214822 User submitted reviews online!!
St. Louis N.E. / I-270 Granite City KOA was rated 5 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (618) 931-5160
CGID4121

St. Louis N.E. / I-270 Granite City KOA

Camp Information
Sites
74
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   6   4   1   8   9   5   6   10   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
I gave this campground a 3 only because of the location, which is an easy drive to downtown St. Louis. Everything on the site worked except the WiFi. The campground itself was in the middle of an industrial area near busy railroad tracks, and there was a dirt bike track nearby that ran, loudly, until midnight. It also had a dirty, run down look to it. I believe the owner's residence is a trailer right next to the office, and it is dirty, overgrown, run down, and the first thing you see when you drive in. There was a bouncing pillow that looked like it had not been cleaned since it was installed, and the bathrooms, while they seemed clean, stunk of sewage, like there was a serious ventilation problem. They also stunk up the entire office. This KOA is OK for an overnight, but I would not recommend it for a longer stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$42
We stayed 3 nights. The campground has gravel roads and gravel sites. The site was easy in/out, full hook up, 50amps, cable and level. The campground was very dusty and the host would not allow us to wash the rig. Dish Satellite was good. Typical KOA, but did not see any children. The campground is in a noisy area and should be priced lower. Trains sounded their horn all through the night and day. Truck noise was heard during the day. On Thursday night it sounded like their was a motorcycle race track nearby that lasted from 6pm to 10pm. Close to St Louis and a Walmart is nearby. FYI, the Arch was closed due to the Government shutdown. We will not stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Overnight stop. Muddy site, road next to our site had trucks speeding back and forth most of the night. This place needs a lot of help with maintenance. Lots of long term campers. Will most likely not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2012
$46
We stayed here Sept 26, 2012 and will NEVER stay here again. It was dirty with all kinds of things lying all over the grounds. Noisy party people were yelling, "Bring me my wine bottle!" Staff did not tell us we couldn't use 2 laptops, and we needed to use 2 of them! We were packed in like sardines. Staff was not friendly, not even a thank you when we registered. Its located is in a heavy equipment area, scary! Just not a good experience at all. *Shivers* creepy! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
A stayed at this park in 1999 and came back to see how it fared. Don't let the surroundings deter you, it's a nice little place, very convenient to St.Louis attractions. The people were friendly, the facilities very clean and well taken care of. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Have stayed here several times and have no complaints. Great place to camp and a bar down the street that reminds me of home. Good people all around. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
This camp was clean, but being an older campground, looked outdated and was located in an industrial area. It had all the essentials: roomy lots, convenient hook-ups, laundry facility, and store. We did see a pool, and cabins, and dog park as well, but had no need for these on this trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Well, you don't have many choices for the St Louis area! When you are trying to find this KOA you are thinking, "What the heck; where am I?" It is located in an industrial area. However, you pull in, and it is like an oasis in the middle of a city. Staff is friendly. Pool was nice. Seems like lots of long term campers/workers here. Close to the monument downtown. I would time it so I could stay somewhere else unless I was touring St Louis. Just not a lot of choices anywhere around here though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$36
This is a great little park. It's close to all the St. Louis attractions. The park is an older one but it is clean and quite. The host was very helpful with directions and a sent us to a great place to have dinner. They have a jumping pillow that the kids just loved. We will be back whenever we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2012
$36
Wireless did not work, staff said "never works in the rain". Laundry not available due to water line break, with no evidence it was being fixed. The staff seemed surly. I had no problem with location adjacent to industrial uses. These remain quiet at night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
We have stayed at many KOA's and this had to be the worst so far. It is a rundown industrial area. There is a truck yard and also a school bus yard near the park and there was a lot of noise from whose all the time. The trucks day and night and the school buses all leaving in the morning and coming back and then leaving again in the late afternoon and then coming back. The park is rundown and very dusty. As a previous reviewer stated there seem to be a lot of full time people who live here and they have canopies over their vehicles. The office staff were friendly and helpful enough toward us and the pool seemed nice but was closed in Sept. when we were there. Considering the constant noise, dusty conditions and the overall shape the park was in we would probably not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
Park was OK for an older KOA but was not in a very good part of town. Cable was good, but Wi-Fi (Tengo) kicked you off a lot. Our site was pretty level and long enough for a big rig. Road and train noise and a lot of traffic down the side road (trucks and school buses). Decent access to St. Louis. Pool closed down for the season. Probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
This is probably one of the most run down KOA's we've ever stayed at. It's all gravel and dusty. Lots of portable carports all over the place (over motorhomes, over motorcycles... just made the place look junky) located in an industrial area. The staff was a bit testy regarding pets. It just wasn't what we've come to expect in an KOA park. They did have a nice pool and playground for the kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
