214879 User submitted reviews online!!
Guajome County Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (760) 724-4489
CGID416

Guajome County Park

Camp Information
Sites
33
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   10   8   10   5   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
This is the perfect campground if you live within an hours drive. Great for a quick camping trip. If your driving from farther away,you may want to looks else where. It's in the middle of the suburbs, but when you in the campground you wouldn't know it when you look around. The only down fall is the traffic from the near by streets. When a loud car or motorcycle drives by you can hear it. There is a small lake and some trails to walk the dog on. Not serious hikes, but enough to stretch there legs. This campground is great if you like to just hang out around the camp site and enjoy the fire. We will definitely go back for short camping trips! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$29
Guajome Regional Park has been a favorite place for us to go since starting RVing about ten years ago. This is an extremely quiet campground located within very close proximity to shopping, a historic California mission, and a lovely bike path to the Pacific. This trip we noticed that a lot of the underbrush has been removed giving it a tidy appearance. The drought conditions made much of the park less lush and green as it has been in the past, however, the lake with its many birds and the trails surrounding it were still quite beautiful. One much needed change was the enhanced Verizon cellular and Verizon computer card service. We had very strong service when just a few years ago we had nearly none. To make an online reservation here costs $5.00 which is well worth it. Their website provides you the exact spots which are available on the dates you choose and also the particulars of each individual site. There is great variation in size and type of sites. There are small wooded sites suitable for tents, small trailers or class C motorhomes. In addition, there are 50’ sites with a parking pad capable of accommodating a large class A diesel. Many (but not all) of these larger sites provide a good shot to the satellite, particularly sites 29-32. There are others where it is possible to get satellite TV, but we just don’t know for certain which ones. One thing which is very important to us is adequate lighting for dog walking and Guajome has it (dogs are $1/day per dog). We noticed that there is now a rentable “cabin” overlooking the campground which rents from between $75-$100 according to the website. It looks very new with excellent access. The campground’s restrooms are not fancy, but clean and have free showers. There was also an ADA “Johnny on the Spot” available. The rangers were very pleasant. In summertime, ants can be a problem here. In May this trip, we had a few enter the coach, however one August, we had an infestation so come prepared for ant warfare. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$29
The staff was friendly and efficient. They keep the park clean and well maintained. There are a lot of places to walk, bike or even ride your horse, if you have one. Semi-urban surroundings, but the generous size of the park keeps the traffic and houses far enough away. There is convenient access to shopping and all the benefits of Oceanside. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$26
We stayed here last year at this time and only the weather was better. That's not to say that the park wasn't better as I give this park a 10 even without sewer hookups. The staff is great and the sites are always clean and the security is top notch. The best sites, IMHO, are the ones on the lower loop which would be 20-30 something. After staying at this park for two years in a row, I'd really like to see what some of the county's other camping parks are like. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
Stayed here to visit relatives in Vista. The staff was friendly and checkin was very easy. $1/night/dog. Site was spacious and easy to back in to. Lots of great trails in the park for walking, and two nearby playgrounds. Dump station was easy to use with no line. The restrooms were average, but clean. Not much privacy in the showers, but they were free with hot water. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
I am rating this park a 10 even without sewer. The staff is out of sight and the security is great. The sites are kept clean. The only downside was that it rained twice while we were there and the dirt turns into a real sticky mess. We stayed there for ten days while taking care of the grand kids who lived about 10 minutes away. The $25 reflects $24 for the site and $1 for the dog. It is really handy to a LOT of different shopping centers in the area. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
We've stayed here before and the park was OK. I've changed my opinion as a result of the latest visit. I don't think we'll be back. The sites are very dusty/dry. The restrooms and showers were OK but not really maintained as well as they could be. I just feel a general lack of interest and pride in the maintenance of the facilities. Lots of ants and on this visit they found their way into our trailer and the dog dish on the inside. Easy to eliminate but still an irritant to me. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
We camped here with a group of about 10 motorhomes. Lots of trees. A lake. Grass areas. Sort of an oasis in a dense residential area. There is a great / worth a detour to visit / part of this large park with a huge collection of old vehicles / steam and gas / motors / buses / AG machines and so on. Worth several hours to go see. I checked off 50 amp available, but in our area only one site had 50 amp. The rest were 30 amp. No sewers, Wi-Fi, and hard to use sat dish. Bring DVD's if you want them. Not close to a freeway, but fairly high road noise. This is an old homestead from Spanish days. A very good weekend place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
