224124 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Elmer Thomas Rec Area (LETRA) (Military Camping Only) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (580) 442-5541
CGID4174

Lake Elmer Thomas Rec Area (LETRA) (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   5   7   8   7   9   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Nice area by lake, but no shade trees. Large spaces, but no cable & had to be outside to get 4G cell service. It's on Ft. Sill so it's a bit of a hassle getting on & off base and the artillery being shot will shake your rv some! Park has nice facilities & play areas for kids! Not sure if we'll stay there again. Don't like not having use of my phone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
Only one hour and twenty minutes from Wichita Falls, on the Army Base. Clearest lake of Oklahoma with sandy beach and water slides. Great fishing from shore or boat, we did both. No wake lake. Great views of the mountains. Good biking on the back road on base. Store was not stocked very well, apart from some ice cream. Because of the full hookups nobody uses the bath house much and this could be improved. Cabins also available. You can rent all kinds of stuff for on the water. We love this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
It's a beautiful park! This is our 2nd time here. We come for the annual OCS Artillery reunion. You don't have to retired or active to stay here. Entry is off Hwy 44, exit 45. Apache road gate is the way in. All it takes now is a photo ID and a cursory look into your RV. It's a very nice park in a beautiful location, with a lovely no-wake lake. It's about 12 miles from the post center and downtown Lawton. It was well maintained at the time of our visit. Be prepared for high winds...it does sweep ore the plain! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
There are too many permanent campers here and they get all the better sites along the edges of the park. Dogs run loose commonly and dog poop is left along the edges of the park. This is an all gravel park but sites are pretty level. This park is 8 miles from the nearest gate and at nights and weekends it is about 1 miles to get off base. This is a military base and guns must be registered in advance, only M-F, so don't bring any weapons with you. There are better camping sites in the Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge about 10 miles west and rates are better. If you reserve a site they will often change your site without your approval, so don't expect to get the one you reserve. It happened twice to us. Be aware this is an artillery training base and if you are offended by the sound of freedom (artillery going off sometimes all night) then this is probably not for you. Don't mean to sound negative, but this is not a KOA or newer type campground. One the positive, the lake is clear and pristine looking and small boats and kayaks can be rented in the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$18
This is a military base, no guns or ammo, they did search my trailer. The park is 8 miles down a range road at 30 mph. The lake is low. I did kill a rattlesnake near the park and before saw one in the campground, so be aware. The view is good, all sites are gravel, but fairly level. Wifi did not work most of the time. There is no dog park or pen and they must be on a leash at all times. Artillery fire may be heard frequently, but overall an OK park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$16
We spent a couple of days here letting my wife revisit the Lawton area. Beautiful views. Decently long/wide sites. Our 42 foot 5W fit well. Some confusion as far as site reservation. I didn’t remember which site, and we arrived late after the office closed. The camp host didn’t know, and the manager was leaving as we were coming in. Remember you’re on an active military post. It’s about 7 miles from the campground to the nearest post gate, so nothing is a short trip if you can’t buy things on post. Your GPS will not take you to the correct gate. Use Key Gate or Apache Gate. WiFi is available, but we had issues connecting, and ended up going to the Loves truck stop just outside of Apache Gate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$17
The area is very nice with the view of the lake and Mt. Scott, but the RV sites were not kept up very well. There was tall grass and weeds around the hookups at most of the sites. With a little care, this could be a very nice place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
We camped here two nights with grandgirls and we had a ball. Our space was large and had lots of grass; but the main thing was the water slide, beach, paddle boats, and put-put golf that made this place so great. We will go back!!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$13
Nice campground, fish here all the time since were military and live within 10 miles of park. Will camp here again, water slide etc were closed at the time we stayed but overall was a nice area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$12
Lots of amenities but no shade in the newer area. We did drive to the "older" area and there is more trees & some shade over there, those sites are right on the lakefront also but appears most of those sites are permanently occupied. There is a store, a cafe, water sport rentals and a 2 slide water park. The road from the base, Fort Sill, to the LETRA is a bit bumpy and its easy a 10-15 minute drive. The lots in the "new" area are pretty close together. The lots closest to the cafe can reach the Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2005
$16
The park is located on Army Fort Sill..there is a firing range south of the park. Artillery rounds and machine gun fire could be heard and felt at the CG. They fired sometimes until 11:00PM. The CG is on Lake Elmer Thomas, a pretty lake, with paddle boats, canoes, etc., for rent. A small store is also there. Although it was nice, and had a lot of activities, I don't think I will stay there again, too much noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com