Cabin was clean and a nice mattress. Pool was clean and well kept. Bathroom and showers were clean and in good shape. Campground was poorly maintained and needed to update and redo their landscaping. Poor neighborhood located near train tracks and parking lot for trucks, etc. Sites were level with hookups and easy to pull through. We stayed in a cabin, it had TV with antenna, no cable, A/C and heat. Fairly experience, but we would not go their again! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
I would never stay here or recommend this place to anyone! When we arrived, the site they assigned to us smelled of sewer. We asked to be moved and the next site still smelled slightly of sewer. I came to realize that there was nowhere in the campground that didn't smell. There is also a train that runs near the campground, all night long. This kept waking us up. Not a pleasant experience for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$53
The bathhouse, playground, and pool were nice. This KOA's close proximity to St. Louis was excellent. I have given this a 3 rating for 2 reasons. 1. The campground is located in the center of a working industrial park. Tractor trailers were getting loaded and pulling out in the wee hours of the morning. 2. A freight train line borders the property. Unfortunately, the train horn was constant throughout the night. It was very hard to get a decent night's sleep. Our home is located on a highway. We are heavy sleepers and we still had trouble. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
The campground was clean and well kept. The bathrooms were clean. The sites were fairly close together. Although the quiet hours are 9 p.m. to 8 a.m., the campground is surrounded by an industrial area, so we heard trucks and trains throughout our stay. The site was adequate and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
We stayed here for two nights while visiting friends in St. Louis. Our daughters loved the warm pool: it was clean and comfortable and one of the best pools of our six-week trip. The location is convenient to the city, and although in an industrial area, was clean and safe enough that we could let our daughters roam the campground on their bikes. The loved the playground and bouncy pillow...what a treat! If we were in the area again, we would definitely return to this KOA, which we usually avoid as over-priced and over-crowded. This was a down-to-earth place and a great value. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$44
No KOA signage visible coming from east on Chain of Rocks Road caused us to miss the turn into campground. Dreary industrial surrounding area. Low energy but polite greeting by desk staff and we were led to our pull through, full hookup, level site. We had to sign up for expensive 50/30 pull through, FHU since lesser cost sites showed as not available via KOA website reservations system, although many empty more economical sites were in evidence when we arrived. No cable TV. Store had almost nothing in stock. Clean laundry room with washer for larger items and I appreciated the dryer available at 25 cents/7 minutes. Bathrooms adequate, liked the trough in shower which drains to side rather than drain at feet. Really nice clean, almost too-warm pool, kids playground with bouncy pillow, all free. Multiple new little trees planted are evidence of work on enhancing landscaping. Tengo WiFi difficult as almost always to log on but once finally on had passable speed, and was free: had to ask for code for each laptop at office. No waste bags in empty dispenser at dog exercise area. Mosquitos were dauntingly fierce. Unthreaded pipe for sewer which didn’t fit any standard sewer donuts and stank. Neighbor’s stinky sewer connection and the bugs made for unpleasant dinner grilling experience. Road noise was bad and I am not sure what the unpleasant and penetrating loud noise late into the night Friday (past 11pm) could have been but a very close-by racecar track. All in all too expensive for what we received. We would probably seek an alternative to staying again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Bathrooms are in excellent condition - both clean and modern. Level spot. Quiet hours are 8 PM to 9 AM, which seemed unusual and if they are serious about this, they need to tell people, especially those with children because most people probably don't read the rules and would overlook this. Quiet hours were not observed the night we were here. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
This was a fine place for a one-night stay also. It was rather close to a train track, but that one didn't run: we did hear the one another 3 miles away a few times (not loud). The kids enjoyed the jumping pillow. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This park is in an industrial area and is easilly passed buy if you are coming from the east. It is well maintained and clean and management seemed ok. It is a good park for a one night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
We stayed here 3 weeks while working in the area, A first for me was the weekly rate of $140.00 plus electric, which is about $30.00. Like most KOAs it is older and priced on the high side. The park was kept neat and clean, the Wi-FI was weak. The pool was nice. Lot of trees and flowers. It is in an industrial area which is not the fault of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
This campground is in an industrial setting. It's very hard to find. Once here, it's pleasant. Typical older KOA: fairly clean and sites are close together. The staff is friendly and tries to accommodate your needs. They need to put up GPS directions, because if you use your GPS coming from Indiana, it gives you a bogus destination which is just a commercial site. It is not well marked. Finally, after a phone call and turning around, we found it going the other direction. There was a very small sign. Frustration that's not needed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
A very nice campground located in an industrial kind of area. The only downside was it's proximity to a race track. It was very noisy when they were racing or up late in the night. Other than that, this is a very nice spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$37
