220367 User submitted reviews online!!
Casey KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (217) 932-5319
CGID4116

Casey KOA

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   9   2   8   9   7   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
Usual KOA, but not satellite friendly at all and no cable. Just off I 70 and a good stop because not much else near by. Probably won't return and just plan better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$37
Nice, quiet shady park. Potholes in the access road have been filled in. Manager thought we might not get satellite from our site (44), but we got DirectTV with no problem. We opted for a non-sewer site. I marked it as "not pet friendly" due to their policy of no pet pens - an policy on which they were not at all flexible. One of our Bichon Friese's is a very nervous puppy mill rescue, and the pen is her safety net when outside the coach. Getting her to do her "business" outside the pen is next to impossible. I asked if I could set up the pen just long enough for her to do her thing, but that was not possible. This may not be important to non-pet people, but it is very important to us. It's also for that reason that I did not rate this park higher, and the reason we will not stay here again.I We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Although this campground is "out in the middle of nowhere," it's a very nice place. And it is nice to have a place out in the middle of nowhere when you've been traveling all day & just need a place to pull off & sleep for the night, which is what we did. Fairly level pull throughs, shady sites. Owners were friendly & helpful. Quite a bit of highway noise, though, and a train runs close by, too. Easy on & off the interstate. Would stay here again if passing through but wouldn't make it a destination point. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Very nice park with gravel roads throughout the park. Sites were level with plenty of room at each. Our site was water/electric only and met our needs well. Access from I-70 was a bit tricky (watch for the signs); entrance roads are 'country roads' - narrow but manageable. We arrived late but the host was there to escort us to the site. Pool, playground, lake, store all very nice. Office/store is typical KOA but very well maintained. Overall, this is a nice, well run campground and we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2012
$36
We stayed here twice. First time was pleasant. Lady manager was nice. Did not use sewer. Sewer on assigned pull through was too far toward back of site, and male manager denied relocation. Park was less than 10% occupied. Convenient first and last trip location, but will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
Shady, gravel level and nice sites.This was our second year to visit here. The hosts are very helpful and friendly. Restrooms typical KOA-clean and efficient. No cable TV. Easy to get to from the freeway, good one night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
Very clean bathrooms and showers. Nice pool, game room, and playground. Easy access to the highway, but not close enough to interfere with outdoor enjoyment or a good night's sleep. Lots of shade trees, nice lake for fishing, plenty of room for our kids to play. Some nice restaurants and a grocery store within as couple of miles. Owners were pleasant and professional. Lots were gravel and level with easy turns. We would not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$34
The Casey KOA was much nicer than it seemed from the I-70 exit. In the middle of the "flatland prairie" is this small oasis-like hammock of trees blanketing this RV Park. We didn’t expect much as we got off the exit but were pleasantly surprised by it's calm coziness. We were reminded of "If you build it they will come”. I’m glad they did and we’ll come back. It’s a very nice sleepover spot on your way to or from anywhere or you could stay a few days and relieve all your tensions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$34
Older heavily wooded KOA. Roads & sites are gravel. Many shallow potholes with water in them. Maneuvering my 40 footer with a tow was OK. Received AT&T cell but not G3 data service. Could not receive Satellite with roof dish but did with my Qube dish. Park was very quiet and not very many campers. I would return to this KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
Very clean bathrooms and showers. Nice pool. Good Wi-Fi. Previous reviews noted nearby highway noise as an issue. We did not find the traffic hum loud enough to interfere with outdoor enjoyment or a good night's sleep. We liked the beautiful surroundings, with tall shade trees and a lovely fishing pond surrounded by acres of corn and soybean fields. A pot of marigolds was on each picnic table and guests received free fresh-baked cookies on check-in. Owners were pleasant and professional. The view of the small red barn on the far side of the pond at sunset was picture-postcard-pretty. We would not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
Park is located a ways from everything (groceries, supplies, etc) except the highway. Great pool, nice owners, fairly level sites throughout. No cable or over the air signal for TV, satellite is a challenge. Very good for an overnight, would use for a long term destination if you really wanted to get away from it all (minus the highway noise). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
The sites here are nice with lots of room and shade. The park also has a very nice laundry facility. However, the 50 amp service was not working properly, seemed like a improper ground. We even changed sites and the 50 amp service seemed to work at the second site at first, but as soon as a load was put on it, it failed. None of the pull through sites have sewer hookups and from what I could see there were no sites with sewer hookups. They do have a dump station. I would probably not stay here again due to the problem with the electrical and lack of sewer hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
