206485 User submitted reviews online!!
Paradise By The Sea RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 55 user reviews. Phone: (760) 439-1376
CGID418

Paradise By The Sea RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$52



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   10   7   8   8   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$52
Rate reflects weekly rate plus 3 extra nights in one of the cheapest sites. All sites, not just ours, are very cramped. We had no where to park our tow truck as well as having a sitting area. The management did allow us to park in one of their allocated parking spots. The campsite is very clean and tidy with paved roads and sites which are regularly swept and cleaned by the very good ground staff. Good pool and spa and very clean restrooms. A short walk to the beach. Good water pressure and excellent WiFi. We would have awarded a higher mark but we felt a short stay is overpriced for the space you get. And very sadly. the office staff/management are friendly but arrogant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$49
Great park. Near the beach, nice pool, friendly staff. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$110
Absolutely loved this park. From the moment we pulled in I was impressed with the staff. By the time I had checked in my husband had been escorted to our site and was unhooking the trailer. Amazing!! Yes, the sites are a little on the small side, but what do you expect. It is less than 5 minutes to walk to the beach. The train noise didn't bother us at all. I wouldn't want to be in a site right next to the tracks though. The restrooms and showers were clean. They have a nice game room and lounge for all ages and even show movies at night. I honestly can not say enough positive things about this park. We will definitely return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$89
Really can't beat the price for all you get: clean, well maintained, helpful and friendly staff, movie night, 5 walking minutes to beach w/ lifeguard, rental equipment for beach, family friendly, safe, and great place as base for sight seeing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$89
Clean and safe park. Sites are a bit small and internal streets not very wide. This makes back-in sites really challenging to say the least. Wi-Fi is average once you figure out the five steps to get it working...not the easiest. Also, the Wi-Fi code provided by office only works for one device! Really lame if you have a tablet, Blu-Ray, Wii, smartphone, laptop...you get the picture. Verizon cell service is good, 4G/LTE is bad, and 3G is horrible...use the free Wi-Fi once you figure it out. No fire-pits, but you can bring your own. With that said, no real firewood is allowed. Another dumb rule. Lets make smores with the DuraFlame log kids. Cable TV channels are above average. Access to beach is great. Atmosphere is great and family orientated. Staff is friendly and helpful. Price is really high, but if you're going to pay for the beach and can't get into a state campground, this is it. If price was lower, I would give Paradise an 8 or 9. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$89
This is a very clean, safe park. They have security at night and the owners are always around making sure that rules are followed. It is by far the nicest RV park in the area. Having said that, it is loud. Even though the speed limit on Highway 101 adjacent to the park is 35MPH cars seem to be going much faster. The motorcycles screaming by 24/7 are extremely aggravating. Nothing the owners can do of course about this, however keep this in mind before you book here, as the sites are non-refundable. The train goes by quite often, however they are short trains and are tolerable. Great path to the beach! Be sure to check out Angelo's burgers just South on 101! Also check out Yoshino's in the village of Carlsbad. Get there early as they sell out of the best sushi I've ever had very quickly! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$57
Super clean, very friendly. Easy in and out. Felt very safe in park. Small park but very nice. Will stay here again. Wi-Fi was easy to log on to as well. Other parks should take note on how clean they are. It makes the guest want to leave their space as nice as they found them! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$56
Best RV park in Oceanside, CA. Easy walk to the beach. Very close to rail tracks so quite noisy at times. Clean campground. Not easy getting into back-in camping spot with 31 ft travel trailer. Had to park truck in overflow parking area due to lack of space. Honest business. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$109
We stayed here for two weeks. We choose this park based on proximity to Carlsbad where our two sons were vacationing with their families. We were in a supersite, #3. Although trains came by west of us and the Coast Highway is in front of the park, the noise never bothered us. I noticed the traffic and trains during the day but they never bothered us at night. This park is kid friendly and there were a lot of children of all ages. They were everywhere on bikes and scooters, but were very well behaved and no disturbance to us. I guess I appreciate children more now that I am an aging grandparent. Our side was a little close quartered, we have 3 foot slides on both sides. I couldn't extend my patio awning fully, but we don't tend to sit out a lot and the weather was cloudy and cool most of the time. There are a variety of space sizes to accommodate any camping unit conceivable. The grounds and spaces are very well maintained. Sites are swept and raked after each occupant. The parking pads are concrete with gravel around them, so I don’t think rain would pose any problem with muddy sites. We were here over the 4th of July holiday and there were a lot of activities for both adults and children. Staff was friendly and helpful at all times. For cyclists, joggers or walkers the San Lois Rey River Trail is nearby and most of the streets have designated bike lanes. Over all I think this is a good central location for whatever activities you plan. The price I posted is for a supersite which includes space for two cars and reflects holiday and summer prices. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$80