This park is not up to par for a KOA campground: it is very difficult to find. It is an afterthought of a campground. KOA needs to either to state it as is, or not state at all. This campground is very run down and has no privacy at all. It is very jumbled together and is nothing as described. We made it okay but will not be back. We have a dog with us and it is not an area for walking your dog. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
This KOA is in a very urban environment. Be aware of this. There is nothing scenic about this location, though it is convenient for St Louis. The RV sites are tightly packed and the park itself is quite small. There is ONE restroom for the entire campground! Three toilets, three showers. There was always a line in the ladies. They were reasonably clean, but very heavily used. The playground is nice and the pool was in good condition. We were tent camping and had one major problem -- the trains!!! There were four trains through during the night and the campground is literally right next to the tracks, separated only by a hedge from the railroad tracks. The earth shook and vibrated for long periods of time, the whistle was right outside of your tent (because of a nearby crossing), and it was an absolutely terrifying experience. I got approximately two hours of sleep. My son cried and held his hands over his ears each time that he was awakened by the vibrations of another train approaching. I would never ever stay at this campground again and would highly recommend any tent campers to steer well clear. The tent area is the closest part of the campground to the train tracks! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We arrived without reservations and a shredded tire on the truck. They were FULL but allowed us in the overflow for a night. Very helpful and I was able to replace the tire at COLLINSVILLE AUTO & TIRE We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$98
We planned a large family trip (5hrs away) to St.Louis Zoo and camping Friday and Saturday nights. Our group was 21 people, 14 adults and 7 kids, we had one pop-up camper and the rest were tents. I made the reservations by phone to the campground almost 4 weeks in advance. I was told that we would pay a group rate for the tent camping of $6.50 per person per night,(15 people) plus the pop-up. That was fine, so I made the reservations, gave credit card for pop-up site and again for tent camping, like you do at other campgrounds. Then before we even left for the trip I got my credit card statement and was already charged for one night on the pop-up and tents, never had that done before, usually have had them run the card when I arrive. Okay, that was fine. I figured out what each family was going to need to pay for the trip and had given them all their totals. First thing was campground looked pretty nice, then we seen the sign for NO CAMPFIRES! What is camping with no campfires! We planned on stick roasting hot dogs at night! Okay, we could live with that, weren’t real happy about it but would deal with it. Sat around about an hour just relaxing and then started setting up camp. The next few people in our group arrived and when the checked in to see where are sites where they were asked if they were scouts, they said no, they were with my group. The lady at the desk (owner) then showed them to our site. She pulled up in her golf cart, said to me that there was a problem with the reservations; she thought we were a scout group. I told her I didn’t know where that came from because as you could tell we didn’t look like a scout group. She then said she could give us the sites for that night at that rate but, the next night would have to be at a regular rate. I said okay, I would have to figure that out, after figuring it, it was going to cost an additional $50-60 if we took one of the tents down and stuck people in other tents. She then drove her cart through our camp site; stop by where we had a beer box sitting looked and drove off. Most of our group is well over the drinking age. Well we talked about it for a while and tried to look on online on our phones to see if we could find another campground close by (remember we are already half set up). She came back with the credit card slip for me to sign where she had credited back the one night and figured the next at the new rate. I asked her way we had to pay for their mistake and she just said we though you were a scout group. Everyone was pretty upset because we had budgeted X amount of money for the trip and now had to pay more for their mistake. My husband and I decided it would be a pain to take down tents and pack everything up and move to another campground (when all we wanted to do was have a relaxing fun trip) so He and I would just pay the difference. I went up to pay the difference and she did give us a little discount but, no apology, and it is still the idea that it was there mistake and we had to pay for it, that’s why we make reservations. As for the campground, it was pretty clean, pool was nice, the no campfires and quit hours 8pm – 9am (13hours) were very different. I would not recommend this campground and will not be staying here again. We do a lot of large group camp trips. We have done a once or twice a year trip to Wisc., for the last 6 years, that includes 40-60 people and have never had this kind of problem. Our age group for this trip was between 3 months – 55 years old. If you are a family that just likes to relax and have fun as a family, I would look for a different campground than this one. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$44
