218609 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Lowndes State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (662) 328-2110
CGID4118

Lake Lowndes State Park

Camp Information
Sites
58
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   9   8   10   6   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
A very nice place to spend a few days. The bathrooms/shower are a bit tired, but work well. Unfortunately, we parked over the top of an ant hill and had an invasion. A little spray of ant killer did the trick. Very peaceful and beautiful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$20
We enjoyed our stay here. Host was friendly and helpful. There were about a dozen sites occupied while we were here. Most appeared to be long term. However, their sites were clean and well kept. So, there was no unsightly appearances. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$18
I grew up in this area and have always loved this park. It is located on a 150 acre lak. You can picnic, fish, hike, etc. They have a facility where you can play tennis, soccer, basketball, etc. The only complaint I had this time would be with the bathrooms. I feel they could have been maintained and cleaned better than they were. We did come on a busy week (spring break) and there was a lot of traffic in and out of the bathroom which may account for it being messy. It would not deter me from going again because this is such a nice park and after all you are "camping". They are pet friendly and have a very nice staff. You can come and go as you want and they do not lock the gate at night which is very helpful for late arrivals. All in all don't pass this park up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Sites are situated among tall pines with a paved parking pad. Site includes a large picnic table, fire ring, and pedestal grill. Our site number 12 was full hookup, 50amp, including sewer with a view of the lake. We had reservations but arrived after the office closed. There was an orange cone at our site indicating it was reserved. As we were setting up, around 6pm, the park ranger came by and gave us our park pass. Very convenient to be able to arrive after office hours. The park is beautiful and well maintained. Located approximately 20 minutes from Columbus Motor Speedway (dirt track). AT&T had one bar connection (EDGE) and was very slow and unreliable. No Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
We loved this little state park. The sites are VERY large, some are very private. Of course, the lake side sites are best. I like that you can reserve the site you want, some state parks don't take reservations at all! Sites are paved with concrete patios. Wonderful for dogs. We stayed in 036 and loved the wonderful "yard" and long view of the lake. We will return often to visit relatives nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
Apparently the State of Mississippi has entered into the business of subsidized housing. The recent policy is to allow rentals for about 20 sites by the month at a rate of about 50% the norm, which I have never seen in a state park. There were at least 3 sites in my immediate vicinity that went completely unoccupied over the holiday weekend despite having RVs parked in them. I'm sure the folks camping in the overflow, with only electricity appreciated that. Those nearby sites were starting to show signs of being rentals, as opposed to campsites. I am disappointed as this is otherwise such a nice park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$12
Very nice park. good roads and large enough for big rigs. Very close to town for dinner or recreation. Will easily stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$16
Despite what the web site says, all sites now have sewer connections. The park was recently upgraded. The sites are pretty level and well spaced. When we made reservations, the only sites listed as having sewer (1-10) are quite short and cramped. We were happy to see all sites now have full hook-ups. Hiking trail around lake was pretty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2005
$16
Very nice, clean state park. When we were hooking up our microwave shorted out. Hope is wasn't from a voltage problem with that site, but we moved to a different one and everything else worked. Only stayed here one night but it seems like the type of place that we would visit again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com