Was apprehensive after reading a few less than glowing reviews. Fears were ungrounded. Was a last minute decision to come. Wife insisted on going to the ocean. Not much available at usual locations on such short notice. Park is exactly as represented on their website. Extremely neat and well maintained. Touch up painting and landscaping happening constantly. Great lobby/lounge with ping pong, football, "bar shuffleboard, pool table and two big screen TVs. Small store only drawback but Target etc., only 3 miles away. Beach access is as promised. Beach is small and high tide takes up most. Still, it is lifeguard protected and swimming beach separate from surfing, etc. Light rail comes by very close every 30 minutes or so until late evening, picking up again after 5AM. Short trains and except for one late in day. Commuter rail mostly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
Stayed a month at winter rate. Well maintained park with convenient access to beach and nice park for dog. Train noise and small sites. Busy week-ends with plenty of kids. We enjoyed the pool/hot tub (adults only after 5:30) and their are plenty of places to eat within a short drive. Oceanside has nice beaches, along with the pier and harbor. Be careful walking after the sun sets. The park has good security. Staff is friendly and helpful. Family oriented and good atmosphere for all - just another day in paradise! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$54
This is a very clean and well run resort. There are lots of off site activities nearby. There is some train noise but it did not bother us. Also this is an older park but only in its layout and size. Just about everything else about it is updated. We really enjoyed the tropical feel and decor of the resort. They have invested a lot in landscaping including the path outside the park that leads to the ocean. The pool and spa were very clean and enjoyable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$50
We came in late so we just chose one of the posted vacant sites at the back side of the park. No sooner had we set up, then at least 5 Amtrak trains went by about 10 minutes apart, with horns blowing. The park itself was quite nice, but the train noise would prevent us from staying here again. It is a very short walk to the beach, and is close to Legoland. The laundry facilities were good, but get locked at 9:30. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$43
We stayed a week here, and our rate reflects the weekly rate. There are a lot of good things about the park, and those include the proximity to the beach (through a gate, down a path, across a street) and the cleanliness of their bathrooms and showers. The staff is also very helpful and accommodating. The staff member escorted us to our site, which was appallingly small and tight, so I asked to see what else was available, and he took me around in his golf cart and let me pick the one I liked. The other good thing is that we brought our own bikes, so it was great just riding to the nearby train (the Coaster) that goes down to San Diego (you can bring your bike onto the train). It's about a 10-minute bike ride to the train station. We also biked along the beach (there is a great bike trail that leads to the amazing long Oceanside pier). The beach is clean and beautiful, and it was a pleasure to be so close. Restrooms and bathrooms were modest but clean. Ok, sounds perfect so far. Here is the downside part, one however is more related to your feeling about trains. The worst thing about this park is how close together you are to your neighbor. This is the closest cheek by jowl park I have ever been in. We literally look into each others' windows and the proximity to the next RV is so slim you have to duck to get under the RV behind you, in order to get into your back compartment. The ones next door have a picnic table between you and maybe a few more feet. Our sewer hookup opening had no cover, and the smell of sewage was rather pervasive. I had to put a plastic bin over the top in order to cut down on the smell from our own sewer outlet, but you do smell other peoples' sewer outlets when there isn't a good breeze. It smelled like a sewage plant on a regular basis there, which may or may not be the park's fault. The ducks in the nearby outlet from the ocean appeared healthy and the water clean, so who knows. Second, this is not a great part of town, it's the worst part. It's a bike ride away from the better side of town. Third, the passing trains are only a few yards away from the fence of the RV park, making their regular passage quite noticeable. But I like trains, and there are no loud whistles, just the sound of trains on tracks every few hours. Because the trains are so close, the trailer would rock when they go by. I personally like this, so it wasn't a problem for me, but I can see how that can be annoying to others. All in all, I am not sure I would return, because of the proximity of the other trailers. If they took out half the sites and charged twice as much I actually would consider it! But since you feel like a sardine, it's really a disappointment, given that beautiful and convenient location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$95
