223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Casitas Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (805) 649-2233
CGID4149

Lake Casitas Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
400
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   3   8   6   9   7   8   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
This park was a wonderful surprise. We reserved a full-hookup executive site in F. The hookups worked well, the site was clean when we arrived, and we had a quiet loop. Nice playground and the loop was very kid-friendly – lots of kids playing nicely and riding bikes. The camp store is the best we've seen. It was well-stocked and the prices were decent. We went to the water park twice on weekdays and it wasn't too crowded. My kids loved it. The staff everywhere we went was friendly. The cafe near the boat ramp serves good food for decent prices. We'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
We had a pretty miserable experience here, admittedly due to the other campers more than the actual area. It was a madhouse, with tons of rude campers who did not care at all about the quiet time and were loud well into the night. No park staff to address the issue. And because of the crowds, the bathrooms and showers were filthy. It didn't help that the facilities had one sign up that said they were closed for cleaning from 12-1 daily, another that said 2-3 daily, but actually they were closed whenever the staff got around to it, which turned out to be pretty much any time we wanted to use it. There are some nice things about the lake and overall area, but I'd never camp there again anytime that school's out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$58
If you have kids, they will love this place. It has a wonderful water park. We only have a dog, so the waterpark isn't a big attraction, but the park was very nice. The main problem for us is that you can't go into the lake. We knew that before camping here, but it's still disappointing. Our campsite was wonderful. It had a nice flat slab and very wide. We had full hookups. If you want to shower outside of your rig, you have to go to the front entrance and pay. We stayed in the "F" section and all the sites looked nice. They are all pretty wide and have lots of stretching out room. The one thing the park needs to improve is their trail system. We could not find the trail on the map for our entire stay. We backpack frequently and have never had trouble finding a path. We may visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$58
There is only 30 amp service in the full hook up sites (where the larger RVs would usually be), which is not sufficient during hot weather for a 40+ RV. As a previous camper stated, it is not comforting to have fires when the fire danger is listed as "High". The campground should not permit this. We probably would stay somewhere else if we are in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$55
This was my first time at this park and I was pleasantly surprised. We stayed in the executive spots in the Fox Camping area. We were lucky that there was a cancellation just before we arrived as we didn't have reservations for President's Day weekend and they were sold out. The spot was a nice level, newer concrete pad with a big fire ring. The road was wide even when people parked on the road we still had room to maneuver into our spot. I was worried at first because I couldn't find the cable TV hook-up. It was in the lower portion of the electrical box. Once I had the cable hooked up, I was surprised by how clear the cable was compared to some private campgrounds that I've been at. One other nice convenience was the general store right across the main road. As usual there were a few items I forgot to pack in my haste to get going. I choose to rate this park a 9 and not a 10 because it would have been nice to have some privacy hedges between the spots, and many campers just waked through our spot as though it was no big deal. Also, because the grounds were so dry and they still allowed campfires, it made me a bit uneasy with how dry everything was. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$75
We have visited this site twice now and a couple of things we noticed on the first trip were still present on the second. The entrance is extremely tight for a large RV and you have to pay attention to the low overhang in one of the lanes. Likewise exiting you must be very careful because the lane is barely 8 feet wide with objects on both sides. For some reason they won't open a large gate at the entrance which would make it much easier. They provide no maps to your site and little information on getting there. We stayed in Campground A which is RV sites placed around a very large parking lot. No cable TV and no Wi-Fi. The market is located on the other side of the lake and quite a walk away. The good is that it is very well maintained and clean. Be aware you will need your water pressure regulator as pressure is high. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$47
I can agree with what prior reviews have offered. But, like most of the California RV Parks, this is way overpriced compared to the rest of the USA. I am not sure where one finds a cable TV connection here. Look at their online reservation site for good descriptions of the various types of sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
This location was very nice as it was lake front and also offered a children's water park which was perfect for us since we had a very rambunctious 4 year old in our party. It was a pleasant summer location which we thoroughly enjoyed. Would definitely return for a second visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Lovely lake and nice park. The sites in B are dirt with 30 amp and water. Most sites have shade. The dump site requires care for big rigs. Watch for low limbs at the pull-throughs. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is a water park and a variety of rental bikes, plus lake activities. This is our second stay, and we will return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$45
My wife and I stayed here in November and it was very nice. Great little cafe by the boat launch and lots of trees on our campsite. Best to get one of the sites with full hook-ups so book early, they were all gone by the time we made reservations so we had to watch our water level. We would definitely come back but prefer the Fall season over the crowds in the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$55
Lake Casitas was the first place we camped in our fifth wheel trailer (3 years ago). We've been back three times and have to say the staff has always been friendly and helpful, the sites are well maintained, and the bathrooms always clean. A very family friendly atmosphere with lots to do for kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$55
We have stayed here during school spring break for many years now, and even tent camped here long before we purchased our travel trailer. The Executive sites are spacious, have level pads, nice grass and views of the lake. The lake is very large, and offers lots of activities. We had a great lunch at the Marina Cafe, and talked all about fishing with the friendly staff at the Marina Store. We rented a pontoon boat for the day, and even took the dogs on board. The fishing was great! This is a park we look forward to every time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$55
