224210 User submitted reviews online!!
Massacre Rocks State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (208) 548-2672
CGID4092

Massacre Rocks State Park

Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   9   8   9   7   9   6   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$17
Our 2nd visit here, this time with a new rig. We had a pull-through site on the lower loop, and were a bit surprised how unlevel it was - something one needs to be prepared for! (Fortunately, we were.) Power & water hookups worked well, nice view from parts of the campground, bathroom was very clean. Showers are separate from the toilet area, individual (unisex) shower rooms. Lots of staff, both volunteer & paid, and they were always around and very friendly. Not many sites large enough to accommodate bigger rigs. Love the midweek senior rates, though - they can't be beat! Nice place; we will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
Found a nice pull-through on the upper loop. We walked the nature trails up and around the river. We found several new birds to photograph. Don't think they have turned on the hot water yet so didn't use the clean showers. Could hear interstate noise at our site. I think noise is better in lower loop but sites looked a little smaller. Found the cost high for what you got - 30 amp service and water for $28 (M-T senior rate is $16.66). Wi-Fi is free for 20 minutes but not able to connect to Bluemesh (the vendor for Idaho Parks Wi-Fi). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$27
Very scenic park with loads of hiking trails and fishing in the Snake river. Sites are pull thru and back ins and have water and electric. There is a dump station. The bathrooms are clean but much to my surprise no soap or paper towel dispenser/hand dryer! There are trash cans through out. A senior discount is offered but only Monday thru Thursday. There is also an added $5 entrance fee! Staff and camp host very friendly. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Beautiful park. We had a spot on top of a hill with a super view of the Snake river. The park is full of trails and lots of sightseeing. The only bad point was one of the Rangers didn't seem too keen on renting canoes to us because we didn't have any prior experience. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
Very nice little spot. A few more shade trees would have helped. I would certainly stay again. Beautiful nature trails, friendly people, and clean showers. Stayed in the upper loop and had a magnificent view of the valley. Only real drawback is Interstate noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
We chose this park because of its unique history and easy on/off the highway for an overnight. The easy on/off always comes at a noise cost, so if you're sleeping with your windows open, definitely choose a site in the lower loop, farther away from the highway noise, which is noticeable. We had lovely views and enjoyed all the hiking trails, but felt that $28.32 was pretty steep for an older state park without many activities or Wi-Fi. There were supposedly boat rentals, but that was not open when we were visiting. Loved watching all the pelicans and other birds, though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$23
The price is after our Idaho State Park pass discount, but it would have been less if we had been camping Monday-Thursday, when the senior discount is available. We were fortunate to get site 41 which was simply perfect for us. We had a great view of the Snake River and walked down to the river to photograph the pelicans and other birds. We were really blessed to have a Bullock Oriole nest in the tree right near our site. We so enjoyed watching the parents feed the babies. We would stay here again in hopes of getting the same site. The lady at the gate was great, the lady inside was great, as well as the camp host. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
This park is right off the I-86 and very easy to get to. It's an older park, and the roads are pretty tight. There are large rocks along the road, and the trees are close to the road. The site we reserved turned out to be too small, but the park host helped us find one that would work for our 38' 5th wheel. It may be the only site that we could fit into. The sites have 30 amp service and water. The views are beautiful and even with its close proximity to the freeway, there is very little noise. There are a lot of hiking trails in the park. We would not stay again because of the size issues, but if you are in a smaller rig, it's great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
We stopped to check this campground out on our way north, stayed on our way south. Lovely location, only a couple of large flat sites for a big motorhome. The views were great. Visitor center personnel very nice and friendly. We played Disc golf, they have 2 courses, and easy one and a longer harder one. Great fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$12
This campground is in a very pretty desert setting on the huge Snake River. There are hiking trails and disc golf. The campground has very curvy, narrow roads with junipers and large boulders along the edge. This and the small sites makes it difficult to use with a 40' motorhome. However, there are a handful of sites that would work. The 30A electric was low with only one air conditioner running. It gets very hot here so air is suggested. There is a dump station and informative visitor center along with a boat ramp. Other than the park itself, there is nothing to do and no stores in the immediate area. Monday through Thursday seniors get 1/2 off the camp fee which is very generous. We did see some black widow spiders in the corners of the very clean vault toilet rooms and one on a coat hook and there is a tick warning posted for the grasses, so be careful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Exceptional natural beauty with beautiful sites and great service. This State park sits on the river and is part of the original Oregon/California Trails. Register Rock is within 5 miles and represents a great opportunity to learn a little history about the 'taming' of the west. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Wonderful surprise right off I-86. We had a pull through site with a view down the Snake River. Typical state park with W/E. Sites well spaced and large. Picnic tables and firepits with grill at each site. We were here mid week and the park was only 10% full so it was very quiet. Beautiful views, fishing, short hikes, kayaking (when the wind is down), and a frisbee golf course. My only disappointment was the luke warm showers. A little road noise from the highway but it was not too bad. We did pay an extra $10 making an online reservation. Next time I will go without a reservation, mid week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