GREAT location. Just a few min. walk to the beach. Very clean and well kept. Very small spaces with no barriers between, but to be expected so close to the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
Rate reflects monthly winter rate. Very well run park. The owners live onsite and their pride in the park is evident. Very helpful and friendly staff. Cleaning of common areas is always being done. Sites are small, but that is common when staying so close to the beach. Beach is a short walk down a walkway through a small city park. There is a small snack bar across the street from the beach that makes made to order breakfast ,lunch and espresso. Pool and spa area is clean and welcoming. Dog area is small but serves the purpose. Park is on historic route 101 and the drive down to Dana Point is beautiful going through many beach cities and state parks. Wi-Fi is excellent and the cable TV is as excellent. Restrooms are clean, the water is hot and the restrooms don't feel "institutional". There are railroad tracks close by, but we hardly noticed them because the trains are never longer than 6 cars long and all passenger trains, no long freight trains. There is a lot to do in the area and the staff has good suggestions. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$45
It may look a little pricy but it's just a few minutes walk to the beach and there's nearly always a premium to pay for that convenience. The campground is REALLY well maintained and the guys doing that job were very efficient and friendly. It was typical to come back from a day at the beach to find they had nicely raked the grit next to the concrete pad so it was immaculate. The campground is easily accessed from the main road (not too busy or noisy) running along the front. There's a railway station just a few miles north AND south allowing us to take inexpensive and pleasant trips down to San Diego where we could see the city and old town on foot and by trolley bus. This is a great location of you want a myriad of beach choices and great things to do nearby - and the town of Oceanside is really cute. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2011
$60
Very cramped spaces, slide outs almost touch each other. Poor landscaping, with just a few trees by the sites. Basically a cement parking lot surrounded by train tracks that are a constant noise problem with Amtrak, the Coaster and other local trains. Felt like I was in the movie "My Cousin Vinny." Borders the Coast Highway that feels as though you are at Sturgis, ND with all of the motorcycle noise. Close to the beach, although you have to walk down to the beach surrounded by a chain link fence. The whole area is very blighted and feels like it is on the wrong side of the "tracks." Very friendly and helpful staff and nice small pool area. We camped here for a couple of days. Would not return. Very expensive for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$60
This is our 4th stay here. It is a very clean and friendly park, great staff, especially the maintenance workers who never stop cleaning and always wave and say hello if they see you. The big draw to this park is the beach, which is a 5 min. walk. There are great restaurants and shopping nearby. Our $60 / night rate was for a long (60 ft) pull-through; other sites are less. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2011
$45
What a mistake. This small, crowded, sandy, hole in the wall could not be worse for our rig (except maybe Magnolia in Vicksburg). Nothing could get me to return here, and it's in a bad neighborhood to boot. Don't go here without an armed escort, a shoehorn, a bucket and mop, and no slides/awnings or need for any privacy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$60
The bathrooms are spotless and not crowded. The grounds are kept immaculate. Friendliness and super services are what place this park with a ranking of 10. Staff will guide you into your spot, coffee and dessert are available. Great map and local information is provided. Sometimes they have special events at park--wine tasting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$45
This is by far the cleanest park we have stayed in to date. We LOVE this park. The location is great. You can ride bikes into town. There are little local food markets within walking or biking distance. The staff are friendly and always helpful. The groundkeepers are FANTASTIC. The one drawback are the trains but after 2 days we literally didn't even notice them anymore! Typically two freight trains per day with the last one around 11:30 at night, and those are LONG and LOUD! They shake the RV, but again, you get to where they are hardly noticed! The park has ample parking and you can pay for extra vehicle parking which is great. My one wish is that they would extend the 90 day limit but I guess that's a permit thing? We come down to stay close to our son who is at Pendleton and would love to be able to stay beyond the 90 days without having to move and come back. I would highly recommend this park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
Ground were OK, Staff was nice. Located in a bad area on a very busy street and the camp site are on top of each other, the dog area are so small my golden retriever could hardly turn around. We will not go there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$60
