223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Allegany Mountain Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (716) 699-2352
CGID4136

Allegany Mountain Resort

Camp Information
Sites
371
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   10   7   8   9   4   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$10
Rate reflects RPI Membership. The property is situated around Rainbow Lake. My guess is that a walk around the lake is about two miles. It's a beautiful place. There are plenty of amenities: two pools (one indoor), canoes and kayaks, tennis and volleyball courts, mini-golf, and much more. Over the weekend the place was packed and there were many activities, especially for teens and children. This is an old campground and that is quite apparent. The campsites are small, obviously planned before people traveled in the larger RVs of today. I tried three different campsites before I managed to get into one. Also, the roads are narrow and some are very steep. The “overnight” campground area has no sewer sites and power is 30 amps. The power and water hookups aren’t where you expect them to be. I had to get out a water hose I’d never used to reach water and I had to borrow an electric extension cord from the campground to reach the electric. Then, over the hot weekend, the voltage kept dropping below 102 volts which caused my trusty surge guard to shut the camper’s electric down. Once the weather cooled, the electric settled down. If you have a small camper you’ll love coming to this resort. If you have a bigger one, try to arrive on Sunday-Wednesday when there are plenty of campsites, then, in the overnight area, head for the first two roads up from the lake for the best chances of getting a site you can get in to and that will be somewhat level. The farther up the hill you go, the harder it will be to find a spot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$1
The reason I gave it an 8 is due to the season. The weather was only so so and peak season was over so we can only evaluate what was available. It is a private campground, part of the Coast to Coast and Resorts of Distinction networks. This is an old park but it is obvious the owners are working to improve it. We were told that it has changed ownership quite a few times over the last 5 to 10 years. There are a ton of things to do weather permitting. The activity list was unreliable due to people not showing up. The staff was awesome, very friendly and helpful. Very accommodating. Children and adults alike would be able to find something to do non-stop all day long. I was even impressed at all the activities scheduled this late in the year. There was an indoor pool and hot tub which was great. The adult lounge and game room were closed while they were setting up for an upcoming haunted house for October 8th, which I found to be a bit early and wondered why they had to shut down on a Saturday to start doing it while they still had quite a few campers here. You have a lot of choices for sites. Everything from full sun to complete shade. We had to change our site due to some standing water from a rain shower, they said no problem just look around and pick what ever you would like and let us know where, to be sure it isn't booked. There are mostly seasonal sites but they are all are very well maintained. The guest sites are pretty much in one section of the park. Of course home park members have the choice of the prime sections around the lake. We visited this park as Resorts of Distinction members, which is why the nightly rate of $1 (the form wouldn't let me put $0). Hope they are successful with new memberships because this park has awesome potential. It's great as it is, but with continued maintenance it could become a top notch resort. We read other reviews and went prepared with longer hoses and electric cables. We used them so it didn't create a problem for us. If you have short hoses and cords, it could create a big problem due to the placement of the hook ups. We will return to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$1
Even with no sewer hookups I rate this park very high. It is a private campground and is huge. The people running the park are friendly and helpful and they lead you to a site if you have not been here before. The sites are the biggest we have been in and there is lots of grass and trees. This is a Resorts of Distinction Park and we do not pay but I had to list a $ amount. As it was Labor Day weekend we could not stay here as long as we had hoped. This is Amish country and that is fun to see. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$3
We stayed here as Western Horizon affiliates. This was a Western Horizon park. Beautiful setting, huge park but it has the weirdest site layout. Some spots are pull throughs; others back-in; some you have to pull through another site to get in; and some you have to parallel park. The power/water poles are shared with other sites so bring long power cords and water hoses. We didn't have sewer. Most sites don't. Of course, not being a "member" of the new membership park, we couldn't get a nice spot around the lake. Didn't use the restrooms. The laundry room I used was OK. Old machines but they worked. However, If you are afraid of spiders, it would be hard to do your laundry. Several active webs from the ceiling down to the folding tables. Gave me something to watch while doing the laundry. Went to the store to get quarters for the laundry and was told that since the new owners took the laundry concession away from them (the store) they don't make change anymore. Guess there is some kind of tiff going on. The campground is way off the beaten path so it's a long drive to go anywhere. Great place to just hang out and relax. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
We stayed here for a vacation and homecoming to the area. It is a bit out of the way but worth the miles from the highway. Wooded, shaded and a well maintained property. Once you land, there is no reason to leave as there is a store and restaurant on site. It is a bit of an older campground, but we were told that is has recently changed owners and is being upgraded. Will stay again when we are in that part of the country. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
Enjoyed very much, lots to do, a nice place to relax, and have fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2005
$$0
This campground is a membership park. Campground was huge with lots of golf carts around. Lots of seasonal sites, some were run down and then some were very nice. Campground has 2 outside pools, and 1 indoor with spa. Lots of activities, crafts, music, mini golf, and a cafe. When we got set up the power to our site went off, it effected about 6 or so sites. Finally about 1/2 hour later someone came and fixed it. The breaker was tripped. Well all weekend this went on. We might camp here again only because of the price and location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$6
This is an excellent Coast to Coast resort for members to check out while in the area. It has excellent, clean facilities. It has free activities for kids and kids at heart including - ball sports, mini-golf, canoes, kayaks, paddle boats, dances, crafts for kids (small charge). Snack bar adjacent to outdoor pools. Restaurant adjacent to indoor pools. A don't miss if you are in the area. The only drawback is the Canada Geese population that leave a mess near the lake - but easily overlooked with rest of camp. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com