This is a smaller KOA campground. The park was tidy and bathhouse was clean. The sites are nice in size and the back-in sites do have trees that offer shade. The only issues we noticed during our stay were: 1) The pool was crumbling around the edges in several areas leaving small pieces of concrete to fall into the water and get stepped on (not good on bare feet), 2) The playground is OLD and barely had anything for our young son to play on. 3) The road leading to the campground is rough with a lot of pot holes and if you are not careful, you can bottom out your RV and cause some damage. During our stay, the winds got really rough and started causing damage to our site (a back in by the farm field). We requested to be moved into a pull-through site so we could get out of the wind and shelter our camper. At first, we were told "no, we don't let pop-ups on our pull throughs", but we stated unless we could move, we would have to leave and they agreed to move us. Since the park was over 50% empty, I don't see the issue of letting a pop-up on an empty pull-through, especially when you are willing to pay for it. We probably won't be going back because it was nearly 3 hours of a drive to get there and we were kind of disappointed. Plus, the problems we had with our request to be re-located left a little sour taste. Luckily, we were there with several over camp friends and had a good time with them. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
Right on the freeway. Water leaked from their faucets, actually kind of gushed out. Dog owners: you are not allowed to set up X-pens! Management helpful, but not particularly friendly. There seemed to be many seasonal RVs/mobile homes. Restrooms were clean, but shower curtains were about a foot too short, so water got over everything. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
Very nice and very clean we stayed here for 2 nights on our way home to Galena from FL we went out of our way to stay here as a little side trip glad we did the owners are very nice. Looks like they have a very nice pool was not open when we came just because the time of year. Camp site is far enough away from high way not much noise like most. I can say the laundry room and the bath rooms are one of the best! i have encountered you can tell the owners have pride of ownership if you are going to FL or coming back to north IL take a side trip thanks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
Clean, quiet, well-groomed campground. Restrooms/showers were very clean. Has lots of activities. Pool is very nice. Owners/staff are friendly and helpful. Our pull-through site was long and level. Close to I-70 but noise wasn't a problem. Seem to be several seasonal campers here. Needs gravel added to roads and sites. Overall a very nice park, we would stay at again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
Nice little park with friendly people. We had a spot right by Lake Itty Bit. Next time we'll bring our fishing poles. The bathrooms are clean and well maintained, and the spots are level and shady. We will stay here again when we get a chance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
First KOA that we have used. Was a very clean park and well maintained. Staff was very friendly, and we were taken right to our pull through spot, large enough that we did not unhook our crew cab truck from the 38' trailer. Hook ups were good, only issue: there was the sewer drain was on a somewhat higher ground. WiFi was terribly slow but still managed to check the email. Showers, bathrooms and laundry were very well kept. The pool was being prepared to be opened, but not until the afternoon we left. We are likely to use this spot again if we are back in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
Fairly typical KOA, but office was friendly and we were escorted and helped to maneuver into our site. Would have liked to have had a stronger Wi-Fi signal and the availability of cable TV. Utilities were well placed and site was long and level. Would stay here again. Stayed one night in a water and electric pull-through site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
Nice enough park. Very shady sites with easy access. The only negative was no cable avaialable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$41
Nice campground. Very close to the interstate but without most of the traffic noise that plagues a lot of KOA's. The pool was very nice and the restroom/shower facilities clean and well-kept. Level spot with convenient hook-ups. Only unpleasant surprise was an extra charge for the kids on check-in: when the reservation was made, the kids were supposed to be free. The campground was a bit on the expensive side for what you get, considering it's mostly an overnight stopover campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
I enjoyed this campground. It's surrounded by cornfields. It has very friendly staff and nice little store. The store rented fishing poles for the lake on site. The pool was great for the kids and adults. Spaces are a good size, but I had to unhook. There was a fire ring and table on site. Permanent residents here, but their sites were nice and clean. The entire campground was clean. Highway is visible from the campground, but there was no noise. Was not hard to get back to freeway. I would return here if I were in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
This is an older campground. The Wi-Fi really does not work. The main drive is full of potholes and the playground is very dated. On the other hand, the bath house has music playing all the time and there are flowers everywhere! Nice place to stay. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
This is a really nice family and pet friendly park. The sites are level, gravel, and spacious. Easy access to the highway and the well maintained sites. There are plenty of activities for children and adults. Lots of shade and open areas for pets. There is a large fishing lake and a really nice pool. Weekends have movie nights, ice cream socials on Saturday night, and pancake breakfast on Sunday. Store is well stocked and an RV repair center on site. Staff is very friendly, as were the other guests. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
This was a very nice family campground. But it is set back off of the interstate a little ways. It was quiet, clean, and the management were extremely helpful. We will definitely stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$60
Very friendly, family atmosphere at this park. They had nice programs for the entire family: including biscuits and gravy. When we came late: they gladly heated us up a batch! They never treated us like we were putting them out. The bathrooms were super clean as were the showers. Totally recommend!! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$37