Stayed here two nights. Sites are very narrow. Had to keep our shades down to get any privacy. Reserved a 50 amp pull through, but was assigned to a 30 amp back-in site. Do not let them put you along the rear fence. A commuter train thunders by frequently. There is a small beach, but you have to walk through a park and across a busy street to get there. Some scary folks hanging around the park. The staff was extraordinarily friendly, but couldn't compensate for this park's shortcomings. The grounds are very well maintained, but overall not worth the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$63
Great location, short, paved walk to beach. Family that owns and runs the park is great. Utilities and Wi-Fi at site work well. Park is very clean, sites are level, parking pads paved. But the sites are small and very narrow. We had the largest site in the park and our 42' coach and tow filled the length. Park is always busy, so you will have a close neighbor. Few kids here in October, so not a problem now. Noise from railroad goes away at night, but near the front of park there is some street noise at night. Overall, we enjoyed it for a few nights and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
Great Park. The staff was wonderful. The grounds keepers lead you to your site and guide you in. The wind came up, they came around and rolled up awnings that could have been damaged. We will come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$68
The location, amenities, and upkeep of this park rate a 10. The short walk to the ocean and the nice park near the estuary are great. It is easy to get to, and close to everything. The layout, tightness of the sites and tolerance for people with totally out of control small children, coupled with the small in comparison annoyance of the trains passing, force me to drop this to a 7. One of the tightest facilities I've ever camped in, especially in the sections where they put you back to back, and side to side. Now I see why they have a summer no-refund policy. I was here 9 days. I would have left after the first week-end if I had been able to get a refund. I met some very nice people here, but the obnoxious parents who let the kids run wild ruined the good parts of the stay, for me. The location is superior. The stay might have been better if I had been offered one of the angled spaces around the perimeter, where there is nothing in back of you, but a wall. There is also more space between those sites. While there is little management can do about the commotion, and the parents from hell seem to keep the park full, you do need to consider this when assessing your needs. I must have missed the review just prior, because I never would have stayed here if I'd read it. Perhaps it is better in winter. I don't think I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$85
My family stayed at this park as a base for going to Legoland with our four kids. For the purpose of being close to Legoland it ranks a 10. It is only 10 minutes from the park and is easy to access. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was very nice and the facilities clean. Our boys really enjoyed swimming in the pool. There is also a very nice playground that is within walking distance, and just beyond that is the ocean (also within walking distance). The downside, it is basically a parking lot with hook-ups that is walking distance to the beach. And while the beach is nice, when the tide is in there isn't much sand left to sit on. It is also right next to the train. I didn't find the noise of the train bothersome, but I sleep with earplugs. The kids slept fine too. I would stay here again for the ease of access to Legoland, but I wouldn't pick this park just as a getaway beach location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$45
Very friendly staff. Clean park. Nice pool. Close to the beach in downtown Oceanside. You even get escorted to your site and they help you park. Just a 100 yard walk down a path to the beach. A very crowded small stretch of beach. A few downsides though. There are pros and cons to every park. So here we go: The train that goes by constantly honking it's horns I believe to just bother people. It's quite loud and will even shake your RV and awake you from a dead sleep. The trains go by at least every half hour. We stayed for a month. Never got use to that train! You cannot hear the ocean even with the large surf we had. You must like kids as well. Lots of them screaming, riding bikes everywhere and even playing handball against my RV. Having 4 grown children now adults I do understand kids. But so many parents on the memorial weekend would get hammered drinking and let there kids just go wild. I had to go to my neighbor who had a good 25 people staying with them in their 15 ft trailer to keep their kids away from my RV. Throwing balls against my RV jumping on my stairs to jumping on and off my picnic bench. The parents did nothing and just didn't care. I had to call the office a couple of times. Plenty of employees in the day but when you need security at night their is just one and you never see him. I believe he stays their and answers phone calls. When I called to complain he informed me he had other calls waiting and had to go. They NEED security riding around in the evenings and night controlling this zoo. They do have a quit time but until than I felt like I was 16 again living at Newport beach in the middle of party zone central. If your looking for an ocean view or peace and quiet this is not the place for you. I lived on the beach for many years and do understand the noise. But at my age now I like the peace and relaxation. If you have kids this is the park for you. If you don't, it's not. Pretty expensive but your close to the beach. Again, daily staff was very friendly and the park is very clean. I would stay there again but only during the school year when there is less noise, less people and more peace and quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$50
