214273 User submitted reviews online!!
Newport Dunes Waterfront RV Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 82 user reviews. Phone: (949) 729-3863
CGID408

Newport Dunes Waterfront RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
382
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$110



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   4   7   8   7   6   5   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$110
Overpriced at $110 per night. Park on loose dirt. Dilapidated picnic table and bench, could not be used. Very small spaces, camped on top of one another. Pacific Coast Highway noise. Under air flight path. If you pay the extra for a waterfront spot, you will enjoy it more. We will not be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2014
$89
Really tight spaces separated by chain link fence. It was quite a project to maneuver our 38' 5th wheel in and it just about touched the back fence. Neighbors are only a couple of feet away. And we had the wheels on the concrete patio on one side and on the sand on the other. Not well maintained. The picnic table was so disgusting that we moved it to the hookup side of our site and the paint is peeling on the fences. Very low water pressure - the maintenance staff came out and checked it but never did anything about it. It's close to everything in Newport Beach (including the very busy highway) and the only game in the area. Other reviews by big rig owners in the waterfront spots are correct in their assumptions about the non-waterfront spots. The waterfront spots are nice and $$$$$. If we came back here we'd still stay here as there's nothing else for miles. It's expensive like any other beach property. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$99
This is an expensive park and I was expecting more. We took one of the preferred sites in the forth row and visited on a week day in March so it felt completely empty. Only the front row was full (of beautiful A class 40+ footers). Also the restaurant was closed which we had not anticipated (always closed one day a week). There is a lagoon in the middle which we took our small inflatable boat on, and a playground which our kids enjoyed. The swimming pool is heated and there is a very good sized laundry. The majority of sites are separated by ugly 5ft wire fencing. I was expecting green landscaping between each site for the price. The front row sites are lovely, with green grass, but you pay a lot for that. The showers were very clean. Tthe ones nearest the pool stay on until you turn them off, further away on the back row, they are push button operated so you have to keep turning them on multiple times during your shower. Annoying! Overall a good site and I'd come back, it just fell short of my very high expectations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$55
An excellent RV park in the heart of Newport Beach. Excellent staff with a secure entry gate. Sites are spacious and level. Very clean with a beach and walkway. Lots of activities and convenient to Newport and Balboa Island. We love this park and will return next winter. The rate we paid was based on the monthly rate and did not include electricity. We paid around $1700 for a month total. The rates go up substantially in the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$115
This is a difficult park to review. We have site 1103 which is a beachfront pull-in and we are near the front. It is really a nice site - Quiet with grass.. As we drive through the park we found that the rest of the park is not as nice. If you do not get a beachfront pull-in it is short, tight, and barren. Our site was tight but we are 45 ft w/4 slides and were able to fit with a little maneuvering; however, the other sites were really small. I am afraid that I would be extremely unhappy if we had not had the site that we did. If you have kids this is a great place. If you have no kids, it can be noisy & crowded. The lot next to us had 7 kids on it this afternoon! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$100
Very small sites, with the hook-ups in the wrong location. Our site on the water was just okay and had not been cleaned. The dirt was muddy (no rain). In the winter it was only 1/3rd full, in the summer it is jammed. Will stay again as it is the only park in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2013
$130
I have not stayed at this park in about 5 years. The rate reflects a weekend bay front site. In my opinion it is the only sites that are worth staying in. All of the sites at this park are extremely small. Getting the slides open can be a tricky deal as the sites have chain link fences between them with shrubs on them. The patio's are concrete, but the pads are decomposed granite and dirt. It rained the night before we arrived so the pads were a bit muddy. A new 3' fence has been added to the front of the bay front sites which improved the private space quite a bit. The sewer hook ups on the sites are poorly designed causing the sewer hose to be more than a foot off of the ground. The only reason to come here is the location, and the proximity to the bay area shops. We came for the boat show which was nice, but left for more accommodating park the next day. This continues to be one of the most expensive parks in the country. I don't mind paying for paradise, but the amenities here just don't measure up. I may stay here again, just not for any length of time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$80
We have just completed a month stay at Newport Dunes and have been very happy with the experience. We stayed in two different sites. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I changed my site upon arrival once I saw the location of the monthly site, then changed mid stay to a water front location, removed a car from my list of vehicles, and almost had to leave for a family emergency and they were willing to provide a refund for my unused time (against general policy). They worked with me all along the way with a smile and great attitude. The patrons that show up on the weekends can be a bit loud but during the week it's a nice quiet location. Yes it's expensive and sites are a bit small but price per Sq Ft in Newport is approx $800 so that's to be expected. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$70
Stayed in a premium large site (2323) and friends stayed in 2325. Overall we had a great time but found that the spots were quite small and on top of one another, just like a parking garage! We were also right across from the bathrooms, which were very popular in the early hours of the morning and late at night (never again!). Another negative, a family with 8 screaming kids having a birthday party moved in right next to us and were up at 6am (quiet hours are suppose to be until 8am - that wasn't happening). There were so many empty spots, I wonder why we were crammed in? Positives: We rented a group bike for an hour and cruised around the park which was fun, the pool was looked great for kids, the bike trail is right there with easy access and they had cheap burgers on Friday night at Moe's! Would we stay again, yes but in a different site and during off season as I hear during the summer it's a mad house! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$80
For the money the sites are very small, and you really are on top of each other. This place is all about location. And that is what makes this place tolerable. They take good care of this place. There is always lots going on, and we found most of the people we met to be very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$105
The RV park was great over all. The lagoon was great for the kids, the pool was fun, & there was lots for the kids to do. The one major problem was the planes. The planes start taking off from John Wayne airport in the morning, about one every 3 or 4 minutes. During the day they take off about every 15 minutes. They do stop at night. I couldn't even talk on my cell phone when they were taking off. The camping space was ok. It was sand & wide enough for our easyup. I do think it is a little pricy at $117.60 with the tax. It is a good family park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$95