Amazing view from this campground! Definitely less road noise in the lower loop. For those with quite large rigs, there are not many sites here in which you will fit, so advance reservations are strongly recommended, even midweek. Bathhouse older but very clean, with individual shower rooms. Peaceful, plenty of wildlife (ranging from small lizards to pelicans and coyotes), nice trails of varying lengths and difficulty, Oregon Trail historical connection, and friendly volunteer camp hosts: all served to make our stay enjoyable. Note for those wanting shade: don't expect much. Vegetation being sagebrush and junipers, the best-shaded sites do get sun some of the day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$11
First time experience and the park was impressive. Absolutely beautiful site overlooking the Snake River--waterfowl, birds, coyote howls, deer; it was wonderful. Site was nicely arranged with a few steps down to a metal table and fire ring--very private, quiet. Note on quiet, if the wind is out of south you can hear the Interstate in the lower camp area but not with wind out of the west. We had a lovely two days here.The dogs loved the hiking and swimming (for the dogs), the flora and fauna. We will return ASAP. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$12
What a lovely State Park! I hate to 'advertise' this quiet, peaceful park near I-86 as I'd like to 'keep it for myself.' This park does honor SR passes (1/2 price) on weekdays. The Snake River here is navigable with motorboats and kayaks; lots of hiking trails and history. Definitely worth a night or a week's stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
A great overnight stop for us as we head south. Great hiking trails down to the river. The water is turned off to the sites in October but the restrooms are open. Easy access from the highway and quiet at night. Plenty of room for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
Great Idaho State Park about 10 miles north of American Falls off I-86. Sites are generally level gravel pads with picnic tables and fire rings. The, sort of small, visitors center is worth a visit to learn a bit about the area. Also, a short drive to Register Rock affords you a sense of the trials of the early emigrants. Wi-Fi is available for charges ranging from $3 for one day, $10 for a week or $29 for a "season" and is usable at all Idaho Parks. We paid the $10 fee and found the Wi-Fi to be quite strong. Have stayed before and will again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
An Idaho state park that is great. Awesome friendly staff! Due to the time of year we had our pick of the sites, and got a great view. No sewer but a dump station on the way out. Had a good time fishing. Will stay again. Great satellite reception for TV/Internet. Great Verizon signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
The loop roads within Massacre Rocks State Park are all paved, however, they are very narrow. All sites are on gravel and have 30/50 amp electricity along with a water spigot. In most cases the utilities are located in the middle of the site. Most sites are fairly level and have a picnic table and fire ring. Each loop (upper and lower) has bathrooms with showers. The bathrooms are clean but utilitarian. There was a dump station within the park. The camp host was on site and very friendly. Wi-Fi is available for $29 (good for one year and can be used within any Idaho State Park). We did not use it so we don’t know how good it was. Verizon air-card and cell phone worked well. We would definitely come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
Beautiful, really beautiful right on the Snake River. Best views are on lower portion of campground. Has nice clean sites. We camped here 3 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
Beautiful setting on the Snake River. Lower campground has the best views. Camped here as an overnighter. Dump station is available at no extra charge. Nice sites with wonderful firepits and picnic tables. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$11
Rate reflects midweek senior discount. Sites ranged from secluded in the trees to wide open with sweeping vistas. We choose the latter as we were here to enjoy the Oregon Trail experience. Our site was easy to back into in our 38' MH, but the electric hookup, 30 amp, was at the rear of the passenger side and the water hookup was on the passenger side, however the site was level and quite wide. Sites that were reserved were well marked and we had no trouble picking an open site. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2005
$20
This CG is located on a hillside between I-84 and the Snake River. As such it has highway noise for the sites in the upper loop. Lower loop is closer to the river and quieter. Seasonally, river gnats are a real problem small enough to get through screens. Sites require leveling and many have no shade at all. The wind blows here much of the time. There are few other camping options in the area. It is fine as an overnight stop but clearly not a destination resort! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$20
This is one of the great Idaho State Parks. The campground is on two levels. There is a lower level near the Snake River (but not on the river); and there is the upper level. There are campsites on both levels that give awesome views of the river, birds, etc. Definitely try to aim for one of these campsites -- the views are outstanding!!! Only water and electric are available, but there is a dump station. On Friday and Saturday nights (during the summer) they have a ranger program. One of the ranger programs while we were there was dutch-oven cooking and we got to sample both the cherry and peach cobblers. Wonderful!!! Not far from the campground is a trail leading to wagon train ruts from the Oregon Trail. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com