We stayed here a week, and it was very clean and the staff was very nice. It's close to the train, to San Diego and to stores. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$53
Packed in like sardines. Pricey but typical for this close to the ocean, 150 yard walk to the beach. The staff is very friendly and you are guided to your site with help backing in or pulling through with a full explanation of your utility hook-ups. Sites are narrow and close together with no privacy in between. Easy off/on and close to I-5. OK for an overnight stay. State oceanside parks in area would be much better for extended stays. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$55
Great place with friendly employees. Most of the office people are family and treat you as such also. Sites are a tad bit tight, but serviceable. Facilities are well kept up and some of the rules are strict, but they seem to be easy on them. You are only an easy block from the ocean and the trail is level and safe. The CG is well fenced and the trail runs under the train tracks and the owners are paying to have a mural painted there. The dog run is a joke, but you can take your dog to the little park on the way to the ocean and if your careful, you can let them run. DON"T TAKE THEM ON THE BEACH. the people who live there will call the police in a second and it's a $150 fine. Wi-Fi is excellent. The rate reflects a combination of a weekly rate, two holiday periods and the dog. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$55
This is bar none the best RV park within the North San Diego area. The park is rather small and the RV sites are packed in real close. The cable TV had a good signal and many channels. The drainage stream that flows by the RV park to the ocean was odorous, but otherwise we had an enjoyable stay. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$98
This site was our first site to visit with our new travel trailer, we were impressed from the start that the owner helped back in our trailer and offer to help with the set ups, and we were impressed with the set up for six since grass gets muddy, tracks into the trailer (constant sweeping) and we could part the bikes onto the small colored gravel . There is minimum traffic in the part since the kids like to ride their bikes, a nice heated pool and spa, a game room that offers a flat screen TV, ping pong, pool table, kitchenette, and a small store for basic items should one forget. The rate is reasonable for an area that offers a short walking distance through a clean park that has a concrete pathway alongside an estuary to a well kept beach with clean and refreshing water. Our kids had the opportunity to see and observe several groups of young ducklings waddle through the water with the mother, bike ride to the pier safely away from traffic (1.5 miles) where they were able to play on large play set on the beach, and boogie board to their hearts content. We have been to other sites since our first visit in January 2009, and I can say that I am willing to pay extra for convenience, safety, and cleaniness. There is a train that runs, Metro Link, and I believe it only runs during the work hours then stops before 7pm. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$98
I love this park!!! We have a great time every summer. They continue to make upgrades to make your stay better and better. My children play outside all day/night. I feel safe at the park and know most of the people who rv/camp there every summer. They do seem to have a major parking issue with extra cars. Some of the sites can fit two cars and for the rent it should include both cars but they charge extra for the second car. So we just parked on the street and they were out the money. They are also opposed to renting extra spaces to park friends, family, handicapped even for a hour or two when there is clearly enough room for it. They make money on some stuff and are opposed to making it on others. We will however continue to vacation there because the staff makes the difference in all the world. I would recommend this park and do to all my family and friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$95
It is a very clean campground. Unfortunately there is no grass. There is a nice pool, jacuzzi, and a small store in office. We paid for more expensive site for large concrete pad. This place is NOT cheap. They had outdoor movie for the kiddos. My complaint would be that we were told it was OK to bring our golfcart, but than were scolded like children when we rode it, and told they are not allowed unless you are disabled. Be aware they have a camera up on a pole, watching you. The employee did come back and apologize stating that we are paying a lot of money to stay here, etc., and etc. It is a short walk under train tracks to the beach. Passing park with playground (which does have a few homeless residents). The trains are constantly passing by. But is amusing and a fun change of pace. My kids and I would make bets over what type of train was coming (freight or passenger) and how many cars were being pulled. There are concrete pads and gravel between sites with small palm trees. Overall: a clean park but too expensive for my taste considering I live in the area. But worth the money if you're having a hard time locating a near-beach campground that has any openings. This one is easier than most to get into on a whim. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$50
