaches which spent the night apparently crawling up our landing legs, trying to get into the warmth. I guess they call them "waterbugs" down here, which sounds nicer, but they are a BIG roach. Went out in the morning to unhook, and discovered them all over the landing legs. And of course, a few did find their way in: which we discovered over the course of the next couple of weeks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2010
$13
From the Confederate flags hanging out boldly to greet you, to the very long term residents and all their belongings, driving down the bumpy roads avoiding the barking dogs, you'll wonder what you are doing here. Especially when there is a giant Wal-Mart a mile down the street that's free. PA does itself a disservice listing this place in its directory. The "saloon" is closed. On the positive side, there are many shade trees and it is directly on the main road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
Old Campground. Home made trailers there with permanent tenants. Roads and sites need major regrooming. Lots of stray cats and the smell of cat urine everywhere. Owners need to update/upgrade. There are nicer places up the street for less $$$. Wi-Fi here worked intermittent. Will not stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
This is a hard park to review. On hand, the woman who runs and owns the place is a really nice person. She went out of her way to tell us all about fun things to do in the surrounding country side, what was the best and safest way to head into Mexico for a trip to Del Rio's sister city, and even checked on us after we'd set up to make sure everything was all good. There is also a little bar in the RV Park that my wife and I found very convenient and full of a variety of interesting folks to talk to about everything from politics to football to just plain b/sing. However, the park itself is, well, nothing special. The free Wi-Fi they offer only works in the office, so I don't consider it to be Wi-Fi at all. The picnic table we happened to be lucky enough to get was really, really grotty, and I'm talking nasty for a picnic table. The showers and bathrooms wouldn't fly in a prison. Overall, I enjoyed the park because we're not really all that picky about the little things, but if the owners would just do a little to clean things up they could have a real winner here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2008
$14
A Passport Park, thus the low nightly rate. Park host was friendly and helpful. Sites were grass and gravel. Close to Amistad Lake and to town. Spaces were adequate but not very spacious. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2007
$12
We reserved a site with 50 amp service & WiFi access over a week ahead, but when we arrived the owner told us she had given our site to someone else because "they arrived earlier than you did!" Very disappointing. Spaces are very tight for big rigs. WiFi is available in only limited areas of the park. Lots of permanent residents in older RVs. The park was so full that two 5th wheels were parked in one of the access roads! The good news - it's cheap and the little bar next to the showers/laundry really gets going some nights. Wouldn't stay here again however. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$18
We have stayed at 3 different parks in Del Rio. This one is the closest to town and just north of Wal-Mart. Our group had 4 sites for 3 nights and had no complaints. Wi-Fi is free. I rank this park ahead of Lonesome Dove (2005) and behind Holiday Travel Park (2004). The larger sites were about 55' long. Things can be tight for big rigs. This park sold out every night we were there. Reservations recommended if you want a larger site. Small sites do not have cable TV. One of our group had a giant 5th wheel with 4 slides and had no problem with access or the 50 amp service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2006
$14
Stopped here for an overnighter because its a PPA campground. Narrow roads, untrimmed trees, narrow sites. Owner was very nice, but park is old and needs maintenance. Not big rig friendly. 50a power did not work properly until looked at by maintenance man. Dog waste all over ground! Had to back out of my "pull through" space since narrow road and trees blocked my way. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$14
We have stayed at 3 different parks in Del Rio. This one is the closest to town and just north of Wal-Mart. Our group had 3 sites and had no complaints, especially at $14 per night. Wi-Fi is free if it works. It didn't while we were here. I rank this park ahead of Lonesome Dove (2005) and behind Holiday Travel Park (2004). Our cheap sites did not have cable TV and were about 38' deep. They offer larger sites and sites with cable TV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2005
$16
Park is about 7 miles from town. Stayed here one night. Had friendly owner and knowledgeable about area. Only one shower stall and the bath house is behind a bar which is next door. For the price it was tolerable for one night. We will try Lonesome Dove RV Ranch next time, they are across the road. All other RV parks were way out of town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com