206534 User submitted reviews online!!
Pony Soldier RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (307) 837-3078
CGID4138

Pony Soldier RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   4   6   6   6   7   5   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
We stopped here for an overnight stay. The electrical and Wi-Fi were good. The sites are grass. It is in the middle of nowhere with no TV reception. Any thoughts of watching TV would have to be satellite. The park as a whole needs a lot maintenance and upkeep. Probably wouldn't stay here again unless we had to. The owners were friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
This RV Park is REALLY run down. The parking place for the rig itself is not bad. Just a grassy lawn with some trees, in a pretty quiet area other than the occasional train. The hookups all worked, but all the improvements on the property are REALLY run down. The bathrooms were flat out gross, and the showers were so bad we considered them "unusable". Not going to be a park we return to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
This is the most rundown RV park I have ever seen. In addition the restrooms were not clean and the showers nearly unusable. To top it off there is a train track across the street with an at-grade crossing. Every half an hour all day and ALL NIGHT a train went through and blew its horn upon approaching that crossing. It was impossible to sleep. If you stay here be sure and use your earplugs. The WiFi at our site worked fairly well. That same train track passes the couple of other RV parks we saw in this area so I don't know if they would be any less noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Stayed here one night on our way to South Dakota. Lots of spaces, wide roads. Mostly level, no pads, weeds. Windy. Would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
Adequate park for any size rig. It is not in a town, but is conveniently located for visiting Ft. Laramie, Scotts Bluff, NB and other historic sites in the area. Flat dirt sites with some grass depending on the weather. WiFi worked fairly well, but no OTA TV reception. If you don't have satellite, you aren't watching TV. Nice owners. We camped here in a 5th wheel toy hauler and would stay here again when visiting the area. Rate shown reflects the PA discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
This is an older park undergoing renovations. Nice level grassy sites with scattered shade trees. The bathrooms which were clean are the weakest link. Once remodeled this will make a nice park. We are staying an extra day to check out the Fur Rendezvous happening this weekend. Be sure to check out the museum next door (donation). Lots of cool stuff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$13
Owner was very pleasant, helpful and informative about things to do in the area. Sadly the grounds are in need of repair. Showers are available, but in need of repair as well, as are the restrooms themselves. Good location for overnight stays to take in the local attractions. Would consider again for a overnight stay. We are Passport America members. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$19
Nice campground, clean and level. The owner is very helpful about things to do in this area. Wireless is good, considering the location. The campground is actually 5 miles west of Lingle and easy to miss. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$19
Passport America accepted. Good spot for overnight stay in self contained RV. Showers have little place to put clothes and some peeling paint. Noticeable train noise including whistle for highway crossing near campground. Many sites have excellent satellite reception. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Agree with what everyone else has said. Sites are grassy/dirt. Good internet connection at your site. In fact, the best of any WiFi I've had. There are trees and good gravel roads. Lots of sightseeing within a half hour/hour's drive. Owners are very nice and helpful. They give a Good Sam or military discount. Sunsets are beautiful. Frequent coal trains pass day and night nearby, but we weren't bothered by them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Quoted rate is with Passport America discount and includes tax. OK park for overnight to see Fort Laramie NHP. It has deteriorated since the first time we stayed here and they don't seem to be keeping up on maintenance. It's very near the well-used train tracks so earplugs are advised. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$19
We had a flat, level, long, wide, pull through site. The train track is nearby with constant trains and loud whistles, but I enjoyed watching the trains. Beautiful evening sunsets and peaceful mornings with the sound of birds. This park could feel crowded if it was full or if your site does not have a view of the open fields. Otherwise, it is a very relaxing place to spend a few days. The park is in a very rural area. The park has a small laundry room - 3 washers ($1.75), 3 dryers ($1.25), all were in working order. Very nice owners. About 5 miles away, in Fort Laramie, is a very good restaurant -- The Hungry Cowboy, don’t let the rustic exterior fool you; the interior is nice and the food is great. Rate reflects Passport America, but the park only allows a 2 night stay with P.A. rates. Good location to visit the historic sites in Fort Laramie and Guernsey. We would definitely stay here again. Free Wi-Fi at site. Weak connection to AT&T. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Owners very nice and helpful, they put us in a 50 amp site for shade and loaned us the converter. Park is level, sparse grass (weeds) being mowed and watered to keep green. Good WiFi, beautiful sunsets, rabbits on grass, lots of birds to watch. We used laundry, machines were very good, room a bit messy. Great spot for Fort Laramie visit, the "Hungrey Cowboy" in town is new and very good, especially for the price. Would stay again without question. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