This park is only suitable for smaller units unless you want to pay hundreds of dollars for the "super sites." Although we realize that this is a "destination" park, management really needs to do a better job of determining if it can handle longer, wider RVs. We have a 40' 5th wheel with 4 slide-outs, which left virtually no room in the site to sit outside and enjoy the wonderful CA weather. Add that to the fact that our site was 100% dirt, no concrete, and we paid nearly $100 per night, and we were pretty disappointed. With no kids and just being in CA to visit family, we wouldn't stay at Newport Dunes again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$45
A true campground Resort. Paved roads/sites; each site is divided by a wood fence. The lake was nice - still too early for activities at the lake, but it was nice to walk around. Staff was very friendly, and the park was spotless. I would return to this resort again - hopefully during the "in" season so we can catch the beach activities. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$90
Great facility, friendly staff, and ideal location. The cable TV quality was less than ideal, but everything else about the park lived up to its billing. Looking forward to visiting again soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
Rate reflects monthly winter rate. This was our second time camping here. The park is very well maintained and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We stayed over the Christmas holidays during the Newport yacht parade. The park provided a shuttle to view the parade for $5. The pool area is beautiful. Laundry facilities are good. There is a small market on site. The park is situated in a very nice area and is close the beaches and many wonderful restaurants. The Wi-Fi is spotty and the cable TV reception is not good on some stations. While the restrooms are clean, the showers are sometimes not as warm as we would like. I would visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2011
$63
I thought this would be a nice park, but it is over priced and has a ton of "residents," living here in broken down, old ramshackle fifth wheels. The area we were placed was a sorry combination of run down motor homes and fifth wheels on blocks, and mostly people living here with kids, etc. Would never return to this park. Should be priced in the $25.00 range. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$110
Regardless of the activities, keep in mind two thins. 1. The sites are terribly small. 2. The sewer hook ups are so damn difficult to use. If you're in anything besides a big rig, dumping is a drag. We have stayed here three times, most recently this Labor Day weekend and we asked ourselves, why?? Crowded, cramped and loud. Store is well stocked but pricey. $12 to rent a mandatory life vest to swim out to the float is a rip off. We have stayed over less crowded weekends but just don't think it's worth the price. Won't be back unless they fix the sewers and renovate the spots to offer more space. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$60
For such an expensive place, the RV sites had few amenities and they sit quite close to one another. There was no decent gravel or pad so with the rain we had to take our shoes off on entering the RV due to the mud. If you have guests, they have to pay extra for parking, which is very high. On the positive side, it sits on a nice cove, has a great pool and beach area, and the location is really great too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$65
HEAVEN ON EARTH This is a beautiful park. We were overwhelmed by the location and how much there is to do and see. There is a paved bike/walking trail right alongside the park that goes all the way around the back bay (miles of protected land.) We spent many days bike riding to the beach, around the bay and on Balboa Island. We hardly used our van, even riding to Trader Joe's for groceries. There is a marina attached as well, where you can rent kayaks. We loved paddling out of the Back Bay through the harbour and out into the ocean where we regularly saw dolphins, seals and sea lions. The facilities and grounds of the park are impeccably kept. The check in staff were professional and courteous, as were all staff members we encountered during our stay. We left our van door open, draining the battery. The security guys came right over with a battery charger and boosted our van for us. Now that's service! We love this park and were constantly looking at each other saying, can you believe this? Heaven on earth sums it up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2011
$89
We visited this park to see for ourselves what it's like for a future stay. The pool area was VERY nice. Beautiful "Resort like" setting. The location was also amazing! But that's where the pros end. The sites were awful. Too small and too close together separated by a chain link fence. Other than the pool and location, I would give this park a 1 rating. Really overpriced too. The only good sites are the ones overlooking the Marina which are about $99 per night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$58
This resort is really a very big business. It covers all the Back Bay area, the campground, the boat ramps, the one-day beach access and the Back Bay Bistro. And they are the only rv park in Newport Beach. We were given a "deluxe small 25x25" perimeter site, on sand, for a 24 ft motorhome. Very narrow, very short and unleveled. Very difficult to back-up on site as the streets are fulled of parked tow trucks and the site so narrow. Separated from neighbors by a chain link fence with dead vines. Extremely over-crowded. Very expensive for such a small site. We will never return to this RV Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$127
Disappointing campground: if the promise and the price wasn't so great I would have rated it higher. Narrow sites with little privacy, part concrete and part sand on the "premium, beach front" sites. The rest are all sand. None are very level: most people's front tires were off the ground. Nice amenities: pool and laundry, beach, playground, market, passable fitness center in the nearby marina. Didn't use the showers or bathrooms so can't speak to that. Cable TV not working; good WiFi. In the flight path of John Wayne airport night and day. Good if you want to be in the middle of Newport Beach area, or have children and want a self-contained "resort," otherwise overpriced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2010
$45
This park is hardly "The Ritz of RV Resorts" as it likes to advertise! We have stayed here five times previously and made complaints to management we thought were appropriate about the items listed below. Management has not corrected any of them. Rather Management ignores any problems that would require some serious work and instead tries to make it "look" superficially attractive with landscaping maintenance. However the infrastructure: showers, shower heads, temperature control valves, utility connection stations at sites (which is dirty and antiquated), cleanliness of beach, (which is really disgusting) is on a downhill spiral. Without an infusion of substantial cash for infrastructure improvements, this park will do nothing but deteriorate further. I encourage prospective visitors to review all of the earlier reviews. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$99
We had a site on the bay at the winter rate of $134.00 per night. Good service at the front desk. While the sites are small, they were adequate for my motorhome. I liked the pull in sites on the bay. Good wide streets, and level lots. While it is expensive, it is on the coast. Even the state and city parks are in the upper ranges and they are typically just parking lots. Site 1113 had a nice shade tree and excellent view. Grounds were very clean. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$99
