223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Pismo Sands RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 49 user reviews. Phone: (805) 481-3225
CGID414

Pismo Sands RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
133
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$57



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   10   10   10   8   10   10   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$57
It was an average experience for the amount paid. RV sites are very close together. Pull-through sites are set up such that each RV pulls in from the opposite direction. As a result, both RVs doors face each other, which is a little awkward. It was a little uncomfortable to have to share the same grass strip with the family next to us. Pool, restrooms, and laundry facility were spotless. Close and short drive to beaches and activities. Even though the park was clean, I would consider staying here again only after exhausting other locations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
Parked was packed; I guess we were lucky to get one night there. Sites share a pedestal, one rig N-S, the other S-N. Adequate space between neighbors. Friendly staff, seemed like there were lots of rules and extra charges. It bills itself as "voted best medium size RV park in California" -- I think it was just OK. The beach is about 1 1/2 miles away, and that is an Off Road Vehicle beach. Oceano does not offer much in the way of beach community stuff, but Pismo Beach is nearby and Arroyo Grande is very close. There are lots of RV parks nearby, this is one of the nicer ones. There are hundreds of RVs stored nearby, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$63
I wish we could have stayed longer then one night. But just passing through. Very clean and plenty of workers there all the time. I felt very safe. No loud people at night. Will be going back for sure. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$52
Staff was super friendly. The park is well kept and clean. It felt very safe to have our 6 year old riding around on her scooter. A lot of pet areas for our 4 legged daughter. Cant wait to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$50
Pismo sands RV resort is my go to destination when I'm RVing! The management is respectful and courteous to each of their guest. My family has always been greeted with a smile and pleasant attitude upon arriving at this park. They have always accommodated my requests, and if they were not able to, I have always been given a friendly explanation as to why they couldn't. (Usually because I'm a procrastinator and always do things last minute). I am very aware that some requests cannot be met, but these managers will go above and beyond expectations to give their guests a fantastic vacation. I highly recommend Pismo Sands RV park to everyone looking for a RV vacation spot. They are very Family friendly, honest, respectful and hold the highest level of integrity of any managers not just in the RVing business, but of any business I have visited. Highly Recommend! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$45
Tidy, compact. We had a grassy back-in for our trailer, but the big rigs were very close together on asphalt. No beach access as beach not nearby. Mgmt provides fire "rings" at no charge. Great firewood available from an independent seller located just a few blocks south on Cienaga. Park is code-controlled gated; surrounding residential neighborhood is rundown. $45/night rate reflects GS discount. No extra 11% tax charged here, unlike the bigger RV resort in Pismo Beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$49
This is our second stay at PS RV Park, check in was a breeze, we requested a spot near the pool, which we got. Site was clean and well maintained. If there was a drawback I would have to say they maybe need to adjust the lawn sprinkers, when we woke up one morning our windows were wet. Normally I wouldn't complain, but I spent the better part of an hour cleaning the outside windows the day before! We enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$48
The WiFi here is the best we have encountered so far. Big pull through spaces and plenty of things to do. Laundry was excellent, fairly priced and very efficient. Well paved interior roads and sites with grass side yards. Some shade sites. Close to restaurants, ATV rentals, and the beach. Very clean and well maintained RV resort. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
Park very nice if you have children. It appears to have lots to do, although we don't have children, so being there are so many here riding around all the time it is not our favorite.Do have to mention that the children were very well behaved. Restrooms were large and women's was clean, but husband said men's was a mess(especially with a lot of children here). Office help was very nice and we were lucky to get an end spot..Probably would not stay again as we like the smaller quieter parks..But good location... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
We've been camping in Pismo Beach for over 40 years. When we bought our 38' 5th wheel, the State campground wasn't so appealing any more. We tried Pismo Coast Village, but the sites were very tight and we had one of their bigger sites. We REALLY enjoyed our stay at Pismo Sands RV. We can't wait to go back and camp in the newly remodeled section, although our site #97 was fine. Staff are so nice and accomodating. We loved the evening spa visit. Although we were camping solo this trip, knowing that we can camp side by side with friends is very appealing. We had perfectly wonderful weather and it was an all around good trip. Will definitely come back to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
I am rating this a nine because of the side by side setup here. Everything else was great. We got there right after the office closed, but the lady came out and chose a site for us and said to pay in the AM and then opened the gate for us. It's a code gate and she has a remote. We got hooked up and walked the dog and got a look at where they are totally redoing the other side of the campground. We stayed here a number of years ago in a travel trailer and they had us backed up all the way to the fence and then complained about our 'Burb sticking kinda out in the road.That ain't gonna happen there anymore with the long sites they have put in now. They are still side by side, but nice setups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$40
