218846 User submitted reviews online!!
Smith Point Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (631) 852-1313
CGID4077

Smith Point Campground

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
December 2012
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   10   9   10   5   9   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$23
I called ahead to see if they were open year around. They said yes, but failed to mention on the phone that they turn the water off during the winter months. I camped here for a week and didn't have water. There was water at the main office that I had to transport to my RV. This site looked to be fun during warmer months. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
A very nice park. The sound on one side as well as the Atlantic on the other. The sites were level with a concrete slab, fire ring, and table. There were some sites that had sewer hookup. The only drawback was not much shade. We drove around the communities on the east part of island and had the best clam chowder in our 2 month search of it. Greenport! Take the ferry at Orient to Ct. and bypass NYC. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
I have camped here numerous times and will only stay in the sites on the upper east side. This is their newest section with large sites half of which overlook the ocean. These sites have full hookups. The tent sites are close together and get packed! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Gorgeous. Hard to get into as they are always booked. Pretty sure you have to be a county resident but since we own a condo on Long Island, we could get in. Lots of kids. Very beachy venue. Beach towels and toys strewn over campsites. Fun place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
We have camped here 100 times at least. Here is the inside scoop. It’s one of very few true beach front campgrounds. If you have looked from Maine to Virginia you might be able to find a total of a dozen campgrounds that are truly beach front with full hookups. The locals know how unique this is and getting into this campground takes technique because the locals fill it up. First, there are six sections and they vary greatly. Upper extension is the best one, with large sites that have excellent ocean water views from your camper. Lower extension and upper east is ok. We will not camp in the others: upper west was designed for tent sites but the let 38’ fifth wheels shoehorn in, if they like. It looks a bit like John Goodman in a speedo. Both lower sections are commonly called the “Ghetto” where you will see a 4 man tent with 19 teenagers staying it. Its good entertainment to see them get out of the tent in the morning but, trust me you really do not want to be their neighbors. I talked about technique, well here it is. The campground reservation system allows reservations exactly six months prior to the arrival. The good sites are all reserved by five months and three weeks before the date you camp; the upper extension is 179 days prior. If you want to get in on a holiday weekend, book 180 days in advance from Tuesday to Tuesday. 180 days from Thursday to Thursday and you will be in the ghetto. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$21
Great place to camp if you like the ocean. The water is just a short walk away over the dunes. The sites are level. Each site has a concrete pad with a Trex wood picnic table. It never gets too hot there either as the breeze comes off the ocean during the summer and keeps it 10 degrees cooler than it is inland. We have never needed the A/C when we stay here. Bring a broom because you will be sweeping the sand out of your RV daily. The east end of the campground is where the full hookups are located. They have quite a few 50 amp hookups as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$17
While some aspects of this park are getting better ie: doggie cleanup, general cleanliness & police patrols. Now the "wave" camp store was not open and the playground was being demolished!! The new check in office was great & you can call to pay for your reservation in advance that is if you are able to get a site, as full hookups between June & Sep are impossible to get! I've been camping here since 1998 & will return for the thrill of waking up and heading right to the beach just steps away! OOps those steps were washed away winter 2005! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
This is not your typical campground at all. You will love it or hate it. You must first understand its location. Located on a barrier island (Fire Island) nestled between Great South Bay of Long Island and the Atlantic Ocean it presents a very unique landscape. The landscape is what makes this campground one of the desired campgrounds on Long Island. The prominent feature of this campground is its beaches. You can hang out on the ocean side with white sandy beaches and roaring waves or the calm bay side with great views of Long Island. Both sides offer different things to do. Lets start off with the ocean side. You can do all the regular ocean beach stuff like swimming, fishing, sunbathing and so on. The ocean beach here does not get crowded like public beaches. But a unique aspect of this park is with a 4x4 vehicle and camper you can camp on the beach (first come first served basis). Just make sure you are prepared for this, you will have to drive truck and trailer on the beach in the deep beach sand. I would highly recommend a little research before attempting this kind of camping. This park also allows you to drive just your 4x4 vehicle on the beach with a permit (permits can be purchased at the office) to hang out on the beach for the day. You can stay on the beach until 10pm and they allow you to have a fire on the beach in a metal container. You can stay later, but must be actively fishing. Now for the bay side of the park; there is a very small beach here, but it offers lots to do. From fishing to crabbing, to relaxing on the water, you will find a variety of water activities to do in the gentle waters of the Great South Bay. The atmosphere of this campground is cool and relaxing, yet also of a block party mode where you will find people riding bikes, flying kites, walking their dogs, all alongside a serene atmosphere with an occasional deer (or two, or many!) passing by at any given time. The newer east hookup sites tend to be situated in better spots than the older rustic sites, giving a beautiful view of water and sunsets. Now for the bashing: Its a public campground the showers and bathrooms are gross. The bugs at nighttime are a nightmare, trust me on bringing the OFF, bug candles and what every you have to keep the bugs away. Because of this I would highly recommend not staying here in a tent. Its really nice to be in a camper to get away from the bugs and heat for a while. Reserving a full hook-up site is very hard. The really good sites book up the second they become available. Hope this review gives you a little insight into this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2005
$27
The best thing this campground has going for it is the easy access to the beach and Great South Bay. Location of Flight 800 Memorial. Playground is large. Great water views. Reservations for full hook up are next to impossible to get and must be made no earlier that 6 months in advance...to the second. Bathroom are smelly and somewhat dirty. There is no camp store but the snack bar has some ice and firewood. Many pet owners are still reluctant to clean up after their dogs. Somewhat secure campground. Park police make patrols daily. I will return here since I live so close and I can see an effort being made to improve conditions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com