Location is a 10, from here it goes down hill quickly. If you do not spring for a "water front site" the sites are very tight. There is no parking for a tow car, we parked 2 blocks from our site. Ugly chain link fence with dead vines and no grass within sight. The hook-ups (sewer) are not well located. Guests pay $12 for 3 hours to visit you. The park draws a "party type" crowd, and if you walk to the back and see the long termers it gets pretty ugly. They our very lax in enforcing the rules. The pool, office, and public rooms are nice, and they have lots of activities for kids on the positive side. It is a rip-off at these prices. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$99
We stayed beach front, which is on the bay, and it was nice. I can't imagine not staying right on the beach at this park. We paid $220 per night including tax for our location and paid in full many months ahead of time. I'd say it was worth it, but not sure I would do it again. This was a splurge for us. We enjoyed the Back Bay Bistro, but it wasn't very busy, so that was puzzling. Maybe we were just there too early in the evening. The food was good, although a bit pricey for an everyday experience. The pool was very crowded and for the price, the beach activities should probably have been included in the price for those of use staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$85
Newport Dunes is a very nice park with some nice amenities. Like most RV parks by the beach the majority of campsites are tight and it is a little pricey. A lot of fun things for the kids to do though, swim in the bay on the giant blue whale, clubhouse, arts & crafts, summer outdoor movies. Balboa Island is a short drive/bike away and you can take the ferry boat over to the funzone. Nice looking park and it is maintained very well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$99
This RV park used to be great, expensive, but nice. We attended several trailer rallies here over the past 10 years, so we when we found ourselves in Newport, California this May 2010, we made a reservation to stay here again. The rates have gone up to over $100 a night. (The RV reviews website would not let me put in a 3 digit number into the "nightly rate" spot.) We were charged $110 a night. The restrooms/showers were in shockingly bad shape. Tiles were falling of the walls and the shower faucets were all dribbling. Only one of the electrical outlets worked. The hookups to our trailer were in bad shape too. All the faucets leaked and needed to be replaced. The picnic tables were dry, stained and splinter laden. We were just surprised they had let the place get so run down. The staff were all very friendly and we had no complaints with the cleanliness. We just felt the place wasn't worth $110 a night! I filled out a campers comments form provided to me by the staff and turned it in to the office. I finally received a reply a few days ago (in August!) It took them 3 months to reply and all I got was a form letter saying they were doing their best. We think management needs to take some of the rental income and put it back into the RV Resort instead of into their own pockets! Our advice? Don't stay at the Dunes until they do! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2010
$97
This was one of the worst experiences I have had at an RV Park. Newport Beach, CA is a beautiful location and has a reputation of a more up-scale location. This RV Park does absolutely nothing to live up to this reputation. This RV Park calls themselves "The Ritz of RV Parks" but is FAR from this designation. I can name several other RV Parks in Southern California alone that are far more deserving of that title. This RV Park is extremely over-crowded and RVs are packed in like sardines. The sites are extremely small and separated on the sides and in the back by an ugly chain link fence with dead vines. Tow vehicles cannot be parked on the site due to the small size and, consequently, vehicles and people spill over into the street making it very difficult to navigate a vehicle, let alone an RV, through them. This park is very noisy and attracts a party type crowd marked by multiple people at each RV site, loud music, drinking, and campfires that smoke you out of your RV since you are so close to your neighbor. This park is extremely expensive and, in my opinion, not even worth half the rate we paid. In addition, everything at the park is an additional cost. A package of sliced cheese at the market was over $6! We were looking for a relaxed and enjoyable weekend in the beautiful Newport Beach area and were extremely disappointed. We left a day early without even bothering to ask for a refund and have never done that at any other RV Park. We will absolutely not return to this RV Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$27
You'll pay a premium for the view and the reputation. I wouldn't say it is the 'Ritz of all RV resorts' as they claim, but the location is nice. Parking your RV is not too difficult, but except for the premium spots the spaces are separated by chain fences, and are about 12' wide and 38' deep, barely enough the get your awning set up. You can park a vehicle in front of your rig, but a second car will cost you $90 for a monthly pass. Wireless internet completely blows. The connection speeds are awful, the reliability is poor, and it is often unavailable for long stretches at a time. I had better luck getting internet by tethering from my phone. The summer tourists make the place hellishly difficult to live in, unless you like to party until 3am, drinking and partying. Prices also nearly double during the summer months. There is security and grounds staff visible regularly. The staff is friendly, and the weather and surroundings are beautiful. It is pricey, but a great way to live near the beach, except during the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$95
The facility was fairly quiet due to the heavy rain storm that hit while we were there. The spots are narrow, with good hook-ups. We had a premium ocean "bay" front spot. It is 50 feet from your step to the water. The market is well stocked and has "regulars" who have been coming there for a number of years just to have coffee. It is tight parking your extra vehicle behind/side of your motor home and keeping within the yellow line. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2009
$57
I am in the middle of my stay and I am disappointed with this park. Here is my list: 1. The park is located at the end of the Orange County Airport - Planes all day. 2. The park is 25 feet from Pacific Coast Hwy - Cars all day and night. 3. The spots they say will handle a 40 ft RV don't; my RV is sticking out 2 feet into the road. 4. The spots are so narrow you can't park your car next to your RV. 5. The spots are all dirt, and you track it into your car and RV. 6. My SUV's rear window was smashed last night in an attempted break in, so I am out $625 in repairs. 7. There are people living in old campers and tents at this park. Their picnic tables are covered with beer cans. The entrance, offices, pool, store all look great. Once you get into the park you are packed in like sardines. The activities for kids is endless, so it is very kid friendly. Don't be mislead by the term "waterfront" this place is several miles from the ocean. It sits on a bay and has a man-made beach. I stayed here for 1 week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$99
