219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Lyman KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (307) 786-2188
CGID4091

Lyman KOA

Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   6   4   6   3   8   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
A basic KOA. Sites are on grass with gravel tire tracks. Need blocks to get level. Wi-Fi was poor. Verizon was fine. Lyman is close to the fort at Fort Bridger state park. Try "The Cafe" at the truck stop on I-80. Looks like a dive but the food is very good and reasonably priced. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
The people make this a nice stop. Very friendly! Grass Pull Thru. with good hook up's. One mile off of I-80, so NO highway noise. Easy IN & OUT. Little store with RV supplies and 'basics'. Some fast food (did not try). Don't mind the KOA pricing when they are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
They don't open until May 15, but will let you stay for flat rate of$25 until then. You get everything except the office & shop. Modern restrooms/showers were great and clean. Grass and gravel sites. Hookups worked good. Spacing was good. We were here May 2nd with four others..so nice & quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Nice staff, no shade, dirt and gravel sites with little grass, gets really muddy with rain or hail. Easy into and out of park. A few things to see and do in area but not a destination place. Clean facility. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
An aging KOA in a part of Wyoming with what seemed like limited choices. Off Interstate enough so no noise. Just a dry place in the middle of nothing. OK for overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Park is clean, quiet, nice grass but no shade. Sites were level and easy to park. Easy access from I-80 but far enough off to be quiet. Owner led us to our site and was friendly. Pool was drained for the season. Restroom/showers facilities were clean. I didn't notice the waste water pond previous reviewer mentioned. No TV service of any kind. Fort Bridger is just a few minutes away and worth the visit. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again if it was the right place during a trip through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Be sure you "walk your site" before you pull in your big-rig! Travelling together, we and another 40' motorhome (towing, both) requested pull-throughs so we wouldn't have to disconnect and could easily pull out next morning. We were too close and committed to the assigned sites before realizing one rig had to disconnect to make the turn to get into their site. And we had to call to get a sprinkler turned off. Then we could get in okay; but as there is no turn-around road, we must pull through their cow-pasture of sites to get out this morning. AND as we're facing the "no swimming" waste water treatment pond with NO aerator going, it smells. We looked forward to the "grassy sites" mentioned on their signage, but found lumpy, bumpy cow pasture, with no delineated "site" but just a place to park between hookups. Which are backward/forward, backward/forward, etc. I would NOT recommend this park at all. (As an aunt and uncle were years ago KOA inspectors, I can't believe anyone from KOA has looked at this park in years!) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
For a quick pull off on the freeway, this is an expensive park. Nicely kept and staff friendly. No cable TV but Wi-Fi available. They did provide a "snack shack" with hamburgers, etc. Easy return to I-80. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
Quiet, clean, generally level sites. We stayed one night while traveling east. Friendly, helpful staff. Toward the end of the season so some general maintenance appeared to be left undone. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
This is a very nice KOA. The park is located 1 mile south of the interstate so it is nice and quiet at night. The park owners are very friendly and very helpful. The restrooms are clean and the park is well maintained. Highly recommend this KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30?
It was not great. Our site was next to a "water treatment pond" on a site that was not level with weeds. We were happy the wind was blowing in our favor. The "Pond" was fenced with a chain link fence with trash along it. Not great. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Nice quiet park located about one mile south of interstate. Owners very friendly and park very clean. Grassy sites, level, but not a lot of shade. Small diner? located on site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
Don’t believe the good reviews of this place. It is only acceptable for an overnight stop. We stayed here after finding nowhere to stay in Rock Springs. The reviews of the KOA here were so bad that we couldn’t even try it. We drove an hour to this place after reading the positive reviews and have no idea what these people are talking about. The place is totally outdated, and you are basically parking in a grassy field. The sites alternate between 30 and 50 amp, and our next door neighbor was illegally plugged into our 50-amp outlet, so we had to change sites. Fortunately, the campground was mostly empty, or else the sites would have been awkward to get into. There were tons of mosquitoes and other flying bugs. We needed a place to stay, and there is almost nothing in the area, so it was fine, but we wouldn’t stay here for more than a quick stop. We didn’t even unhook our truck. On the positive side, the woman working at the front desk was very friendly and gave my son some popcorn. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
We have stayed here twice in 3 years now, and there's just something about this place we like. It's an older KOA that could probably be spruced up a bit, and most sites don't offer shade (but a few do, at least in the afternoon), but the owners are friendly & helpful, and it just has a down-home feel to the place. Convenient to I-80 but not right on it, so road noise is minimal. Wi-Fi is a little primitive, available only in the office, but it does function. Nice overnighter. We'll probably be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
