224106 User submitted reviews online!!
Tompkins COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (570) 827-2109
CGID4123

Tompkins COE

Camp Information
Sites
123
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   8   10   9   9   10   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$17
Rate is for U.S. Senior Pass. Paved roads and each site has paved parking with a graveled area for picnic tables, tents and fire rings. Quiet area on COE lake. Lots of fishing and kayaking. Swimming beach is shallow with sand beach good for kids. Rest rooms and showers were well built but not too well maintained recently. Men's shower had no curtains so everything in vicinity got wet. Local roads poor for cycling with no shoulders, broken pavement and 55 MPH speed limit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$17
Rate reflects senior discount. Tompkins Campground is on the PA side of the NY/PA state line just south of Corning. Arriving at the campground from Corning is rather interesting. There is road construction, county roads, and more county roads. Once you follow the sign to the campground you wonder if you’ve accidentally turned onto the wrong road as you are on a narrow patched bit of barely-over-one-lane blacktop. After a short distance you cross into PA and the road improves considerably as you pass under Hwy 15. Then it deteriorates a bit as you travel the final miles to the campground. You might say that there are three different campgrounds. The best area is along the lake. These are full hookup/50 amp sites with a beautiful view of the lake. The next best area is on the hill away from the lake. Even though Cowanesque Lake is near by, you can’t see it for the trees. The sites, though, are big and mostly level with full hookups and 50 amps. The third area generally lacks sewer hookups and some sites have only 30 amps. It’s nice enough though, especially for weekend campers. Also, the pricing structure reflects the different levels of campsites. There are playgrounds, horseshoe pits, a laundry, and for the boaters a nice dock. The Corning Museum of Glass, Watkins Glen State Park (with wonderful waterfalls), and the scenic “Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania” are all reasonably close by. There’s no park Wi-Fi and my Verizon cell hot spot barely worked (and that’s with a signal booster). If you are looking for a nice, quiet camp spot look no farther, this is it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$17
This is a very nice COE campground. Sites are paved and the lake is wonderful. The beach sites are coveted because they are on the water. The marina this year was leased out to a private company who not only operate it but have a lunch wagon and deliver ice and wood to campsites daily. Nice folks. Unfortunately the beach area is closed so swimming for young children is at your own risk. Seaweed has become a problem as well. Campers who have boats can moor them for $3 a night. Good bird watching - eagles and osprey especially. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$16
This campground is excellent. We were camping in a grove of Hickory trees that provided lots of shade. The park attendants are very friendly and the grounds are well maintained. The only downside is the beach is closed because of zebra mussels. Boat mooring is only $3 a night for campers. A great lake to kayak on and lots of eagles and osprey to watch. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Nice COE Park. The real nice sites were along the water loop with plenty of space and level. We stayed in the upper loop not quite as level and short sites for a 40' MH. Difficult runs to the utilities (long) needed 60 feet of electric cable to make the box. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This was our first time in a COE campground. I gave it a 9 only because I believe 10's are exceptional. That having been said, this is a beautiful, well run park. Quiet, peaceful and well laid out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This was our first stay at this Corps of Engineer Park (almost like a National Park), though we have stayed at it's sister park about 11 miles away: Ives Run. We both liked this park a bit more than Ives Run do to the large shaded sites available. All sites have paved drives for your RV along with a pea gravel patio type spot for the picnic table and pole with hook to hang your lantern. Very nice! A fire ring with grill top is also included in each site. Very handy to cook over a campfire as we, and our neighbors did for breakfast. There are a handful of water front sites on Cowanesque Lake, but the ranger tells us these sites are always booked months in advance. The lake itself is great for kayaking, which is why we choose this CG (and Ives Run) and small boating and fishing. Quiet, peaceful (even families with small kids) friendly staff and beautiful surroundings make this just about a perfect campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Beautiful and well maintained. We actually only spent $14.00/night because of our senior pass discount, a really great deal. Not much for kids to do, but for us that was a plus. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$14
Gorgeous campground -sites are spacious, paved. Quiet! A pet friendly campground. Lots of chipmunks to watch. It is not far from PA Grand Canyon for a day trip. Price reflects Golden age passport 50% discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
Campground sites are spacious and the view is gorgeous. A pet friendly campground. Nice for viewing otters, various birds and chipmunks. Has a boat launch for the small but beautiful lake. People were helpful and friendly. Lots of walking available. It is not far from PA Grand Canyon and Tioga / Hammond Lakes. Beautiful scenery. I didn't want to leave. Will definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
This is the nicest campground we ever stayed in. The sites are large and the grounds are immaculate. This is the perfect place to get away from it all. No phone or TV reception. You do have a beautiful view of Lake Cowanesque. Can't wait to camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
This Corp of Engineers campground is one of the finest most enjoyable parks we've stayed at. The sites are large, have paved roads, paved parking pads, blocked out gravel pads for tables, firepit, and extra tent site at every RC site we saw. There is also a short hike in tent site. Many sites are in view of the lake, there is a boat launch, and there is a nice beach for swimming. This place even has a fully equiped fish cleaning station. The staff is extremely friendly, and pets are welcome at this park. Unless you are looking for more of the amusements offered for children at some private campgrounds, this park can't be beat. We stayed in a truck camper. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$22
Wonderful campground with paved roads and sites. A few new water, electric and sewer sites right on beautiful Cowanesque Lake. We stayed at site #40 with a 38' motorhome and loved every peaceful minute of our stay! Motorboats are allowed on the lake with a boat ramp and fish cleaning station in the CG. Great fishing! We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com