Drove 20 hours from Montana to relax. Couldn't find a nicer place!!!! Dog, kid, friend friendly. Access to park to walk the dog, access within 2 blocks to the beach and a quaint little Bucchaneer Galley that serves fantastic breakfast and lunch. Cleanest wash rooms around. Great pool and hottub. The owners and employees are all very helpful and friendly. If you want to get away and have a great time and experience the local flavor of Southern California, this is the place for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2008
$39
As previously stated, sites are pretty close together. I don't see any reason for charging $2 per night for dogs. The small enclosed pet area does not warrant this expense. No grass in the park whatsoever, just decomposed granite between sites. There are lots of people that live here year round, lots of kids and bikes running around. Park is clean, however, despite all the full time family residents. The walk to the beach would be a turn-off for some. Overall, too high priced. The wi-fi is pretty slow. We almost committed to staying here a whole month and are so pleased that we changed it to a week after reading the reviews. This is not a park that we would come back to. But, to be fair, Oceanside is not a beach town we would come back to either. The town is pretty run down. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$65
We just returned today and will be going back in two weeks. The staff was very friendly and assisted everyone to their sites. It's a little tight but we backed in a 36ft 5th wheel and had no problems getting around. It's the beach so you can expect a lot of extra room. You just have to deal with the trains. A short walk to the beach and surf. It's the best RV Park in the area,I've seen the other choices. The park is very clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$65
Very small, tight cramped spaces. The park is clean but noisy and it's a fairly long walk to the beach, you have to walk on a path that takes you underneath the train tracks and then through a park and across a street before you'll be on sand. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$50
I've stayed at this park off and on for several years now and I disagree with some of the comments about the staff. From what I've observed, if people respect the park and it's guests, there are no issues. I think people forget that this is an RV resort and not the desert or a campground. Some people are there to relax and some people are there to party. In order to please everyone, there must be a balance and sometimes the staff is forced to be direct and it may come across as arrogant but I have never experienced this. I will tell you that this place is family-owned and operated, along with some very nice non-family staff. They are religious and care about every guest's safety and happyness. As for the homeless people in the park and the nearby street, that is something that goes with being close to the beach. I have never seen any odd-looking street person wandering around the park and I feel safe there. This park is extremely clean with a nice ocean breeze, beach access, gorgeous sunsets and you can see the stars at night. Sure, the trains can be irritating but last I checked, the railroad runs up and down the coast. If you stay at any hotel or RV park on the coast in North San Diego, you have to deal with the trains and homeless people. The bottom line is that if everyone respects this place, you will not have problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$50
The staff were friendly. Assisted with taking me to my spot and backing the RV into the site. Real close walking distance to the beach and park. Stayed there to participate in Camp Pendelton Mud Run. Very convenient. Sites were clean and level. The only true complaint I can make is the train traffic in during the night/ early morning hours. Enough to disturb sleep, but I have been to far worse places (next to airports and freeways). I will definitely come back to this site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$75
Nothing to write home about. Right on a busy street, bordered by a Harley dealership, industrial park, and elevated, very busy train trestle-freight and commuter. 10 minute walk to a public beach, homeless people prevalent. Gang activity present in parking lot of beach/public park. Beach OK, dangerous undertow right in front of the Lifeguard Tower. Staff are for the most part aloof and arrogant, if not downright hostile. The one saving grace is that Cole Sampson, the owner's son, has taken over the helm and has a pretty good handle on customer service. He's also a lot brighter than the old management "team," and will hopefully turn the staff's attitudes around--lot's of anger there! Otherwise this park is your typical "old" RV park- small tight spaces, very few 50 amp service spots. Nice pool and jacuzzi, a lot of effort is put into groundskeeping, but beware there are too few dumpsters and they always overflow. WiFi OK. High prices tend to keep the "dirtbags" out. Carlsbad/Legoland about a 15 minute drive. Stayed here off and on for the past 5 years and can't think of a restaurant I'd recommend in Oceanside. There's nothing within walking distance of this park, oh and I forgot--watch out for the ants! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$65
This is sorta' half review, half warning. We have stayed here in the past and can basically confirm the majority of things posted previously. Yes, it's clean and well maintained. Yes, it's tight to maneuver. Yes, the trains are loud and frequent. Yes, you do walk to the beach via a pathway (didn't encounter any homeless but they are in the area) It's a decent place if you want to plop somewhere on the CA coast and be close to the ocean. The warning is this. I just called to confirm my reservation and was told that I had none. I was informed that maybe they had me "across the street" at Oceanside RV (See review, draw you own conclusions). When I asked how that happened the girl told me "Oh it happens all the time. People get us confused." Well, I called off of PbtS's own website and I've stayed there before so I know I called the right number. So, if making a reservation here make sure you are reserved at the right place! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
