219099 User submitted reviews online!!
Watoga State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (304) 799-4087
CGID4182

Watoga State Park

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   8   8   8   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Another campground that is difficult to rate. We loved being on the Greenbrier Trail so we could hop on our bikes and take off. The nature of the WV mountains were gorgeous. However, the park was less than 25% full the days we were there just prior to Labor Day and most sites were marked reserved. Reserved for whom? Long drive in and long drive out, but very scenic. We are glad we stopped but might camp at another trailhead next time. Trail was great though. We were in River Bend section. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
This State Park is a gem. There are two campgrounds, Riverside and Beaver Creek. We stayed at Riverside which is on the Greenbrier River. Everything is kept-up and in working order. The bathrooms are clean and the showers work well. There are two dish washing stations at each bath house with lots of hot water available. The Greenbrier rail-trail is 1.5 miles from Riverside Campground. A steep one mile trail winds it's way from the campground up the mountainside through Rhododendron and Mountain Laurel thickets to a lovely overlook of the surrounding mountains. The Greenbrier River is clean, clear, shallow and ideal for leisurely tubing or canoeing. There are enough hiking, biking, and water activities within a few miles to keep a person busy all summer. We will return to this spot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$23
Wonderful State Park. We camped here in order to ride our Harley through the area. We were not disappointed. The park was well tended, clean, and quite. We liked the river campgrounds better than Beaver Creek. The area offers much to do, Cass Railroad,Bear Town (a must see), The Green Bank observatory, Seneca Lake and many trout streams, Cranberry Glades, Droop Mountain (a civil war battlefield), a a wonderful scenic highway. If you are a biker this is a wonderful place to spend a weekend. We will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$21
What a beautiful mountain setting. The sites are really big and offer a lot of shade. Our little ones loved the frequent visits by the deer. The paved roads were great for our children to ride their bikes on, the traffic was minimal. We enjoyed a nice lazy afternoon tubing down the river. The only thing that disappointed us was no water at the sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
My daughter, our dog and I camped at Watoga in the Riverside Campground for 2 nights. The park personnel were very friendly. The sites are rather close together, with no under story to provide a "break" between them. The sites that are directly on the river have more separation and are generally larger than those on the non-river sites. Some of the sites are grassy, with a gravel patch for parking. Others are mostly packed dirt, a trade off for the shade of the trees which prevent the grass from growing. The roads within the campground are pretty level and great for bike riding. The bath house was, as previously stated, older but clean at all times. The dish washing station was a nice feature. There are also dishwater dumping sites throughout the campground. There are many nice parks in the area. Droop Mountain and Beartown are within 12 miles of the park, and are definitely worth a visit. I would consider Beartown a "must see". A little farther afield are Cranberry Glades and Falls of Hidden Creek. As mentioned, Greenbank is just amazing, and the Cass Railroad is a fun trip. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
We camped here Labor Day Weekend. The park is as the other reviewer stated "deep in the heart of WV". They don't have water hookups but the fill up station is very easy to access. The dump station was also very convenient. Our site was level and shady. I gave it an 8 only because the bath house wasn't that great. It was clean, but it was old and seemed a little "run down" to me. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
Man! This is a great place!! The park itself is beautiful. It’s a bit of a challenge getting there with all the steep hills and switchbacks you have to negotiate but it’s definitely worth the effort. There are two campgrounds a few miles apart from each other; the Beavercreek and the Riverside. I would advise the Riverside over the Beavercreek as the Beavercreek sites looked quite crowded and small. They looked like the sites were jammed up against each other – way too close for my liking. The Riverside sites were –as the name implies- on the riverside. The sites up through #20 were quite large while the further on down you go, the more densely packed they became. None of the sites were full hook-up, electric only but that was fine for us. We camped at site #30, and if I had one complaint it would be the size of the site and nearness of the neighbors. But then again our site was directly across from the restrooms/showers so where we were was real convenient; however there are both pros and cons to being this close to the public facilities. Again, when (not if) we go back again, we’ll get one of the riverside sites numbered 20 or less. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. While I can’t speak to all of them in the Park, the facilities we used had flush toilets, showers, and dish washing sinks and while these facilities were starting to show their age, they were none the less very well maintained and cleaned daily. There’s plenty to do right there in the Park, with a small but beautiful lake for paddle boats/canoeing, a swimming pool at the lodge, lots and lots of sight seeing and wild-life (including deer and black bears), paved roads for bicycling and of course the Greenbrier River. If you want to venture just a little ways outside the park there are many many things to do and see in the area. We rode the Cass Railroad, and biked almost 30 miles of the Greenbrier Bike Trail (hard packed gravel) north of Marlinton.(Greenbrier River Trail) We visited waterfalls (Hills Creek Waterfalls) in the Monongahela National Forest and drove the Highland Scenic Highway and also visited Beartown State Park and Droop Mountain Battlefield and we waded, swam, and played in the Greenbrier River at our campsite. All in all, we really really enjoyed our week stay at Watoga and could easily have enjoyed another week. I recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$19
Deep in a valley of West Virginia. Electric hookup only at most sites in the Riverside Campground. Dump station and water tank fill-up available. Each site has loads of space, fire rings, picnic table. Most sites are dirt/gravel, though some sites are paved. They do have disabled sites available. Reservations are available. Most desirable sites are riverfront. Tubing and fishing on a stunning river! Park has cabins, lodge, and pool. Park is also located adjacent to a state park biking trail. Trail stretches from Lewisburg, WV to Cass Railroad, WV. It runs alongside the Greenbrier River at a one percent grade the entire eighty miles! We did twenty two miles with our kids one day and they still had energy to burn! Lots of other area attractions from the National Radio Observatory to Cass Scenic Railroad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com