I love this little park. Very clean, very quiet. Paved roads. Nice tree by most sites. Beach 2 miles. Downtown easy and interesting, especially by the pier. Really nice dog beach 8 miles. Managers and camp hosts very nice and helpful. Some sites are pretty close together, most have nice room. I recommend the left side of the park for large rigs, especially Class C. I was initially assigned the right side of the park and there was no way I could get in that spot. But they moved me right away without issue. I would definitely come back here and recommend it highly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$51
Our site was easy to get in but hard to get out, as we were in the center section right at the bend of a corner. Even though we had a pull through, had the person across from us not left that morning, we would have had to back out. Site was close to our neighbor, but level and park was quiet. Close to Pismo Beach and easy access to 101 for sightseeing. Park was neat and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$51
We are finding this park pleasant, very green with trees, full hookups, internet in sites. It is fairly quiet. We are in a back row which is a pull through, very easy to park with long sites for a tow car. There is a train track somewhere close behind us, but we only heard the train horn once during the day and once during the night. Not enough to be bothersome. Our stay will be for 3 days and we would probably come back if in this area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
This park was very clean and organized. The kids enjoyed the pool and playground a lot. There were a handful of people who live at the park and we happened to be parked near them. We pretty much never saw them and it didn't make much difference. Our biggest complaint would have to be that we were parked up against the main road and the traffic was very noisy. Back in the rest of the park there was almost no street noise. We normally stay in the Pismo area, but this was very close by and a little less expensive. The park was so clean and easy to be in without all the crowds of the Pismo RV parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$38
This was a nice park, and it is as advertised: minutes away from Pismo Beach. It's well kept, and the staff is very friendly. There are quite a few seasonal or full time residents. They were very helpful and nice to talk to. This was a one night stop over for us on our way south, and we really enjoyed the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$43
This is a very well run park. It's green areas, pool, etc. are all in excellent condition. Lot's of dog's and owners, but they kept their pets on a leash and cleaned-up after them. We have a dog and appreciated that. The sites are a bit close but well maintained, level and clean. A staff member escorted us to our site and helped us set-up. The park is also very close to the beach. Wi-Fi and cable TV worked well. Really like this park and plan to visit again and stay longer. We stayed one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$39
This park is older but we found it to be nice. Our site only has 30 amp service. Some sites have trees that are a little low on clearance. I found the management to be very responsive. When I asked to move because of the tree clearance concerns, she called the maintenance person and he came and trimmed the branches within ten minutes. We would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$49
We stayed a month here in 2009 for the Diablo Cyn outage. The manager's behaviour was very "Nazi" like, not agreeable or willing to work with you. Staff was always watching your every move. We were from out of town and didn't know of another place to stay so made reservations again for the fall 2010 outage. We payed our deposit and arrived for a month's stay. We were told that all that was available was a premium space. Their web page says that includes 50 amp electric. We were given a spot with 30amp, we stayed one night and complained the next morning about the electricity. The manager was argumentative about what electricity needs we needed for our rig. Said we didn't need 50amp and argued that our space the previous year wasn't 50amp. I told her my husband was an electrician and thought he knew better than her about our electrical needs. She was not willing to accommodate us. We decided to leave and was told that no refund would be given us. We are now staying next door. Much better place and all their spaces are 50 amp. I have stayed all over the country with my husband's job and have never been treated as rudely as the Pismo Sands manager treated us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
Well, the satellite pictures looked good. The sites are narrow and we couldn't put our awning out. We have a 36' motorhome and backed into a site with our rear end against a fence and the nose is 1 foot behind the white line in the street. There are plenty of kids here and pets. Not everyone cleans up from their dogs. People hang out their laundry and toys are everywhere. We have not seen anyone from the park in our area since we got here. As RV's leave no one checks the sites. This campground is several miles from the beach and in a rundown part of town. We are here for 4 days and will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$49
My wife and two boys stayed here for a week in July. We were pleasantly surprised with the park. It was nice. We stayed here in a 32 ft motorhome and they put us in a site that was probably better suited for a smaller class-c RV. There seems to be people living here full time or at least semi-permanent but their trailers and RVs were all in good shape and things were clean. The people we saw around were very nice. We had nice patch of grass on our site which was nice to hang out on and play catch or just sit around. The bathrooms and showers were in decent shape. This was in a pretty good location in relation to Pismo Beach and about 10-15 minutes from Avila Beach which is much better than Pismo in my opinion. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
A very nice park. It was very well laid out with large easy access sites. Everything was nice and clean and well maintained. At the center of the park were all the facilities, pool, shower, store, video arcade, playground etc. They had a nice grassy area between the sites, which made it nice to sit outside and enjoy the weather. I would definitely stay here again if I were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