I stayed at Newport Dunes in a beachfront pull-in site, for $207 per night. This is the largest RV Park that I have ever been to, at 123 acres. The problem is that they cram all the sites together into one area. It is like being at an Oakland Raider game. Loud and cramped with a lot of low-class trash staying in long-term sites. Out of six showers, only two had shower heads. The rest was just a pipe sticking out of the wall. Restrooms were filthy. The handicapped shower has no shower head, a clear violation of the Federal ADA laws. All showers were dirty. Nothing gets fixed unless someone complains first. I was here 4 years ago and it was much different. Obviously the management/ownership has changed. Our first night we had to call security 3 times because our next door neighbor was blaring rap music like it was a live band, even after 10pm quiet time. This went on until 11:30pm. We decided to go into the lagoon/bay swim area: they want $6 per hour per person. This park nickel and dimes you for everything. One of the employees from the boat rental next door drives an electric boat around the swim lagoon while kids are swimming everywhere. I don’t want my kids anywhere near a propeller operated by a teenager. Security drives their golf carts at full speed on the walkways within 5 feet of some RV sites. A child can pop out at any time and be hit. Basically there is no control. There are 10-year olds driving golf carts with no adult present right in front of security personnel. There were 15 people in-line at the office waiting for one of the snot-nosed teenagers to help them. I walked over to the events office and found a human over 20 that took my name and site number. I was checking to see if the garbage cans lining the beach could be emptied as they had been overflowing for 2 days. It took three day to get them emptied before that. This park survives because of location, location, location. The owners tried to develop it into condos but the city would not let them. Obviously, now it is all about slumlord care at Ritz prices. When you call: the phone recording calls it the Ritz of RV Parks. I would say Motel 6 is in better shape. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$85
We had heard good things about this park, but were disappointed. It was very dirty, with trash overflowing and dirty restrooms. The sites are very close together, and our neighbors were noisy outside until 2am. It has a nice beach, and is good for children and teenagers. We would not stay here again unless we have our grandchildren with us. Another camper mentioned that the campground was not kept up as it used to be. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$65
Expensive but I guess if you use the facilities. This is definitely a campground that functions as a resort where you stay in your own home. They have lots of activities for children every day. A full shop and cafe, large pool with lifeguard, full fitness center and what them deem a swimming lagoon. The swimming lagoon is reasonable to look at but I would not venture into it. It is oily and full of mud. They do have boats for hire and also a water playground which looks like fun for little kids. There internet is great: fast and good connection. The site we had was one of their cheapest but with a dirt base. All sites have this dirt base which meant dirt get everywhere inside you RV on your shoes everywhere, it would have been much nicer if it was stones or alike. Overall a great resort if you have kids and want to spend time there. In a very nice area with full security and gated entrance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$92
An okay campground. Very trendy. Cramped sites, typical of resorts like these. Have to park your car in front of RV in the street, and the place can be very crowded. The waterpark area was fun for the kids, but we went to the big beaches for waves. This is a pricey campground and you can get a hotel for almost the same rate. If it wasn't for the kids wanting to ride their bikes around the area, we probably wouldn't go through the hassle of taking the trailer all the way down there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$80
This park has been here since I was a kid and is in an area of very expensive homes right on an arm of the back bay in Newport Beach. My quick impression of our stay was, great location, with a so so site. This is a very kid friendly place. There was a craft project for our grandchild at 10am, another planned thing at 2pm, movies at night, and so on. And when the sun peaks out of the clouds (something that does not happen often in May and June here) there is a great beach on a bay. It has tons of big kid type toys, boats, and so on. But again, our space was so so. Kind of small, sand no grass, sewer hook up was kind of impossible to use right. Jets take off frequently all day. There are a number of view sites with more room and ambiance than our site. But we did not get one of those. This place should be great in July and Aug. But weather only so so in May. And that was the end of May too. But since I think this is the only RV park in Newport I would say give it a try if you want to be in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$50
We have stayed here many times, but this was our first time not in a "preferred" site. We couldn't help but notice that the attention of the maintenance staff has slipped. The sites are minimally cared for, and the hookups are difficult to use. The management of the park needs to look around and realize that many other parks are offering a lot more for a lot less money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$60
We pulled in around 5:30pm and our "preferred" area was quite full. Neighbors on both sides and across the street. Not alot of parking for toads or trucks, so streets are packed. Not the ideal situation for backing in to say the least. Web-Site says 4pm check-in time, but you can come before that if you call ahead and your space is open. Check-out is noon so you have good odds of getting early. Staff was friendly and professional. Security was visible and gate was staffed. Free Wi-Fi was solid and tested at about 500kbs. About the same as a low-end DSL connection at home. Good cable channels, picnic bench included at out site. Bring your own fire-pit. Overall nice stay and we will be trying Newport Dunes again this summer. This trip was more for a place to stay while in the area; we will come for "fun" next time and will report those results. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$50
We got in on a promo "best available" for $50 till end of March. For a so called "resort" facility left a lot to be desired. We travel in a Roadtrek so restroom and shower quality important--only give them a 3 for their effort. Facilities older and show little signs of maintenance. None of locks to restrooms worked in entire resort. Showers small and tacky. No hot water in restroom sinks. Location is what they have going for them and after that, have found far better at half the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$50
This resort is in a terrific area. Quick drive to shops and coast town of Newport Beach. Resort is a little tight for larger rigs but staff works with you to get a "perfect fit". We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$90
We enjoyed this campground in that it's different than many others. California lifestyle, waterfront, beach atmosphere, mostly class A MH's, quiet, no kids, an upscale feeling. We were here at Christmas and many a coach had decorations. With our 40' we found it easy to park our RV. The sites are more expensive than we've ever paid but we've decided not to leave any $$$$ to our kids!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$99
We love Newport Dunes. It is local for us. It is right on the Newport Harbor Bay. There is great dining, shopping and the park is great but expensive. We actually paid 120 a night but the price selection here only goes to 99. The sites are a little narrow. But there is fencing in between. In the summer it is busy, but since it is upscale there are few problems, everyone is just there to have fun. They have a great market there we use for things we forgot. The pool is large for the kids. And honestly we walk the front row and marvel at the prevosts lined up one after the other. Some of these land aircraft carriers don't even hook up. They pull in unleash the awnings, level and their rich owners party the weekend away. We just marvel at them. ND is living the life, try it at least once. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2008
