220820 User submitted reviews online!!
Salt Fork State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (740) 432-1508
CGID4113

Salt Fork State Park

Camp Information
Sites
212
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   10   8   9   8   5   6   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$13
Camping fee posted is for the Golden Buckeye Card (Seniors), 1/2 price. Unlike some other states there is no additional daily use fee at Ohio State Parks. Salt Fork is an "outdoor" park, meaning trails, lake, outdoor stuff. Sites are large and diverse. Camp area "C," has shade and is close to a bath house. It has no playground equipment but other areas do. There are a few full hookups but reservations for those are probably a necessity. The facilities are dated but are clean. The park is 6 miles from I-77 (exit 47), and it is a couple of more miles from the entrance to the campground. Roads are very good and most sites are level or might require a block. Watch for wildlife. There is a lodge with restaurant. There are convenience stores nearby and Cambridge is about 10 miles and has Walmart, supermarkets, chain restaurants, and other. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Interior roads and site pads paved. Nice green spacing between sites with a fire ring and picnic table. Some sites especially in A, C, and G loops have at least partial shade. Some three way hookup sites are located in loops F and G. Some walk-in sites are located in loops E, F, and G. Sites that are not three way hookup do not have water. There is a central water station near the campground entrance and a central dump station. There is much wildlife in the park, which is huge. Horse and hiking trails are available. Numerous beaches and marinas are available including one each for campground residents. A nice lodge and golf course are in the park. Grounds are kept up well. Nearby Cambridge has shopping and attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
10++ campground as our families have been camping here since 1972 from tents to motorhomes. All have been great with unforgettable and amazing memories. The campground workers are great with frequent visits from the state park police making rounds. Great hiking trails, clean lake with good swimming. All around a hidden treasure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$13
The park is a LONG distance North of Rt. 22. The sites are very large and still provide privacy. The lawns were mowed and very attractive. The staff was EXCELLENT in processing the registration. Is it the best state park in Ohio? No. It is however, the best in the SE Ohio area. We would use this park again and had a great time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$13
It is a long drive through the park to get to the camp sites. You don't want to have to run into town very often. Very clean and well cared for. We found a nice site with lots of shade that was close to several trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
Very nice clean park. Has roomy sites. Not a whole lot of shade except in the G loop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
This is a big park with lake access. Campsites were, for the most part, in the open, and unshaded. There are some at the edge of the woods which are a lot nicer (G25). Lots of people, many of which had no campground etiquette: i.e. washing dishes at the water station and leaving the garbage from the dishes on the ground. Also walking right through your camp to the point I ran into a guy while walking out the door of our camper. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
Good stop over or weekend park. Plenty of activities (hiking, biking, golf, horses, boating) to keep active. No TV reception or Wi-Fi, and come well stocked because the nearest ‘anything’ is at least 15 miles. Alcoholic beverages are prohibited. Sites were large and level, camp was kept clean. Very few sites (10%) with full hoookups, most all were electric only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
We found this park to be a first class facility. The grass was mowed throughout the park, sites are level for the most part and it is the only Ohio State Park we have ever camped in where you could step out the door of your camper onto grass, not mud! I don't know how the park people manage to preserve the grass at the sides of the paved parking pads, but they do it at this park. Our only negative is that the park has only 20 sites which cannot be reserved. We arrived after the office closed, so we had to choose a non-reservable site. Not a problem since the park was only perhaps 5% occupied. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
As with most state parks in Ohio, the lots are pretty ample. We stayed in our hybrid travel trailer on a full service lot along a tree line but overlooking the lake. The lake has about 18B branches to it, so there are tons of nice lots. We much prefer roomy lots with maturity and character and despise parking lots of side by side campers with tiny trees. KOA's are not our favorite for lots. Shower houses were clean with hot water and pressure. Had privacy to get un/dressed. The dedicated toilet houses were closer but not quite as nice, but convenient. Not really too many activities in the campground per se, but lots to do around (boating, fishing, hiking, etc.) as its located in a nice state park. All roads and spots we saw are paved. Fire ring and nice picnic table in every spot. We'll camp here again for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
