218867 User submitted reviews online!!
Oakwood RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (641) 357-4019
CGID4170

Oakwood RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   8   7   8   6   9   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Wow! Nice people, nice park. No frills, but clean and well-kept. Great power and water pressure. They guided us to a 120' pull-through site since we were only there overnight and preferred to keep our towed hooked to our motorhome so it would be convenient for us. We would love an opportunity to stay there again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
We just stayed one night on our way elsewhere. The camp hosts were very nice and the campground was nice and quiet with very large pull-through sites. I would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
For our purposes, a nice site with grass, a small concrete pad, well situated utilities, this campground was great. We were warmly greeted with a friendly smile and escorted to our site. Wisely they didn't put everyone side by side which allowed some privacy. Nice dog walks. Dumpsters located where they made sense. A small speed bump (clearly marked) kept people slowed to a reasonable campground speed. We have encountered far worse for a lot more money. We will return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
We stayed only a few nights, so this is the daily rate; they only accept cash or checks and don't give any discounts. The roads are gravel and very dusty. Beware the speed “bump”. We had an escort to the site and he “parked” us. But we had to re-position the rig to avoid trees brushing some fresh paint and to level with ease. The sites have some grass between; the pads are gravel and some are fairly level. There are trees that offer some shade; satellite access from our site on the “hill” was OK. Water pressure was adequate. We didn’t use the facilities. Sprint and Verizon worked fine. The season was winding down so it was pretty quiet and we didn’t have a neighbor to our backside. We felt they should be offering discounts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
We were only here for an overnight stay in this park which is largely seasonal campers. A short gravel road leads to the park, which has gravel interior roads and fairly level gravel sites. Lots of trees, so having a clear shot at the satellite may be a problem. No cable TV or Wi-Fi, but Verizon cell and data were good. Check in was at a small booth and credit cards are not accepted. Only cash or check. The staff and seasonal residents were friendly, the park is quiet and dark at night, and the surrounding area is interesting. Our GPS took us off the road marked with camping signs and down a long dirt road with low trees, so following the blue camping signs is recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Good park for one or two nights while checking out the area. Front of cg has seasonal sites mostly back ins, and rear of cg has nice long pull through that are constructed two to a site area that is mostly level gravel. You will be back to back with your neighbor, but you can put your slides out and connect to utilities with no problems. Each site has a table with concrete pad for it and cg hosts escort you to site. No store is a negative, but they do sell ice. Thirty dollars is the nightly price including tax for FHU's. Probably won't stop again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$30
This campground was officially closed (water turned off) but does accept RVers up until the snow flies. When we pulled in, the owner made water available to us. The sites are wide and incredibly long. There is also a small church on the campgrounds. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Very nice. Quiet, relaxed, and near the lake. Would like to see the sites leveled just a bit more. It's so nice when you don't have to. We will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Nice park, although the entrance is not impressive with a dirt road and many semi-permanent residents. But don't let that stop you as it gets better as you go to the sites in the back - the sites are very long - some of the longest I have seen. The only downside is the utilities are back to back, so someone can pull through next to you (common utility hook up) It has the basics: Full hookups, concrete patios, good internet. Price is right. Work Campers run the check and we very nice. They escorted us to our site. Good location to visit Winnebago factory tour and Clear Lake. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
This is a nice place. No pool or facilities or store. But close to lake, clean and the hosts, who showed us to our site, were quite friendly. Fee is base fee for FHU (50A). Additional people, kids are $2.00 each. Sites are gravel and level and many are huge (long but not super wide). We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
We were escorted to our site by the friendly camp host. We were in a long, wide site with side by side hookups. If we would have had a neighbor, their rig would have been to our back side. There are good gravel roads and sites, paved patios, soft water, the usual rules. The water pressure could have been better. Due to dry conditions, the gravel roads were very dusty. We were not impressed by the entrance, but wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
The campground itself is good. Wi-Fi is advertised but we could not get it at our site. Management, especially the Mrs is pretty much a grouch. The web site gives an email address but Mrs manager says it is not correct. The telephone is busy most of the time so hard to get through to check availability when traveling. They do have open sites virtually all the time so it is pretty safe to just stop in. (This probably has a lot to do with the unfriendly management.) They act like they would have a good job if it wasn't for the campers calling or stopping in and bothering them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
The lower section sites are gravel with typically gravel yards, and appear close together. The upper level sites are also gravel, extremely long, pull-through with two RV's side by side. All access roads in the RV park are gravel. These sites alternate directions and with the steps of the RV positioned over the patio that each site has, each RV will only be opposite each other on the far back end of the RV. So basically it is in the positioning the escorts make when they take you to your site. They do a very good job. The upper level sites have grass yards and they are as long as the pull-through, which I estimate to be one-hundred twenty plus feet in length, and fifteen to twenty yards wide. There is a very nice arrangement of trees providing shaded areas to sit under. The staff of the RV park are very pleasant to work with. There is a Freightliner shop in Clear Lake, which brought us to this area. They are also very friendly and accommodating. We did not use the facilities so we cannot comment on them. We rate this park a nine plus only because of the lack of a swimming pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Very quiet but with poor bathrooms, dirty laundry and side by side hook ups. Owners have far too many rules and regulations, close to town. We would not stay here ever again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