This is a great Regional park that has allot to do. Plenty of easy hiking and biking trails for the whole family and there is also fishing. The sites are sizable and ours was paved and level. You feel isolated from the city elements until fire station across the highway lights them up, which they seem polite enough to only sound there sirens during the day. The camp is nicely laid out and it's not crowded. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
This is a beautiful park with a lot of running and biking trails nearby. We spent a weekend at the park and noticed most of the other campers were families with trailers but did encounter other motorhome travelers. The restrooms were adequate but could use a little more cleaning and updating. They are not heated and it was a little chilly taking a shower in the morning and the water was not very hot, but adequate. The location was great because you felt like you were in a rural area but in reality only a couple of miles to anything you needed. The bike trail to the beach was wonderful and well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
Nice campground in a huge open space park. Convenient to shopping and ocean. Not much available in terms of TV reception unless you have satellite. Lots of birds and trees. Very peaceful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$25
Very nice park. It got a 7 because no Sewer or Wi-Fi. Good website that shows site sizes so there are a few for big rigs as we have a 45ft 5th wheel. Convenient to North San Diego. Will definitely stay again. Need to book ahead as was fully booked well in advance of the Dec. and Jan. period for the larger sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
Good county park type facility and well maintained. Ants were mentioned by another couple and we saw them at our fire pit due to someone leaving food in it. That seemed to keep them away from our trailer so we were OK. Showers were free and included: lots of hot water and quite clean, though basic. I would not hesitate to spend more days in this park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
This is a nice little park to get some R&R. If you looking to be entertained this is not the park but if you are looking for a place to go for walks and bike rides or just sit outside and read this is the place. Lots of trees and close to the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
We love this place; clean, nice facilities, good walk paths & forest setting. (Easy commute to visit grandkids in San Marcos!) BTW, the actual city is Vista -- it's inland from and close to Oceanside, the park is surrounded by the city of Vista. RESERVATIONS are needed nearly year-round; go to San Diego county parks website -- they are nice folks, but hard to get into weekends between April and November, unless you plan at least 2 months in advance! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
This was a nice park. I will camp here again. There does seems to be a few of long term people living here. And the guy in the car was still there in Jan. 08. Easy to back in spaces. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2006
$16
Site #11 We had driven through this park about a year or two ago and remembered thinking that we'd like to camp there but when we got there we couldn't remember why. It's close to lots of shopping which can be good I guess. It wasn't bad but not that good either. Many fairly derelict units in the park, one car parked every day in the day use area and many nights in the campground, don't know for sure but it seemed like someone was living in their car in the park. A little road noise from Hwy 76 but not too bad. Park staff was friendly on check-in, sites were paved and ours was level with some trees around. Restrooms were clean enough and dump was easy to get to. We paid $16 but the rate for water and electric sites has gone up to $20, still quite a bargain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$16
Posting this a few months after our stay. The person who stayed in December 2006 mentioned someone possibly living in his car here--I suspect it's the same guy we saw every day we were there in September, and the inside of his car (doors and trunk open) definitely indicated he was living in it. Never saw where he went when the non-campground part of the park closed. The campground is woody and the reservation website is accurate in describing the sites (we're 40 feet long, so it matters). There weren't many people when we were there and it was really mellow, but it looks like weekends are always full and reserved months in advance. Nice little nature trail and wide open hike/bike trail open to the public behind the park. Highway 76 west of the park to Interstate 15 is a twisty road that has a LOT of rush hour traffic. Map says 10 miles, but it feels like a lot more, especially in a big RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2006
$16
We love this campground! There are trails, fishing pond, playground and paved roads for the kids. It's close to town and only 10 minutes to the beach. Rangers were very accommodating and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$16
This park was very enjoyable. There was no sewer available at the campsite, but a dump station was available. You must make reservations WELL in advance as this park is always full. There are nature trails, hiking and biking trails, shade trees, a lake (where you can shore fish) and even a wedding gazebo. There's even an Antique Gas & Steam Engine museum adjacent to the property. We were there in July '03 with a 29' fifth wheel. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com