This is the largest Ohio State Park. The recreational opportunities are vast and varied. The campground is large and the sites are very nice. However, the restroom and show house facilities are showing their age. No amount of scrubbing will make them look clean. This park needs to model West Branch and upgrade their campground facilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Sites are very spacious and level. Campground was clean. Playground equipment is dated, but the kids had fun (7,5 and 3). Beach was quiet (fair amount of bird droppings). Campground is off the beaten path, no road noise. Staff was friendly. Store stocked all the necessities. Nice activities for the kids. Lots of trails. All in all another fabulous Ohio State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
Fishing but not a lot else to do. Nearest town of any size is 25+ miles. Very pretty with lots of wildlife and birds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
The third Ohio state park we have stayed at and the third we have been very pleased with. We stayed here with a group and will definitely go back on our own. Excellent facilities, wonderful trails. Clean and well kept. Sites are paved although not perfectly level. There are approximately 20 full hookup sites in the park, the rest are electric only. Shower houses are immaculate and have plenty of capacity, although there is not one in every loop. Rate paid does not reflect the Golden Buckeye discount (50% weekdays and 10% weekends). Watch the campground speed limit of 20 mph - it's vigorously enforced We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$38
We stayed here two nights over a weekend. The place is well kept, clean and there is a lot of space between each site. The park has great hiking trails and scenary in the fall. We have stayed here before and loved it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
This is a very nice park with a large lake, clean beach and plenty of trails. Although the park is easy to get to from Rt-22 (8 miles east of I-77), the campground is a few miles back from Rt-22 so that no (if any) roadway noise is heard, even at night. Recently upgraded sites now have 50 amp and full hook ups. The campground was very busy on the weekend but we did not feel it was too crowded. Bathrooms and showerhouses were kept clean and were well ventilated. While in the area, we visited other campgrounds (Spring Valley and Hillview Acres) and felt that the state park was much nicer and a better bargain. The park is about 10 miles from Cambridge (basically the I-77/70 split), so if you forget anything, it's a short drive to a Wal-Mart and K-Mart at that intechange. We also enjoyed eating at the Dancing Donkey on Rt-22...great BBQ. The only reason I didn't give this park a 10 is the abundance of critters, most especially skunks, that are frequent visitors to sites. It IS their territory, I know, but a bit surprising how bold and unafraid they are of campers. It would be nice if they could be controlled somehow, but being as this is a state park, probably unlikely. I would definitely recommend this campground to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
This park accepts Golden Buckeye Card discounts. Discount are less for weekends than weekdays. This is a beautiful park with 63 acre lake, boat docks, numerous hiking trails, a mountain bike trail, archery area,and the largest inland beach in Ohio. We did not have reservations so were given a choice of a few sites with electric hookup only. You definitely need to make reservations far in advance if planning on full hookups. Our campsite was level, grassy. There was adequate room between sites. I was told by another camper that the restrooms and showers are clean and well stocked. Water spigots are close by; however, you can not hook a hose up to spigot. All in all, this is a very nice state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
We loved this park. The loops are spaced out so that every group is not on top of each other. The sites are a bit closer than most the bigger Ohio state parks, but there are still very nice. We had a full hook up, everything worked, the people friendly, not overly crowded...scenic beauty. Very nice. Bathrooms were clean and they also had washer/dyers although we did not use them. There is a separate beach and marina for campers which makes that so very nice and less crowded. We are looking forward to returning soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$23
There are 192 electric only campsites and 20 sites with electric, water, and sewer hookups. The electric has been upgraded recently and 50 amp service is available at all sites. This park is very popular and reservations are suggested for weekends and holidays. It is fairly close to Cambridge, OH. The lake level was extremely low when we were there due to dam seepage problems. Many of the boat ramps and beach area were unusable due to the low water level. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$23
Large state park with easy access off I-77. The campground has been undergoing extensive upgrades to many sites in the sections, putting in full hook-ups and 50amp service. Sites are of all sizes, most are level and have both shaded and open areas. Restrooms were clean, well lit and ventillated. Swimming pool is located at the park lodge. Typical state park amenities included hiking, biking, boating, beach (separate one for campground), small camp store, etc. Close to local attractions like Zanesville Pottery & The Wilds. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com