$21
The nightly rate on our site was $215.00. We chose to stay at this park based on the impressive magazine advertisements. I must say that of all the places we have stayed, this resort does not even place in the top 50%. 1st the beach you see in the picture is a man made lagoon. You are unable to either see or hear the ocean. The sites are pitiful; dirt and very un-leveled. I took pictures of several class A coaches on blocks with the front tires completely in the air. The has three sections and two of the three sections are for permit residents. The registration staff was very impersonal and busy with other tasks. What a beautiful surrounding city to have such a disappointing RV “resort”. They referred to themselves as the Ritz of R.V Resorts. The only Ritz I have ever stayed at was the Ritz Carleton and it is sac-religious to mention this RV park in the same sentence as the real Ritz. That is like referring Kabul Afghanistan to Seattle or Goodwill to Sacks 5th Avenue . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$99
This park has a lot of things to do ( but you have to pay for most of them as you go), and I suppose that is a plus for most people. It is not on the ocean. Actually it is pretty far from it. It is on a lagoon that is muddy. There were papers saying that there were sting rays & jelly fish in the waters. We stayed out. But they do have a salt water pool with water areobics 3 days a week. We enjoyed that. They do rent golf carts at a pretty high price. But they wouldn't let us take it across the roads to Balboa Island. There is a game room, but they were taking all the games out as we were here. Also be aware that there is very little grass in this area. Your site most likely will be on dirt with no landscape around , unless you like to pay the highest price. We were not impressed with this park eventhough they call it "The Ritz of RV Parks." We have stayed at parks that were twice as nice for 1/4th the price. We paid the minimum price of $100.00 a night. I guess that is why we got the dirty , unlandscaped spaces. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$89
Out of all the RV parks across the USA and Canada, this park exceeds them all. The price is just right for the area. Next to the Hyatt and across from Fashion Island (an extremely high end shopping mall). This area is littered with Ferrari's, Austin Martins, and other 6 figure cars. $250/night at a local hotel is the minimum. So getting away with this cheap fare in this location (although extremely high for RV parks) is understandable. I came here on business, and to stay in another RV park would be at least an hour of traffic each way to get into the area. The giant motorhomes (i.e. 250K +) can be found in the beach front spots paying premium prices. The RV park itself surrounds a swimming lagoon protected by a long over water pedestrian bridge. The water opens to a Boat Launching ramp and Marina for Newport Beach. The Marina opens to the ocean. Toy Haulers can be found bringing their own golf carts. The park is big enough to want them. And they'll rent you one if you don't bring your own. They'll also rent pedal boats and canoes. Plenty of beach area overlooking the lagoon. And lots of water toys set up in the water to play on. Trails for bike riding, rollerblading, or walking around the lagoon. Pool & spa are heavily used. Well supplied store. Large laundry room. Very large staff to maintain the resort including lots of security to help the guests and enforce the rules. Although the sites didn't look big enough, it all fit and was actually very easy to get into (e.g. mine is a 36' Fifth Wheel). The turf, sandy dirt, is fitting for the environment you'll notice when you reach the gate. You're at the beach (e.g. bathing suit attire is typical). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$88
Extremely tight spaces. Ocean view is not really ocean, but more a small bay inlet. "Bayfront sites are outrageous in price. This place calls itself the "Ritz" of RV Parks. That is a supreme stretch. Would not stay here again. Overpriced, to stay on a dirt lot. Big rigs beware. Very tight. Our 40' rig barely fit into our deluxe site, and there was absolutely no room to park the car. It had to be parked in a lot next to the RV park. Wi-Fi worked well, as did CATV. The rest of the park was a huge disappointment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$99
The nightly rate exceeds $99, the limit of the form. So what to expect? The web and TL book promise it all: waterfront (yes), camp store ($$$), heated pool (heater broken), Bayside Cafe (closed for winter), attentive staff (sometimes). Traveling with an extra car? That's another $20/night. Pets? They're extra, too. Friends coming by for sunset cocktails? They will each pay by the hour to park. It would be less shocking if the extra charges and unavailable amenities were disclosed at the time the reservation was made (the night before). Everything was clean and tidy; each site is individually hosed and raked between guests. Two nights rang up over $300. A nice place to stay, but wildly overpriced! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$99
We stayed here one night and we liked the park. We reserved a beach front, pull in site. And we will do so in the future as well. We liked having the view. The price did not bother us at all because we felt it was worth the cost of not having another coach parked in front of us. The sites are small for a 40ft plus motorhome with 5 slides and it was difficult to negotiate the site to accommodate all of them. All in all, we made it and were satisfied with the stay. The staff were very friendly and the park was clean. It was only about half full which was nice too. The restaurant was not open at the time of our stay due to remodeling so we cannot comment on the food. We stayed here in a motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$30
We stayed here for five weeks (hence the lower price as we got the monthly rate, which at this time of the year is a bargain for anywhere in California) and absolutely loved this RV park. The location is spectacular - so close to Dana Point, Crystal Cove, Laguna, Newport Beach and Huntington. There is a wonderful bike route running right through the resort that leads to a wildlife refuge. The bike route along the PCH is a close car ride away. The resort is wonderful! The pool area is gorgeous with a heated pool and jacuzzi. The pool is generally deserted - so on the weekdays you will have it to yourself. The laundry room is clean and very large - you can always get a washer and dryer. And there is a coin machine in it as well (although I twice had it short change me - but if you run over to the office they will make you whole). The bathrooms are very clean (and you will notice the enormous maintenance staff always cleaning them - they are usually on site by 8 am), generally have hot water (sometimes it was lukewarm) with great water pressure. The park is very clean, the sites are small but wide enough to fit your camper with slide outs. Although they say you cannot park your car so that it is hanging out on the gutter of the road, everyone does it and the park does not seem to enforce this rule. WiFi is spotty the further away from the office that you get (we were one of the furthest spots from the office and it was not useful enough for much). The park is very quiet although it is in the flight path of the airport and the planes start flying at 7 am. But I would rather have planes then traffic noise personally. There is a workout facility that you can use at the marina next door - we didn't use it but it has the basic equipment you could need to get a decent workout (it was small, though). You can rent kayaks on site at the harbor, although we never did this. Overall, this is one of the best RV parks we have ever stayed in and it was easy to see why so many of the long term residents actually use this as their permanent home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$60