Overall, I'd label this park as being "okay". If you just need a place to sleep, then it might work. We stayed here to visit family in the area and "break in" our camping season, taking advatange of a free night promotion for this particular weekend - stay Friday night, get Saturday night free. So the total cost for two nights was $44 instead of $88. Let me say that I can't imagine any scenario in which I would pay $88 to stay here for a weekend... it just isn't that nice. The staff was very friendly and sites were nice and level, but they were extremely close together with only a 5 foot strip of grass between sites in some places. And maybe this is more common than I realize, but this park does not allow campfires! I couldn't believe that when I read it in the long list of fine print handed to us at check-in; it does not seem to be stated clearly on their website, and the website logo for this weekend promo was a campfire drawing. I incorrectly assumed that fires would be common and plentiful throughout the park, as in every other campground I've ever stayed in. To me, the campfire social atmosphere is what gets RVers out of their rigs and away from the satellite TV and internet to actually spend time meeting one another. Instead, I rarely saw anyone walking around doing anything outside of their RV. Everyone was holed up with the shades drawn. It was kind of depressing, and made us NOT want to be there for any length of time. I would blame this on the early season time frame, but the park was almost full so that wasn't the issue. The park is not very easy to find when approaching from one direction (the way we came) and we drove past it at first, but there are huge signs when coming off the interstate from the other direction. Perhaps some equal signs on both sides of the entrance would be helpful. The grounds are right in the middle of a bunch of industrial trucking complexes that offer quite a bit of semi truck noise throughout the day. Pretty strange place for a landlocked campground, but the website explains that none of those companies were there when the place was bought by its current owners many years ago. Not their fault I guess, but unforunately it didn't make the stay any more enjoyable. There are some obvious permanent RV residents at the campground, with RV's surrounded by skirting and other indicators of non-mobility. That's never visually attractive as a weekend/vacationer, but part of doing business I suppose. The pool was not yet open for the season, but that was stated on the website so I knew in advance. Wifi was free, but handled through a 3rd-party company website and somewhat complicated to connect using an online coupon code. We also lost connectivity after about 60-90 minutes of use (maybe it's only free for that first portion?) but it wasn't worth figuing out the problem so we just didn't use it anymore. The playground is nice, and my kids enjoyed it during the hour or two each day when we were at the park. The rest of our stay was spent away from the park, and that was perfectly fine. We are looking for a southern Illinois camping home for family visits and a place to gather and relax, and have learned that this campground will probably not be the one. Due to the location and fairly high regular rates, we will likely not be returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$37
An expensive place to park for the night. Located next to an industrial park. If traveling east on I-270, this is a great place to stop and beat the St. Louis morning traffic. No CATV. Great dog run and dog walking area. Front office person did escort us to the site. Quiet park away from the main roadway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
The park is sort of an Oasis that pops up in a noisy and not so desirable part of the St. Louis area. Owners were friendly and campground was well cared for. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$33
This park was very clean, but in need of updates. Typical older KOA. The showers were clean but very old and dated. They need a complete redo. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It rained while we were there and in no time, we were completely flooded at our site. They obviously experience this a lot as they brought out siphons. However, it took over 48 hours to recede. Adding gravel to the sites and road would certainly help. Many campers were forced to leave because they have 5-6 inches of water at their sites. They should certainly take care of these low-level sites. The campground is in the middle of a very industrial area, although we felt quite safe. The stores are about 4 miles away. There are trains and trains and more trains. The tracks are right next to the campground and the trains at 6 PM and 6 AM blow very loud whistles three times each time they came to the campground. Although we dealt with it, it was noisy. All this said, I think it was the better of campground choices around the St. Louis area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$38
The site was in an industrial/commercial area of town and was one of the worst KOA's we have ever stayed at. It was a little challenging navigating te site with our RV and tow vehicle, but we did manage to make the tight turn into our site. We stayed here on night just passing thru the area. Would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Park is located in industrial area. Very dusty location. OK for an overnight stay. Playground was very well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
Among the worst...It looked so bad, we DIDN'T even stay here; it looked so bad, being in the middle of an industrial area. The place looked tired and sad, with plenty of older units cluttering up the grounds. To be honest, we were kind of scared when we drove in. Staff very unhelpful...told that wifi was down, when asked when it would be back up...told "any day now" even though we were also told it had been down for many months. Collected our deposit and pulled right out...KOA needs to pull this franchise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2005
$35
I stayed in this CG overnight on a cross country trip. I don't usually expect too much from such stays, but this was the ugliest place I have ever been. CG is set down in the middle of a few industrial parking lots. Amazing to see people put out the awnings and beach chairs as though they were in Yosemite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2005
$29
The park is easy access to I-270 but it is in an industrial area. Semi transport companies surround the campground. Railroad tracks are close by. There was an escort to the site, but the staffmember who checked us in was not very friendly. She did not even know that a highly recognized bike trail was just out the front door. The sites are very narrow for big rigs with slide outs and awnings. We visited during a draught and the gravel roads were very dusty. The sites were level enough. WiFi is offered but is not free. This would be a good campground for overnight, but not for an extended stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com