This was an overnight spot and was adequate, I guess. I was extremely disappointed in this KOA. It is a field with hookups. They do not enforce the rules. Again, My expectation for a KOA is much higher. I would not stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
This campground is clean and nice. We stayed here for two days and would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
We arrived just before closing time and the girls really wanted to swim in the pool. The staff turned the lights back on for them which was very nice. The staff escorted us to the site. This KOA is unique in that the sites are a large grass field and they just stagger the RV's in the field. When we arrived the place was full but the next morning at 10am the park was empty. This is obviously a place to stop and sleep while on the way to somewhere else. The location is beautiful. We visited the nearby Fort Bridger state park which was fantastically preserved and a pleasant surprise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
Campground is in the middle of nowhere. Grass with gravel pads. No cable and the WI-FI didn't work. Grounds and facilities are well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
We were originally given a full services site, but the WiFi was unusable there, and we were being plagued with mosquitoes from a nearby drainage ditch. We asked to be moved to a drier water/electric only site. The manager obliged on this and gave a refund without being asked. However, the sites close enough to the office to get reliable WiFi access are also next to a children's play area which was noisy at times. We stayed here for one night as an en route camp, and would do so again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$26
A pleasant surprise; all by itself along I-80 in a town where the only restaurant is a Taco Time. Great owners, friendly - went out of their way to make sure we had a good stay. Open, level grass sites, not much shade but fine with us. Good utilities although water pressure was sometimes very low. Free WiFi was strong and steady. Nothing fancy, just a comfortable place with helpful owners. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Long sites. Shared hookups. OK interior roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Quiet, clean and friendly...rural setting with plenty of room. Only about 20% occupied when we visited. Sites not well defined, but grassy. Not much shade. Watch for sprinkler activity. Plenty of areas to walk the dogs. Adjacent to main road, but not much activity late night hours, so no problem. We got one TV station on antenna, none on the digital converter. We were there a couple of days exploring the area and would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Stopped here for one night on our way from Elko NV to Lingle WY. Nice park with lots of grassy areas. Not too busy. After registration was escorted to our site by a friendly young man. Wi-Fi great. Would stay again if in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
Smaller KOA in the country, a couple miles from I-80, with a view of the distant Uinta Mts. Farms surround this campground. Some sites are less well defined, and most are grassy. Watch out for sprinkler system, which seems to be at least semi-automatic. Pleasant place to stay, clean, with friendly owners. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This campground just has a good feel. The manager was great when we checked in and guided us to our camp with wide turns and putting us right where we needed to be. A lot of effort goes in to keeping the place in order and green. Other visitors were caught in the atmosphere and everyone was chatty and friendly. The site is not paved, but the grass is robust even for big rigs and we loved our grassy site. Why not a better score? There was no place to put pet trash by the pet walk, and only one dumpster. But this is small stuff. We will stay here again if we are ever back this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$22
We stopped here because of the positive comments in this forum, and we were not disappointed. It is so nice, it's hard to believe its a KOA. Lovely people work here, the sites are HUGE: I mean, we did not have to worry about unhooking, driving around, early departure, or anything else. More trees than I thought there would be, and lots of lawns. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$15
Stayed here one night Staff was very friendly gave us a site even though they were not open for the season yet, very grassy and well keeped. Lot of room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$23
Great, clean campground just off of I-80. Slept with the windows open / fans on in JULY! It was great! Several activities for kids, friendly staff, and helpful fellow campers. There is not a lot in the Bridger Valley for eating out, so it seemed most people cooked at their sites. Very good experience! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$21
This park, the staff& area around this park was excellent!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$23
Nice park. Well looked after. Staff very friendly, nice big sites as staff did not stack people. Was able to obtain food and was delivered to my site. Pool was very well looked after and clean. Will stay here again if ever in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$26
Just a stop over for me but the staff was very nice and helped me to the site and accommodated my rig even though they were booked full. I would stay again. Very clean and pleasant stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$26
This is one of the better KOA's. In an area of high desert, this is a green oasis. The owners work very hard to maintain the grass and flowers on their site. The surrounding terrain is dry, sagebrush, and brown. We were there during the week and the campground was not full. The owners placed the campers in every other camp spot so there was quite a bit of room between you and your neighbors. Even if full, the sites looked quite wide and were not back-to-back. Everything at the campground was clean and neat. They have a snackbar and the ice cream cones were quite substantial. The campground is about 1 mile off the interstate but very little road noise transferred to the campground. We will definitely go back when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com