218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Camp Edison was rated 9 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (559) 841-3134
CGID4184

Camp Edison

Camp Information
Sites
252
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   9   9   8   10   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Stayed mid-week late September - very quiet - lake level low able to walk around the lake on the shore - fishing not great - lots of trails saw many deer We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Highway 168 is a steep ascent and descent to reach the park. During recent 100+ degree weather, several cars overheated on the way up and brakes smoked on the way down. The lake was at 66%, but still reachable by most vehicles for recreation. On Saturday night, two local groups off Road 2 who had been partying all day were intoxicated and rude, making this uncomfortable for family outing. The rest of the time and locations were family friendly. Very sandy beaches. Our site had the picnic table and bbq up on a hill above the trailer, which was cumbersome. Traffic and noise on the campsite road right behind our site was annoying, and 15 mph speed limit was not enforced. Water was pleasant, clean and refreshing. Overall an adequate campground, with friendly staff and good shade. Seems like a lot of people were in and out of campsites in this mountain setting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
We camp here every year and have been happy. There are some pull though sites too. They also have a museum on the way in. Interesting facts and other things about Shaver Lake. If you want to make summer reservations, make sure you do them asap when they open up in Dec. They book up fast, so you have to make them 6 months in advance if you are camping with a group of people. If you bring a computer, you can get an hour free internet everyday, or pay for more use. They also have cable TV. Clean campground too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
PROS 1. we stayed in the full hookup area and were very happy. 2. Lots of trees, large spacious sites, 3. walk to the beach down a trail, about 1/4 mile CONS 1. you pay extra for everything: showers, dogs, kids 2. reservation system is horrible 3. It seems a lot of people with large scary dogs like to camp here. Our neighbors on the last day came with two large scary dogs, tied them to a tree and left them there. No one payed any attention to them, they were tied day and night. Barked at any passing dog day and night, including ours. The beach also had lots of scary dogs and we have a pit bull but the dogs I'm talking about were much scarier than our pit bull 4. dusty 5. uneven and lots of steep hills on the site We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
Great location. Spacious sites and access to the lake. Good fishing and a nice store. It was pretty cold when we stayed so there were not a lot of people. I can imagine it being pretty crowded in the summer but I don't think it would be a problem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
I have stayed at this park nearly every summer for the last 10 years. Our family loves the cleanliness of all the facilities, and for a private campground the relative spaciousness of the sites. The lake is refreshing and the boat dock and store well equipped and very convenient. What we dislike is the reservation system; it seems harder and harder every year to obtain any type of space let alone our favorite lakefront spots. This campground needs to get a clue and update their website for online reservations and/or at least phone reservations We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
This is our favorite place to camp. We visit here at least twice a year. The park and lake are beautiful, the sites are large, heavily wooded, well maintained, and private. The restrooms and showers are very nice. The staff is great. The website is great because you can view a photo of each campsite in the park and get an idea of how it looks. The only thing I would change is the reservation system. It would be nice if it were possible to choose and reserve online instead of only by faxing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
Just spent the first week of October at Camp Edison. What a wonderful campground. We stayed at one of the full hook-up sites and didn't have a problem. Cable connection was OK but not great. Weather was warm during the day and cool at night. We even got some snow by the end of the week. What a sight! The drive in the towed vehicle on the Kaiser Pass Road to Edison Lake had awesome scenery. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
We really liked it here and lucked out by getting the best spots in the park (we think). We had spots 226 and 227, very flat and large. We only had electric, but water was right across the way to fill up and we used a dump station on the way home. After all, that is why we have a self contained class c. I would recommend the Manzanita circle, particularly sites 225-228, 239-241, 245, and 216-218. I would not recommend the f/h sites, they are very close together and seem like they would be hard to maneuver big rigs. It is quite a haul up a steep grade to get to the campground but worth the drive. Very hard to find true RV camping in the mountains like at this place. Although the lake was low, we did fish and hike a bit and would come back to enjoy water sports. We camped here with our 2 and 4 year old and my parents who have a 35 ft Alfa. I only rate it an 8 out of 10 because they do seem to charge extra for every little thing. Even though it was $32/night, you could easily end up paying 40 something for extra people, vehicles, wifi, showers, etc. Would definitely go back though! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
I loved all the trees and this was a wonderful park. We stayed in our motorhome the roads were a bit narrow, however it was like camping in Yellowstone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$28
We have stayed here once in the early spring. At that time of year the park is not crowded, and a nice spot to relax. For us, summertime would be like staying in a small city. Very few sites have a view of the lake and the ones that do come at a premium price. If you are a boating fan this is a good place to stay. If you want to relax or fish, head to Huntington or Wishon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$25
Stayed with three friends with 42' motorhomes. Sites were tight but we all got in. Wifi was available for a fee but the signal was weak; we were in a forest so to get a signal was surprising. There were a couple of sites on the lake that would fit a big rig as well. Friendly staff and they were around often. Had problems with stuff left out at night turn up missing. And the staff told everyone to put stuff away because of the problem. Nice trails for walking to lake. Marina a short distance away. Boat launching in the park. A very nice week stay in a family friendly and quiet campground. Very long climb to get to there from the valley and narrow roads as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
This is our favorite place to camp. Not only is it beautiful there, but the lake is warm too. You can bring your own watercraft or rent some there. You can take a short drive to a small Sequoia grove for a picnic, go to the powerhouses (some offer a tour) or drive up to Huntington Lake too. There is a small store that offers things that you might have left behind. The town of Shaver Lake is just around the bend as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com