By far one of the best parks we've stayed in. It is a bit off the beaten path (about 5 miles from I-35) but more than worth it. Very quiet and peaceful. (We did hear one train about 10 pm, but that was it). The gravel sites are level and the longest we've ever experienced. (We stayed in the upper section). Enough room for at least two cars, which is allowed. The site did have a side by side hookup but as the park was fairly empty we didn't have a neighbor. WI-FI was spot on, not a single blip. Satellite and antenna reception was perfect. The owner was also very friendly. There was no pool but there was a nice recreation area as it is near the lake. Very bike friendly, too. Downtown Clear Lake is a beautiful area to walk around. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Large pull through sites. Good WiFi and laundry. Peaceful, but close to Clear Lake and Mason City. Deer and turkeys wandering around. The lower section is mostly seasonal; the larger sites on the high ground are overnight and weekly. Easy to get to from I-35. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
The campground has side-by-side hookups, but they were not completely full so rigs were placed in separate spots so they did not have to share the hookups. The sites were very long and level. Staff was very friendly and escorted you to your site. It was very quiet and peaceful. Good dog walk area. The little church was a nice added touch, although we did not partake of the services. We really enjoyed the Clear Lake area. I would recommend this RV park either as a destination if you are visiting Clear Lake, or it is very convenient if you are on your way to another destination. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
A very good overnight stop. Plenty of grass between sites. Good WiFi connection. No cable TV but had good reception with an antenna. Very pet friendly. Very easy check-in system including an escort to site. Have stayed here in the past and will stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Campground host allowed me to sit in my air conditioned RV to register and her husband escorted us to our site. Site was a gravel pull through and level. Hookups were side by side with neighboring site, but it wasn't a problem. WiFi had good signal. There is no cable TV, but had 4-5 local channels off the air. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
There were a few potholes driving down the road that led to Oakwood RV Park and the entrance isn't very impressive, but once you get into the park, it was like an oasis: no traffic noise, quiet and restful. Good satellite/internet reception. They have a church where services are held every Sunday and the basement also serves as a storm shelter. Wonderful long, graveled pull-through sites with patio and picnic table. If we are ever in the area again, we will definitely stay here. If peace, quiet and tranquility are what you are looking for, Oakwood RV Park is the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This campground offers easy access for large rigs, full hookups, 50A service, and WiFi. Parking pads and access roads are gravel. All sites are pull-through leading to a grid-like road pattern, quite practical, but lacking in aesthetics. Phone service can be arranged through the local telco; with good cellular coverage and WiFi, it is probably unnecessary. Tree cover is limited and is present only for some sites. We did not use the on-site laundry facilities. There is a chapel on site where the campground owner leads an ecumenical worship service each Sunday morning. The campground had a noticeable accumulation of minor back maintenance items that detracted from the experience. Any one of the items by itself: the fence needing paint, the warped board in the picnic table, the creative repurposing of phone booths as WiFi access points, the careworn check-in area, would have raised no eyebrows. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This is a terrific campground. The hosts are nice. All sites are full hookups, you have a choice of shade or open. There is free wifi. People can have campfires. I called before I came and they have a storm cellar and they said I could bring the dogs in if necessary. There's nothing not to like about this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
Not a bad park, just not a real remarkable one. I stayed here one other time and didn't realize it until I was here. The sites are long so we didn't have to unhook the toad. Has gravel sites with small concrete patios. The staff was friendly. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
I agree with the previous posts that the park is quiet and has large, pull-through sites with cement patios. Our televison reception was fine. We spent several days in the upper level with our camping group. The owner and help were very friendly. The only negative was the water had a bad taste. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
We had a wide grassy site with a cement patio, table, and fire ring on the upper level. There are not shade trees on the upper level but it is sparsely occupied and very quiet as is the entire campground. Staff is friendly and helpful but not intrusive. Lots to see and do in this area if you have not visited before. We had fairly good Verizon broadband reception and spotty TV reception but the satellite was fine. We will certainly camp here again when in the area. Only cash and check accepted so be prepared. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Sites are level & long. Nice place. Very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
The park hosts were the absolute best we have seen in Iowa. The pull through we had would have been a little close if the park was totally filled because of side by side parking. The park wasn't full so there was a whole lot of room between rigs. The water, electricity and Wi-Fi were very good. Make sure you reserve a spot if you are going to be there for a holiday weekend. We will stay there often in the future because our daughter and husband have a lake condo close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Overall a very nice place. Cash or check only, no credit cards. Very friendly owners escort you to your site. Nice size sites with plenty of grass throughout the park. Quiet, peaceful and pet friendly. Restrooms and showers were very clean. WI-FI reception was good and plenty of TV stations available with an antenna. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