Owners are trying very hard to improve this park and with a nice attitude, they'll get repeat customers. Great park for all the area has to offer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$19
Several have mentioned the trains running nearby. Yes, these made some noise but so did the delightful meadowlark singing outside our windows. This is not an RV resort but it is a nice campground with grass and trees just leafing out in May. The spaces were level and we did not need to use any levelers. Next door is the Western History Center with displays on prehistory, wagon trails, stage routes and other pertinent information for this area. The roads were pea gravel and did not dust up. The campground was quiet. We found it very convenient to visiting the wagon ruts, the register cliff and Fort Laramie. The owner had a plethora of material and pamphlets about the area. I enjoyed this modest campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
OK for overnight. All grass with some trees for shade. A few miles outside of Fort Laramie. There were a lot of flies when we were there in Sept. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
A modest facility: essentially a field with hookups, though a few sites have trees. Good for visiting historic sites of Fort Laramie, Register Bluff, pioneer wagon ruts, etc. Owner has lots of sightseeing advice, brochures, etc. Wi-Fi worked. Laundry room was good to have. Light sleepers note that a major rail line is a hundreds yards away and many trains passed during the night, each blowing its air horn loud and long. Also note that this is a rural area, some distance from fuel, food, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
Nothing special overnight park close to Ft Laramie NHP. Staff was friendly and the sites were adequate (gravel pad w/grass). Dog walking areas were decent. There is an active train track nearby that might bother the more sensitive sleeper. I would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
This is a PassPort America campground which reflects the price. Good interior roads but sites need work. Friendly owners that are well informed about the area. Needs work but for a few days it is OK. I will stop back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$27
Nice park, easy access, with very friendly owners onsite. We just overnighted on our way north, but would recommend it for a several night stay. Only downside was the train whistle nearby, but we were so tired, it didn't bother us at all. Be sure to check out Ft.Laramie while there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$15
An older park right on US 26. The is an at grade railroad crossing directly across from the park. Train traffic was fairly regular even at night and the three to four whistle blasts were very loud. The sites are grass and close together, but there were very few rigs and they were spread out across the park. The 30amp service had glass fuses, but seemed to work OK. Over the air TV was limited to one network station and PBS. The WIFI worked well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
Friendly owners, nice grassy park with trees at every site, but still could get satellite. Peaceful setting, good gravel roads and level sites. Incredible star gazing because they don't have bright lights on at night. Only downside is the freight trains are quite loud when they come through. The actual address of the campground is Lingle WY, not Ft Laramie. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$16
Stopped here for 3 nights as we travel from Lyman WY to Rapid City SD. Park has grassy sites with some picnic tables. WiFi is adequate. Thunderstorms created some muddy conditions as the sandy soils tend to create a little mess. Close to Fort Laramie National Historic Site and Scotts Bluff National Monument. Owners are very friendly and helpful with ideas for places to visit. Used our Passport America discount for daily rate. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
Passport America park. Nice for one or two nights stay. We enjoyed sightseeing in the area. The couple that managed the park were very nice and helpful. We would stay there again. Train tracks ran at different times of the day and night. Tracks were probably one-half mile from campground but it did not detract us at all. We would stay at this park again for overnight or one or two days if you have not seen the sights of the Oregon Trail Ruts and parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$17
Limited signage to campground. Large area to park and register. Office staff friendly and efficient. Access roads to sites wide and well maintained. Long gravel/grass pull-thru sites with full hook-ups, some in trees. Wi-Fi excellent. Rural location a few miles from Fort Laramie. Some road and rail noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
This is the only campground we could find near Torrington. Nothing to recommend it except ease of access and fairly level pull-thru sites. Owners very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$15
We really liked this RV Park. The manager was very friendly and spent a lot of time telling us about the history of the area and what to see and do while we were there. The sites were large and level. We were given a site with no trees so that our Satellite TV would work. The manager even lead us to the site then came back to make sure he has given us the Passport America discount. There is a train track across the highway, but the trains did not bother us. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2005
$24
We stayed here because it was the only cg we were aware of in the area. CG was very dusty and dirty and junky. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com