217693 User submitted reviews online!!
Coastal Dunes RV Park was rated 3 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (805) 781-4900
CGID415

Coastal Dunes RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
232
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   1   2   5   6   3   3   4   5   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2013
$44
The other reviews of this park were spot on. I used the Good Sam s book to find a park in this area and I called about a completely different park that was $9 cheaper per day but the reservations were for this park which was nearly 40 additional miles away. When we arrived at the park that I had first called about it was after 5pm and of course there was no one to answer the phone, much less help to figure out that we had nearly forty more miles to drive after dark. When we did arrive at this park we found it to be very poorly lite and not well marked plus the roads are very narrow without many markings which let us get headed into our area going the wrong way. While getting turned around we managed to damage our motorhome due to the tight turns and dark and narrow streets. We would not stay at this park again. I will pull into camp wally world before driving in the dark to a campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2011
$44
The campground is between a railroad and a busy highway. The site we were in was about 25-30 feet from the road. The road noise woke us up a few times when the big trucks went by. The site grass was mostly dry and there are a lot of low spots and bare dirt. The site was not long enough to accommodate a 33-ft 5th wheel and the truck. We had to park across the small road. The staff was friendly taking the reservation. They charged a $8 reservation fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$47
This park is located between railroad tracks and busy street. The sites are small, no fire rings or picnic tables. The cost was $47.00/night PLUS $3.50 per dog. We have 2 dogs, so that was an extra $7.00 per night which would be $98.00 extra. We purchased a year pass for $70.00, but it is a calendar year so is mostly over. There is no Wi-Fi. On the weekends, the park is overrun by large groups tenting. We are frequent guests in this area, but will not be staying here unless we are desperate. Also noted: tent camping is normally $24.00/night but on the weekends a taped up sign says it is $47.00/night?? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Sites are very short and narrow. Campground is situated between a very busy PCH and a railroad track. Reservation was made with a very friendly lady, check-in was less friendly by a different individual. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Held a family reunion at this campground (50+ people). Half of us were camping in RVs, half in tents. Staff at park were very friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately, due to budget cuts, there were no picnic tables at any of the campsites we were in. Hard to have meals together. Street noise was annoying, but surprisingly the train wasn't that bad. Kids enjoyed the pool. I was told the restrooms were pretty seedy. Had a problem with our sewer not draining, and maintenance came right away to try and fix it. There are several full time residents in the area we were camped, very friendly and let us use their picnic tables. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$65
Our family moved to this park when it was Sand & Surf. We have lived here for well over 4 years. When this park was taken over by the county it went down hill quickly. The grounds are neglected, and the bathrooms have mildew and mold growing on the ceiling and walls. This is especially obvious in the shower stalls. There is fecal matter that has sat on the wall of one toilet stall for weeks now. This has been brought to the staff's attention, but nothing has been done. Needless to say, the bathrooms are unsanitary. We pay a monthly rate, but those that rent by the night pay $65 for a pull through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
VERY TOUGH to park a large rig. If you do go the wrong way and the back in. Pet fee (not in 2008 Trailer life) is $3 per dog per day. The sewer connections are raised and the connectors must be raised to empty the water. Also make sure you have extensions on your sewer connectors as you will need it. Spaces are very tight and the train tracks are 100 feet from the sites. Highway 1 is 100 feet on the other side. They have shared fire rings. It is very crowded on the summer weekends making the pool area almost unusable. Trash cans are at the ends of each section. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
This park is now managed by San Luis Obispo County and has been renamed Coastal Dunes RV Park. The restrooms are in need of repair, the noise from Highway 1 and the trains can be unbearable. The pool is nice and clean, the sites have grass and while not huge are much better than Pismo Coast Village. This park really caters to senior citizens and and older families; with the exception of the highway and trains very quiet at night. The price is low for this area and last minute reservations are sometimes possible. However due to the noise I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$1
Just saw this info in the SLO County Park website: Effective October 1, 2006, San Luis Obispo County Parks is pleased to announce new management of Coastal Dunes RV Park. (formerly Sand & Surf RV Park) We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2005
$40
The spaces were very tight and the R/R tracks run right behind the campground trains run all night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$35
My husband and stayed there in August of 2003, with our kids. I will never come here again. Their pull-through sites consist of were you park and about five feet of space before the next one. The pool has sharp rock around the outside (my youngest cut open his back.) Trash bins were overflowing. What they say is near beach, is actually a 5 or 6 block walk to the beach. There is a highway in front of you were large trucks drive by all night. The best part was the train tracks that ran 100 feet behind the park. The trains go by all night, shaking the entire motorhome. Of course there is no mention of this in the brochure. Also the security staff was VERY rude. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com