Overpriced but in line with area parks. This is a nice looking park, nice streets. The sites are close together but they have adequate room. It is a little hard to park tow car on site. Our next door neighbor had their car on our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2007
$58
$58 got a tiny unlevel dirt site on the back row of the resort. Whole row was empty, yet they put a family with 3 kids and tent right next to us. Took 2 to dump tanks, as sewer inlet was at a 45% angle and had to have partner hold the hose in place. Hard to enjoy a walk through the nicely landscaped park as the air reeked of fragranced dryer sheets blowing from the laundry room vent. On a positive note, the grocery store had a great selection of food, not just the usual junk food and sodas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$80
We went camping at Newport Dunes in Newport California for three nights including a weekend. They self proclaim themselves as "The Ritz of Campgrounds". First lets start with the good. Location! The campground is located on the bay with some sites along the water. It looks more like a lake but it is ocean water, but they consider it ocean front. If you come in wanting an upgrade to one of those spots, expect to pay, I'll talk more about this in the "bad" section of the review. However, the surrounding area has plenty to do and see. The women will love the nearby shopping at the Fashion Mall where they can shop in "hoity toity" shops such as Bloomingdales, Neiman Marcus, etc, etc. Macy's would be considered the budget store at the Fashion Mall. Crystal Cove is about 4 miles down the road and is a wonderful spot for biking, hiking, and swimming, and sitting by the surf pounding against the rocks. Most of the restaurants nearby are valet parking only and we ate at the Rusty Pelican. Food was expensive, but acceptable. The campground is very nearby The Back Bay Cafe restaurant. We did not sample the food there so I cannot comment on it's value or taste. The campgrounds are kept clean, and the help seemed friendly, but most do not speak English. We had an issue with our original camp spot where a tree branch threatened to tear off my rubber roof if I backed it in, and they gave me a free upgrade a little closer to the water. However, unless you are at a designated water front spot, you probably will not have a view at all except of other campers. The campgrounds had activities for kids such as movies on the beach at night which was nice although we didn't have any kids with us. But for families it looked like lots of fun. There are also boat rentals, an arcade and plenty to keep kids busy. Now the bad: My number one complaint is price. If you plan on upgrading after you get there, expect to pay 299.95 a night for a waterfront spot. Only the waterfront spots have some grass, and enough room to sit comfortably outside your camper. I understand that if you reserve a year in advance you can get one of those sites for just under $200.00. Gee.. what a bargain! The sites throughout are very narrow. If you have a triple slider like ours, you will probably not be eating outside, unless you don't mind eating a few feet away from the neighbors sewer hose. The campers and motorhomes with no slides had it the best here. Each site is separated by a fence. This is a blessing and a hassle. At least if you went with friends and got two sites, you could make some room between campers, but the fence gets in the way. On the plus side, it keeps your neighbors from crowding you because of their lack of space. There is basically no room for a tow vehicle. You are forced to park perpendicular to your camper sticking out in the road. I had to pull in my tow mirrors feeling they might get swiped off by a passerby or a kid on a bike. On the weekend, this place is crowded. The inconveniences certainly do not keep crowds away, and there is obviously a lot of people with disposable income that forked out the money for the premium water front spots. By Saturday evening, it was difficult to drive through or even ride a bicycle through because of all the people and children in the streets. They are in the streets, because there is no room in their campsite. The swimming pool is kept clean but my wife and I found the Jacuzzi to be filled with little kids using it as a kiddy pool. There is a sign posted that says no kids under 12 should be in it. No adults were watching them, and some were around age 5. We went to complain, and the office said they would handle it, but security did not arrive for about a half hour. By that time we handled the situation ourselves. The Jacuzzi was also not working properly. Although the water was hot, there were no bubbles and only two working jets. In conclusion, camp here only on weekdays. It's not as crowded and you might get to eat outside your camper without being next to a sewer hose. Off season would also be helpful. The sites in the back row are still priced high at around $80.00 per night, but they are just as large as the rest of the campground and just as much view as the rest of the campground excluding the waterfront sites. It's really the only game in town and it shows because they demand such a premium price for camping and seem to get it. It's NOT the RITZ! Not even close. I have been to much nicer camp resorts for a LOT less money. The ocean view sites are the best sites, but it's still just like looking at a lake because it's in a small bay. Don't expect to see surf here, but surf is a short 4 miles drive away. The waterfront sites do offer a lot more room for picnics and BBQs. Personally, a nice hotel would be more comfortable and for the same amount of money. If you must camp, and have to be in Newport Beach, it's the only game in town. Bring your wallet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$85
I had a great time here and loved the water aerobics class in the morning and the clean beach. Lots of family activities kept us at the clubhouse having fun, which was a good thing because our campsite was narrow and cramped. We got the cheapest site available and still spent $85 a night!! Ouch! I'd go back because I had fun, but my husband is still bitter about spending 15 minutes trying to back our RV into that tiny, tiny campsite. He is also still mad about the $$$$$ we spent! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$81
It is all about location. This park is on some of the most expensive real estate in the country, which must be the reason for the astronomical rates. The Premium Sites that face the bay are very nice if you can stand the price but the rest of park is disappointing. The sites are closely spaced in standard side-by-side configuration with bare earth pads, sparse landscaping and no views. Some are adjacent to or across the road from factory-built housing modules that are used as rental “cottages”. If you simply must have an RV site in Newport Beach this is the only choice and you will probably enjoy it if you can afford a premium site. Otherwise I cannot recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2007
$67
Grossly overrated. Sardine like unlevel dirt sites in a crowded huge campground with LOADS of children playing in the roads that are filled with cars and trucks because the sites are too small for parking. It wouldn't be a value at half the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$80
Very nice, every imaginable amenity and convenient to the PCH and beach. Very tight spaces for our 39 footer, but otherwise first class location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2007
$65
