223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Cleburne State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (817) 645-4215
CGID4125

Cleburne State Park

Camp Information
Sites
64
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   9   10   9   9   9   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$16
Rate is for site with water and electricity. Other camping loops with full hookups are also available. Sites are nicely spaced; however, some have a strange layout. Site 29 in Keystone Loop has the picnic table and fire ring much closer to the pad of site 30 than to site 29 plus it is fairly unlevel. Good antennae TV reception, weak cell reception and no Wi-Fi. Park staff are friendly, but Texas has the worst reservation system of any of the 40+ states in which we have RV'ed and it took us over 25 minutes to get checked in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$28
We had purchased the Texas State Park annual pass for $70, which gave us four 1/2 price camping nights. Without the pass, there is an additional day use fee of between $4 and $8 per person per day which makes the camping rates at the state parks too high. Our site #34 was a back-in FHU 30 amp site in a valley area. Many trees with some low hanging branches to watch out for. No satellite reception and very poor cell reception. Some sites have a lake view. This park is quite far from the highway and rather secluded, which makes it a quiet area. However, we were there Easter weekend so all sites were full. Also, we had some noisy neighbors with barking dogs they allowed to roam off leash. Nice clean bathrooms. Some hiking trails. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$28
Very quiet campground. We stayed in the north creek area 30 amps with sewer; the 50 amp with sewer sites were not very level. Staff was very helpful. Restrooms were clean. Nice hiking trails and a nice small lake. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Great park! Very pretty and surprisingly quiet. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
This is a nice state park that appears to have been updated recently. We stayed in a site with a lake view and had beautiful sunsets each night. We could walk right down to the lake from our site. It's rocky and hilly so you have to be careful but it is a clear path. The full hook-ups worked well. Our site was fairly level but we noticed sites further down the row tended to require a lot of leveling, especially for the larger trailers. Currently, there is a burn ban which includes a ban on charcoal grills. We forgot our small bottle of propane for our portable grill and had to go into Cleburne to buy more. Cleburne is about 18 miles away. We tried to buy propane earlier in the day in nearby Glen Rose as we had visited Fossil Rim, but it was sold out everywhere we stopped. With the burn ban, everyone has resorted to using the propane grills. There is no store at this park so make sure you have all supplies before you arrive. The park is 6 miles off the main road and Cleburne is the nearest town with major retailers. This park is remote so be prepared. The lake was nice for fishing though the water level is low due to the drought. This park is a good base location if you want to visit Fossil Rim or Dinosaur Valley National Park in Glen Rose. We will definitely visit this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
A nice park with good clean facilities, with a nice play area for the kids. Nice trails and good shaded swimming /beach area. Very helpful staff that seem to really enjoy their jobs. My family enjoyed our stay there and will go back again and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
The only reason I did not give this park a 10 is that some of the sites are not level. Again this is a great state park In Texas we will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$28
Nice, quiet State Park for family. Small fishing and swimming lake (100 acres) with nice hiking trails. Close to Dinosaur Valley State Park. No park store at the moment pickup ice and supplies in town as you're 20-30minutes away from nearest store. North Creek section has the best level sites We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
Nice little park close to home. Staff are making numerous and overdue repairs, and park has improved greatly. Always an enjoyable experience. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$15
This is our second time back to this park for Thanksgiving. Last year, we had one of the sites with sewer, which was great but they fill up fast and we did not reserve one in time. Even when crowded for a holiday weekend, it doesn't feel too crowded because there are a lot of trees, nature trails and open space. Many of the sites are not level. We saw a lot of larger RVs, but since the reservations are not site-specific, you take your chances. But if you have a small trailer I don't believe there are any bad sites. Some have lake views and some don't. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
We took a visit to this park after visiting another park and we never found this park. We went thru Brazos Point and followed the 1 sign and after plenty of driving around we never found it. The posting of signs is critical and this place was poorly marked. We will not go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
Lots of tree sites. Very quiet. Camp there everytime I get a chance since I live close to the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
Nice park for quick weekend getaway. Park has no in-park concession for ice, boat rental, groceries, etc. so be prepared, or drive to town about 15 miles away. Great hiking/mountain biking trails, mostly quiet with large spaces for each campsite, many which are on the lakefront. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$25
Very nice state park, but like most Texas parks, in desperate need of money for upkeep. Lake front sites are large and shady. Nice place to get away for a weekend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$15
The park was beautiful with lots of shade. The majority of the trees are cedar, so bring your allergy medicine. The lake water was very clear. The spaces are spread apart. The park was full, but still very quiet. We tried to go to the camp store and it said closed for the season. Not sure what season they are open. There were no boat rentals as advertised. I guess they were out of season too, (in June???). My son and I fished and caught lots of perch from the shore. We saw 2 water moccasins in the lake while we were fishing. We saw a squirrel and racoon at our campsite. We would definitely go again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$19
One of the nicer state parks. Has boat rental, lake swimming and fishing. Reasonably stocked store. Sites are long with ample room but some will need more leveling than others. Only one section, the upper, has 50amp service. Saw squirrels and raccoons. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com