206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Elmer Thomas Rec Area (LETRA) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (580) 442-5541
CGID4174

Lake Elmer Thomas Rec Area (LETRA)

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
October 2011
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   9   7   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$18
This is a military base, no guns or ammo, they did search my trailer. The park is 8 miles down a range road at 30 mph. The lake is low. I did kill a rattlesnake near the park and before saw one in the campground, so be aware. The view is good, all sites are gravel, but fairly level. Wifi did not work most of the time. There is no dog park or pen and they must be on a leash at all times. Artillery fire may be heard frequently, but overall an OK park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$16
We spent a couple of days here letting my wife revisit the Lawton area. Beautiful views. Decently long/wide sites. Our 42 foot 5W fit well. Some confusion as far as site reservation. I didn’t remember which site, and we arrived late after the office closed. The camp host didn’t know, and the manager was leaving as we were coming in. Remember you’re on an active military post. It’s about 7 miles from the campground to the nearest post gate, so nothing is a short trip if you can’t buy things on post. Your GPS will not take you to the correct gate. Use Key Gate or Apache Gate. WiFi is available, but we had issues connecting, and ended up going to the Loves truck stop just outside of Apache Gate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$17
The area is very nice with the view of the lake and Mt. Scott, but the RV sites were not kept up very well. There was tall grass and weeds around the hookups at most of the sites. With a little care, this could be a very nice place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
We camped here two nights with grandgirls and we had a ball. Our space was large and had lots of grass; but the main thing was the water slide, beach, paddle boats, and put-put golf that made this place so great. We will go back!!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$13
Nice campground, fish here all the time since were military and live within 10 miles of park. Will camp here again, water slide etc were closed at the time we stayed but overall was a nice area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$12
Lots of amenities but no shade in the newer area. We did drive to the "older" area and there is more trees & some shade over there, those sites are right on the lakefront also but appears most of those sites are permanently occupied. There is a store, a cafe, water sport rentals and a 2 slide water park. The road from the base, Fort Sill, to the LETRA is a bit bumpy and its easy a 10-15 minute drive. The lots in the "new" area are pretty close together. The lots closest to the cafe can reach the Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2005
$16
The park is located on Army Fort Sill..there is a firing range south of the park. Artillery rounds and machine gun fire could be heard and felt at the CG. They fired sometimes until 11:00PM. The CG is on Lake Elmer Thomas, a pretty lake, with paddle boats, canoes, etc., for rent. A small store is also there. Although it was nice, and had a lot of activities, I don't think I will stay there again, too much noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com