Main thing going for this CG is location. Most sites are very tight for todays RVs. Streets are narrow. My 40' motorhome used every inch of site length. Barely enough room to park toad. I have two slides, if 4 slides no room to park toad. I have family 4 miles away so this is the only show available, otherwise I wouldn't stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$99
This park was pretty nice, not the nicest, but clean, convenient, and fairly priced for the area. This was the nicest park we could find for a long-term stay in the area. We are travel nurses and have been living here for a month. The staff is nice, but not very professional, you can always hear them laughing and joking in the office. The "Rules" are alittle overboard. We have been warned 2 times in one month already, and our neighbors have been also. One night all of our cars were tagged for parking to far out of our space. But overall the place is nice, and since we have to be in this area, it is by far the nicest place for the price in the area. We looked. The sites are very small, and they are dirt, but they are paving new spots as we speak. I agree with some of the other reviews that this place caters to those who want to stay a week or more, not just one day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$45
Great location. Well managed. Friendly staff. Excellent RV Park. Only negative is daily noise from planes taking off from John Wayne Airport and Jamboree Blvd. that runs behind the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2006
$63
Way over rated, way over priced! Unbelievable that this place gets so much hype and it's a bunch of tiny dirt lots, squeezed next to a noisy highway, on an approach to John Wayne airport, along on a stagnant back water bay. Reception and registration was an assembly line with the staff hardly acknowledging you. The site is barely wide enough to get the slides out and not level. This place is testimony to the power of advertising. I believed the ads and the Trailer Life rating saying this was a great place but it isn't. Don't believe the hype. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$99
This place gets more and more expensive. However, more and more people are paying the higher prices. I remember 2 years ago, when a beachfront was $60 and now when I called, it is going for $150 per night. Apparently, they base their pricing on demand for the park so, if its busy, you are going to pay. I stay here every other month and I am pleased with the park despite the price. It is in a great area with lots to do. I am going back there this weekend. I had to bite my tongue when I found out how much they are charging. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$99
This park is way over priced. Ocean view is a view of the back bay that smells most of the time. The sites are way to small. This park is great if you have way to much money in your wallet to spend. Would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2006
$99
We stayed at Newport Dunes for a weekend getaway and to take my son and his friends to the beach for his 16th birthday. We had high expectations since our last visit was great, but it was in the fall (off season). So we made the twenty five minute drive up to Newport and pull into the park. We wait ten minutes through the guard house line as there are many cars going in and out. Once in, it was welcome to crazy land. You can barely move down the road. People are everywhere and they use the road as their sidewalk. Then hoards of crazy people with golf carts are driving around screaming and yelling for attention. At checkin they were rather cold and not helpful when we asked about the OC Cruiser bus schedule. They wanted to rush us through and be done in a minute. I payed, let me emphasize this: $300 for a waterfront spot (they said this was a deal)!! Yes that is right, $300 for one stinkin' night. I payed this since it was my son's birthday and the other spots are expensive too, but way worse. So we manuerved the rig around the scooters, bicycles, motorcycles, grills, skates, and cars that block the road and finally got to our spot. They are not paved (they should be for this price) completely, only where you step out is. The RV is parked on dirt that gets kicked up in the wind. I would hate to be here with Santa Ana winds. So here is my prized $300 "water" view, a huge massive pinata party full of people that came in for day use only. They paid ten dollars, I paid $300. So there was no beach and the mariachi music and pinatas are all just five feet from the front of our RV. You couldn't even go to the water without going through this huge party and then they would stare at you like they are thinking, "Walk all the way around the other RV's and then go to the beach, forget that you paid $300. for front row access." The lagoon is waveless, which we knew before. It is part of Backbay which is a wetland/swamp/estuary with bad water quality so all the people that swim in that are crazy. It is in the OC Register all the time for bad quality. So we drove to Newport Municipal Beach by the Balboa Pier and the guys enjoyed themselves. My son said they like the waves because they were different than the ones at San Clemente where they usually go. So we returned to the park in the evening after dinner at Fashion Island and the guys went in the pool. It was murky green so they got out and I told them they could go in our pool once we were back. When they went to the gameroon the other teens were playing strip "air hockey" and the young staff was participating in it with them. Some were down to just their boxers. At night the mariachi group was still here hoot'n and holler'n right in front of us. I am still bumbed I paid $300 to stare from my site at them. So much for the water view. All the beach fire rings were gone so we waited for one of the drunk groups to leave so we could have a ring. All the groups stayed until ten o'clock. We finally got one but only could stay for ten minutes because security reminded us of the CA law of beaches closing at ten. So the guys got ready for bed in their tent (they thought it would be funner to be separate and rough it), and we went into the RV. Birds live in the trees (probably a blue heron) and squawked all night long driving the guys insane. Finally, at three in the morning they came inside when the sprinklers came on and soaked them. A bad night sleep for all of us. Then in the morning, the messy beach left from yesterday's group, blew all over and some even into our spot. Then the homeless with the OC Rescue Missions showed up in a bus and went infront of our spot again. My only concern is with little kids everywhere and the people that the mission helps. I know I would not leave my kids with them alone or let them use the restroom. Luckily it was checkout time but that definitely confirmed how much we wanted to leave the dump of Newport Dunes. All that money and I could have gotten the Ritz Carlton in Dana or the Hyatt in Hunington beach. I felt major ripped off. My biggest complaint is how many day users are allowed in, and how they overrun the park. People paying hundreds of dollars are left with no beach to people paying ten dollars. I had no time to enjoy my spot as other people sit on the sand less than five feet away from you. They literally overrun everything from the roads, to pool, to beach, it is filled with people only staying until ten and then getting in their cars and going home. Security ignores complaints and says that this is a busy place with lots of people. They should call this place Triple O. Overpriced, overrated, and overcrowded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2006
$99
This is a beautiful park with great sites. The concrete pads are wonderful, but the rest of the park is just so, so. The view of the ocean is not nearly what I expected for the price I paid. The staff was somewhat friendly but could have done a little more to make you feel welcomed as a guest. Will not return as there are many nicer parks in the Southern California area: San Onofre, Malibu Beach, and a couple in the Santa Barbara area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2006