Good Sam rate for 30amp full hookups. Verizon cell and aircard reception was good. Green, clean and neat. Easy access on highway 1, however the mostly local traffic dies down in the evenings. Amtrak runs by here someplace, but was far enough away to not be an issue. Newer owners wrestling with upgrading this small, older park to meet requirements of modern RVs. Owners and hostesses were customer oriented, friendly and delightful. Had problems with the 30amp power box and they had it replaced pronto. There are only a couple 50amps sites: generally the larger sites which are all taken by long-term seasonals. Located far enough from the beach to support grass, lush bushes, trees: very welcoming. Pick your site carefully if you need satellite access. Office has some supplies, but one is close enough to Grover Beach, Arroyo Grande and Pismo Beach to shop til you drop. Clean pool, laundry, showers and restrooms at this gated park. Even has a child friendly sandbox play area. We extended our stay and moved sites several times. All sites include a table and fire ring, but are just too close for all the paraphenalia that most folks want to enjoy when camping. Strongly recommend removing each fire-pit and impliment a dozen COMMUNITY fire rings scattered strategically about. Would foster better RV camper relations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
This park is a nice park but too overpriced in the peak season. Out of the peak it seems to be a little more reasonable. If you have kids they will love it, can't really find anything to complain about except for the electrical service (30 amp) is a little weak. Probably won't use this park again unless a necessity that we have to be in this area, then I will bite the bullet, pay the price and enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$37
Great park. Very nice staff and excellent, very clean facilities. We overnighted here based on a Good Sam recommendation and were glad to be a Good Sam member. I recommend this park for an overnight or a stay in the Pismo area. Easy access in an out and throughout the area. Stayed at other parks in the area but will always come back to this one. Best value, safe, and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
Clean and great family park. Our Power was a big problem we only showed 109 volts, EMS system would shut down the coach. Inspected the box and saw the 30 amp plug broken. Reported problem to park and they had someone replace it in 10 minutes. Voltage went up but still saw issues. When my neighbor checked out I switched over to his plug and no more problems. I will stay here again. Park people were friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$34
Camped here 2 nights. Great facility, clean, good Wi-Fi, good cable TV. Good staff. A bit noisy from the road next to the park, but not bad in winter with windows closed. Good grass and some shade. A bit close to your neighbor, but this is prime property close to the beach (half hour walk). We did not have 50 amp service at our site so don't know if other sites do. I would certainly stay here again, good value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
Very good park well kept up and the staff are very pleasant to deal with. We've stayed 2-4months at a time and really enjoyed it. Super launder equipment, pool and hot tub are kept up very well (pool could be a little warmer). We Stayed the monthly rate $710. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
Pretty densely populated campground in a sea shore resort community. Lot’s to see, do and experience in the area. We stayed for three nights and were satisfied with the layout and accommodations even though it was probably filled to 100% Great pool environment. The sprinklers did get my trailer wet and I was cleaning aluminum for the next week. That’s the price you pay for the nicely grassed environment. Probably on of the best in Oceano. Would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$41
I think I'm getting used to paying high prices in Calif. This campground has it all and pretty much covers things to do for the whole family. One thing I noticed is if you stay ten days in a year you get one night free. Another thing I was impressed with is when the sprinklers come on in the night it doesn't get your Coach wet, good job. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
It is a great park, quiet, clean and well-kept, level concrete pad and grass at many sites. There is friendly and helpful staff, I needed to fax a couple letters and they did it for free. The bathrooms are the largest, cleanest ones I've ever encountered in an RV park. It is a decent location, we biked to the dunes and up the road to Pismo Beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$41
Pretty expensive, even with a weekly rate. Road noise and train tracks keep it from being very quiet. But you are very close to the dune access areas and beaches. The sites are close together on the hookup side but there is nice grass and picnic tables. Park is very clean and well maintained. The heated pool and spa are excellent. Most sites appear to be very level. Verizon and ATT access good We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$38
Yes, the sites are a little close, but it still has more room than most of the other campgrounds in this area. The sites are paved, and have a grass area with table and grill. Excellent maintenance, the park is clean and well kept. The new owners have gone out of their way to make our stay pleasant. Next time we are in the area we will certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$38
As stated in previous reviews, the side by side hookups can cause some real closeness. We had site # 12, an end site and did not have anyone across from us. Nice, with a greenbelt and a fire pit. # 13 is similar. Did not look others. Quiet, very quiet. Wi-Fi was offered, but use Verizon air card and reception was very good. We have family in the Pismo area and found this to be the better campground of all of the other places we have stayed, including Pismo Coast Village. Had to get propane, which was a little awkward because of the location of the filling station, but the staff were very helpful. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
This is a great park, and probably our favorite in this area. They have lots of pull-through sites, grassy areas, and fire pits for rent in sites without permanent pits. Conveniently located to Pismo Beach and other areas, we also like to just stay at the park and relax. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