We enjoyed visiting this park; it's a reminder of what all of the KOA's used to be - clean, neatly manicured, nice facilities, and family oriented activities. On the other hand, the sites are small, the trees prevent use of a satellite (and there's no cable), most of the sites are 30A only, the roads are gravel and potholed, and the price is exorbitant for an overnight stay. It's a great weekend destination park for families, but at this time of year, the facilities aren't usable and there aren't any activities during the week, so a weekday overnight is overly priced. Casey is a small town with not much to offer and there's not much in the area, but the park is a nice place to just relax and enjoy the birds. This is a nice park, but due to the price we won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
This is a good overnight place. I agree with the previous poster about the roads needing new graveling. Owners are re-graveling some sites & upgrading some utilities, so upkeep is definitely going on. There is a nice country feel with view of farm fields; far enough off interstate to reduce road noise. Wi-fi was very slow so I gave up on using it. The owners were friendly and helpful. Sites were tight, typical KOA size. RV sales/repair shop was on the property - not sure if it has same owners or just leasing space, but the repair shop could prove handy. There were clean facilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
A clean, friendly, and convenient campground less than one mile from the interstate. Owners were friendly and helpful. The pool and grounds were clean and well maintained. A beautiful flower pot on every picnic table. Ice cream and movie for kids on Sat night. WiFi speed just ok. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
Attractive park. Near I-70 but quiet. Owners very friendly. Roads need new gravel, lots of standing water when it rains. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
Quiet campground just off the interstate. We stayed for one night. Campground hosts were very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
The owners and work campers were friendly and very helpful. They even opened the game room especially for my husband (we had arrived a little late...) Every picnic table has a flowering pot of marigolds and that was such a nice touch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
Facility is getting on in age, and showing it. While clean, it is showing lack of care such as Spiders in the restrooms, and cockroach in the shower stall. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
Neat, clean park. Out in a cornfield so it is flat! Did not have full hookup available so had w/e only. Since it was just an overnight, that was fine with us. People in the office were very nice and helpful. Helped make reservation for the next night at KOA Lebanon, MO. Good overnight stop before getting to St. Louis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
As KOA campgrounds go, this one was nice. Shady, clean and quiet. The roads were very tight for us (40'). We arrived after dark. Normally, the campgrounds leave pamphlets with a spot marked, but not this one. After walking around in the dark for a bit looking for a spot, the very grumpy owner came out and led us to a spot. Not sure if I blame him or not, as we came in at 11 PM. Other than that, it was a pleasant experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
This is a nice park with all of the amenities that you would expect at a KOA. The owners are very friendly and go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. They even use a two ply toilet tissue instead of the cheap stuff. The park has many shade trees and a large pond. To me, the park is like an oasis in the middle of a corn field. We will definitely stop here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$32
This park is extremely easy to get to from I-70, although the short access road is narrow and dusty. The park is in the middle of a cornfield, but it is very nice and clean. The cornfields actually give a nice feeling to the park. This park is perfect for an overnight stop if you are traveling on I-70. Hookups are in good shape. Wireless internet (free) worked fine the first time with no problems. People are friendly, owner drives you to the site in a golf cart and makes sure you are OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$33
Nice shady campground, they managed to make it somewhat secluded feeling even though it is in the middle of a cornfield. Each site has a tree and a planted flower pot on each picnic table, which was a nice touch. Hosts very visible throughout stay (overnighter). Easy on/off I70. Host asked us not to flush tanks as the sewer was full. Pricey for an overnighter. rates are for 2 people only, each child is an extra 2 bucks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
Nice campground with friendly enough staff. Arrived after dark and was greeted by host sitting outside enjoying the evening. Was directed to pull-thru site by one of the hosts. Would definitely stay here again. Only issue was the dusty road getting in and out of the campground - and I have seen worse. I was pulling an open trailer with a motorcycle that got very dusty. When the dew settled, I had moist dust! Was quiet, peaceful, and dark. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
One owner is very friendly/helpful and made us feel at home. The other owner is nice too but more concerned with the work of running a great campground. After he showed us to our site and helped us park, I saw him mowing empty sites. He also let a camper know his car was sticking out in the road, so he could move it and not get hit. The rest room/showers were very clean, with flowers on the counter and music playing. There are two large pet walk areas. It's a beautiful area with views of the country. I didn't swim but the pool looked clean/inviting. The other campers seemed genuinely happy here as they ate dinner or sat by a fire. I could vaguely hear I70 when I was outside but could not while in the trailer with the fan on. I felt very comfortable here and plan to stay again. We overnighted in a travel trailer with our dog on our way to/from our vacation destination. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com