$85
In the magazine ads and from the highway above this campground appears to be a lovely place to stay. We were very disappointed to drive into the grounds and find lots of dust and dirt. Only a few sites are special and these are $100 or more a night. Many of the sites were not level and we saw lots of attempts at trying to level rigs. Most looked as if leveling was not easy to achieve. We would not suggest a stay here and we would not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$98
Probably the nicest place we've ever stayed. A little more money than we are used to, but definitely worth the experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$65
Nice location. Spaces are a bit short but wide enough. Park is clean and staff is very friendly. For the price I'd expect a cement slab rather than dirt lot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$65
What a gorgeous campground! We were backed right up to the "beach" area. Beautifully landscaped and very peaceful. Lots of amenities a resort should have. Great location too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$99
Park is expensive but, nice. I visit this park about 9 times per year. They have a wonderful 4th of July celebration and they require a 7 night minimum on those days. Usually the first row is sold out by noon on the day they start to take reservations. The staff is very friendly and the facilities are nice. The view on their bayfronts are wonderful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2005
$80
Pros: Nice walking path, nice waterfront atmosphere (though it's not exceptional by any means), on-site store very convenient and fairly well stocked. Cons: Spaces way too close together (no privacy whatsoever), spaces do not have not enough room (crammed in like sardines). Staff not very friendly. After a long walk to their cafe, we found it to be closed (either closed the day we were there or just very early that day). Sites overpriced. Very rowdy crowd while we were there. Drunks speeding around in golf carts, kids speeding around on bikes. Not comfortable to walk around where RVs are parked. Security was not on top of this behavior. Not good for young children or families who like a courteous RV environment. Probably pretty good for party animals. Overall, we were very disappointed, and we definitely will not be returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$42
Very nice RV Park. Lots of shopping to drive around to enjoy. Lots of interesting trails and bird watching. Relaxing stop-over on the way to something less civilized. Will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2005
$79
We were very disappointed. This RV park is located in the flight path of a major airport, very noisy, planes taking off at 7am-11pm. The pool was closed for most of our three days. I asked for late check out when I arrived and they proceeded to rent out our space on our departure date, even though there were many other sites in the same class available. The park is clean and there is a lot of security. We will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$79
Campground was fine. Sites are extremely CLOSE together. Tenters can be right next to Class A rigs. No wireless internet though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$46
This is an outstanding RV Park. The only reason we didn't rate it a 10 is because the beach was dirty (not the RV parks fault) and all the boat rental facilities were closed. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and upgraded us because the park was not full. The park was very quiet. We went to Disneyland the second day, which was only 30 minutes away. My girls loved the pool. We will visit again. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2005
$60
Overpriced and overrated. Sites way too small for our 31' fifth wheel. Clean enough and tidy enough but VERY tight sites are not what I expect for that kind of money. We will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2004
$90
Very nice park, but pricey (we've been several times and will go again, but feel that it's still overpriced for what you get). Last time hot showers were too hot. Generally very clean, lots for families to do, sites easy to access, but tend to be cramped. Opt to pay premium for waterfront site (we did last time), it's worth the extra bucks to not be surrounded by chain linked fence that the moderately-priced sites have. Personnel could stand to be a little more friendly, but overall helpful. Very good security. Close to alot of attractions. Be aware that nearby airport will sometimes wake you in early AM with jet engine noise, but overall not too noticeable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2004
$84
We had a "back-in" beachfront site which was sandy ground, no pad to park on or for a patio. The sites directly across from us were rented by people who lived there fulltime & had makeshift tent-type storage buildings, trash cans, dog cages, & lots of toys all over their lots. The people were gone for the holiday & the winds & rains came during our week's stay & blew this stuff all around their yards, so that is what we had to look at out our front window & when we sat outside under our awning. When I called & made the reservation, the man I spoke with was extremely kind & friendly. But I can't say that about any of the staff we met after we got there! We saw no urgency or desire in satisfying the customer. The only reason I see that this place is called a "Resort" is because of its physical address! We would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$65
Resort overpriced and overrated. Sites small for big rig, unpaved, and surrounded by chain link fences. Bathrooms dated and stinky. Limited cable TV selection. On plus side, campground is in nice location on bay and security is good at entrance. Place was probably great when new, but needs some bathroom remodeling. There are better destination RV resorts in southern California. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$65
Rates are dependent on where you stay in the Resort. Pricey but well worth it if you have the $'s. A resort destination with many amenities and facilities. As another reviewer noted, would be a "10" if it had concrete paved sites, as most sites are a smooth gravel material. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$66
The only thing keeping this resort from a 10 (and I mean resort) is gravel sites. If it had paved sites, a 10 hands down. There are some paved sites on the waterfront for motorhomes but it is restricted to MH's only. No nicer place to vacation on the Calif coast. Plenty for the kids to do with a swimming lagoon and paddle boat rentals and just about anything else you can think of. Close to shopping at the Newport embacadero. Restaurant on site with great facilities, restrooms and pool/spa/workout room area. Of course, you have to fight the SoCal traffic to get here, but it is probably worth it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$99
This very large park (over 400 sites) is designed to be a destination park vs a stayover. There is a store, 7-lane boat ramp, restaurant, playgrounds, pool, store, clubhouse and a place to rent just about anything with wheels. There are plans to add an upscale hotel. Prices range from $40 to $165 per night (that's right) depending on the season and how close/far from the water you are (back bay, not ocean). Most sites are graveled back-ins wide enough for slide-outs, awnings and a picnic table. We were here in July and the place was packed. Car parking is a problem. Not enough room. All facilities were kept very clean and the grounds are well manicured and attractive. Security was good. Close to many So. Cal attractions. Popular with families (lots for kids to do right here in the park). Resevations required. This is a popular picnic, boat launch, day-use spot with the locals so it is very busy during the summer months. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com