This was our first visit to this park. We have a 36 ft. 5th wheel and stayed here in for one week. Pro's: Clean, pull through and back in paved sites, very spacious, nice large grass area, heated pool and huge hottub, fire pits (select sites), quiet, laundryroom clean, clean bathrooms/showers, kid friendly, bike rental and arcade. The pirate ship playground was nice. I feel secure with the children riding bikes and scooters around park, people drive slow, 24 available staff. No evident permanent residence with "junky" sites. Camp host lives on site, some long term residents but super clean trailers, nothing offensive. Con's: No beach access, so you drive to the beach (dunes close by, so you can pay $5 to take a 4 wheel drive onto the dunes), 5 minutes to Pismo if you don't have 4X4 and you have to pay for parking in Pismo now, RV store expensive, drive to town to get other food is far, some staff rude (mostly good though), no tents allowed or anything on grassy area, no enclosers from awning, raccoons come onto the grounds to find food and climb in the trees by the campgrounds. There is an extra vehicle parking fee ($25/week or $4/day, extra fee's for more people at your campsite. Overall, we would stay at this park again. We had some issues when we first got here. They forgot to give us a fire pit site, which I specifically requested. So, they accommodated us by bringing a portable one to our camp. It did fine and kids were happy. Another issue: we kept losing our electricity. We complained to staff for two days to fix it, they finally did. Management came to our site and offered us two free nights for all the trouble the electricity problem caused. That was great of them to extend that courtesy. We would stay here again and would recommend to our friends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$31
I thought the sites were adequate. The main distraction at this park was the ever-present maintenance staff. They were always under foot, making a lot of noise and not very pleasant. They spent several hours in the early evening power washing the pool deck with a very loud compressor. They decided to clean the pool as soon as we went swimming. Items in the store are very pricey. The staff at the office were very accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$48
The spaces are too close together. I asked for a wide space in the office and was told that I was being given one. There was only about 12 feet between my RV and my neighbor in my space. When my neighbor put out their awning, it was one inch away from my slide out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$65
The sites are so tightly packed in it took 45 minutes to get in. There was a lady parked in the middle of the narrow road, when we asked her to move so we could park she screamed obscenties at us. This continued throughout out stay. Managment new about this, and promised us a free weekend after all the problems we had. They never fulfilled their promise. We were so tightly packed in that our stairs out of the trailer ended up under the trailer next to us. It was just awful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$35
I enjoyed the park very much. The staff in the office was very friendly. If making reservations, try and do it ahead though, because they are often booked. I was impressed with how friendly the girls in the office were. The bathrooms were nice and clean. One of the maintenance guys needs to watch his mouth though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2006
$33
Rudest staff we have ever encountered. I think the worst park experience we have had since we started RV'ing. Unless you like being berated and treated poorly, I would try Pismo Village right down the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2006
$50
What can I say, It's Pismo Beach. Got to take the Quads out and rock the dunes and relaxed in the evening. No real complaints, although nothing to rave about either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$35
We have stayed at this RV Park many times. Very nice people and it is quieter than Pismo Coast Village (a zoo in the summer months). Not much to do for the little ones compared to other parks. They have a swimming pool and a jacuzzi. Nice laundry room on site. You have to drive to the beach or into Pismo (2 miles) to find good restaurants. There is a fresh produce stand within 1/2 mile from the park with the best strawberries. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
We have stayed here twice for 2 weeks and 4 weeks. It is a very nice park for short stays. Most of the sites are pull through with side by side hookups, which we don't like because your patio looks at your neighbors patio and there are space conflicts depending on the size and type of RV next to you. There is nice grass everywhere, but the landscapers move your picnic table and other items when they mow the grass and don't always move them back. The park is gated and very secure, and the nicest we have seen in the Pismo area. The rear section of the park has a lot of full timers and that section tends to be a bit trashy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$38
We stayed at the park in Feb 04. The park was very crowded and had many RVs that live there. It felt more like a parking lot with small grassy areas next to the hookup areas. There is a train that goes by regularly, can wake you up at night. The park was clean, although it says families are welcome we did not see any children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$33
This park is one of the best on the central coast. However, the managers are aware of that and are very arrogant and non-customer friendly. Their staff are much nicer, just don't care for the managers themselves. Several instances over the Labor Day Holiday weekend with disregard for their customers. Also, with the site set up facing each other (opposite entry's permit camping with friends very easy) you have to share your site with strangers which we didn't care for much. Great facilities, including awesome bath/showers and pool area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$37
Very clean park, some residents. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$29
I really don't appreciate it when the sites are "most common site 22'" and when you get there you can't totally setup. Our site was 15' wide and we had to park the tow rig in the road. Nicely landscaped and well maintained. You have to be careful pulling in and out of the main driveway as it is very easy to scrape bottom. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$32
Wonderful well kept clean park close to Pismo Beach. Nive landscaping, all paved sites/roads, with a great pool for the kids and a nice well stocked store. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com