We stayed here in mid July and mid August. We enjoyed ourselves so much in July that we immediately reserved the same site for August. The campgrounds were nice and clean. The people we met both times were extremely nice. Our kids loved the water park, we played there every day of our stay. Only negatives on our trip were the restrooms at the water park - reeked of urine and on the last day of our trip our RV was was invaded by ants. One last suggestion, on Wednesday mornings leave the site early because the sewage pumper does his/her rounds and it smells terrible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Great place for kids, especially if you use the water park! Sites were nice and level. Nice, friendly staff. We stayed in a partial hook-up site with electric and water. You can stay in a full-hook up site for $55 a night. Sites were a little close together in our loop. Half of the spaces were empty, but if the campground was full (as it is almost every weekend in summer) it would have been a little cramped. Lake was beautiful. If you fish, this is the place to be! Great cafe over-looking lake if you don't feel like cooking breakfast. The only issue we had were the yellow jackets. They were everywhere (there was even an underground nest in our site!), but they didn't seem to bother us too much. If we did more eating outside, however, I could see it being a problem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
Camped at Lake Casitas at a non-hook-up site on in the G loop, site 20. We had a wonderful view of the lake. We were the only coach on the loop. Neighbors consisted of tents and trailers. Choose this loop for the wonderful lake views. A few large groups were in the loop "partying" but did not cause problems and quieted down after 10:00. My only issue with campground is the dirty restrooms and lack of showers. As far a I can tell, there are only two "bath houses" for a campground with over 400 sites. I would definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2008
$30
The lake is beautiful, but some of the sites leave a lot to be desired as far as levelness and information about the length of the sites can leave you without a site if your RV is larger than the site you've reserved. I would think twice about going again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
The location was wonderful. We saw an amazing diversity of birds in the 3 days we were there. The campground itself is not great. Most of the toilets are vault toilets, and when we got there they were disgusting. Fortunately there was a real bathroom with ok showers near the entrance, which was close to our site. The sites are pretty small, with nothing separating them. My main complaint is people are noisy here! Radios were blaring. There is nothing about a quiet time. Even though we were in a hook up site, some guy nearby was running his generator starting at 6:30. I think it might have a reputation as the place to go if you do not want to be considerate of your neighbors. We were in the B loop, with a nice lake view. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$50
We stayed in the full hookup spots near the boat launch. camp spots were clean. The Hornets are terrible. The cable does not work. The staff also were pumping out the sewage tanks during breakfast. They also water for hours every night, I guess to keep the hornets around, make sure you pick up everything every night that you dont want wet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Large campground situated on a beautiful lake. Most sites are on the dirt with a few trees scattered around for shade. Not many grassy areas for the kids to play. A cute little water park is located within the campground with a lazy river and kids play area for a $12 admission charge per day. Since you cannot swim in the lake, this is the only way to cool off at this park. In the end, I spent $105 on the campsite for 3 days and unfortunately $147 in admission charges to cool off in the water. Very average campground with poor trash collection. Our spot was next to 3 dumpsters that were overflowing with trash and debris for our entire stay. Can't recommend this one a probably won't be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$34
Many different campgrounds, some completely dry, some water and elec, some full. This is one gorgeous location! Very clean park, lots of room, great facilities. Two big gripes, you book dirtectly with the park and yet they charge $7.50 reservation fee. Number two is they charge $3 per day for a pet (and you get nothing for that, except sometimes a pick up bag!) Rates vary depending on dry/partial/full hook up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
This is our second time camping here. It is a great campground with lots of activities for the kids. Like previous reviews have said, there are different campgrounds for different types of camping. We enjoyed ourselves very much. I do need to give this word of warning to my fellow campers who come here. If you are going to go to the store across the street from campground F to buy anything, look for and find the expiration date! My wife was buying medicine for my 2 year old daughter and she found medicine that had an expiration date of August 2005! Not only that, but the price tag was deliberately put over the expiration date, so you NEED to look! But over than this, it is a real nice campground to stay in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$27
This is a very nice campground. There are many different site options to choose from. We stayed in the I campground which included water & electric hookups. There are cable boxes, but no cable service. We were walking distance to the lake. The campground is clean and well maintained. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
Great family campground. A different selection of hookups offered at each site, so be sure and check what you are signing up for. We had E/W and cable tv, but no sewer or internet. Dump station included in price. Showers cost fifty-cents for 3 minutes, so bring quarters. Water Park was closed Oct to May, but they had bike rental on weekends. Pit fireplaces, most are dirt sites, most have shade. Lake is known for its great fishing, kayak & boat rental are pricey. Store, restaurant, bait shop all in campground area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$27
Lake Casitas is comfortable and lots of room to camp. We usually camp in Egret, basic hook-ups. It is close to the store and lake. It's walking distance to the water park and marina. It's a great weekend get-away. The executive sites in Fox are usually reserved in advance. We enjoy the time there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$50
A wide variety of camping is available at Casitas. Everything from tent sites, to full hook-ups for big rigs. We've stayed in two different full-hookup areas and both are very nice. The concrete pads are level. There is a large grass area next to your site with a fire-ring and a picnic table. There's plenty of room for you to put out your awning and chairs. Prices have increased substantially in the last year. Even so, call early for reservations! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$25
Great campground; there is even a waterpark for the kids. Close to town, but you don't have to leave if you don't want to. There is a store and a couple of places to get food. No swimming or skiing in the lake, but there is fishing. If you don't have a boat you can rent one. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com