The camp is fairly clean and there are spaces ample size to handle our 40' rig. My concern is with the attitude of the staff who appear to view their role as police rather than service providers. I found them very cold and dictatorial. As opposed to hospitable and helpful. The train passes immediately to the rear and somewhat higher than the site on a trestle. Because there are stations in the immediate vicinity (Carlsbad and Oceanside) most trains blow their whistle right at the park. The sound is deafening. Finally, they advertise wifi access. I have found that it is available about 20% of the time and when the issue was brought to the ownership attention repeatedly, they were impatient and gave me a bunch of double talk about the local cable company having the problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$39
I stayed here once before and enjoyed the stay. I couldn't get the wifi to connect. The office said there were no other reported problems so it must have been me. We were able to checkout one hour later than usual without a problem. There is a great breakfast place to eat just down the walkway to the beach on the corner of the park. I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2007
$50
Rates are expensive. Extra charge for tow vehicles and visiting guests. Spaces are tight with very little room for slides. Staff is unfriendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$65
Potential power problems here. Make sure to check. We've burned a 30 amp adapter, had multiple power outages on another site, and low voltage (110) on most recent site. Wifi weak. Sites very tight and difficult for larger rigs. No extra parking for visitors. However, bathrooms and laundry are very clean, as is the pool. Jacuzzi is very good and clean and large. Good for families who want to be near the beach, though. Expensive for what you get but this is California. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2006
$65
I was disappointed to find that the Ocean was not right there as the advertisement led me to believe. It was a good walk and there were some strange and scary people on the route. The sites are close together but they are nice and I thought the park was clean. It was difficult to maneuver into a space as it is very tight quarters and parking is very limited. WiFi is very important to us as my husband does his work while we are traveling. But no signal could be picked up unless you were in their office. This was extremely inconvenient and because of that we will not be going back this year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$38
Park very nice and clean. But extrememly tight spaces to get into, at a sharp right angle to the driveway. Says pull-throughs but they are two small sites together. Loud train ajacent to the park, runs frequently, day and night!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2006
$38
Nice little park (not a "resort"), but VERY unfriendly staff! When we made our reservation we asked about the train noise. They said "don't worry about it, it's not bad". What a lie that was! We were there 3 weeks and slept maybe 4 nights. The WiFi doesn't work but maybe 20% of the time, and when you complain about it, they blame the cable company and say there is nothing they can do. When we checked out, not even a thank you. We will NOT be going back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2005
$49
This is a family park with wall to wall kids on bikes and scooters, but not during quiet time, 10 pm. to 9 am. The park is not too far from the beach, a couple of blocks through a nice park with a handful of homeless types and you are at the beach. The streets are narrow and the camp sites are strait in with tow vehicles parked in your way, very tough backing a fifth wheel in. I will not be back but if you have kids this park is for you. Too pricey for me. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$45
Very clean, quiet location, if you stay close to the road, train tracks directly behind the back sites. Be warned, not on the ocean, it is at least a block away. I would highly recommend for snowbirds. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$40
I did ask about ants and there are ants in some areas. We didn't have any ants. I saw where people had put down Comet or a cleanser to keep the ants out of motor homes. The people in the office were ok. They were helpful, but didn't seem to go out of their way to help you. Maybe if you asked they would. The campground provided us what we needed for the weekend. It was clean and the spaces were wide enough for M/H's with slide outs and a tow vehicle. I will go back there again. A Rv'er We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$44
Very tight spaces as most are 90 degree backins. Had to park tow vehicle in road and usually walk several hundred feet 'cuz help and owner parked in the way. Also had to have them move so that I could get in and out. Site was concrete slab about 17' wide and that included space for table. This place has ANTS. When we came in there was no sign of them, but the second night we were there they watered the sand and they were all through the TT. Owner came over to tell me that I was making too much noise at 12:00 mid. Well it was my gas alarm going off 'cuz we were spraying Raid for the ants. Will not go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com