A beautiful and relaxing park, with the longest sites we've ever seen. Within walking distance of the lake, this park has a pristine feel--beautiful landscape and very clean & quiet. Nice patios and a fire ring at each site. Wonderful grassy dog-walk areas. The hosts & owner are extremely friendly, and escort you to your site. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Camped here in a motorhome in Sept. 2008. Loved the owners, very helpful, and they escort to the site too. free wifi worked great. This is one of the cleanest and well kept campgrounds in that area. It is a very quiet and peaceful place to relax. Sites are huge and the longest pull thrus we have seen. Gravel pads are level and well maintained. Rigs are staggered on the sites so we didn't feel our neighbors were right on top of us. Nice grassy yards with firepits and picnic tables. Laundry room is spotless and so are the bathrooms and showers. A lovely rural campground with lovely pastures around the park. The photos on their website do not show just how nice this park is. We will camp there everytime we visit family in Iowa. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Super long sites, but are back to back. Not a big problem though since the campground was pretty empty. Very quiet at night. Close to town. Concrete patios were nice. Lots of grass. They do not accept any type of credit or debit cards so bring cash or check. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Simply a wonderful laid-back campground with the longest pull-through sites we have ever seen in 35,000 miles of camping. The pull-through sites must have been 100' long. If you want a place to stay close to Clear Lake, this is the one! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
We are currently staying at this campground. We like it here, quiet and clean. The Campground Hosts are very nice and very help full. They don't have any planned activities on site but there are things going on in the area through out the year. We are in a 5th wheel and will be here for a month or two. The only problem we have is getting dish network set up. Those with Direct have no problem. Also wish they would stay open year round. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
We liked this park a lot - especially the huge, long, level pull-through sites, with grass, concrete pad & table. It was neat and clean. We only stopped overnight and left the toad attached, but still had lots of room. The newer section at the back has small trees, which our satellite dishes like. The sites are side by side, but not overlapping like some. The front desk was very nice. If we had stayed longer, we'd have checked out the great county lake and park which is nearby. The price was a pleasant surprise also. We'd definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
A very clean and well maintained park.Access is a little far from the freeway. Large,long pull thrus. Water was not turned on when we stopped, but we were still charged the full price or we would have rated it a little higher. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
This is a great park for a short stay with a family. Not a lot for kids to do, but the state forest and lake are nearby (~1 mile, a bit far to walk). The facilities are great with big pull throughs. Since we had two in our camping group, they set us up so that our campers faced each other, which was great! We would camp here again, but only if the state parks were full. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
Super friendly owners. Building for rallies poor. Good electricity and water in this park. There are plenty of open sites for internet satellite usage. Ask for big pull thru sites in the upper level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
I made a reservation 2 weeks ago just to be safe and there was no problem there and I did arrive at 8pm on Friday night and the workcampers here had said they don't usually allow conversions but since there was a reservation they will honor it. There was no fuss for the weekend stay otherwise. And the guy did escort us to the site and he even seemed somewhat interested in what I had cause he knows what a factory one would have cost me to get with a wheelchair lift. We didn't use the restrooms. The sites were fairly level but not perfect as I did have to block my front wheels up 2 inches to allow the AC condensation to drain properly but that can be expected anywhere. The concrete patios at the sites were very nice that they were not raised a inch or two higher than the grass which made the transition from the concrete to the grass easy for a wheelchair. We did also go to the plane crash site and with a power wheelchair it isn't too bad going through the field with some one to give that little extra push through the ditch but don't go there after a fresh rain shower as it would be muddy and hard for a wheelchair. I personally won't stay at this CG again just cause of their thoughts about bus conversions. But overhaul it is a nice park that can handle extra long rigs with no problem and there should be enough space to accommodate a 40 foot RV plus a 20 foot trailer with a car on it and when you get there you don't need to unhook the trailer or drive the car back on it every night. I didn't use the wireless cause of the added fee and I really didn't need it anyways but the signal seems good as I could receive both of them from inside my metal bus with out using a external antenna. Not a good place for private or any good size shade trees. (My rating isn't reflecting the bus.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
This is a basic campground. The shower facilities are basic and old but clean. Staff friendly and escort to site. They assist in parking. Most sites pull through. Mine was gravel with a cement patio pad. Site was very level and I was set up within 20 minutes. There is limited shopping so make sure you have what you need before you arrive. Nothing on site and very little in town. They have a very good WiFi secure site. Laundry and ice on honor system. Put money in slot. I will stay here again overnight. Would not stay long term. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
Loved this campground. Very well maintained, overall. Quiet. Not a lot of amenities (e.g. no playground, no pool), but for a home base for the area, worked out great--we weren't looking for amenities. Hosts led you to site, helped you line up. Very friendly. Has WiFi for $1 per day. Parking areas were stone, all sites had a concrete patio with picnic table and fire ring. It looked like most sites were full hook up, and most were pull through. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$20
Very clean park. Nice town. Near a very nice lake. This is the place that Buddy Holly, the Big Bopper and Richie Valens performed their last show before taking off in an airplane that crashed within 5 miles of the town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$21
Large pull thrus, friendly people, well kept up We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com